Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades

Overview

Overall Rating 4.56/5Overall Rating 4.56/5Overall Rating 4.56/5Overall Rating 4.56/5rating 4.56

1727 Reviews

ReScore Reviews™ (14)

ReScore
Overall Rating 4.64286/5Overall Rating 4.64286/5Overall Rating 4.64286/5Overall Rating 4.64286/5rating 4.64286
Original
Overall Rating 1.85714/5rating 1.85714rating 1.85714rating 1.85714rating 1.85714
93% Would Recommend
Latest Review over 1 year ago

Reviews


CC
CRAIG C.
Sterling, VA
Audi A4
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/17/2015
Review
The place was usually great but they scratched my car about the left rear tire. I couldn't believe it.
Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 03/18/2015

We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention.  I wanted to apologize for any damage that may have occurred to your vehicle while it was in our care.  I will definitely be contacting you as well as looking at the surveillance video.  I hope to speak with you soon.

Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 03/24/2015

Thank you for taking the time to speak with me about your vehicle.  I am glad that we found that there was no damage done to your vehicle while it was in our care.  Please let us know if we can be of help in any way or if you ever have any other questions or concerns.  We look forward to continuing to service your vehicles.


MC
MICHAEL/ANA C.
Sterling, VA
Nissan Rogue
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/06/2015
Problem resolved
Virginia Tire & Auto resolved the issue with my oil change by promptly replacing the oil and, in essence, not charging me for the first oil change. I plan to continue to use Virginia Tire & Auto in the future.

Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/06/2015
Oil change confusion
I took my relatively new (9,800 mile) Nissan in for an oil change and selected the Mobil synthetic blend. Unfortunately, I didn't realize it was also a high-mileage oil. I wish one of the techs or advisers up front would have informed me of that, as my car did not need the additives (seal conditioners) put into high-mileage oil. While it is partially my mistake for not catching it myself, a little advice would have save me the extra money and possibly the problems the seal "swellers" the high mileage oil can possibly create. With that said, I have used VTA of Cascades many times in the past and overall have been satisfied. My feedback here isn't indicative of the service and advice I normally get, but rather a suggestion to VTA personnel to be a bit more attentive to potentially wrong choices of oil products.
Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 03/06/2015

We appreciate you taking the time to write this review and bringing this to our attention.  I did attempt to call as well in hopes to speak with you about your visit with us.  I do want to apologize for the lack of communication you received during your oil change service.  I will attempt to contact you again.  Please continue to let us know of any questions or concerns you may have so that we may have the opportunity to make them right. 

Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 03/07/2015

It was nice speaking with you sir.  I am glad we were able to get everything resolved.  We look forward to continuing to service your vehicles in the future.


KP
KAREN and JIM P.
Sterling, VA
Chrysler Town & Country
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/23/2015
New Tires
Nice customer service.
Friendly, helpful, fast.

They told me a free alignment would come with new tires. It was never done????
Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 02/24/2015

We are glad to hear that you had good experience with us during your last visit.  All tire purchases do come with a free alignment check.  It is one of the benefits from purchasing tires from us along with the 30 day guarantee and the lifetime rotate and balance.  It does appear that the alignment check was not completed during your visit.  I will definitely be looking into why it was not completed as well as giving you a call so that we can schedule it in at your earliest convenience.  We appreciate you bringing this to our attention so that we can make it right.  Please let us know if you have any other questions or concerns.


BP
BRIAN P.
Sterling, VA
Chevrolet Avalanche
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/21/2015
My inspection
I would a better review for their service, but for the second year in a row they have done an emissions and safety inspection after I asked for only a safety inspection.
Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 02/21/2015

We appreciate that you brought this matter to our attention.  I did speak with the associate that was handling your ticket and stressed the importance of good communication with our customers.  I do want to apologize for the poor communication during your last visit.  I did verify that you were not charged for the emissions test that was performed.  Again, we want to thank you for taking the time to write this review.  These reviews help us know where we need to improve to provide our customers with a better experience.


BM
BROOKE M.
Sterling, VA
Honda Pilot
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/17/2015
Great staff reasonable prices.
Not sure why it took 1 hour to do an oil change and my car was the only one getting an oil change. I am used to more prompt service.
Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 02/17/2015

I appreciate you taking the time to speak to me sir.  I again want to thank you for providing us with this feed back so we know how we are doing.  Please don't hesitate to ever reach out to us if you ever have any other questions or concerns.


