Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades

Overview

Overall Rating 4.56/5Overall Rating 4.56/5Overall Rating 4.56/5Overall Rating 4.56/5rating 4.56

1727 Reviews

ReScore Reviews™ (14)

ReScore
Overall Rating 4.64286/5Overall Rating 4.64286/5Overall Rating 4.64286/5Overall Rating 4.64286/5rating 4.64286
Original
Overall Rating 1.85714/5rating 1.85714rating 1.85714rating 1.85714rating 1.85714
93% Would Recommend
Latest Review over 1 year ago

Reviews


ER
ELLEN/JON R.
Sterling, VA
Toyota FJ Cruiser
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/05/2014
Customer Service
We had one of our four vehicles in for a state inspection, it needed brakes so we had the work completed. We are also a VIP customer and inquired about any discounts, we were told the was no record of VIP membership (though I have been using my VIP for quite sometime) and no discount. I am quite sure there must be some record of our account in the computer but we were told "no". We have been customers for many years, I am disappointed, and would never again purchase the VIP membership plan, it may have expired but at least someone should be able to communicate that to us.
Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 07/05/2014

I appologize for the inconvenience.  We did look into it and we were able to verify that you in fact are part of the VIP program.  I have updated your customer profile with the new expiration date.  I will be contacting you about your credit on the services you just had performed.  If you have any questions please feel free to contact us.

Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 07/05/2014

It was a pleasure speaking to you Mr. Rice. 
We are looking forward to seeing you next time.
We appreciate your loyal business.


RS
ROGER S.
Great Falls, VA
Honda Odyssey
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/04/2014
Poor communication
Dropped a car off for a flat @ 5:30 pm one day. Was told it probably would be done that night, at worst, first thing int he morning.

Called in them morning at 7:10 - got hung up on.
Called back at 7:15 - was told ticket was in the back and they'd call me right back.
Called back at 8:00 (nobody called me back) - they said it would be done in "1 hour"
Drove there at 9:15 - car hadn't even been started yet.
Got a call around 10:50 a.m. the car was ready.
Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 07/04/2014


 
I want to apologize for the poor service / communication you experienced at our store. I did speak with all the parties involved and stressed the importance of good communication. I appreciate your review as it helps us know what we need to improve on to give you that great experience you deserve. Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,
Jason Mikolowski


BB
BARRY B.
Ashburn, VA
Infiniti M35
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/16/2014
Service
Oil change was ok, but could not believe I was quoted $160+ to simply spray a can of heater core cleaner in the drain tube and let it drain out.
Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 06/21/2014

Mr. Berning,
 I apologize for any miscommunication on our part with this; the service we quoted you was for was a full evaporator flush service which we found to more effective in eliminating odor. The estimate provided was for a kit which is, installing a fitting into the evaporator box so we can properly flush the system at this point then installing a/c deodorizer. If you were speaking of a spray that is installed directly into the drain tube then that is completely different, we will be happy to do that but we have not had the success as the other way. We will contact you to see if you have had the service performed yet and hopefully we will be able to take care of this for you.your needs.
Sincerely,
Jason


AS
ALICIA/WILLIAM S.
Sterling, VA
Chevrolet Prizm
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/09/2014
Failed to properly inflate tires
Put vehicle in for alignment and Tire Balancing. Work was done quickly, on second try. However, the tire pressures were not to manufacturers specifications. In fact, one tire was at 20 PSI, not recommended 30 PSI.
Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 06/21/2014


I apologize for the less than perfect experience you had at our facility. We have identified the employees who serviced your vehicle and had put them back through training. Tire pressure should be checked on every vehicle that we touch, this is very basic and should not have been missed! We pride ourselves in providing good quality service and take these matters very seriously. Please feel free to return anytime to have your tire pressure checked, I will call you as well to apologize. We hope to see you again soon.


