Automotive Specialties


Overall Rating 4.86/5Overall Rating 4.86/5Overall Rating 4.86/5Overall Rating 4.86/5rating 4.86

347 Reviews

98% Would Recommend
Latest Review 9 days ago
Bonnie V. on 03/04/2017
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
Bonnie said she brought her vehicle into this business because she had a leak. She was pretty sure it was transmission fluid. She left her vehicle with them for about two hours and they told her they diagnosed it. They did find a leak, but they told her nothing was wrong with her transmission. She took her vehicle to her regular mechanic and he found 2 spots where the transmission was leaking. She called this business a second time and told them what her mechanic found. Her mechanic does not service transmissions, but this business told her she could bring it in again. Their service charge was higher than the facility she chose to use. The diagnostic was $54, and she does not think they checked anything. They did not even put the $54 towards the transmission repair. This facility lost her trust and her business on this first visit.
Vehicle: Ford Escape
Category: Service
Service Date: 02/27/2017
Review Created: 03/04/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Leslie B. at Automotive Specialties responded on 03/08/2017

Your input is appreciated.  We would like to clarify from our point of view - we were asked to diagnose a symptom of a slam into gear when coming to a stop or on acceleration -  "sometimes". The owner indicated possible transmission. We did take the time to test drive with the owner but she could not duplicate the symptom during the test drive.  We did indeed have the vehicle at our facility for a time so that we could check for any stored computer codes, especially transmission codes, but found none, and complete a visual inspection.  We checked the trans fluid level which was full and fairly clean.  We did however see that the underside of the engine was covered with fluid from the front to the rear. We indicated that the undercarriage should be pressure washed to start clean to determine the source of the leak(s).  We also indicated we would like the symptom to be more consistent so the tech. could actually experience what is  happening. This information was discussed verbally with the owner as well as indicated clearly on their invoice.  The customer declined at that time.  A couple hours later  the customer called asking for an estimate to replace a rear differential gasket & fluids, which is not part of the transmission.  We provided a phone quote and the customer scheduled an appointment for this work but did not show up for the appointment.  From this negative review I understand that our pricing did not fit their budget and they were not confident in our lack of an exact diagnosis during their initial visit.  Your review will be shared with our staff and should help us to communicate more clearly to future customers.

DAVID W. on 10/20/2016
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
"Poor work & rude owner"
Brought vehicle in for an overpriced tire repair and alignment. A week later brought it back to have the same two issues re-checked as alignment was now going other direction and repaired tire was unbalanced (No balance issues before taking it in). Stated please check the work that was just done and paid for, got hit with another bill for balancing & rotating all tires which was never approved by me?? Alignment was never rechecked and now have a bad unbalanced tire which was just moved to the back, which does me no good when I go to rotate them...Called to speak to the owner about this and he was not in at the time, message was relayed to call me back but never bothered.... When I called back and got a hold of him he could care less about my issue and was rude!
Vehicle: GMC Yukon XL
Service Date: 09/29/2016
Review Created: 10/20/2016 09:43 AM
Scott C. on 06/20/2014
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
Scott said the owner was rude and swore at him. He said he did the front end alignment and the vehicle was ready for inspection. Scott took the vehicle to another facility and they had to redo the work. Scott went back to let the person know that the job was not done correctly, and the owner swore at him and was very rude.
Vehicle: Chevrolet Silverado
Category: Service
Service Date: 06/02/2014
Review Created: 06/20/2014
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Tim F. on 03/19/2013
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
Tim said he brought his vehicle to this business for service because he thought there was potential for transmission problems. This business charged him $96 to diagnose his vehicle and they told him there were no problems with the transmission. He said he is clearly having issues with the transmission and they charged him $96 for nothing. He said normally he would recommend this business, but after this last experience he will no longer recommend them to others. He was not satisfied with this business.
Vehicle: Ford Edge
Category: Service
Service Date: 03/05/2013
Review Created: 03/19/2013
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Leslie B. at Automotive Specialties responded on 03/25/2013
It is our goal to diagnose and repair each vehicle that comes into our shop correctly. With information from the owner and the ability to duplicate symptoms our technicians complete this task. In this case our diagnosis suggested something other than a transmission problem, but needed a more consistant symptom to be 100% certain of the needed repair. It would be helpful to hear what actually fixed the problem if a repair was completed elsewhere. Thank you for your input.
Displaying all 4 Review