Overview

Overall Rating 4.66/5Overall Rating 4.66/5Overall Rating 4.66/5Overall Rating 4.66/5rating 4.66

1590 Reviews

ReScore Reviews™ (14)

ReScore
Overall Rating 4.1428571/5Overall Rating 4.1428571/5Overall Rating 4.1428571/5Overall Rating 4.1428571/5rating 4.1428571
Original
Overall Rating 1.85714/5rating 1.85714rating 1.85714rating 1.85714rating 1.85714
95% Would Recommend
100% Business Response
Latest Review about 11 hours ago

Reviews


BD
Brittney D.
Waterford, CT
2013 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/03/2019 Category: Service
Terrible Experience
From the time of purchase until the time of servicing the vehicle I have gotten nothing but a headache. Buy from a company that wants to make things right.
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 04/03/2019

I’m sorry about your recent service visit. I was able to check on what warranty you purchased. You purchased a Hyundai certified pre-owned vehicle. The standard Hyundai new car powertrain limited warranty is good for 10 years and up to 100,000 miles. When a Hyundai is sold as Certified Pre-Owned the exact same coverage applies to the pre-owned car. The repair done on your vehicle wasn’t powertrain.

Hugh Stevens
Service Director


JS
John S.
Lisbon, CT
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/13/2019 Category: Service
Service
I brought my vehicle in @ 7:45 AM I called 3 times with no response finally at 12 pm I was told it still not in but they would call me in an hour so 2 hours later I called them and told them off I never got my car back to me till 4 pm UNECCEBTABLE
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 03/13/2019

I'm sorry about your recent service visit. Unfortunately this type of repair has to go to a certified technician. I do apologize for any inconvenience.

Service Director 
Hugh Stevens


Verified Customer
Norwich, CT
2013 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/20/2018 Category: Service
No communication
Never told when my car would be ready. It was a long duration repair and I had just returned from working in New London when I was told my car was done. Then they didn't properly secure my window when they fixed power door actuators (separate from main repair) and window fell into the door.
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 12/24/2018

VEHICLE NEEDS A WINDOW REGULATOR. CHECKING WITH HYUNDAI.


PD
Paul D.
New London, CT
2018 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/19/2018 Category: Service
dont car about people, just making the dollar.
read the second page of the review.
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 12/20/2018

I'm sorry about your recent service visit. Unfortunately we need the registration information for any vehicle that hasn't been into our shop before. 

Hugh Stevens
Service Director


RH
Raymond H.
Niantic, CT
2018 Hyundai Santa Fe S
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/13/2018 Category: Service
Terrible service in service dept.
Will not return.
As a repeat customer to MJ Sullivan, I'm extremely disappointed with the service we received. Almost 2 1/2 hours for a simple oil change, 70.00 bill for a routine oil change. Neveragain
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 11/13/2018

I’m sorry about your recent service visit. We are striving to reduce wait time for all our services. I do apologize for any inconvenience and hope to have this issue taken care of in the future. We truly care about your satisfaction with our service. I would like to offer you a free complimentary oil change at your next schedule service. Please feel free to ask for me Hugh Stevens.

Hugh Stevens

Service Director


GF
Gerard F.
New London, CT
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/19/2018 Category: Service
best service anywhere
the service reps get the fact that great service is the guts of a company.

Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/19/2018 Category: Service
awful service
awful place for service
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 10/19/2018

Thank you Gerard for taking the time to speak to me. Per our conversation I understand your concern. I've been trying to rectify this problem for years. I did speak to the people involved. I do apologize and hope to do business in the future.I would appreciate if you could re score the survey with a 5 for my service advisor shawn. Thank you.

Hugh Stevens
Service Director

HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 10/23/2018

Hello Gerry, thank you for the rescore, Shawn your service advisor on the last repair wanted me to thank you.

Hugh Stevens
Service Director


Verified Customer
Norwich, CT
2018 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/08/2018 Category: Service
Poor Service
Did not do what they said would do.
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 10/08/2018

I'm sorry about your recent service visit. We found no problems with your transmission shifting. If you would like I can arrange for the hyundai representative to be hear to drive your vehicle. 

