Overview

Overall Rating 4.69/5Overall Rating 4.69/5Overall Rating 4.69/5Overall Rating 4.69/5rating 4.69

1988 Reviews

ReScore Reviews™ (1)

ReScore
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
Original
Overall Rating 1.0/5rating 1.0rating 1.0rating 1.0rating 1.0
94% Would Recommend
Latest Review 3 days ago

Reviews


RP
ROGER P.
Duluth, MN
Volkswagen Golf Alltrack
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/08/2019 Category: Service
Routine service on 2017 VW Alltrack
Presented my 2017 VW Alltrack to VW of Duluth for routine service; appointment had been scheduled along with what was to be done (oil and filter change, tire rotation).
When getting checked out I questioned the amount of the charges as they were greater than what were expected as discussed on phone when appointment made. Service rep said the oil change/filter was more expensive because it was a DIESEL. And all this time I had been fueling it with gasoline!...and I believe VW stopped producing/selling diesels prior to the 2017 model year. I would hope your people would know the products better than this.
Service was done quickly (I hope well).

BS
Brett S.
MN
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/13/2019 Category: Service
Brett said his vehicle is currently sitting in Milwaukee after this business supposedly fixed it.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

DL
Daniel L.
MN
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/13/2019 Category: Service
Daniel said he was going to have an emissions update done and he was told they would have to fix a problem before that was covered under warranty. He said after two or three days they called him and said it wouldn't be covered under warranty and would cost a thousand dollars. He said he did it but wasn't happy.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

JJ
Josiah J.
Duluth, MN
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/19/2019 Category: Service
Spoke with Josiah. He said it took the business 8 weeks to finish the repair and a big part was about the insurance. He stated that he was calling the business practically everyday because the insurance was waiting for the repair to finish so they can work on the claim. The repair was not done to his satisfaction and he said he wouldn't be back to the business.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

RS
REBECCA S.
Chaska, MN
Volkswagen Passat
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/15/2019 Category: Sales
Used VW Purchase
Product and sales staff were very good but closing documentation department were not likewise.

Verified Customer
Superior, WI
Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/13/2019 Category: Service
Bad service
Bad service representative was not helpful and did not know the information needed or how to get the information needed

SK
Sabrina K.
Superior, WI
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/08/2019 Category: Service
Sabrina said the service was good, but she had a bad experience with getting the appointment. When she first called the business, the staff did not want to help her, and they didn't have a loaner they could provide her. She stated she needed to get her husband involved in order to get the service she needed. Based on the way she was treated, she would not want to return to this business.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

SO
Stephanie O.
Cass Lake, MN
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
03/26/2019 Category: Service
Stephanie said she ordered the part a week prior to the service. So, it was there. However, she's not sure if the part was installed. The technician was unable to find out what was wrong with the vehicle. She was quoted 2 hours of labor, but it took 5 hours. The service representative did not seem knowledgeable. She was trying to explain things to her. Also, she's not sure, the technician is certified to work on vehicles. He was not confident in what he was doing. She paid $280 and none of her concerns were taken care of. She drove 2 and a half hours to this business. She budgeted for 2 hours of labor, but the service took 5 hours. She was not given a reason for the delay. It would have been nice if they provided her with a loaner. She probably wouldn't recommend this business nor go back.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

CG
Chase G.
Winona, MN
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/17/2019
Still waiting
So I purchased a car in January, never got the warranty packet that I wanted and I wanted to know how to reset the airbag light also. So I called and called and they said they sent a packet finally in February (which I never recieved yet and its march now) and that would get back to me to let me know how to reset the light. However no attempts were made in helping me out. I have finally given up and will probably never buy from a dealer again!!!! Oh plus they keep spelling my name wrong, thank god it's actually spelt right on the title though....

JB
Josh B.
MN
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
02/19/2019 Category: Service
Josh said he could not get a hold of any of the employees. They did not call him back as promised. He felt ignored during his service. They took a long time on his work.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

Verified Customer
Duluth, MN
Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/20/2019 Category: Sales
Poor excuse for customer service
Typical Evergreen dealership. More interested in the immediate gratification of a sale than the customer. The sale itself was fine other than their sorry excuse for an offer on my trade. Upon arriving to take delivery of the car, even though they had been expecting me the car was buried in the lot, covered in an inch of ice, dirty inside and out, an empty fuel tank, no 21 day permit, and it does not appear to have been through the shop or had an oil change.

Basically, my expectations were low going in and they couldn't even meet that.
Ana B. from Volkswagen of Duluth responded on 01/21/2019

Hello! I'm sorry you feel that you had a bad experience at our dealership. We truly do our best to give the very best sales experience possible.

Your vehicle was ready to go that Friday after the rustproofing was done, as mentioned by your salesman. There was a big snowstorm that day that is why your vehicle was buried in ice when you arrived Saturday. Unfortunately we did not know when you were going to stop in so we couldn't plan for it ahead of time. You did get a full tank of gas and a 21 day permit before you left our lot. I apologize that things might not have gone as smooth for your vehicle delivery as we would have liked. 

Please let us know if there's anything else that we can do for you in the future.


