Overview

Overall Rating 4.66/5Overall Rating 4.66/5Overall Rating 4.66/5Overall Rating 4.66/5rating 4.66

1585 Reviews

ReScore Reviews™ (14)

ReScore
Overall Rating 4.1428571/5Overall Rating 4.1428571/5Overall Rating 4.1428571/5Overall Rating 4.1428571/5rating 4.1428571
Original
Overall Rating 1.85714/5rating 1.85714rating 1.85714rating 1.85714rating 1.85714
95% Would Recommend
100% Business Response
Latest Review 1 day ago

Reviews


RM
Richard M.
Quaker Hill, CT
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/19/2019 Category: Service
2017 Hyundai Tuscon
Service dept is out of sync with Sales.
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 07/24/2019

I'm sorry about your recent service visit. I was able to check your history on your vehicle. The last time in for a brake noise was at 16500 miles, you now have over 100,000 miles. Please let me know if this is not correct.

Hugh Stevens
Service Director


SF
Sandra F.
Norwich, CT
2007 Hyundai Azera
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/18/2019 Category: Service
Key program and call backs.
Prompt and efficient. Come right out and talk to you if needed.
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 07/18/2019

Thank you for the survey, we really appreciate your business!

Hugh Stevens
Service Director


SE
Susan E.
Colchester, CT
2015 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/05/2019 Category: Service
Service time
Slow service time no costs told ahead of time not a great vacuum job
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 07/09/2019

I'm sorry about your recent service visit. We are striving to reduce wait time for all our  services. I do apologize for any inconvenience and hope to have this issue taken care of in the future. 

Hugh Stevens
Service Director


DF
David F.
Roosevelt, NY
2018 Hyundai Ioniq Hybr
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/12/2019 Category: Service
Service is OK
I came for an oil change, inspection and complimentary car wash. They did fine on the oil change but the car came back almost as dirty as when I dropped it off.
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 06/14/2019

Thank you for the survey, I am sorry about the car wash. If this happens again please bring it to our attention before leaving so we can correct the issue. 

Hugh Stevens
Service Director


AL
Arthur L.
New London, CT
2018 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/03/2019 Category: Service
Excellent Service
M.J. Sullivan Hyundai offers not only excellent sales, it also offers excellent service! I would not hesitate to recommend M. J. Sullivan to anyone seeking a new or used vehicle. Good people who stick with you from sales to service!
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 06/04/2019

Thank you for the survey, we really appreciate your business!

Hugh Stevens
Service Director


BD
Brittney D.
Waterford, CT
2013 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/03/2019 Category: Service
Terrible Experience
From the time of purchase until the time of servicing the vehicle I have gotten nothing but a headache. Buy from a company that wants to make things right.
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 04/03/2019

I’m sorry about your recent service visit. I was able to check on what warranty you purchased. You purchased a Hyundai certified pre-owned vehicle. The standard Hyundai new car powertrain limited warranty is good for 10 years and up to 100,000 miles. When a Hyundai is sold as Certified Pre-Owned the exact same coverage applies to the pre-owned car. The repair done on your vehicle wasn’t powertrain.

Hugh Stevens
Service Director


JS
John S.
Westerly, RI
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/01/2019 Category: Service
????
service is great but buying a car or leasing there is not
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 04/01/2019

Thank you for the survey, we really appreciate your business!

Hugh Stevens
Service Director


JS
John S.
Lisbon, CT
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/13/2019 Category: Service
Service
I brought my vehicle in @ 7:45 AM I called 3 times with no response finally at 12 pm I was told it still not in but they would call me in an hour so 2 hours later I called them and told them off I never got my car back to me till 4 pm UNECCEBTABLE
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 03/13/2019

I'm sorry about your recent service visit. Unfortunately this type of repair has to go to a certified technician. I do apologize for any inconvenience.

Service Director 
Hugh Stevens


RM
Richard M.
Quaker Hill, CT
2017 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/04/2019 Category: Service
2017 Tuscon
Good service, high prices.
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 02/05/2019

I'm sorry about your recent service visit. We use all original equipment parts. 

Thank you
Hugh Stevens
Service Director


CK
Christopher K.
Waterford, CT
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
12/31/2018 Category: Service
Poor communication / long wait for simple oil change
Waited to long for simple oil change
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 12/31/2018

I'm sorry about your recent service visit. We are striving to reduce wait time for all our services. I do apologize for any inconvenience and hope to have this issue taken care of in the future. 

