Overview

Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5rating 4.76

809 Reviews

98% Would Recommend
Latest Review 8 days ago

Reviews


JK
June K.
Baltimore, MD
Toyota Prius
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/01/2018 Category: Service
June said when she couldn't make it by 5 p.m to pick up her vehicle, the staff told her to pick it up at 7 a.m the next day. No one showed up until 8 a.m which was terrible for her. She was also concerned about the parking lot because there was a lot of confusion as to where to leave the vehicle without getting a ticket. A new employee had no keys to the place so he was waiting with her for another employee to show up and open. It was not a very professional business place. However the staff did take care of her vehicle very quickly.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Garry C. from Monument St Auto Center responded on 06/04/2018

Good Morning June,
  I am sorry that you are unhappy with your experience. unfortunatly on that morning, May 25. I personally had to call out at the last minute due to a family medical emergency. Another employee was contacted to open that morning, but due to the timing was unable to arrive until 7:30 am.
 I apoligize for the inconvience and assure you that this is not the norm for our business. I have been here for 15 years and normally arrive @ 6:45 am.
  In the event that you would be willing to give is another try, I am willing to offer you a complimentary car wash for for inconvience.
  We appreciate your business and thank you for your input. As always you can reach me at 410-522-3737 with any questions or concerns.
   Garry 


GH
Gerald H.
Baltimore, MD
Saturn VUE
Verified
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/22/2017 Category: Service
Gerald said he was not happy with his overall experience because the business overcharged him for the timing belt. They charged him $1200 and other places charged $563 and $687. He will not recommend this business for service.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Garry C. from Monument St Auto Center responded on 09/25/2017

Good Morning Gerald,
  I am sorry that you are not satisfied with your experience at our shop. I believe there is a misunderstanding. first to set the record straight you did not have a timing belt done at our facility. Therefore you were not charged nor did you pay $1200.00 for a timing belt.
  The only service you had performed at our facility was a diagnosis for your engine misfiring & running rough for $89.95. after you had paid another shop to replace the ignition coils & spark plugs in your engine to supposedly to fix the same problem.
  We diagnosed your vehicle properly & provided you with an estimate for a Timing Belt Replacement along with the Timing Belt Component Kit, which consist of the 2 idler pulleys, tensioner pulley, bracket, & hydraulic tensioner and a water pump. Which anyone worth their salt in this field would strongly recommend for a 15 year old vehicle with over 163,000 miles on it.
 What you need to understand Gerald is that all of these components are driven by your timing belt. Therefore if one of these pulleys,waterpump or tensioner would fail, and given the age & milage on your vehicle is very possible if not probable, you would sustain Major Engine Damage that would total Thousands of Dollars to repair.
  Sure you can get just your timing belt replaced for about $550 to $600. And I will do that for you if that is the way you wish to repair your vehicle.
   You see Gerald the difference between Compentent, Reputable shops, that have the knowledge, experience & ability to not only diagnose your car properly, not just replace ignition coils & spark plugs because of misfire codes, but to repair it in the most effective manner with our customers future in mind. ie: lets just slap a timing belt on it to save a couple of hundred dollars now and roll the dice that we do not end up costing our customer $3000 to $4000 in the very near future. 
  I am willing to offer you a 10% discount on the recommended repair to help ease some of your burden and make sure you vehicle is repaired properly with you best interest at heart.
  Garry


TW
TONI W.
Baltimore, MD
Buick Regal
Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/06/2017
Friendly but expensive
The people were very accommodating in terms of service and paying for the parking ticket and such. However the estimate was very expensive, they quoted me 150 for a part that I was easily able to obtain for 60, and the Labor seemed a bit much for that particular procedure as well, since it would've only taken an hour, yet I was quoted over 300 dollars total. So I may go back for an oil change or something, but way too overpriced for repairs.
Garry C. from Monument St Auto Center responded on 09/07/2017