SA
SANTOSH A.
Sterling, VA
Honda Pilot
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
05/03/2014
Oil Change
I changed oil for my SUV. Later I noticed that oil is leaking all over my drive way. Apparently the oil filter was not tightened properly. They took care of it; but had to go back to the shop.
Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 05/04/2014


We sincerely apologize for your inconvenience. I am glad we were able to resolve the leak when you returned. We will contact you and make arrangements for someone to come out and clean your drive way and re-check for any additional leaks. We appreciate and value your business.
Jason Mikolowski
i


LM
LUKE M.
Sterling, VA
Saturn
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
04/07/2014
Good service, as long as you don't have plans. . .
The mechanic service provided was great. I feel like the technicians and support staff were courteous and knowledgeable. However, all estimates of time were woefully wrong. 2 hours became 4 hours. 3 hours became overnight. The time difference wouldn't have been a problem, if the technicians had just called to update me. They had my number, so when the quoted time had elapsed, and I received no call, I gave them two to three more hours. Still no call. I had to call and check upon the status of my vehicle. This threw my entire day's plans out the window and I basically spent the whole day waiting for a call from your shop. If the quoted time has elapsed, you should call and give an update to the owner.

AB
ANGELA B.
Sterling, VA
Ford Focus
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
02/05/2014
2 hours
I went in on a weekday afternoon for an inspection and emissions testing. There was only one person ahead of me and the guy that checked said 25 minutes. Two hours later I was done. Not sure if it took that long or they forgot about me, but it was not a pleasant afternoon.
Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 02/14/2014

We do appreciate the time you put into your review.  Without reviews like yours we will not know how we can better serve our customers.  I will be reviewing this with our front counter staff to make sure we provide more accurate ETA's as well as with the inspectors to make sure vehicles are completed in a reasonable time.  We appologize sincerely for the inconvenience.  We hope you concider us for your future services.


KD
KAREN D.
Sterling, VA
Volkswagen Passat
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
01/22/2014
no communication
I had to call several times for the status of the car. the first day they had the car 8 hours and did not even look at it. I feel they have increased their prices over the years and they now overcharge. they also do not have the excellent customer service they used to have and don't communicate with you and you have to keep calling to find out what is going on with your car
Bob Booth; M., General Manager from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 01/23/2014

I am sorry you feel our prices are to high, we price check our competitors regularly to make sure we remain competitive. The only time our prices increase is the normal small adjustments made to keep up with inflation. Please keep in mind that we have no control over the prices of parts we purchase, they will increase to accommodate the increases in shipping and manufacturing costs. We try to price check parts to make sure we are able to provide the best price available.
  I have had a frank conversation with our service managers, they will make a point being more proactive with their updates. I truly appreciate your comments as we don't know what to fix without feedback like yours.
Sincerely,
Bob Booth


KD
KAREN D.
Sterling, VA
Ford Explorer
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
01/22/2014
work not complete
had my car there for repair, mentioned several times about another issue. when I picked the car up after them having it for 2 weeks they had not done all the work that was asked. I also had to call several times inquiring if my car was ready. I was finally told it was ready, 3 hours later i showed up to pick up my car and had to wait 1.5 hours for them to finish. and even then all the work was not completed
Bob Booth; M., General Manager from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 01/23/2014

I want to thank you for taking the time to send us your review, as you know your insurance company took over a week to process your claim and give us the authorization to proceed with the repairs. With the amount of work involved in the repairs it does take some time to complete the repairs. However you should have been given regular updates from the service manager assigned to your car. I am going to speak to him today and get back to you. 