Service Director
Hugh Stevens


Verified Customer
Norwich, CT
2013 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/20/2018 Category: Service
No communication
Never told when my car would be ready. It was a long duration repair and I had just returned from working in New London when I was told my car was done. Then they didn't properly secure my window when they fixed power door actuators (separate from main repair) and window fell into the door.
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 12/24/2018

VEHICLE NEEDS A WINDOW REGULATOR. CHECKING WITH HYUNDAI.


PD
Paul D.
New London, CT
2018 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/19/2018 Category: Service
dont car about people, just making the dollar.
read the second page of the review.
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 12/20/2018

I'm sorry about your recent service visit. Unfortunately we need the registration information for any vehicle that hasn't been into our shop before. 

Hugh Stevens
Service Director


JH
Jeffrey H.
Guilford, CT
2015 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/23/2018 Category: Service
Great people, customer focused but a poor repair outcome
This particular repair experience was somewhat disastrous, as a precautionary visit over a minor problem resulted in a disabled vehicle. No doubt this was an extraordinary accident, but it did unfortunately occur. On the other hand, the customer service representative was outstanding in the aftermath of the issue, the shuttle service was wonderful, the facility is super clean and the prices are fair. I'm not writing this to dissuade anyone from working with this shop; I'm just responding honestly to a survey that I didn't realize was going to end with a requirement to post a public review.
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 11/24/2018

I'm sorry about your recent service visit, I spoke to you on friday. Please give me a call on monday.

Bob Lefrancois
860-442-4371


RH
Raymond H.
Niantic, CT
2018 Hyundai Santa Fe S
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/13/2018 Category: Service
Terrible service in service dept.
Will not return.
As a repeat customer to MJ Sullivan, I'm extremely disappointed with the service we received. Almost 2 1/2 hours for a simple oil change, 70.00 bill for a routine oil change. Neveragain
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 11/13/2018

I’m sorry about your recent service visit. We are striving to reduce wait time for all our services. I do apologize for any inconvenience and hope to have this issue taken care of in the future. We truly care about your satisfaction with our service. I would like to offer you a free complimentary oil change at your next schedule service. Please feel free to ask for me Hugh Stevens.

Hugh Stevens

Service Director


JT
James T.
Bozrah, CT
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/26/2018
Great Advisor
I typically work with Bob he has been very helpful with all the issues I’ve had so far.

Verified Customer
Bozrah, CT
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe S
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/25/2018 Category: Service
Worst dealership ever!
Sold me a lemon and they would not help me
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 10/25/2018

Hello James, I understand your frustration with the noise in your vehicle. As you know this is a intermittent noise.  I replaced several parts trying to rectify your concern on your last repair. What I don’t understand is the poor survey you gave me.  I strive to give all my customers the best service possible.  By you rating the survey with a 2 it doesn’t reflect on Hyundai, it reflects directly on me. I would appreciate if you could rescore this survey with a 5.

Thanks  James,   Bob LeFrancois


Verified Customer
Waterford, CT
2018 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/23/2018 Category: Service
good service at MJ
Folks at MJ Sullivan are friendly, prompt, and genuinely helpful. CB
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 10/24/2018

Thank you for the excellent survey, we really appreciate your business!

Hugh Stevens
Service Director


GF
Gerard F.
New London, CT
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/19/2018 Category: Service
best service anywhere
the service reps get the fact that great service is the guts of a company.

Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/19/2018 Category: Service
awful service
awful place for service
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 10/19/2018

Thank you Gerard for taking the time to speak to me. Per our conversation I understand your concern. I've been trying to rectify this problem for years. I did speak to the people involved. I do apologize and hope to do business in the future.I would appreciate if you could re score the survey with a 5 for my service advisor shawn. Thank you.

Hugh Stevens
Service Director

HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 10/23/2018

Hello Gerry, thank you for the rescore, Shawn your service advisor on the last repair wanted me to thank you.

Hugh Stevens
Service Director


Verified Customer
Groton, CT
2011 Hyundai Azera
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/08/2018 Category: Service
Too long, too much
2.5 hours wait for an oil change and air filter change, with an appointment!
$75 for 2 air filters, really?
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 10/09/2018

I'm sorry about your recent service visit. We are striving to reduce wait time for all our services. I do apologize for any inconvenience and hope to have this issue taken care of in the future.

Hugh Stevens
Service Director


Verified Customer
Norwich, CT
2018 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/08/2018 Category: Service
Poor Service
Did not do what they said would do.
HUGHIE S. from M. J. Sullivan Hyundai responded on 10/08/2018

I'm sorry about your recent service visit. We found no problems with your transmission shifting. If you would like I can arrange for the hyundai representative to be hear to drive your vehicle. 

Hugh Stevens
Service Director