Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades

Overview

Overall Rating 4.56/5Overall Rating 4.56/5Overall Rating 4.56/5Overall Rating 4.56/5rating 4.56

1727 Reviews

ReScore Reviews™ (14)

ReScore
Overall Rating 4.64286/5Overall Rating 4.64286/5Overall Rating 4.64286/5Overall Rating 4.64286/5rating 4.64286
Original
Overall Rating 1.85714/5rating 1.85714rating 1.85714rating 1.85714rating 1.85714
93% Would Recommend
Latest Review over 1 year ago

Reviews


JC
JOSEPH C.
Jaguar XK8
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/30/2014
Brake Repairs
This repair shop made every effort to determine the problem with our brakes but was not successful. They did not charge us which was fair. Because these were high performance brakes on a Jag, we took the problem to the dealer where it was resolved.
Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 08/30/2014

We are sorry to hear that we were not able to resolve the issue with your vehicle.  I was looking into your most recent visits and saw that we had serviced the rear brakes on the vehicle and I did see that you brought it back for a noise you were hearing from the brakes.  I am glad you were able to get the noise resolved but I am sorry you had to take it elsewhere to do so.  I will be contacting you to get more details from you.  Of course if it was related to the work we had performed we will stand behind it and take care of it for you.  We will be giving you a call Mr. Calabrese.  Also, please feel free to contact us with any questions or concerns.  We appreciate you taking the time to write this review.


SW
STEPHEN W.
Sterling, VA
Toyota Camry
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/28/2014
Computer checkout system
Went to purchase a fuel system additive and the service managers had a hard time getting the system to allow a purchase without having service done. When they finally got it to work the system included having to pay for shop supplies. After about 15 minutes they were able to check me out. The people were very apologetic but it took way to long. You may want to revise your software to make it easier (and faster) for your reps to checkout customers. BTW... in general I've have very good experience with actual work done on my car.

Steve
Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 07/29/2014

We appreciate your review.  It lets us know where we can improve.  We will be re-training everyone on how to find all the BG products to help expediate our customers vists.  We are glad that your other experiences here have been good as well.  Thank you again for taking the time to write this review.


VD
VINCENT/PATRICI D.
Sterling, VA
Honda Civic
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/28/2014
Not too pushy about other services
They will suggest other service, with costs, but leave the decision to the owner without pushing them.

Area for improvement: they need to let customer know where their vehicle is when visit is completed. Customer's time is wasted searching for it, indicating a lack of communication somewhere between technician to service desk to customer.
Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 07/29/2014

We definately appreciate you taking the time to communicate with us where we can improve on making our customers visits more enjoyable and convenient.  We have actually just started a new practice where we have numbered our parking spaces so we can help direct each customer to exactly where their vehicle is located.  Please let us know if there are any other areas where we can improve to help make each visit more enjoyable.


PW
PAMALA/JAMES W.
Sterling, VA
Honda Odyssey
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/23/2014
Alignment
Meh. Brought in vehicle for tire rotation and alignment (car pulled to right). Driving car in to work following morning and car now pulls hard to left. Called shop and they'll fix it, but yet more time spent waiting without wheels.
Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 07/29/2014

We are sorry to hear that the vehicle is still pulling after the alignment was performed.  We do offer our 6 month / 6k mile warranty on our alignments so we will be more than happy to check over the alignment again at no cost to you.  We do also offer shuttle services and loaner vehicles so that you would not have to wait here if you did not want to.  We will contact you to set up an appointment.


SH
STEVE H.
Sterling, VA
Volkswagen Jetta
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/29/2014
ok
Ok
Bob Booth; M., General Manager from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 07/02/2014



Steve,
Thanks for taking your time to give us your review, we are always looking for ways to improve the service we provide and would love to hear what we need to do to earn 5 stars from you on your next visit. We want to give you the service you deserve.
Thanks Again,
Bob Booth
 

SD
SCOTT D.
Sterling, VA
Toyota Highlander
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/23/2014
Unapproved work
After signing my quote for an inspection, I came back to find that they invoice amount was higher. I needed a bulb replaced so they performed the work and billed me without asking. When I raised it with the store clerk, he reduced the labor charge. While I am happy it was easily resolved, I do not agree with this practice.
Bob Booth; M., General Manager from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 06/23/2014


Mr. Daitzman, 
I am sorry that you feel like we were not up front with this. While it is stated on the repair order you signed giving us authorization to do this, we Never want anyone to have to pay for something they are uncomfortable with and were not aware of in advance. It is done for your convenience so we don't have issue a rejection sticker and install the bulb later when we are able to reach you then put the car back in line to have it re-inspected. If it was anything other than a bulb we would have reached out to you before anything was done. We do value your business and are always looking for ways to improve so we appreciate your taking the time to send us this review.
Sincerely,
Bob Booth


DC
DENICE C.
Sterling, VA
Jeep Wrangler
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/21/2014
Really?
My jeep had a service bulletin to update the computer. I was not told there would be a charge for this. I paid 109. Just for diagnostics. Come on, no labor involved in hooking up the device to upgrade my computer.....163. For that? I'm not happy!
Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 06/21/2014

I do appologize if there was any miscommunication with the repair that was being completed on your vehicle.  The $163 charge for the system update falls under the labor column on the repair order but it is not necesarily for the time spent on the vehicle but more so as a charge for the program itself which we purchase to put into your vehicle as well as the factory scan tool used to upload the new program to your car.  I will be contacting you to help answer any questions that you may have.