ER
EDMOND R.
Sterling, VA
Chevrolet Avalanche
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
01/02/2014
Techs don't care
I purchased the VIP membership for the discounts and have appreciated some of the deals. I have been less than impressed with the care give during the service. They have returned my vehicles with scratches and grease on the, parts missing and not even an apology when I point these out.
Bob Booth; M., General Manager from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 01/17/2014

Thank you for bringing this to my attention Mr. Ray,
 It was pleasure speaking with you on Jan. 3rd. I look forward to speaking to you in person when you stop by. We take service issues very seriously and are committed continual growth in providing first class service. This is not possible without feedback like yours. Please accept my apology and be assured this issue will be corrected with additional training and oversight. We want to earn your confidence back.
Sincerely,
Bob Booth


JD
JOSHUA/SHARI D.
Oakton, VA
Toyota 4Runner
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
12/14/2013
They have Wi-Fi
I've sworn based on my previous experiences with them not being communicative, doing things wrong or introducing safety hazards (such as leaving my hood unlatched so that it flew up while I was driving) that I'd NEVER come back here. Then their social media person gave me crap on Yelp after I wrote those reviews telling the truth and accusing me of lying, being very aggressive toward me. Overall, just not a good shop. I loved the location in Vienna, but the Cascades location is way way different. So don't let the Virginia Tire & Auto name fool you into thinking they are all comparable.

However, this place is in a VERY convenient location right around the corner from my house. And I had a nail in my tire so I thought, "Hey, can't be that complicated or take that long, I'll just swing by and have them do a simple patch job. I'll get in and out quickly." I also knew that they have customer Wi-Fi, and I still needed to get a bunch of work done. That really was the selling point.

So they get an extra star for offering the Wi-Fi because that's super helpful. But my 45-minute estimate turned into well, well, WELL over an hour! The frustrating part is they even told me that they were finished about 30 minutes before I got my car back. Turns out they were struggling with trying to figure out how to turn a light off on the dash that (A) was already on when I got there and (B) is always on and has been on EVERY time I've taken my car there (this is probably the 3rd or 4th visit). So if they (A) were observant, (B) kept good records on the vehicles they work on or (C) JUST FREAKING ASKED ME ABOUT IT I could've been out of there SO much faster!

Overall, just seems like these guys never pay any attention to detail, the old man that works the counter is not very friendly and never smiles (and the rest of the staff seem to run around like chickens with their heads cut off). The convenience factor is the only reason to go by this place, but be prepared for a not-so-great experience.

As a side note, I saw two other things while sitting in the waiting room:

1) They advertise a free shuttle for customers who need a ride while they wait on their cars. One poor woman asked for the shuttle service and the employees started getting in an argument about how no shuttle drivers were available because everyone was working on something else. They kept trying forever to figure it out. The woman eventually just walked out and I presume got a cab.

2) A young woman was getting her car inspected and they came out and told her they were going to fail her if she didn't pay $12 to replace a license plate light. She was a bit distraught but decided it was silly to pay $10 labor on a $2 light because, well, who can't screw in a light bulb? Of course the older man who works there was all like, "Well, I mean, you could but you never know if it might be corroded or something and tough to screw in and out." Basically they were trying really hard to sell her on making a little extra money off something easy. She still declined. THEN, magically, they came back out all like, "Well, you passed." She asked how exactly that was the case and if the bulb had just needed tightened. The man just sort of mumbled something about how they are nice guys sometimes. (So nice, in fact, they would've robbed this girl of $12 for something they apparently knew they could figure out a way to get it to work and pass her.)
Bob Booth; M., General Manager from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 12/14/2013


Mr. Delung,

I apologize for taking a bit longer that anticipated on the tire repair check. After checking your tire we found that the nail did not go all the way thru the tire and it only need the air pressure adjusted on your tires which we did at no charge. We always try to be through when we have a customer’s car in for service or repairs that is why my staff was trying to reset the warning light on your car. This was a free service to express our appreciation for your business. They were only trying to provide a great service experience.