Good morning Toni,
  I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your experience at our facility yesterday, and I apologize for that.
  There seems to be some confusion about the pricing for the estimates you recieved. I am reviewing your quote and do not know which part you are referring to or which labor quote as neither labor quote was $300.00?
  To understand what you were quoted for your window was for a power window motor & regulator assembly for $276.80 installed. Yes you can probably find a window regulator only online for probably about $60.00. However when we prepare quotes we do not use cheap aftermarket parts as we stand behind all our repairs for an industry leading 24 months or 24,000 miles. Therfore want want to make sure your repair is high quality & if it does fail it is from a local supplier that we deal with on a regular basis so we can get it taken care of in a timely & hassle free manner. The list price for the window regulator only from general motors is $210.26 making the cost of $123.98 for the motor & regulator assembly a pretty good deal. provided you are not going to have a problem with the window motor anytime in the near future either.which would double the cost of repairing the same window. the labor time we quote is a published expected labor time in labor guide used industrywide. 
  We do not claim to be the cheapest repair in the industry, but we are also not one of the most expensive either. We try to give our customers the highest quality for a reasonable cost so that we are both happy & can keep our door open & continue to provide friendly as well as quality service to our customers.
  If there is anything I can do to help you with your vehicles needs or to resolve your concerns please feel free to call me at 410-522-3737.
  As always we appreciate your feedback & will consider it our practices moving foreward
    Garry


DP
Deshawn P.
Baltimore, MD
Chevrolet Silverado SS
Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/25/2017 Category: Service
Deshawn said when he tried to leave this business' parking lot, he was not told he needed his receipt. He had a tire changed and now his vehicle is making a noise.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Garry C. from Monument St Auto Center responded on 07/27/2017

Good Morning Deshawn, 
  I am sorry you are not completely satisfied with your experience. I would ask you to bring the truck by to check the noise you are hearing to determine the cause of the noise. As all the work we did was install a used tire that you supplied on a 15 year old vehicle.
  As we are on Johns Hopkins Property it is required by the parking facility that you have your invoice for free parking. I apologize if you were not informed of this procedure properly.
  As always, I am looking foreward to hearing from you to resolve any issues you may have with our service 
  Garry


KS
KELLY S.
Baltimore, MD
Mazda 3
Verified
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
02/18/2017
well....
Well, I've been going to Monument St. Auto Center for several years now and have been generally satisfied with the care I and my car receive. Unfortunately twice now when I've had my tires rotated my lug nuts were not properly tightened (not even finger tight) and I was dangerously close to losing a tire (having learned after the first time I have since checked my lugs before getting in the car). Due to the good service I've received in the past and the shear convenience of their location and decent prices, I've continued to use their services and recommended others to them. As this is the second time I've had this issue I'm afraid unfortunately that I can neither continue using their service nor recommend them.

SJ
Steven J.
Baltimore, MD
Mercedes-Benz E500
Verified
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/20/2016 Category: Service
Steven said they cost too much and he did not have much work done. They are highly overpriced. A competing business offered the same service for a third of the price.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Garry C. from Monument St Auto Center responded on 10/24/2016

Good Afternoon Stephen,
  I am sorry you are not satisfied with our service. the pricing we gave you for your accident damage to the suspension of your Mercedes was using "NEW PARTS" directly from the Mercedes dealer as there are no aftermarket parts available for your vehicle. As you stated,you were having your vehicle repaired with "USED PARTS" there obviously would be no comparison in cost. It is not our normal practice to repair vehicles with used parts. We could have given you an estimate with used parts if you had expressed your desire to repair your vehicle in that manner. As always we strive to keep repair cost at a minimum and cultivate long term satisfied customers.  


JT
Jonathan T.
Baltimore, MD
Honda Insight
Verified
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/10/2016 Category: Service
Jonathan said he did not like how they handled things. He stated they were not helpful and did not understand, nor feel any urgency to help him quickly. He was not pleased.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Garry C. from Monument St Auto Center responded on 09/14/2016

Hi Jonathan,
  Please contact me at 410-522-3737 to discuss your issues
     Garry


AP
Aisha P.
Baltimore, MD
Toyota Camry Solara
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/13/2016 Category: Service
Aisha said they did not clean the interior nor the exterior of the vehicle like they were supposed to. She thought it was horrible.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Garry C. from Monument St Auto Center responded on 03/15/2016

I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your car wash service. As always if you are not completely satisfied, please call me at 410-522-3737 to schedule to have your vehicle rewashed to your satisfaction at no charge to you.
   Garry