PK
PATRICIA K.
Sterling, VA
Honda Pilot
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/06/2015
Quick service but not honest about hours
After going in the day before to check when inspections would be running the following day I was informed, by the individual who would be doing the inspection, that they would run until 4pm the following day. Arriving at 2pm the next day I was met with the informaiton that the inspector was 'finished' for the day. Thankfully, after informing them about my talk with the individual the day prior, the inspector kindly let me join the queue for inspection.
Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 01/06/2015

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.  I do want to apologize for the miscommunication about the inspection hours and for it not being explained.  We do have set inspection times but if the line gets long and may go past normal business hours before they will all be completed they stop accepting new vehicles.  The beginning and end of the months tend to get busy with inspections but we do take drop offs and always have our shuttle service running for our customers convenience.  I am glad that we were able to get your vehicle in.  We appreciate your business and look forward to continuing to serve you.


MH
MELANIE H.
Sterling, VA
Chrysler PT Cruiser
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/22/2014
Long wait...
So we came in for an inspection and new tires. I was told I needed 4 new tires to pass inspection. After being there with my 4 year old son for almost 3 hours, the mechanic came out and informed us the car was not going to pass inspection. We requested the inspection be done first because that would determine the tires. When asked, the guy at the desk said my car had passed inspection or he would have come out already.
The guy came out with a list of what was needed for my car to pass inspection. About $1700 worth of work. Seeing as I lost my job a week before I didn't need to hear that. I am a single mom with two kids and I depend on my car.
I do have to say that the bathroom was incredible. It was the cleanest bathroom I've seen at an auto shop. My son was entertained with the Mini Shop in the lobby. My only complaint is that it took as long as it did without anyone saying anything to us.
Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 12/23/2014

I want to thank you for posting this review and bringing this matter to our attention.  I did look into it and I wanted to apologize for the lack of communication during your most recent visit.  Once the vehicle went through inspection we should have communicated the results to you at that point before it went in for the tire install.  I do apologize for the long wait as well but I am glad that you found our waiting area comfortable.  We do offer a shuttle service for our customers convenience as well if they choose not to wait for their vehicles here.  I will be going over these items with our team and stressing the importance of good communication as well as making sure that they offer the shuttle service to our customers.  Again I want to thank you for your time.  Please feel free to contact us if you ever have any other questions or concerns.


SG
STEVE/ DONNA G.
Ashburn, VA
Honda Pilot
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/13/2014
Excellent customer service in resolving communication probs
Jason called back and apologized for the miscommunication from the service dept. I appreciate the professionalism from the manager in assuring me this miscommunication will not occur again. Once again a happy customer and will return again for my next Maint and tire rotation. Steve G.

Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/13/2014
Get second opinion
Service was great. However, I got a phone call during service that my tire treads were worn out and that they recommend replacing tires. I checked with Costco tire dept and they said I have another 40 percent left in my tires. Always get a second opinion if they advise you need tires.
Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 12/13/2014

It was very nice speaking with you Mr. Grimes.  I again want to apologize for the miscommunication during your last service.  I also wanted to thank you again for bringing this matter to our attention.  If you ever have any other questions or concerns please do not hesitate to give us a call.


SK
SUSAN K.
Sterling, VA
Ford Escape
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/09/2014
Customer Service
My car needed a new engine. It took a little longer than expected to get it installed. They gave me a loaner car to use--fantastic--however, it had transmission issues and I was afraid I would get stuck somewhere. The quoted price for the engine install was accurate--no surprises. However, when I picked my car up, it didn't sound right. After a few days of driving it and no improvement, I took it back in. One of the engine mounts needed to be replaced--I would've thought that that would be something that would be checked during the engine install. They replaced it no charge. Not one of my better visits....usually rate them a 5.
Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 12/10/2014

We apologize for the inconvenience of having to come in a second time to have the motor mount addressed.  It is something that should have been caught the first time around when we were doing the actual repairs.  This matter has been brought to our teams attention as well.  We appreciate your business over the years and we look forward to continuing to do business with you in the years to come.


