Overview

Overall Rating 4.87/5Overall Rating 4.87/5Overall Rating 4.87/5Overall Rating 4.87/5rating 4.87

1221 Reviews

99% Would Recommend
Latest Review 3 days ago

Reviews


TK
TIM K.
Jefferson City, MO
Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/11/2019
Will not come back
Very disappointed. They couldn’t diagnose the problem correctly the first time and expect me too keep putting in more money while they guess at what the problem is. I wish I hadn’t recommended them to friends. They are nice people, but bad mechanics.

CH
Chandler H.
Jefferson City, MO
Chrysler 300
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/19/2019 Category: Service
Chandler said when he took his vehicle to the business they did a diagnostic and told him what was wrong. The staff told him how much it would cost, which he thought was pretty expensive so he tried to fix the vehicle himself. He then he tried to go back to the business but they refused to repair his vehicle. They told him that they didn't want customers who took advantage of their services even though he paid for the diagnostic. The staff made him tow his vehicle off of their property.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Danny C. from The Auto Shop responded on 04/25/2019

Chandler, we are sorry you had this experience.  When you brought your vehicle to us on March 29th, 2019 you stated it would not start and asked if someone could pick you up at home and bring you to work, which we did.  After testing your vehicle, we found that the battery and the alternator tested bad and would need to be replaced.  You and your father discussed openly in front of our other customers how you could get the part cheaper and do it yourself. We agreed, as any "do it your self" project you will save money doing it that way. 

You towed your vehicle away and declined our services.  We stated that we would reimburse your towing as we did with all our customers. Then you towed your vehicle back to us on April 9, 2019 after 518 miles were put on your vehicle. You stated  that our "diagnostic" wasn't correct and your car would not start.  Although we did not do the repair and the vehicle had been driven for 518 miles, we provided a free test (value of $79.95) to determine your vehicle's issues.  We found and informed you that your battery and alternator are testing ok, but that you had a new problem, which is a voltage drop from battery (which is located in trunk) to the postive jump start post underhood. We informed you this would take additional testing to determine the problem.  However, we decided at this time to decline to test or make repairs on your vehicle due to our first interaction, as it was not satisfactory to you. Sincerely, Danny and Kelley Crawford


BS
BRITNEY S.
Centertown, MO
Kia Soul
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/21/2018
Brittney Sawyer
You guys are the worst! I'll never take my Kia to you again. You inflate the prices and make up problems just to get more money out of me!!

CB
Candice B.
Jefferson City, MO
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/20/2017
So Disappointed
We take 4 cars into the Auto Shop. Yes, I said 4. Although we do appreciate the reminders, after all how would a customer keep up on their maintenance if their mechanic didn't tell them when things needed replaced. But, I think there is a time when you leave it up to the customer to then take care of those issues. I don't believe in nagging. And that is where we were basically called rude customers, because we said no. My husband was told he was only to talk to the front desk & to learn how to talk to women, he was to never ask for Danny again. He is a mechanic/owner, the front desk are receptionists. Sorry to say they made it clear they don't need our business any longer. We have recommended them to several people. We will be taking our cars elsewhere. We don't need to be treated that way. If they would tell anyone that knows my husband that they are accusing him of being continuously rude, they would not believe them.

DD
Donna D.
Jefferson City, MO
Chevrolet Malibu
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/27/2015 Category: Service
Donna said her vehicle is still not working. This business did not fix her vehicle.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Danny from The Auto Shop responded on 07/30/2015

We advised Ms. Davis that her engine needed to be replaced. She declined the repair. 


TB
Thomas B.
New Bloomfield, MO
Chevrolet Corvette
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/22/2013 Category: Service
Thomas said he took his vehicle in to this business for a diagnosis on his air conditioning system. They told him they would contact him with an estimate but it has been close to seven days and he has not heard from them. He would not recommend them to others because they apparently do not want his business. He would have had his vehicle repaired by now if they had followed through with a phone call.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Danny C. from The Auto Shop responded on 05/29/2013
i apologive for the delay due to illness. I also spent 2 days researching parts. Parts price for this repair is staggering. I contacted Mr. Byrd on 5/28/2013 with an estimate. We appreciate your business!

CC
Customer C.
Jefferson City, MO
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/03/2012
Owner Contact
Wished the website offered a email address for Danny personally to discuss issues that some may prefer not to leave on this comment site for all to see.

TG
TONY G.
Jefferson City, MO
Toyota Camry
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/09/2012
Auto Maintenance
As always great service.

RW
RYAN W.
Jefferson City, MO
GMC Acadia
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
04/08/2018
A/C
I've used The Auto Shop many times with always great service. My wife's A/C went out in her 2013 GMC Acadia. Brought it in and they called in a timely manner said they could not find the leak but believe is in the rear evaporator core but would need to charge another hour to confirm that's the issue. I said yes that's fine I need to find the source of the leak. Later they call and said would be 1050$ for the repair. I called local parts store bought a the same lifetime warranty part for $89.99. I then go to pick up my wife's car asked how long it would take to fix they said start to finish 4 hours. I don't know what their rate is but say its 100$ even at that it comes 400 plus the part say they mark up to 200 we are at 600 then 75 to recharge is only 675$. I feel like they were taking advantage of someone who needed ac fixed knowing most people will pay because they think of it as a need not a luxury. Very dissatisfied with them guess I'll be on the hunt for a new shop. I replaced the part myself and had another shop charge the ac system for me.

