Overview

Overall Rating 4.88/5Overall Rating 4.88/5Overall Rating 4.88/5Overall Rating 4.88/5rating 4.88

1307 Reviews

ReScore Reviews™ (7)

ReScore
Overall Rating 4.8571429/5Overall Rating 4.8571429/5Overall Rating 4.8571429/5Overall Rating 4.8571429/5rating 4.8571429
Original
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5rating 2.0rating 2.0rating 2.0
99% Would Recommend
Latest Review 4 days ago

Reviews


Verified Customer
Altamonte Springs, FL
Nissan Xterra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/08/2018
Crooks, stay away
I used them a couple times and always suspected they're charges were high but I figured I had to pay for quality. The most recent repair they quoted $1200 for a new PCM, I had it towed to a shop a few miles away and it was fixed for $390.00, I consider this robbery and Marty's will not see my money again

RP
RICK P.
Longwood, FL
Jeep Grand Cherokee
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/22/2018
Very unhappy,unable to repair my vehicle properly
I spent a lot of money,and a lot of parts were replaced on my old Jeep.Unfortunately it's
still running rough.I brought my Jeep back,and complained about this,and they replaced some
more parts,which I was charged for.Unfortunately it is still running rough,
Marty D., Owner from Marty's Auto Works responded on 04/27/2018

Rick,
Thank you for taking the time to speak with me about your concerns. We appreciate your willingness to work with us.

Sincerely,
Marty & Staff

DR
DOMINIC R.
Lake Mary, FL
Jeep Grand Cherokee
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/01/2017
great follow-up!
Marty's went out of their way to resolve my issues and earn my business. I feel very comfortable with their level of expertise and customer service. I will continue to use Marty's for my auto repair needs.

Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/01/2017
“Free” Inspection
Found this shop on the AAA website as an approved shop, took my Jeep in for the “free” 40 point inspection that ended up costing $47 and provided estimates for 1,200 plus in repair estimates. Left not very happy, the very next day, the O2 sensor that I had replaced a few months earlier falls out of its socket where it was epoxied into. I was barely able to drive it back in the next day and had to pay another 275 to have it replaced again.Overall, I’m out $325 and the car drives the exact same as when I brought it there 2 days ago. Won’t ever use Marty’s for another repair.
Marty D., Owner from Marty's Auto Works responded on 11/27/2017

Dominic,
Per our recent conversations, we really appreciate your willingness to work with us and get the issue taken care of to your satisfaction. We want all of our customers to be happy with their service.

Sincerely,
Marty & Staff

MC
MARY C.
Longwood, FL
Buick Century
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/28/2017
Not so good anymore
Marty's use to be wonderful but I believe they have just gotten to busy. When I didn't make an appointment I waited a week for a water pump to be changed. I then had an issue, made an appointment, they didn't get a chance to finish reviewing but promised to call me the next day - yea you they didn't and oh by the way they broke my blower for my a/c so I had to take it else where. Very sad, I use to recommend them, now I recommend that you stay clear.
Marty D., Owner from Marty's Auto Works responded on 11/27/2017

Mary,
We are very sorry to hear this. We have tried to reach out to you a few times so we can chat and see how we can make it right. If you have a chance please give me a call. We want all our customers to be beyond satisfied with our service.

Sincerely,

Marty & Staff

JH
JIM H.
Longwood, FL
Ford Explorer
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/10/2017
Excellent staff and mechanics!
I can not say enough good about Marty and his staff! We were extremely satisfied with the whole process!

Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/10/2017
2002 Ford Explorer
I can not say enough good things about Marty and his excellent team of mechanics!
As most people know, it is difficult to find a trustworthy mechanic in this day and age, but Marty's has restored my faith!!!
After having two other shops tell me that my evaporator coil needed to be replaced and it would cost me $1500.00, Marty and his team proved that it was just my serpentine belt.
Our explorer was a big challenge with many issues and these guys took the bull by the horns and were extremely professional and courteous and informative as to what was going on as they were working on the vehicle.
If I could give these guys ten stars I would do so!!!
Thank you Marty and your team!!

Sincerely,
Jim & Lynda Hoffman
Marty D., Owner from Marty's Auto Works responded on 07/11/2017

Hi Jim,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so happy to have earned your trust and your continued patronage!

