Perris Auto Repair Center

Overview

Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5rating 4.79

474 Reviews

96% Would Recommend
76% Business Response
Latest Review about 2 months ago

Reviews


DC
Dyneall C.
Riverside, CA
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/03/2019
SCAMMERS
I got my car towed into the Perris auto center 5168 Western way , Perris CA 92517 on Tuesday March 12 ,2019 and paid $65.15 for a brake inspection I was told and paid for all new auto parts But I got the complete opposite of what I was told and what I had paid for . When I requested to view the old auto parts that were supposed to be taken off of my vehicle my request was denied several times , So I never got to view my old auto parts . Which means that the old parts are still on my vehicle. When I paid for all new auto parts , ever since I picked up my car on March 16 , 2019 I haven’t been able to drive it . Due to my safety , my car smokes now which it never done before taking it to this auto shop . I also have a dent on the front of my car which occurred at this auto shop . Due to me not being able to drive my car I’ve been renting a car for a month now . I’m requesting for the business to refund me in full $ 1,335.00 Which is what I paid in-full the day I picked up my vehicle.

WR
WALTER R.
Perris, CA
Chevrolet Silverado SS
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/21/2017
RIP OFF1111
I paid you $213.00 to find out what was wrong with my truck when you already knew. You said my problem was common with Chevy, so why didn't you tell before I paid! WHAT A RIP OFF1
Anthony E., owner from Perris Auto Repair Center responded on 09/21/2017

You did know what wasnt working but you paid us to figure out why it wasnt working. Thats the purpose of the diagnostic test. You had 2 seperate issues and although one of the issue you have is a common issue it does not mean its the only possibility. 


DP
Dan P.
Moreno Valley, CA
GMC Sierra 3500
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/15/2017
rip off
total rip off. wanted $460 to replace a part that was $65 at autozone and took me 30 minutes to put in. don't go here!
Anthony E., owner from Perris Auto Repair Center responded on 09/18/2017

We appreciated the chance to diagnose your vehicle. There is allot of factors when choosing a part and we dont put just any quality part on your vehicle. We do try and use the best that is available and allot of times it comes with a cost. That is why we are able to back it up with the best warranty in town adn amazing service. We are glad we wre able to diagnose and figure your issue out as well. 


CC
Claudia C.
Moreno Valley, CA
Volvo XC90
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/27/2017
Horrible expensive service
Horrible. They mess up your car in order to get more money out of you. They do this to women.
Anthony E., owner from Perris Auto Repair Center responded on 07/27/2017

Ma'am all we did was inspect the cause of your belt coming off and damage to your power steering pulley. Its a good thing we didn't just replace the parts you were asking to have replaced because you would have been in the same situation and THAT is a waste of your money and taking advantage of you. We provided great service and kept in touch throughout the whole process.  Either way we understand that not everyone can appreciate honest, quality work and not everyone can be our customer.


NF
NEVER AGAIN F.
Oceano, CA
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/09/2016
HURRY BACK
I'M 60YRS OLD RETIRED ON FIXED INCOME TOOK MY 05 DENALI THERE TO FIX UNEVEN WEAR ON TIRE THEY SUGGESTED FUEL SERVICE CLEANING OK WHY NOT GET TRUCK BACK TURN ON TRUCK TO START ENGINE LIGHT IS ON START TRUCK REVS UP TO 200RPMS THEN BACK DOWN TO 1000RPMS THIS IS NOT NORMAL PUT TRUCK IN DRIVE WITHOUT PRESSING GAS PEDAL I'M DOING TEN MILES PER HOUR NOT NORMAL TRUCK WAS RUNNING BETTER BEFORE THEIR SERVICE OWNER SAYS IT WASN'T DOING THOSE THINGS WHEN THEY FINISHED ALL OF THIS HAPPENED IN THEIR PARKING LOT RIGHT AFTER I HAD PAID THEM $1300 DOLLARS NOW THEY WANT ME TO COME BACK FOR SOMETHING THE CAUSED BASICALLY HE'S CALLING ME A LIAR IS THIS JEOPARDY OR THE PRICE IS RIGHT
Anthony E., owner from Perris Auto Repair Center responded on 09/09/2016

I understand your concern but i did tell you to bring it back in and that we would check the vehicle out for you and that the throttle body may need to be recalibrated. I also informed you that there will not be any charge to reinspect. I tried to call you but i got no answer. If you are not willing to bring the vehicle back in to reinspect there is nothing i can do for you. 