NP
Nate P.
MN
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/15/2019 Category: Service
Nate said he did not have a good experience with the business. He said his battery went dead and when the battery was charged, his vehicle did not recognize his key and he had to pay $75 to have his vehicle programmed.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

BL
BRIAN L.
Bruno, MN
GMC Sierra 1500
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/18/2018 Category: Sales
Crappy
Sell vehicle vehicles that don't have proper tires on for winter then expect you to buy th
Ana B. from Volkswagen of Duluth responded on 12/19/2018

Hi Brian, I'm sorry that you feel that way. We did have an agreement with you that if you provided the stipulations needed to finalize the financing that we would change the tires. Since you decided not to keep the truck and ended up returning it back to us, then there was no need for us to change the tires at the time. We would certainly like to earn your business in the future so please let us know how we can help.


JA
JOHN A.
Superior, WI
Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/15/2018 Category: Service
Sales great. Service horrible.
The work done on my car was horrible and they didn't fix it and wanted 900 for that. I bought a new car other than price sales was great.

NG
NEWOOD G.
Grand Marais, MN
Volkswagen Golf SportWagen
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
12/12/2018 Category: Sales
Communication is lacking
Buying my car was easy enough.

Then I had to wait 24 hours to pick it up because of a recall that needed to be done. When I picked it up the next day the check engine light came on within 5 minutes. Took it right back and it was diagnosed with an emission system error that wasn't noticed while it was being serviced. Or maybe they never did the service that they claimed they did in the 24 hours I was waiting for the car, who knows.

They gave me a loaner Tiguan, very lowest trim level with its own set of issues, and said they would be in touch when my car was fixed. After 3 days with no contact, I asked when I could expect to pick up my car and they said it was at the top of the list and would let me know. Another week goes by and no one has contacted me so I email again and they say I'm next on the list and someone will call when it's done. Another week goes by and no one has called, so I call them. They say my car has been done for a couple of days and that the service department contacted me, which never happened or obviously I wouldn't be calling.

At this point it has been a day short of 3 weeks since I paid for the car and I've driven it a grand total of 20 minutes, including the test drive. The only time anyone has contacted me is when I call or email them. Zero outreach on their part, zero effort to make up for 3 weeks the car was sitting in service. They didn't even bother to detail it afterwards. The only thing they did was loan me a Tiguan that made funny sounds when it was started and had a busted washer pump, so every time it snowed I had to go wash the windows at a gas station to be able to see.

I love Volkswagens but VW of Duluth left me with a bad impression of VW dealerships.
Ana B. from Volkswagen of Duluth responded on 12/17/2018

Hi Newood, I appologize for your experience at our dealership. Here at VW of Duluth we strive to give the best service possible to our customers. Please let us know how we can make things right. 


MK
Michele K.
Eveleth, MN
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/15/2018 Category: Service
Michele said the staff did not have all the services she requested on record. She stated that the one particular thing she wanted done was overlooked. She noticed that a hubcap was missing and the vehicle was out of alignment after the visit. She said that since she returned to have the vehicle aligned is has being driving wobbly.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

LV
LIRIDONA V.
Spooner, WI
Volkswagen Tiguan
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/12/2018 Category: Sales
Not too happy with the service
I was not well informed about the vehicle and what all i am getting for the price.
Ana B. from Volkswagen of Duluth responded on 10/15/2018

Hi Liridona, I apologize for your experience. We strive to be as transparent as possible with our vehicles/price. Please let us know what we can do to earn your business. 


TR
Trenton R.
Mcgregor, MN
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/12/2018 Category: Service
Trenton said the staff at this business did not get a hold of him ahead of time to let him know that his oil change service plan was about to expire after he had paid for 3 oil changes when he purchased this vehicle. Instead he was charged $80.00 for the oil change. He felt that the staff at this business could have honored the plan. He said now because of this slight, he will not be purchasing another vehicle from this business.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

RF
RICHARD F.
Superior, WI
Volkswagen BEETLE
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/23/2018 Category: Service
slow service
I had dropped off an old 73 Bug knowing that there were likely some pretty significant repairs that would be needed to the engine if I wanted it to run well. I had shared with the service department that the Bug was not a daily driver and there was not any major rush in making repairs. Even though I had said there was no major rush, I was frustrated that I didn't hear anything for nearly two weeks and that I had to initiate any conversation with the service department. I understand that this was not a car that I had purchased at this dealership, but my wife and I did purchase a new Passat from the dealership shortly after it opened in 2012. I did not feel like a valued customer.

CQ
CODY Q.
Solon Springs, WI
Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/16/2018 Category: Sales
Still waiting for services that have been paid for to be completed.
Walked in and basically handed the sale to the Salesman names Adam. During the paperwork process I opted to purchased the “Northland Protection” which is undercoating for the car. The dealer, Volkswagen of Duluth, was supposed to call me to set up a day to bring it in to have this done after receiving my vehicle. They have never contacted me to set this up and they will not return my phone calls and gave me the run around when I made a personal visit. At this point I am out $800 and will contacting the FTC and a lawyer.