Hugh Stevens
Service Director


LR
Lauren R.
Oakdale, CT
2014 Hyundai Elantra Gt
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/23/2018 Category: Service
Same old story
Same old story
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 07/27/2018

I'm sorry about your recent service visit. I understand  your concern about wait time. I know its the same old story but I did check that we did have techs call in sick for the day of your service. I do apologize for the inconvenience.

Hugh stevens
Service Director


Verified Customer
Lisbon, CT
2014 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/27/2018 Category: Service
Poor communication
Was not clear on warranty coverage, prices were outrageous for work that wasn't necessarily going to fix the problem. Upon inspection after the vehicle was home, ac Port covers we're missing and not reinstalled
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 04/28/2018

I'm sorry about your recent service visit. Unfortunately your vehicle was out of warranty, thats why you were quoted a diagnostic charge.

Hugh Stevens
Service Director


CS
Colin S.
Niantic, CT
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/12/2018
Does not stand behind new vehicle sales
I recently bought a 2018 Hyundai Sonata Sport from MJ Sullivan. This was my 6th vehicle I purchased from them and have always found the process to be pleasant and professional. I have always felt my business was important to them so I was glad to spread the word to anyone looking to buy a new or used vehicle. Unfortunately, this will be the last vehicle I buy from them.
I purchased my new vehicle on Tuesday, February 12th. The car was already back at the dealership the very next day because the alignment was out. After driving the car for a few more days, I noticed there were several issues with the vehicle. The passenger blind spot alert works intermittently, the display screen would go blank periodically, the speedometer is not accurate and there were a couple of times when the vehicle would lose power getting on the highway (foot to the floor and no acceleration). The vehicle was then back at dealership for 4 days. Of course, nothing was found. Once I had the vehicle back, I video recorded the issues so I could prove they were happening. Fast forward to today, March 12th, one month later and I still don’t have my brand-new vehicle. It is still at the dealership. I have been told that the speedometer is within the “allowance” and that no speedometer is really exact. Really? Can I use that when I get pulled over by the police? I was told that the blind spot alert was not to detect vehicles I pass but it is meant to detect cars coming up behind me when they reach my blind spot. Really? I was also told I may be passing cars too fast and it does not have time to detect it because I am already by them. However, they could not tell me at what variation in speed that it no longer detects it.
I have now been told that I am more than welcome to wait for a factory rep to go for a ride with me at the end of the month. Again, still no possession of the new car I purchased a month ago. I asked for a new vehicle, basically swap a new car for a new car, but MJ Sullivan said no. I have lost total confidence in this vehicle and now in the dealership and its ownership. Guess customer loyalty is a one-way street there, but it no longer will be because I will not recommend them to anyone.
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 03/15/2018

HMA WAS CONTACTED AND A CASE WAS OPEN UP. ROAD TESTED AGAINST ANOTHER VEHICLE AND FOUND CONCERNS NORMAL. ALL CONCERNS EXCEPT THE  DASH BOARD CUTTING OUT WAS NORMAL. PART HAS BEEN ORDERED TO CORRECT THIS CONCERN.

SERVICE DIRECTOR 
HUGH STEVENS


ID
Ingrid D.
New London, CT
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/21/2018 Category: Service
Need more experience
Need more experience to fix car my haven a problem and they can find the problem for almost 4 year
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 02/24/2018

I'M SORRY ABOUT YOUR RECENT SERVICE VISIT, I'M BEING TOLD YOUR VEHICLE NEEDS TIRES. THANK YOU FOR THE SURVEY.


ID
Ingrid D.
New London, CT
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/02/2017 Category: Service
Give better service to the customer
Need peoople with more experience
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 11/03/2017

I'm sorry about your recent service visit. Unfortunately tire are not covered under warranty.

Hugh Stevens
Service Director


RZ
Ryan Z.
Norwich, CT
2015 Hyundai Sonata Hyb
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/04/2017 Category: Service
Long wait, Overcharged
I specifically asked twice ahead of time if service could be done quickly so I can make it to another appointment. Expected maybe a 30 min oil change, and instead ended up waiting 90 mins with no updates. Also used a $19.99 coupon and was charged $28+. Just tell me upfront that its a 90 min wait and it costs $20 plus $8 in fees. At least then I can plan my day better and know what to expect to pay. Then I would at least trust you and be understanding of the costs. Instead, I now have no idea how long your wait times are, and will expect a 40% increase for your prices over your estimates.
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 10/06/2017

I'm sorry about your recent service visit. We are striving to reduce wait time for all our services. I do apologize for any inconvenience and hope to have this issue taken care of in the future.