GF
GEORGE F.
Sterling, VA
Infiniti G35
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/02/2014
Good work...nickle/dime nitrogen charge
Service performed as expected, but...previously had pricematched Costco/Curry's. They were close so I didn't bother to push the purchase/install price issue BUT was pretty perturbed to find that Nitrogen was a $10 fill charge per tire. ONly gound this out AFTER the tires were installed and they were having me sign that I knew it was an upcharge. That's a standard item at ALL shops I've used for the last 5 yrs. When I was clearly bothered by this after I picked up the car the service writer was pretty "oh well" about it.
Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 12/03/2014

We appreciate you taking the time to inform us on how your most recent visit went with your vehicle.  We do charge a one time $5 / per wheel fee to put nitrogen in the vehicles tires.  From that point on we will continue to add nitrogen at no charge whenever it is needed.  I did see that you have been coming to us for years and we greatly appreciate your business.  It does sound as though there was a lack of communication from our staff and I will be looking into the matter and addressing it with our team.  I will also look into the policy about the nitrogen as well.  We appreciate you bringing this to our attention so that we can make it right and I will be contacting you myself to address any other questions or concerns that you may have.


BC
BRUCE C.
Great Falls, VA
Toyota Camry
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/30/2014
Partial Satisfaction
I've been bringing cars to Vrginia Tire for years. Dropped this car off for a couple of tires and they called me back in less than 2 hours to let me know it needed a wheel alignment too but the price quoted for the alignment was $30 higher than I paid for one earlier this year so I opted not to have that done and took it elsewhere for the alignment later that morning for $25 less than they quoted. They always honor competitors coupons. I didn't have a competitor coupon for an alignment but did a quick search on by phone and found it 25% cheaper less than 3 miles away. Sure wish they didn't want to fleece you on the add on. Other than that, I'd have given 5 stars.
Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 12/01/2014

We apologize for the inconvenience of having to go to multiple places.  We appreciate your business and you bringing your vehicles to us for service.  We wouldn't ever want our customers to feel like we are trying to take advantage of them.  We do match competitor coupons and we also match competitor pricing as long as we are comparing the same service or product.  We are constantly watching the market to make sure we are staying competitively priced with everyone while still offering our great warranty.  Again we appreciate your business and please do not hesitate to let us know if you ever have any other questions or concerns.


TV
TED V.
Sterling, VA
Volvo S60
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/24/2014
very convenient to home
recommended for routine service, inspections, oil changes, brakes, and tires. Bad experience several years ago on a transmission
Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 11/25/2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write this review.  We want to thank you for being a loyal customer for so long as well.  I did take a look back to see when you your transmission work was completed and I saw it was in 2009.  I know it was awhile ago but I wanted to still apologize for the unsatisfactory experience you had with us.  I'm glad to see that you have continued to use us over the years as well.  We are continuously putting our staff through the latest training to stay on top of the industry so that we can provide you with the best service possible.  Please continue to keep us in mind for all your future mechanical needs.


BY
BRIAN Y.
Sterling, VA
Ford Taurus
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/22/2014
Fast & Friendly but Issues
Took in my kids' car for brake work and the turnaround was great including replacing two tires that were brought in from the warehouse. However, it had to brought back after we heard odd noises. The new brake shoes were warped. We were told they came out of the box that way which raises other questions: why are they stocking parts from an unreliable provider, don't they check the parts for condition before installing? I can understand that these situations will occur, but it required additional time and inconvenience on our part to get it resolved.
Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 11/22/2014

We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and we will be reaching out to you as well after we look into the matter.  We look to these reviews to help make sure that we are providing the best possible service to our customers.  We apologize for the inconvenience of having to come back a second time.  Thank you again and we will contact you soon.  If you ever have any questions or concerns please feel free to contact us.


RF
RICHARD F.
Sterling, VA
Ford Escape
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/19/2014
Close
I thought the oil change and tire rotation took longer than normal.
Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 11/19/2014

I appologize for your service taking longer than normal.  I will be looking into the matter to see what would cause your service to require the extra time.  We do have a "Quick Lube" so that we can get customers vehicles serviced at a reasonable time while maintaining the high quality.  I appreciate you bringing this to our attention.  Just a reminder, we do offer shuttle services for our customers as well as loaner vehicles if available.  Thank you again for taking the time to inform us on how we are doing.


JW
JIM W.
Sterling, VA
Acura TL
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/16/2014
Oil change & tire rotation
I went in for an oil change and tire rotation. They discovered that my two front tires needed to be replaced and showed me a picture of the cord showing through. They also took the time to explain how I can avoid this in the future w/ more frequent tire rotations. I appreciated that.