JM
Juanita M.
Claremont, CA
Toyota Sienna
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/04/2016
auto repairs rip-off
On Saturday, May 28, 2016, I was traveling on the 215 freeway in my 1999 Toyota Sienna Van, when I heard a knotting. I pull over to the side and called AAA. AAA toll me to the nearest auto repair shop...which was Perris Auto. The shop were closed at the time, and I had to wait until Tuesday, May 31, 2016. The service attendance, Anthony, checked my car in, made a work order, and promised me he would do a dionostic check to see what was the cause of the failed engine. He called me and told me that I needed a new engine and that it was going to cost me $8,000. First, I said yes...then, after about 30 minutes... looking up the Blue Book Value of the Van, I called Tim back and canceled the order. The repairs superceded the Value... He called me back and said, because I cancled, he is going to charge me $300.00 stocking fee. I told him "NO WAY" ...no one charge so much money when the transaction was with-in 30 minutes, especially if he had to order the engine. Perris Auto Repair is a RIP-OFF. Anthony refused to give me my car until I paid them $432.53. Anthony stated that he never did any diagnostic testing, yet I had to pay. I would never refer anyone to this repair shop.
Anthony E., owner from Perris Auto Repair Center responded on 06/06/2016

We did do the diagnostic test which is how we found out that the engine needed to be replaced. Our engines are not cheap but they do come with a 3 year unlimited mileage warranty. We focus on quality. As for the restocking fee, that would not have been so if the repairs were not approved. We had a good discussion on weather this was worth the value of the vehicle and you decided to say yes. When it is declined there is shipping fees (the motor was shipped and came the next day) and processing fees so we get charged just the same. If nothing was approved there would have been no issue. We do appreciate the opportunity and wish you luck with this! Thank you.


RA
Reynaldo A.
Riverside, CA
Mitsubishi Endeavor
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/31/2016
Disappointed
Disappointed
Anthony E., owner from Perris Auto Repair Center responded on 03/31/2016

Im not sure what you are upset about. We inspected the coolant leak, found where the leak is coming from and did a free 47 point inspection for you. Im not sure what else we could hav edone different but either way good luck with that!


MD
MICHAEL D.
Nuevo, CA
Subaru Impreza
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/24/2016
Troubling care
I recently took my car in to get a rethread due to a leak. I can understand that my motor had to be removed in order to complete the work (boxer engine, tight space). Everything was functional, I drive it daily before taking it in. After receiving the car I came to find a belt was not placed right, they did not install my intake duct (I had to go pick it up), broken brackets on my radiator fan, power steering leaking, and car overheating . Unless you havever photographs of your engine before them handling it, I do not recommended coming here.
Anthony E., owner from Perris Auto Repair Center responded on 03/25/2016

Like i told you earlier we apologize for the belt and intake duct we are responsible for that, as for the overheating, power steering leak, we test drove the vehicle for about 10 miles after everything was done and ran in the shop for another 45 minutes. there were no signs of leaks or overheating. As for the broken peices we also informed you about those and we took pictures to document them on our end incase of something like this. This engine was removed before and is why you brought it to us, so we could fix some of what was installed incorrectly. Either way we apologize and are you are more than welcome to bring it back to take care of or discuss further what is going on.