Sincerely,
Marty & Staff

RG
Ron G.
Florida
Volkswagen Jetta
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/18/2016 Category: Service
Ron said he took his vehicle back to the business and replaced the part he needed at no charge. They were nice and he had no problems working with them. He said he was happy with them.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/18/2016 Category: Service
Ron said the vehicle is till hesitating when accelerated and the engine light is back on. He said he will have to bring the vehicle back in.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Marty D., Owner from Marty's Auto Works responded on 11/08/2016

We are happy that you brought the vehicle back into us and we got it running much better.  

Thank you for your continued patronage. 

Marty DiSanto & Staff
Marty D., Owner from Marty's Auto Works responded on 12/13/2016

Thank you and Happy Holidays!!

Sincerely,
Marty & Staff

RG
Ronald G.
Toyota Tacoma
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/20/2013 Category: Service
Ronald said the business charged him $178 for a diagnostic on a transmission problem, which should have cost $90. He said he would not recommend the business for the reason stated.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Marty D., Owner from Marty's Auto Works responded on 06/11/2013
We are so sorry you were not happy with our services. Please know that we did our best to make you understand the charges and correct the "problem" but were unable to see eye to eye with this matter. It is always our goal to give our customers the best service at the best prices available. I feel we sincerely tried to accomplish this goal.

DG
Daniel G.
Nissan Altima
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/23/2013 Category: Service
Daniel said his vehicle is still broken. He said the business cleaned out debris and deposits out of his catalytic converter with brake cleaner costing $250. He drove it down the road and back and it sounded like a mariachi band when he took off the catalytic converter. He purchased a new catalytic converter online and he has to clean it with brake fluid and remove bolts and install the new one.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Stephanie K. from Marty's Auto Works responded on 02/12/2013
The vehicle in question, a 2000 Nissan Altima with 175k on the odometer arrived at our facility on Jan. 17, 2013. Daniel complained of a “slight misfire” with oxygen sensor and catalytic converter codes. We attempted to drive the vehicle into the service bay but found that the vehicle would hardly run at all. We did verify codes; a code that Daniel was not aware of was an EGR code. (P0420, converter AND P1402 EGR CODE) we removed the EGR valve for inspection and found large chunks of the melted catalytic converter holding the valve open and this was the cause of the poor run ability (internal vacuum leak) the intake port also had an excessive amount of carbon build up and pieces of the melted converter in it. As we advised Daniel, we cleaned the intake passages “as best we can” but we did not address any other potential issues such as the catalytic converter or oxygen sensors. Daniel’s girlfriend called back the following Wednesday, stating that the vehicle was running poorly again. We immediately asked her to come back to recheck and that it is likely the catalytic converter that was coming apart, probably had caused the EGR valve to become stuck open again (due to debris) We explained to her that we would remove and clean the EGR valve again at no cost to her but we will likely need to replace the catalytic converter to eliminate the problem, (and that we would even install a customer supplied converter to help out as much as possible) but Daniel (or his girlfriend) never returned. I do not know if Daniel communicated all of the information that was noted on his repair order (or what was discussed verbally) but there is no way we deserved a one star review.

CK
CHRIS K.
Mitsubishi Outlander
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/09/2013
bad estimate, did not get the coupon rate.
the estimate contained two line items for $190 yet in my email from you all, is a special deal for $94. I asked for a lower rate yet all I got was a run down on the items and the price. So I am taking the vehicle to other shops for an estimate and compare.

GH
Greg H.
Sanford, FL
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
01/19/2018
Over priced
After getting my truck repaired here and paying the outrageous bill I did more research on what it should cost and found out it is a 12 hour job got charged 24 parts are about 1400 got charged 2500 other than that truck runs good.
Marty D., Owner from Marty's Auto Works responded on 02/28/2018

We have reached out to Greg and discussed the service performed on his truck in detail.  He has agreed that he was charged a fair price.  It is very important to us to make sure that our customers always know that were treated fairly and provided the best possible service and the best possible price.  

Sincerely,
Marty & Staff

SL
Steven L.
Longwood, FL
Ford Mustang
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
12/15/2015 Category: Service
Steven said this business had his vehicle all day. The instrument cluster part they installed did not work and the part was defective. A new part has been ordered and they are waiting for this to be delivered.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Marty D., Owner from Marty's Auto Works responded on 01/17/2016

We have made this issue right with the customer and he is now pleased with Marty's Auto Works. 