My only concern is that it took an hour to complete the service. Longer than I anticipated.
Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 11/18/2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write this review.  We look to our customers to let us know when there are areas we can improve on as well as when we are doing something right and these are perfect for that.  I apologize for the long wait time you experienced while having your vehicle serviced.  It is common practice for us to keep our customers in the loop with any news on the service being done or change to the wait time.  We will definitely be going over this again with our employees.  If you have any other questions or concerns please feel free to contact us.


GB
GWYN/BRYAN B.
Sterling, VA
Nissan 370Z
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/08/2014
Oil spill?
We had an oil change, an apparently oil was spilled over the engine. Even after driving it for the last few days the smell of burning oil is overpowering. Slightly disappointed with that...
Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 11/08/2014

I apologize for the quality of service you received during your most recent visit.  Attention to detail is one of the most important items that we stress to our employees.  I will be in contact with you so that we can address the oil that had spilled on your engine.  We appreciate your review and you bringing this to our attention so that we can make it right.


VR
VICKI R.
Sterling, VA
Kia Rio5
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/04/2014
not up to its usual greatness
Unfortunately, their phones went out of order. No one thought to reach out to clients to advise of this, so I tried for at least 30 minutes to call, becoming VERY frustrated. Turk at the Ashburn location was SUPERB in trying to help me reach them. Finally got a response to my email and was able to get a shuttle ride down to pick up my car, only to find they had not done the emissions inspection, so I had to return again the next day to get that done. The repair work seems to be very good, but customer service wasn't up to par.
Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 10/04/2014

We appreciate you writing this review.  It lets us know where we can improve.  Our phone system did unexpectedly go down about mid day this past Tuesday and the problem did not get resolved till Wednesday morning.  We apologize for the lack of communication.  I'm glad we were still able to get you a shuttle ride back.  I'm going to look into why we did not have your emissions test completed as well.  I saw that we repaired your check engine light that day.  Once that is completed the vehicle needs to be driven through a drive cycle before it will be able to have the emissions test performed again.  I know that they were working on driving the vehicle to set the monitors for the emissions test as well for you while it was here.  I will have to see why the test was not completed.  I again want to apologize for any inconvenience this experience may have caused you.  Please feel free to contact me if you have any other questions or concerns.


EF
ELIZABETH/LARRY F.
Sterling, VA
Kia Sorento
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/22/2014
Slow on the Stick...
If you are looking for a quick lube job, this isn't the place. 45 minutes turned into 90 with only a couple cars in front of me, but they have a TV with Judge Judy and free coffee. What happened to the $25 or $30 oil change? Not here. Mine was over $90.
Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 09/23/2014

I do want to apologize for it taking so long to service your vehicle while it was here.  Our technicians perform the 25 point inspection and depending on how busy it is it can end up taking some time to be thorough.  We do offer different grades of oil changes which will cause the price to vary.  I did see that you had a full synthetic oil change performed which is regularly $64.99 but your vehicle requires a special canister filter and over five quarts of oil which causes the price to increase.  We do offer a conventional oil change as well which starts at $34.99.  If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to contact us.  We appreciate you taking the time to write this review.  We always want our customers to feel good and comfortable about their experience with us.


JS
JEFF/MARY S.
Sterling, VA
Ford Taurus
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/17/2014
Did not Rotate Tires!
My wife took the car in for an oil change and tire rotation. They changed the oil but did not rotate the tires!
Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 09/18/2014

We want to apologize for the inconvenience of not having the full service performed that you requested.  I looked into the matter and saw that the rotation was not on the ticket for work that was needed.  We must have forgotten to put it on.  We will be in contact with you to have this matter resolved.  Thank you for taking the time to write this review to bring this matter to our attention.

Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 09/19/2014

I'm glad we were able to get your vehicle back in to get the rotation taken care of.  We appreciate your business.  Please feel free to contact us if you ever have any questions or concerns.


JM
JAMES M.
Sterling, VA
Nissan Armada
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/07/2014
Needs quality control of work
Repairs ok but hood was shut on a loose piece of rubber and failed to shut properly- not noticed by repairman. Fortunately I noticed this problem later at home and was able to correct the matter without damage. I would use the service but will have to check work closely.
Bob Booth; M., General Manager from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 09/08/2014

Thanks for the heads up Mr. Mullen,
I looked up the ticket and will talk to the technician that worked on the car and provide any re-training necessary to make sure this is not repeated. I really appreciate you taking the time to let us know what happened. We can’t fix it if we don't know about it.
Again, Thank You,
Bob