Thank you for your business,


Bob Booth


SC
SANDY C.
Sterling, VA
Ford Escape
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
12/09/2013
Mis estimating repairs
I brought my car in for inspection and it failed for vaious reasons. I was given an estimate of 1400 which I thougth was rather high. I then took my car somewhere else that was much cheaper to have the repairs done. I then came back for the reinspection and was told that my power steering issue was not corrected and it would not pass. I was then given an estimate for 1200.00 which WAS NOT included in the orginal estimate for what my vechicle had failed for. I questioned this and it was taken back in and re examined and then found out it wasnt the 1200.00 repair but only 300..all this AFTER i had said I would doing the repair somewhere else. I was asked if I had done the prior repairs somewhere else and when I replied yes that is when all of sudden I had MORE repairs needed. Im very suspcious of all that has happened and reason why Im giving 2 stars and not 0 is because they had my car fixed and reinspected the next day.
Bob Booth; M., General Manager from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 12/10/2013

Thank You for the feedback. We sincerely value our customers and the last thing we would want is for a customer to feel uncomfortable with their experience. I believe there was just a misunderstanding and that we can easily work through this. We want to gain your trust back.
My understanding is that when you were in for the Va. Safety Inspection on 11/19/2013 (repair order #2154850) the car was rejected for the following: 1) Front right outer tie rod end 2) Left tag light bulb 3) Right front tire - it had a separated belt in it. 4) Power steering leak from the return hose. 5) Both front brake hosed were cracked.

We provided an estimate of $1,038.26 for these repairs. At the time of your visit we also recommended some related repairs as it would be less costly to do them with the above repairs. If these additional repairs were done at a later time it would have required duplicating some of the other services. These repairs were only suggestions, but were not required to pass the inspection: replacing the other front tire as it was wearing unevenly, and the outer tie rod end that had play but not enough to be rejected (repairing it at the time of the other repairs would have saved an additional alignment).

We feel it is better to inform you of all of your options to save you money and time.

When you returned for the re-inspection the power steering leak, which was noted on the repair order dated 11/19, was not yet repaired; this is why the price from the other shop was so much less than ours. I will call you to discuss as I am genuine about providing the best automotive repair experience. We want you to feel comfortable with your experience. We value your business and appreciate you giving us the opportunity to make things right.

Thanks again Sandy, Bob Booth


JC
JOHN C.
Sterling, VA
Jeep Wrangler
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/28/2013
they know what they are doing
very pleased with the work they do

Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/28/2013
very good at what they do
YOU DID A GREAT JOB ON MY JEEP
Bob Booth; M., General Manager from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 11/09/2013

Thanks for the kind words Mr. Combs, We are always looking for ways to give the best service possible then find ways to do even better.


AS
ALICIA/WILLIAM S.
Sterling, VA
BMW
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/26/2013
Would not recommend
WE put the car in for Oild change and Wiper replacement. The Oil Change was fine but we had to take the car back to have the wipers adjusted since the left wiper was completely off the windsheild.
Bob Booth; M., General Manager from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 11/09/2013




I apologize for the inconvenience we caused you with the windshield wiper issue, I have discussed the issue with the staff members involved with their replacement and re-trained him. We always strive to be great but when we fall short is so important to heat about that as well or we would not know what needs fixing, so let me also say thank you for taking you time to send us your review. I hope you will allow us to make this up to you.
Sincerely,
Bob Booth


JS
JEFF S.
Sterling, VA
Toyota Highlander
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/13/2013
Called for estimate for tires
Did not get my tires at this location, prices were higher than other locations called.
Bob Booth; M., General Manager from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 09/14/2013

Mr. Schonborn,

We are very competitive with our pricing and often are less than our competitors but on those occasions where we may be higher we offer our price match policy. If you get a lower price please let us know as we will almost always be able to match or beat the price of our competition.
Thanks,

Bob Booth

TZ
TODD/KIM Z.
Sterling, VA
Honda CR-V
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/11/2013
Very Frustrated
Been bringing our vehicles there for years. Most recently we have had to turn around as crossing T's and dotting i's has been a problem. P/u car from an inspection - no new inspection sticker on windshield; oil change - no oil sticker; engine light on going in - engine light still on at p/u; Frustrating and a waste of our time to continually return the vehicles.
Bob Booth; M., General Manager from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 09/11/2013


   
 
Mr. Zylka,
I am very disappointed to hear we have not been meeting even the most basic quality standards for this service. I have printed out the last several invoices of yours and am going to find out why this is happening and correct it. If our staff is not meeting the high standards we demand we will re-train or replace those that are not able or willing to improve. Please accept my apology.
Bob Booth

Bob Booth; M., General Manager from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 10/01/2013

It was a pleasure receiving your email this morning, I look forward to seeing you when you are in. Thanks for the opportunity.
Bob

Bob Booth; M., General Manager from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 10/02/2013

It was very nice meeting you Yesterday Mr. Zylka! Thanks Again.