PD
Pete D.
Buick LeSabre
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
05/15/2014 Category: Service
Pete said he drove his vehicle today and it broke down on him. Marty is a top man. He has been going to this business for 34 years.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Marty D., Owner from Marty's Auto Works responded on 05/29/2014

We picked Pete's vehicle up from his home, fixed the problem,
washed & cleaned his car and delivered it back to his home free of charge.  Needless to say, he is still a very HAPPY LOYAL customer of Marty's Auto Works.  


KJ
Kieth J.
Florida
Ford Mustang
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/08/2013 Category: Service
Kieth said he had to finish the work they started after he got home. The hose clamp to the radiator wasn't installed fully. He had to finish it because it was leaking fluid all over his garage floor. If this is what they call quality control, it's bologna so he's not going back and won't recommend them for this reason.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Marty D., Owner from Marty's Auto Works responded on 11/12/2013

The "bologna" is in the customers hands on this one.  We explained to Mr. Jackson that his vehicle has a blown head gasket and this is likely what caused the hose to come off (due to over pressurization).  We also explained to Mr. Jackson that this engine has excessive metal in the crank case which indicates that the engine was previously severely over heated and also has a timing chain noise.  A replacement engine was recommended but Mr. Jackson only requested a replacement radiator and we were CLEAR that this would NOT repair the problem and now he is upset for no valid reason.  


GS
Gene S.
Florida
Chevrolet TrailBlazer
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/08/2013 Category: Service
Gene said he received a call and reconciled with the business. He was offered free services that he may be using in the future.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/08/2013 Category: Service
Gene said his visit to this business was not that good. His vehicle was 2-3 days later but he was not kept informed about the vehicle. When he picked it up, the vehicle was still knocking. He thought changing the tie rod bearings would quiet the noise but it did not, so he said the vehicle was not completely fixed.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Marty D., Owner from Marty's Auto Works responded on 10/19/2013

After reviewing options that were offered to Gene he chose the more affordable option with NO guarantee knowing that it would NOT proberly fix the vehicle.  He informed us that he intended to trade this vehicle in and simply wanted the least expensive option.  When this did not prove to be a lasting repair Marty's Auto Works chose to offer Gene a partial credit.  This vehicle was subsequently traded in and Gene was happy with our offer and has agreed to correct his review.  


CF
Clay F.
Palm Bay, FL
GMC Sierra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/10/2013 Category: Service
Clay said he called the business when they were ordering the heads for his vehicle. The parts were refurbished and one had a notch on it, but it was not supposed to, so they had to order another one. He had to bring back his vehicle because his oil pump was clogged. He said the business was supposed to flush the oil and gunk out. He would not recommend the business based on this experience.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

LS
LES S.
Winter Springs, FL
Buick Verano
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/03/2018
Revised "Having to take car back"
I received a call from Marty to discuss my concerns, must say it is great that a company reach out to their customers to talk to them, instead of an email. The issue with the check engine light coming on after the repairs is now understood, and as Marty told me it might take the engine computer a few cycles to verify everything is OK. I am happy to report that my daughter told me that the check engine light is now out. Thanks to Marty and his team! See you soon with another car to work on.

Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/03/2018
Having to take the car back
I am giving Marty's a 3 star because I was disappointed in that in calling a week ahead I asked if I could get my car serviced, the person on the phone said yes and they could have it done by Friday (this was a Monday that I called). I was told that if I dropped my car off the following Tuesday (actually dropped it off on Monday afternoon) they would be able to get my car in and out that day. At 2:00pm on Tuesday I was told that my car was next in line and no way was it getting done. My big issue was that my car was taken in for a check engine light and when we picked up the car after they had closed the check engine light was still on even after spending $700+ dollars to get it fixed. So either the tech forgot to reset the check engine light or it came right back on and no one noticed. I would still recommend Marty's especially if you have some issue that other service centers can't find, just make sure you pick up the car while they are still open, that way should the issue not be addressed you could get someone to look at it.
Marty D., Owner from Marty's Auto Works responded on 03/05/2018

Les,
Thank you for taking the time to speak with me this morning. We apologize for the communication errors and appreciate your feedback.