Hugh Stevens
Service Director


Verified Customer
New London, CT
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe S
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/08/2017 Category: Service
Terrible Service Department
Terrible service department. Most of the customer service representatives are impolite. They will ask you to leave your car all day, and are less than willing to give a loaner.
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 09/09/2017

I'm sorry about your recent service visit, I appreciate your feed back. 

Hugh Stevens
Service Director


CO
Christopher O.
2013 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/25/2017 Category: Service
...
...
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 08/25/2017

Hello Christopher, I'm not sure what happen because theres no comments, if you would like, please give me a call so we can discuss your service.

Thank you
Hugh Stevens
Service Director
860-442-4371


Verified Customer
Mesquite, NV
2016 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/03/2017 Category: Service
Displeased!
Made an appointment to have a spare tire mounted on a rim and installed in an Elantra (which is sold without a spare as standard equipment). Tire should have been mounted before I arrived, but it was not ready causing an unnecessary 1 hour delay. I was quoted $320 for the job, but was presented with a $354 bill at check-out which was subsequently reduced to an acceptable level. Several years ago, the service department backed my new Elantra into a pole during "dealer prep" resulting in unnecessary damage to my new car. I am losing confidence in the MJ Sullivan service department based on these experiences.
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 08/04/2017

I'm sorry about your recent service visit. Unfortunately the spare tire kits fits several different models. For this reason we don't mount
tire till vehicles in shop. I do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Thank You
Hugh Stevens
Service Director


JE
James E.
Groton, CT
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/26/2017 Category: Service
Service
I was surprised by the call from Mr. Stevens apologizing for the service I received and his offer to correct and repair my problem. This was done the next day in a highly professional manner

Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/26/2017 Category: Service
Service
Did not do a complete check as requested
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 06/27/2017

I want to thank you for given us the opportunity to repair your vehicle. I do apologized for any inconvenience we may have caused. If there is anything more we can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Hugh Stevens
Service Director


AS
Allyson S.
Oakdale, CT
2011 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/13/2017 Category: Service
Usually excellent - we got the 1 bad apple
Service is usually excellent. This last time we got someone who was useless. Hopefully we won't get him again. Everyone else has been awesome.
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 06/15/2017

I'm sorry about your recent service visit. I have spoken to Steve and understand you have appointment for 06/16/2017. I will work with Steve to rectify your concerns.

Hugh Stevens
Service Director


Verified Customer
2015 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/08/2017 Category: Service
worst service in the area
Don't take your car here unless you want the "filters are dirty, wipers are bad, etc....." high pressure maintenance slime job. We can replace those for you for just a little money. Reply was " so sorry we check all cars" I bet you do. How many uninformed people just say yes. Never going here again.

Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/08/2017 Category: Service
Ah, the old "your fuilters are very dirty" flim flam.
Replaced filters with dealer parts at 30k miles told filters are very dirty at 38k miles. I wasn't aware i drove in the baja 1000. What a buch of clowns.
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 06/09/2017


I'm sorry about your recent service visit. We are required to check over the vehicle on every service. I do apologize for and inconvenience.

Hugh Stevens
Service Director

LR
Lauren R.
Oakdale, CT
2014 Hyundai Elantra Gt
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/06/2017 Category: Service
Fast response to resolve the problem
The device manager was Very professional and understood my complaint and solved the problem so I'm very satisfied and will return. Customerservice is number 1 in my book and he showed that to me thank you

Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/06/2017 Category: Service
Appointments not Completed on time many people were complaining
Completed on time many people were complaining
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 06/06/2017

Hello Lauren, thank you for taking my call, I do apologize for any inconvenience we may have cause you. Because of this I would like to give you a complimentary oil change and tire rotation for your next service visit.

Thank you
Hugh Stevens
Service Director