ER
ELLEN/JON R.
Sterling, VA
Toyota Tundra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/01/2013
Disappointed
I had purchased the "special customer" coupons and was disappointed at my last service. I was not able to apply anything to my services of a new battery purchase, and installation. Also I thought a "free oil change" meant a free oil change. I know the Tundra truck is bigger but that is my vehicle. Now I feel like I wasted my money on the "special customer" coupon and would not purchase again, because truly nothing is free....buyer beware.
Bob Booth; M., General Manager from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 09/04/2013

Thanks for the business Mr. and Mrs. Rice, The VIP Program has a lot of valuable discounts and services, The certificate you received is for a convential oil change up to 5 quarts so there was an additional charge for the Mobil 1 Synthetic oil and as you mentioned your car takes 2 extra quarts. The battery installation should have been couponed off as per the free battery test / charge heading. I have credited that to your account for you to use the next time you come in. Again, thank you for the business and if there is anything I can do for you please give me a call or email me at bbooth@vatire.com.
Bob Booth


JD
JOHN/JENNIFER D.
Sterling, VA
Toyota Sienna
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/27/2013
Pricey and a little slow
price was about $20 higher per tire than the common price I'm finding. Labor for the install on 2 tires was also too much. Overall, for 2 tires on a minivan I paid about 20% too much. when my work order came up it sat at the front desk, car was done and I waited about 30 min more before I was called to checkout.
Bob Booth; M., General Manager from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 08/27/2013

Thanks for your feedback, I am sorry you had to wait, I will work with my staff to keep the wait times to a minumim. We do have a price match policy, if you get a lower price from one of our retail competitors we will be happy to match it in almost every case. Our mounting an balancing prices are checked aginst our competitors on a regular basis so we stay competitive. We also offer free balancing (using lead free weights) and tire rotation for the life of the tires and since you got the tire protection policy we will warranty the tires for road hazards it includes free tire repairs as well.
Thanks,
Bob Booth

P.S. I will call you as well 


SJ
SURESH J.
Sterling, VA
Toyota Corolla
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/25/2013
Workmanship was great for sure.
I find VA tire is very expensive, expensive than a dealer. Labor is expensive, so are parts. Parts are expensive than dealer to my surprise. Yes, a whopping 50 to 80% more than a dealer.
Bob Booth; M., General Manager from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 08/26/2013

I am sorry you feel like our prices are high, I see you normally supply your own parts, we can not compete with the wholesale price you pay yourself when ordering parts, remember we supply a 2 year 24,000 mile warranty on most of our services and products which is included in the price you pay. We also use the same labor guide that almost every shop in this industry uses and our labor rate is very competitive, We also price shop our competition to encure we do stay competitive. Thanks for your comments and I will perform another price survey as a safeguard on our pricing.
Thanks,
Bob Booth


RH
RENEE H.
Vienna, VA
Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/11/2013
The good and the bad
The personnel I worked with we're helpful and kind but the time it took to change a battery was crazy long. Leading me to revamp the old joke how many people does it take to change a car battery?
Bob Booth; M., General Manager from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 08/12/2013

Sorry for the delay installing the battery, I will speak to Staven, the person that installed the battery for an explanation the the install time, 1.6 hours is excessive. In addition we will work with the general staff as a hole to improve the wait times for our services. Thanks for taking the time in writing this review, it, like your business is very appreciated.

Thanks,

Bob Booth

Manager