Overview

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5rating 4.8

701 Reviews

98% Would Recommend
Latest Review 3 days ago

Reviews


RH
Robby H.
Calhoun, GA
Honda Accord Coupe
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/12/2018 Category: Service
Robby said he spent 1600 hundred dollars and they didn't fix his vehicle. He took it there 3 times and thought they had fixed the problem. He would not recommend the business, for the reason stated.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Toby H., Owner from Executive Park Tire responded on 02/21/2018

Good Afternoon,

We deeply apologize your visit to our store was not positive. We do strive to make sure all of customers are satisfied with their service. Upon review of your account, we went above and beyond to help all we could. We performed several hundred dollars of work that were not billed to you becasue we understood your situation. There was trash in the fuel lines which eventually made the way into the injectors. When gas is no longer present in a vehicle it causes a series of issues which is what happened in this particular case.  We are truly sorry for the negative experience, but would like to help you down the road if any other issues may arise.

Sincerely,

Toby Holland, Owner
Executive Park Tire


JJ
Jason J.
Calhoun, GA
Chevrolet Silverado SS
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/08/2017 Category: Service
Jason said the service was not good and the vehicle had to be taken to another facility to have the work done right.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Toby H., Owner from Executive Park Tire responded on 11/10/2017

Good Afternoon,

  Thank you for your feedback. Executive Park Tire strives to make customer service our #1 goal. We were unaware of an ongoing issue with your Silverado SS. If it had been brought to our attention we would have gladly corrected the issue.


DS
David S.
Calhoun, GA
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/01/2017
Broke bolts, never fixed it.
They stripped a bolt that is important in my suspension. When I took it back to them they stripped out the other side. Then once I took it back a third time they told me they were not liable for it. I would sue if I had enough money for a lawyer.
Toby H., Owner from Executive Park Tire responded on 05/01/2017

Mr. David S,

We are sorry that your experience with Executive was not a postitive one. We strive to make customer satisfaction our first priority. Upon review of your experience here, we brought to your attention that the bolts had been stripped prior to the work done at EPT. You confirmed with our Technician you had taken your vehicle to a different location first and when that location did not fix your car, you brought it to our store. We notified you the vehicle was not safe to drive and we fixed your vehicle free of charge because we wanted you to be safe.

If you have your car serviced at a different store before bringing it to Executive and the other location damaged your car, we are not liable for their negligance.

Once again, we are truly sorry your experience here was not a positive one. If you would like, you are more than welcome to call and speak with the owner.

Sincerely,
Executive Park Tire


AH
AUSTIN H.
Kingston, GA
Ford Fusion
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/15/2016
Item stolen from my car
A battery charger was stolen during my old change Im positive it was stolen during that time. Some young new guy did my oil change. Figured I'd let someone know before he continues to steal from people not sure I'll go back. Can't even trust people to not steal things out if my car. I like the place other then this incident he was new not there before.

KR
Kim R.
Calhoun, GA
Volkswagen Jetta
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/02/2015
Close to work
After the rotate and balance I noticed I have two wheels that are scratched

EE
Ed E.
Calhoun, GA
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/12/2015
charged over $500. Car not fixed.
After complaining they actually did nothing. Will never go again.

NL
NICK L.
Calhoun, GA
Nissan Xterra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/06/2015
They did not fix what I told them too
I told them I had a bad tpms sensor. They told me they hooked it up to a computer and re programed the tpms sensors and charged $70. By the time I got home the tpms light was blinking again. I will take my truck somewhere else to get fixed

RE
Robbie E.
Adairsville, GA
Toyota Tundra 4WD Truck
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
05/03/2018 Category: Service
Robbie said he was completely happy with everything, except for the fact that they left the door to his vehicle unlocked with the keys in the ignition and all his personal possessions inside. He would however, still recommend this business for service.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

SC
Shana C.
Adairsville, GA
Volkswagen Passat
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
03/05/2018 Category: Service
Shana said her vehicle was in a ditch and one employee didn't know what he was doing. Another one came, pulled it out, and she paid.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

RC
Randy C.
Calhoun, GA
Volvo S60
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
01/11/2017 Category: Service
Randy said this business did not fix the problem with his vehicle. He said they did what they thought was going to correct the issue. They told him his vehicle needed tires, but the issue was not resolved.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