KM
Ken M.
Perris, CA
Kia Rio
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/23/2015
I went in to only get an estimate to repair my transmission and they wanted to repair the whole car for $5,300.00, .
I felt I was mis lead by Anthony I will not go back
Anthony E., owner from Perris Auto Repair Center responded on 12/23/2015

You may have felt as if you were mislead but you were not.  We quoted you on your transmission as well as all the other recommended items we found and i explained that i like to give you a full overview of your vehicle and that you can decide which items you would like to address. Unfortunately it does cost money to repair your vehicle


MW
MALCOLM W.
Perris, CA
Mitsubishi Montero
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/18/2013
Disappointed
I'm disappointed; I brought my vehicle in with a specific issue I was told what they thought was the problem $1,200.00 later My car has the same prob now $2,300. To fix the original issue.
Anthony E., Service manager/ Owner from Perris Auto Repair Center responded on 11/19/2013

Malcom I know you may be upset but the parts that were replaced were indeed bad and can cause the symptom you are having since the two paices are connected. I know we fully explained that the repair we performed was the first step because it is an obvious issue. We also informed you that there may be further repairs. We did show you the damaged part and how it was damaged. Either way thanks for the years of support!


TC
TONY C.
Menifee, CA
Dodge Pickup
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/29/2013
Not happy at all this time.
I brought my truck in mid morning, the air does not cool for more than 15 minutes before turning to heat. Finally just before closing time you got too it rushed through it popped a seal cost me over $100 to fix it. So I left with a $185.00 bill and the air is the same it only works for a few minutes then turns to hot air. I called you when I got to Perris blvd and Ramona Exp. Way to let you know it was now hot air again. Did not get fixed and cost me money for nothing. I dont want to rate this with any stars but it wont let me off the site until I do. So its not very honest is it.
Anthony E., Service manager/ Owner from Perris Auto Repair Center responded on 08/30/2013

Hey Tony, im sorry about the situation but we test drove the vehicle for a few miles and ran it with the a/c  on in park for well over an hour and the a/c was working the whole time. The seal did blow on the high side a/c line but there is nothing we could do to prevent that from happening. Either way we did talk after you picked up the vehicle and I explained that it was not a problem to bring it back in so we could check it further since it acted up.


DB
DANIEL B.
Perris, CA
Jeep Grand Cherokee
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/22/2013
Terrible service
They have me a quote of 800 for brake change and I got it done elsewhere for 180. There a rip off. Will never go to them for anything
Anthony E., Service manager/ Owner from Perris Auto Repair Center responded on 07/23/2013
The quote of $800 was not just for a basic brake job. That total included front and rear brake pads with rotors, removing broken wheel studs (that broke due to incorrect installation from another person), and lug nuts. We could have just slapped pads on you vehicle but we are knowledgeable in our field and we would not just install pads because you will have an issue in the future with brakes warping, severe steering wheel shake when applying the brake pedal, and stopping issues (that's was your original issue). We were very thorough with are work so you don't have to come back with the same issue or creating new issues due to incorrect installation (that's why the lug nuts and wheels stud needed to be replaced and you spent money that was unnecessary). I'm sure you did not get a 2yr 24k nationwide warranty with free road side assistance as well. Either way there are plenty of other shops out there and you are more then welcome to visit them for your future needs.

MT
Marianita T.
Perris, CA
GMC Envoy
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/05/2017
Has not found problem $3,000.00 later
Will return in dec
Anthony E., owner from Perris Auto Repair Center responded on 10/05/2017

Thanks for the response Marianita. Reviewing the work that was performed, everything that was replaced was needed, unfortunately your vehicle has multiple problems and repairs sometimes can be a step by step process. I know we have spoken about this and we are narrowing down the issue after resolving many other issues. We will continue to diagnose as soon as you bring it back. Thank you for understanding 


LG
Latoya G.
Perris, CA
Jeep Commander
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/16/2017
Overpriced
The place is clean with great hospitality, everyone was nice. Dealership prices...maybe more.
Anthony E., owner from Perris Auto Repair Center responded on 09/18/2017

We appreciate the opportunity Latoya! We do not pride ourselves on being the cheapest but we do pride ourselves on offering the best warranty which is a 3 year or 36,000 mile nationwide warranty and  top level service. If you are in need of something you are still welcome to give s a visit