JG
Jibin G.
Essex, MD
BMW 328i
Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/13/2014 Category: Service
Jibin said he asked this business to clean the vehicle. When he got it back the exterior was still dirty and they forgot to leave the keys at the front desk, which resulted in him having to wait an hour to get it. On a prior visit this business left his headlight on while they were working on his vehicle. For these reasons he would not recommend them for service.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Garry C. from Monument St Auto Center responded on 10/21/2014

Good Morning Jibin,
   I am sorry your experience with us was less than satisfactory. As always we appreciate your input & take customer satisfaction very seriously.
  We will be happy to reclean your vehicle for you at N/C since you were disatisfied. i apologize for the mistake with you having to wait for your key, that was entirely my fault. Feel free to contact me at 410-522-3737 if you would like to schedule your free car wash.
      Thank You
      Garry


RR
Robert R.
Potomac, MD
Honda Accord
Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/01/2014 Category: Service
Robert said the repairs were fine and he was happy with the work performed on his vehicle. When he went to pick up his vehicle, after hours, he found food and wrappers in his vehicle. The key was also damaged and he had trouble starting his vehicle. He said he was not too happy about that. He would not recommend them to others for the reasons mentioned.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

SD
Seth D.
Baltimore, MD
Honda Accord
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/15/2014 Category: Service
Seth said he was charged $90 to check an engine code reading and later found out he could have done it himelf for $25. He was told it was sophisticated equipment and took sophisticated training. He learned it himself within one hour. He said he feels like he was misled. He would not recommend this business based on this experience.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

AB
Alton B.
Baltimore, MD
Acura MDX
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/12/2013 Category: Service
Alton said his oil light was coming on and he had a diagnostic, which he paid around $80 for. He was told he may need an oil plug switch and that it should take care of the problem. He was charged $89 for the work. The part that was installed didn't solve the issue and now the oil light comes on all the time. He said the person gave him an attitude when he went back and told him the part that was installed didn't solve the problem. He said he now has to take his vehicle to another comparable business, quoted him $280. He would not recommend this business to others based on this experience.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

TS
Tara S.
Baltimore, MD
Chrysler 200
Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/02/2013 Category: Service
Tara said this business patched a tire for her but she has to bring the vehicle back for a third time because the low tire pressure warning light has turned on. The second time she brought it back was for all the issues they did not resolve on the first visit. The employees at the facility are all really nice and friendly, but she would prefer not to have to bring her vehicle in three times. She would not recommend this business based on this experience.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

WV
Walter V.
Parkville, MD
Toyota Pickup
Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/16/2013 Category: Service
Walter said their thick ratchet socket chipped the chrome off and left a mark on all four of his wheel center hubcaps. He called Discount Tire Direct about it. They told him this would not have happened if he had gone to the manufacturer's authorized business because a thin wall ratchet socket is required. They should have used a thinner one. He said he would like his center caps replaced by the business. He chose them because he works in the same building and they could do the work while he completed his shift. He would not recommend them based on this experience.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

AM
Alexander M.
Maryland
Ford Escape
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/17/2013 Category: Service
Spoke with Joe. He said because of this business he had to buy a new vehicle. He would not recommend them because he went there for an oil change and no oil was put in the vehicle so the engine was pretty well damaged.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

JK
Jaime K.
Silver Spring, MD
Subaru Outback
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/14/2018 Category: Service
Jaime said the employees were friendly and on time, as promised.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

TM
Traci M.
Maryland
Honda Civic Sdn
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/13/2018 Category: Service
Traci said the business is great. She had to get her vehicle towed from her job to the business. The next morning she called asking if they had any information about her vehicle. The front desk lady told her she would ask and returned her call in 10 minutes. The mechanic returned her call in 5 minutes. Her vehicle was ready when promised and she has no complaints.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

CY
Connie Y.
Aberdeen, MD
Nissan Versa
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/11/2018 Category: Service
Connie said that the facility does excellent work and their prices are better than most.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

MS
MARYANN S.
Rosedale, MD
Ford Taurus
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/10/2018
Fair priced and honest mechanics
Would recommend this place. Gary takes the time to explain the repairs and pricing.

SF
Sallie F.
Baltimore, MD
Toyota Avalon
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/02/2018 Category: Service
Sallie said the business has always done good quality work on her vehicle.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 809 in total