RE
Raquel E.
Rydal, GA
Chevrolet Suburban
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/20/2016 Category: Service
Raquel said she spoke with an employee from this business the day before she had her oil changed and asked them how long would it take, and she was told it would take an hour and a half. They told her if she came in early enough it wouldn't take as long. She came in and it still took an hour an a half. She asked about the prices and they told her it would be $29.95 for her vehicle. She then asked about the Facebook discount and they told her they would apply it to her vehicle. When she paid for her services it came out to be $34 so they did not give her the Facebook discount. She also was told that the tire rotation was free but they charged her 94 cents for a convenience fee. She would not recommend this business for service for reasons already stated.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Toby H., Owner from Executive Park Tire responded on 07/22/2016

Good Morning!

We apologize that your experience at Executive Park Tire was not a positive one. We strive to make sure our customers are completely satisfied. Our establisment is a full service company. We are not an express serive as are other locations. We are a first come first serve basis. It could have been the morning you came there were customers ahead of you at the time. We have reviewed your invoice and there was no charge for your tire rotation. The convience fee was applied due to you paid with a card. There is a sign at the counter, but we will make sure to let our customers know ahead of time before they pay. We gladly honor the Facebook discount if we are told at the time of check out. We will do what we can do to clarify any misunderstandings. Our number one goal here at Executive is to make sure our customers are 100% satisfied. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience.


CS
Charles S.
Armuchee, GA
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/28/2014
Get other estimates
I took my Ford truck in for an estimate to replace the front ball joints and idler arms. The estimate was over $1200. I went to get a second opinion and found that I also needed rear ball joints replaced and the entire estimate was $558 total. The folks that did the work did a great job. You may save money by shopping around after getting an estimate from Executive Park Tire.

CA
Cameron A.
Armuchee, GA
Ford Ranger
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/28/2013 Category: Service
Cameron said there were prices added to his original quote and there were unspecified parts that were not fixed. He has not contacted the business due to the fact that this has happened before. He will not return there or recommend them to others.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

JS
Joe S.
Adairsville, GA
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/07/2018 Category: Service
Joe said the business did not correct the issues that were occurring with his vehicle. The cost for services was high
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

LS
Lane S.
Calhoun, GA
Honda Civic
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/07/2017 Category: Service
Lane said the service took an hour and a half. It took a little longer than he expected.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Toby H., Owner from Executive Park Tire responded on 06/09/2017

Mr. Spivey,

Thank you for choosing Executive Park Tire for your tire needs on June 5, 2017. Since we do not take appointments and work on a first come first serve basis, it can take a little longer if there are customers ahead of you. We strive to give our customers' vehicle qualtiy service in a timely manner. We know our customer's time is valuable and we thank you for your patience and understanding..Thank you for your feedback and we truly appreciate your business!!


OB
Oma B.
Adairsville, GA
Ford Taurus
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/09/2017 Category: Service
Oma said the business did a good job, but she does not like waiting.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Toby H., Owner from Executive Park Tire responded on 03/14/2017

Good Morning Oma B,

Executive Park Tire would like to thank you for your feedback. On March 8, 2017, the day you had an alignment on your car, we were working as fast as possible. We were extremely busy and short handed that day. We were doing our best to service everyone in a timely manner. We greatly appreicate your business and hope you have a great day!


EP
Enrique P.
Georgia
Acura TL
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/19/2016 Category: Service
Enrique said he took his car in for an alignment and they weren't able to provide the alignment sheets. He said he wasn't sure if any service was done. He's always used the business for his car and this is the only time he's experienced a hiccup during service.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

JB
Jim B.
Calhoun, GA
Honda Pilot
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/09/2016 Category: Service
Jim said he waited a little bit, during his most recent service visit.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

BA
Bryan A.
Chattanooga, TN
Ford Fusion
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/15/2016 Category: Service
Bryan said the business did a good job. However, they did not keep him updated on the repair work.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

SS
Stanley S.
Adairsville, GA
Ford Explorer
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/10/2016 Category: Service
Stanley said they did a fairly good job.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.