KB
Kimberly B.
Perris, CA
Ford Mustang
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
01/16/2014 Category: Service
Kimberly said the vehicle had been sitting for two years and she put in a new battery. They did an oil change and then a smog test. She said they knew it would not pass, since it was a new battery. They offered her a pre-check. She said she felt like she was taken advantage of. She would not recommend this business based on this experience.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Anthony E., Service manager/ Owner from Perris Auto Repair Center responded on 01/20/2014

I am gald i was able to speak to you following the smog so we could both be on the same page and understand that we were not sure if the battery was going to effect the smog since we did not know how many miles the vehicle was driven. That is why we recommended the pre test as well.


HM
Harvey M.
Moreno Valley, CA
Plymouth Breeze
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/29/2013 Category: Service
Harvey said this business diagnosed his vehicle 3 times and charged him $700 for the repairs but his vehicle is still not fixed. He had a bad experience with this facility and brought his vehicle home. He will not recommend them due to this experience.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Anthony E., Service manager/ Owner from Perris Auto Repair Center responded on 07/06/2013
Diagnosis is a step by step process and in your particular case there was multiple issues. We can not look for other problems that might not be there when we know there is an issue that will cause the vehicle to run a certain way. Everything was explained thoroughly and you were notified before any charges were applied. I understand that the issue was not fixed but we needed more diagnosis time and you did not want to continue. I am sorry that you feel this way but if you need any information from us we are still here to help.

MB
MARLENE B.
Perris, CA
Jeep Grand Cherokee
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/23/2013
Over priced
I have been to this mechanic several times, but this last time I had a general check up on vehicle and it seemed very over priced. Not sure I will be going back.
Anthony E., Service manager/ Owner from Perris Auto Repair Center responded on 06/25/2013
I'm sorry you feel this way but we quoted and approved the jobs before the work was done to make sure that the price was in your budget. Any how we still do appreciate it and if you need anything you know where we are at.

FF
Felix F.
Perris, CA
Chevrolet Tahoe
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/19/2016
Military Discount
I see the front page of the e-mail states ask about our military, police, firefighter and paramedic discount. When my vehicle was towed to your location I was in my military uniform and was not informed of any discount, I had to ask Anthony to come down in price and while he looked things up on the computer he finally agreed to take $50.00 off the price but not once did he mention a military discount. This is shameful that your business advertises such a discount yet it was never once offered. The service provided was professional but I still am shocked about listing everything to be serviced especially when I was verbally told that my vehicle was not in bad shape.
Anthony E., owner from Perris Auto Repair Center responded on 07/20/2016

After our conversation and great service I'mkind of upset that you would assume i wasn't going to offer the Military discount. I always apply the discount at the end of things and i like to surprise customers when they pay because they often forget about the military or aaa discount. Either way we do not pride ourselves on our discounts we pride ourselves on the quality of work that we do our 3 year/36k nation wide warranty (yours being a 3y/100k nationwide on the transmission) and the great custoemr service we provide. Thanks again for the business. 


ML
MIGUEL L.
Perris, CA
Chevrolet S10 Pickup
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/11/2016
Good service but fulfill the satistifaction
I did my breaks Plus break flush which was great but I still hear the squeal sound from one of the rear tires. If my friend had the same squeal sounds I would not recommend here
Anthony E., owner from Perris Auto Repair Center responded on 03/14/2016

Im glad you brought this to our attention and that we were able to check it out for you and correct the issue. We are here to take care of our clients. 


RH
Richard H.
Perris, CA
Honda Accord
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/23/2013 Category: Service
Richard said everything was taken care of. They are expensive.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Anthony E., Service manager/ Owner from Perris Auto Repair Center responded on 07/27/2013
We definitely apreciate the business Richard, It may be a little expensive but the saying "you get what you pay for" is true and thats why you now have a nation wide warranty and free road side assistance just for doing business with us.