Sincerely,
Marty & Staff

AB
AMI B.
Longwood, FL
Chrysler Town & Country
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/20/2017
Oil change
Nick is awesome. Always very nice and helpful. Had some issues with getting shuttle back to shop. Told them I needed to be back no later than 1130-12n. Shuttle finally came at 1245p. Other than that all was good
Marty D., Owner from Marty's Auto Works responded on 05/30/2017

Ami,
Thank you for choosing Marty's Auto Works, we apologize for the delay with the shuttle, we really do try to make the process as smooth as possible. 

Sincerely,
Marty & Staff

MP
MIKE P.
Longwood, FL
Toyota Corolla
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/05/2016
Corrective Action Taken by Business Owner - CV Axle OK, Rear Brakes OK, Oil Change. Overfilled...
This history is relevant:
I have been a customer of Marty DiSanto since he was a service manager for another auto repair company. He treated his customers very well then and I was a repeat customer. In 1996 Marty left that business to start his own. I stayed with that other business, but their new service manager was very, very difficult to work with. After being disappointed more than once, I searched for and found Marty at his new business Marty's Autoworks. I soon realized that it was Marty, not the previous business that provided the honesty I wanted. Marty was the one who was taking the time to explain what was broken, what had to be fixed now, what could wait in a way that I could understand. For more than 20 years I have been satisfied with him and his hand-picked employees' commitment to honesty and transparency when making automobile repairs.

Why I wrote the 3 out of 5 star review:
Because their overfilling of motor oil in my Toyota had happened before and overfilling has serious motor damage consequences, I was compelled to write a review pointing out the repeat problem.

What happened after I posted my three out of five star review:
Service Manager Nick called me and discussed the specifics. He took my review seriously. He offered my next oil change for free and offered a free inspection to see if other mechanical issues could be causing the [pooling] oil. Then I told Nick the oil overfill happened that last time they changed my oil. He became more concerned.
While I had him on the phone, I told him any time I've had them do any work that required putting air in my tires, they have been way-over filled.
> He said he'd investigate, check the equipment and make sure his technicians are following procedures.

On 12/06/2016, Nick called me and said:
+ All of the oil guns were tested and one was out of calibration.
+ That the “AllData” book they use to service automobiles has two listings for my 1987 Toyota Corolla. Once for each size of engine. BUT, the book's specifications for my smaller (3.5 quart) 1.6L engine has the same oil capacity as the larger engine (4.5 quart). The book is wrong. Nick concludes that the technician was following the specifications, causing an overfill situation. He is going to contact “AllData” to get them to correct their error.
+ Because of my air pressure complaint, Marty has ordered all new air chucks. They are top-of-the-line, with gauges in the handles.

This swift investigation and corrective action shows that Marty's Autoworks' commitment to the best automobile service is ongoing and solid. I am satisfied that the issues are resolved.

Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/05/2016
CV Axle OK, Rear Brakes OK, Oil Change.. Overfilled
In the week following replacement of the CV axle, complete overhaul of the rear brakes and a motor oil/filter change, MORE than the usual amount of motor oil appeared on the garage floor, under my 29 year old car. So much so that I checked the oil dip stick. Rather than it finding it low from all the oil loss onto the floor, the oil was way over the full limit mark. 3/4 of an inch over the mark! Not wanting to loose the use of my car for another day, I put the car on some ramps I used to use when I was young enough to do my own basic maintenance. Then drained the oil some. Then put back the right amount (full mark on the dip stick).

I have no idea what damage was caused to the engine. Overfilled oil typically first causes damage to seals. But also can cause causes air pockets and less liquid oil to cool parts such as piston skirts. The foamed oil also sticks in place and doesn't drain back to the pan.

I've not yet had problems with the CV axle of the rear brakes.
Marty D., Owner from Marty's Auto Works responded on 12/13/2016

Sorry for this issue with your vehicle.  Per your conversation with us, we hope we have resolved the problem.  

THANK YOU!!

Sincerely,
Marty & Staff

IK
Ian K.
Winter Springs, FL
Mercury Mountaineer
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/07/2016 Category: Service
Ian said it seems like every time he goes back with a another problem, he feels it should have been caught earlier. He stated they are friendly and pleasant, but he feels the problems should have been caught in one visit and he has been back quite a few times.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

ZR
Zach R.
Florida
Honda Accord
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/30/2016 Category: Service
Zach said he would recommend the business to others.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Marty D., Owner from Marty's Auto Works responded on 07/18/2016

Thank you!!


Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 1307 in total