TS
TAMI S.
Jefferson City, MO
Ford Explorer
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/20/2015
Does not do what is requested
When I've asked for 2 or 3 different services be performed, Danny forgets to add those services to the ticket & they don't get done which results in another trip to the shop & more money! Very annoying & complete waist of my time! Also, on 2 different occasions, I have been given conflicting information between service quotes and actual costs. Finally, this shop likes to charge me EVERY time a diagnostic is done. I recently did some research and a lot of repair shops are no longer using this practice. We are in the process of changing shops due to all of the issues mentioned above. My entire family prefers better overall customer service!
Danny from The Auto Shop responded on 10/28/2015

Unfortunately we did make an error and forgot to use the customer supplied oil as they requested.  We apologized for the mistake and to make up for the error we changed the oil with customer supplied oil and provided free labor for installing spark plug wires. 

We are up front with our customers on diagnostic charges for Check Engine lights and other components that may not be working. If we are able to diagnosis the problem/issue fairly quickly, we only charge half the diagnosis fee. Unfortunately, this customers' personal extended warranty did not cover diagnostic fees on three of the visits that required diagnostics for check engine light or non-operating parts (6 visits total in 2015).  


LS
Leann S.
Russellville, MO
Ford Explorer
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
02/23/2013 Category: Service
Spoke with Scott. He said he had them flush his transmission because it was shifting fine except when coming out of overdrive. 24 hours after he picked up the vehicle, he had to have it towed back into the business. He said he later found out it was not necessarily recommended to flush a transmission that has 116,000 miles on it and it could cause it to go out. He said he knew there was a chance of that happening but he felt they could have paid the tow bill or at least offered to pay half of the $116 for the tow. They had him pay their cost for the towing. He has used this business many times before and said they are friendly, honest and up front but after the last experience he would not recommend them for the reasons mentioned. He sold his vehicle and purchased another one.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

CQ
CONNOR Q.
Jefferson City, MO
Chevrolet Pickup
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/08/2019
Can be overpriced at times.
Quoted me 500 dollars to replace my brake lines. Only one needed replaced so I replaced it myself for 20 dollars. You didn’t even quote me the price of just replacing the one. You only quoted me the price of replacing all of them. I have never come here and payed less than 5 or 600 dollars for fairly small things that shouldn’t cost so much. Don’t get me wrong they do amazing work and are very knowledgeable, just overpriced.

BK
BECKY K.
Jefferson City, MO
Toyota Yaris iA
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/10/2019
Decent
It took a bit more time than anticipated, but they would drop you off somewhere if needed.

They struggled to reset my Toyota sensors, but so does the dealership where I bought it. They wanted to disagree with me about some of the reset issues with sensors in my car, but did finally do as I asked once I said, “we should make a bet” on who is going to be right.

My biggest issue is that they wanted to replace a “cabin filter” for $107. I asked what this filter does and was told it cleans the air coming into my car. I will die of smog inhalation before I will pay that for a filter replacement. Further, upon some investigation it appears that is a highly inflated price. I work too hard for my money to be sold nonsense items. Luckily, life has given be experience enough to say “no” in these types of situations, but I don’t feel it’s right to even offer that to customers without fill disclosure of the necessity of the filter (which is about zero).

The owner was great once he was brought on to assist with some of the sensor issues; and, overall I have heard good things about this company. I believe today was not the best experience and hope it’s better moving forward.

SF
Shawn F.
Henley, MO
Ford Fiesta
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/27/2019 Category: Service
Shawn said the staff was polite and the waiting room was nice. He also said he felt like the service took a long time and the staff tried to upsell.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

CS
CARLA S.
Jefferson City, MO
Chevrolet S10 Pickup
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/11/2018
A little upset
I gotta tell you - I've always had good service from the Auto Shop, but today when I got in my truck, the seat cover was skewed half way across the seat, the Service Engine light came back on after about 5 minutes of driving, and my ash tray is sitting crooked. I don't know if the dash had to be moved to fix the truck, but the ash tray wasn't like this before.

I will say that they are having me come in tomorrow to find out what the engine light issues are. But this isn't the service I've come to expect from the Auto Shop. Maybe someone was having an off day.

AB
Aaron B.
New Bloomfield, MO
Jeep Grand Cherokee
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/27/2018 Category: Service
Aaron said the cost was high.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

AS
Amanda S.
Jefferson City, MO
Cadillac SRX
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/03/2018 Category: Service
Amanda said she was charged twice for the diagnosis on her vehicle. It still has the same issue. She stated it has been a battle paying this business for the same issue. However, the staff was really nice.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

JC
James C.
Rolla, MO
Ford Econoline Wagon
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/05/2017 Category: Service
James said he had this business check out his vehicle but they forgot to put the spark plug back in.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Danny from The Auto Shop responded on 12/13/2017

Per James' request we left spark plugs out of engine, Van was towed to and from the shop with worn out engine that does not run. Sorry for any mis-understanding.Danny


AD
Ashley D.
Jefferson City, MO
Saturn Ion
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/10/2017 Category: Service
Ashley said this business said she needed certain services when she didn't. They did a pretty good job.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

JM
JASON M.
Jefferson City, MO
Chevrolet Traverse
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/30/2016
Great and friendly service, as always....but, longer wait time than usual this visit
My appointment was for 11:00, but it was close to 11:30 (give or take 5-10 min) before my car was taken back. I ended up getting back to work 15 minutes late.