• Would recommend?
    Yes
    Great customer support

    By GRETA M. in Bayside, CA

    Stephan's Auto Haus defies the dominant social norms of mysogeny. Identifying as female, I am accustomed to receiving poor treatment at male-dominated auto repair shops. I have been belittled, ignored and overcharged too many times to count over the many years of various vehicle ownership. Work promised by other shops has not been done and parts have been swapped for lesser ones without my knowledge. I was pleasantly surprised to find that both my vehicle and myself were treated very well at Stephan's Auto Haus! They gained my trust as I handed over the keys to my vintage vehicle for a total rebuild. I was able to hang out in their customer waiting area and keep on top of various decisions that needed to be made. I felt included and it made a huge difference in the overall experience.

    Vehicle:
    Volkswagen Vanagon

    Service Date:
    10/04/2018

  • Would recommend?
    Yes
    Stephan’s goes above and beyond for vw vanagons

    By MARK L. in Oakland, CA

    I had bought a 1990 VW Vanagon from a previous owner in SF who had gotten the 1.9t engine swap and quite a few upgrades from Stephan’s in Sacramento. Though it’s a bit of a trek out I’m so glad to continue to get my van work done here. They were able to make some repairs for me under warranty for the engine work despite the transfer of ownership. It seems no task is too big or small, as I’ve gotten quite a bit done: pop top replaced, proper heater install, rear heater delete kit and subwoofer install, install front power remote locks and alarm from GoWesty, futon mattress upgrade, various small fixes like the glove box map light, the list goes on! And that was just on one visit.They are accommodating and happy to install gear you’ve purchased online. Scotty at the front of the house is always very responsive via email and phone. Thanks guys!

    Vehicle:
    Volkswagen Vanagon

    Service Date:
    09/26/2018

  • Would recommend?
    Yes

    By Peter D. in Sacramento, CA

    Peter said the staff was friendly and the service was great.

    Vehicle:
    Toyota Prius

    Category:
    Service

    Service Date:
    09/27/2018

  • Would recommend?
    Yes
    Competence above all

    By DAVID L. in Poway, CA

    I bought an '89 Syncro with Stephans' 1.8T conversion in 2011, which included all the bells and whistles available at the time. I'm an amateur mechanic, owned lots of Jaguars starting with a '55 XK140 purchased in 1986, so not unfamiliar with car maintenance. The Syncro is something more than I can handle these days, though, so I get the work done by pros. In the San Diego area there are several good options for getting this done, but some of my results have been unsatisfactory and left the vehicle with long-standing problems that began to interfere with enjoyment of the thing. So, I went to the source, SAH, with a long list of issues of deferred maintenance and poor quality repairs. When I got it back, after a week of work, it was a different vehicle! All the issues I'd identified had been dealt with, and some serious deficiencies in the drivetrain that the shop identified (I had requested a thorough inspection so I'd be ready for some 4-wheeling in the Escalante territory) had been dealt with. Thanks guys, you are real pros, and it was a pleasure to deal with Scotty the service manager. He's a great communicator with a unique style!

    Vehicle:
    Volkswagen Vanagon

    Service Date:
    09/13/2018

  • Would recommend?
    Yes

    By Peter K. in Sacramento, CA

    Peter said that he is completely satisfied.

    Vehicle:
    Audi TT

    Category:
    Service

    Service Date:
    09/10/2018

  • Would recommend?
    Yes

    By John W. in Sacramento, CA

    John said he had a good experience, and he was pleased with the work done.

    Vehicle:
    Volkswagen Passat

    Category:
    Service

    Service Date:
    08/23/2018

  • Would recommend?
    Yes

    By Emily S. in California

    Emily said the business did a good job. Although it took a while to get the part in that her vehicle needed, they kept good communication with her so that she knew what to expect.

    Vehicle:
    Volkswagen EuroVan

    Category:
    Service

    Service Date:
    08/06/2018

  • Would recommend?
    Yes

    By Steven H. in West Sacramento, CA

    Steven said he would recommend this business.

    Vehicle:
    Toyota Camry Solara

    Category:
    Service

    Service Date:
    07/25/2018

  • Would recommend?
    Yes
    On the road again!

    By DAVID B. in Sacramento, CA

    I'm thankful to be on the road, again, thanks to Stephan's! My Westy had developed a fuel leak issue, and they did a great job, helping to fix this. All staff are friendly, and I really appreciate the effort they put into the repairs and safety upgrades. (A Blazecut fire suppression system has now been installed by Stephan's, so this safety upgrade is greatly appreciated!) The fog lights now work, again, too, and the engine is running great...what more could you ask for? Great shop and people!

    Vehicle:
    Volkswagen Vanagon

    Service Date:
    06/26/2018

  • Would recommend?
    Yes

    By Bruce T. in Delta, BC

    Bruce said he had trouble with the vehicle and they fixed it. When the same problem re-occurred, they dealt with it to his satisfaction.

    Vehicle:
    Volkswagen Vanagon

    Category:
    Service

    Service Date:
    06/06/2018

  • Would recommend?
    Yes
    Fast response to support issue

    By PAUL H. in Greenbrae, CA

    I had a potentially critical issue arise with a new engine supplied by Stephan. We were on the road far from home and there was an indication of a recent overheating condition and engine damage was a real possibility if we continued our trip. Stephan responded in about an hour with information that explained what I was observing, and addressed my email point-by-point. This info and a closer inspection of the affected part demonstrated that the engine was operating normally and we could continue without worry or interruption. This was exemplary service!

    Vehicle:
    Volkswagen Vanagon

    Service Date:
    05/29/2018

  • Would recommend?
    Yes

    By Vince W. in Sacramento, CA

    Vince said he would recommend this business for service.

    Vehicle:
    Volkswagen Vanagon

    Category:
    Service

    Service Date:
    05/16/2018

  • Would recommend?
    Yes

    By Jeremy H. in Sacramento, CA

    Jeremy said the staff was friendly. The man that worked on his vehicle knew exactly what he was talking about.

    Vehicle:
    Volkswagen Passat

    Category:
    Service

    Service Date:
    05/15/2018

  • Would recommend?
    Yes
    Not the cheapest, just the best

    By THOM C. in Sacramento, CA

    Been taking my vehicles to SAH since 2003--and that means 15 years now! For those who know, SAH is simply the best place to take your Audi/Volkswagen for straight-up service and repair by certified technicians in a timely manner. One of the best things about SAH is the transparency and communication they offer--they stick by their estimate, and if anything *might* change, they make sure to get clearance well in advance--and they stand behind their work and parts. Taking your car to the mechanic is rarely fun, but SAH's service and professionalism takes the sting out and sends me home with confidence.

    Vehicle:
    Volkswagen Passat Sedan

    Service Date:
    04/27/2018

  • Would recommend?
    Yes
    Friendly service

    By RASHAWN T. in Sacramento, CA

    Friendly service, they work on my bfs 08 Benz clk550. Labor is way cheaper than the dealership, and they kept us updated on the issues and solutions. Great service.

    Vehicle:
    Mercedes-Benz CLK-Class

    Service Date:
    04/27/2018