LC
LYNN C.
Sterling, VA
Volvo S60
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/12/2014
Good
Most of the time service is great. This time it was just ok. Still waiting to hear back about a issue that occurred.
Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 06/21/2014

I do want to appologize for it taking us so long to get back to you about your key fob.  I know that you have recently returned and we were able to have the issue resolved.  We appreciate our customers and we know it is the little details that mean the most.  If you have any questions or concerns please contact us.


PS
PENNY S.
Sterling, VA
Dodge Grand Caravan
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/29/2014
Great service, but...
Service was prompt, with great results. What I was not happy with was the $19 'supplies' fee I was charged on top of parts and labor. When I inquired, the desk clerk said that was for rags and cleaners. $19 worth for a replacement window motor??? I asked how this was calculated and he couldn't tell me.

This charge has definitely given me pause about returning. I'm 99% sure Gemini (your predecessor) didn't tack on such charges. These sorts of costs should be built into your labor costs, which are not insubstantial. This felt like a bit of fee gouging.
Bob Booth; M., General Manager from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 05/29/2014


 
Thanks for your review Ms. Smith,
The response you received was not exactly accurate, the fee includes all related items with any repair, rags and cleaners are just a small part of this, there are items such as miscellaneous hardware (nuts, bolts, small brackets etc...), sealers and so on. These items would be tedious and more costly to you if we would itemize them on each invoice, we found this to be better and the fair way to bill for these things. We are always looking for better ways of servicing our customers and we appreciate your feedback. I am going to make sure the front counter staff understands the full scope of this fee so they can explain it more thoroughly, I will be happy to speak to about any issue you have with our service, I can be reached at 703-433-5062 or my email is bbooth@vatire.com.
Sincerely,
Bob Booth


MC
MIKE C.
Sterling, VA
Honda Civic
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/12/2014
Diagnostic charges
Not ever had I been charged to diagnose the problem with the vehicle only to pay current labor charges which I was taught was part of the repair processes.
Bob Booth; M., General Manager from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 05/14/2014

Mr. Contratto,
I review the work order and you are correct, for the type of work you had done the diagnostic charge should have been credited back to you when the work was done. I want to apologize for the inconvenience you have been thru over this and want to thank you for the review. I will issue a credit for you for the diagnostic charge and hope you will give us the opportunity to make this up to you.
Sincerely,
Bob Booth
 

EH
ELIZABETH H.
Sterling, VA
Toyota Prius
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/11/2014
Tire Service
I had a tire repaired. Was told that the tire seal was not intact - that the tire was OK and resealed. Two days later, the tire went flat again - the technician found a nail hole and said the tire was not salvageable. I ordered a new tire, but was not offered a refund for the tire repair, which was absolutely a waste of time and money. I would pay more attention to "Tire" in your company name or remove it from your title. Overall, we have been happy with your service, but this was a very unpleasant and costly experience.
Bob Booth; M., General Manager from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 05/12/2014


I am sorry you did not have a Great experience when buying the replacement tire on your Prius. When you were in on the 8th of April it was leaking around the bead (this is where the tire seals to the wheel), when this is being repaired the tire is removed from the wheel and inspected inside and out for anything that would cause the leak other than the bead then the bead and wheel are cleaned and resealed. You probable picked up a nail during the 12 days between the 8th and 21st when the tire was replaced. If a tire repair we do is done incorrectly we will always issue a credit for that,if it cannot be corrected. I will give you a call as well to discuss this in more detail.
Thank You for bring your concerns to my attention.
Bob Booth


CL
COURTNEY L.
Great Falls, VA
Toyota Corolla
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/10/2014
Easy Access
It is easy to get to this place and easy to get work taken care of during the week. The staff is courteous and helpful. I am not certain I needed all the services and products that were sold to me. I would return but be more cautious about purchasing everything that is recommended.
Bob Booth; M., General Manager from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 05/12/2014


Thank you for taking the time to complete the review, it is very important that we receive feedback. I review this visit and noticed that when we were performing your oil change the technician noticed that the serpentine belt was worn and cracking which will cause the belt to break at some point which can cause major problems with the engine. While it added $114.00 to the bill it was a small amount in comparison to the costs for the damage that could have been caused. We suggest repairs only for your benefit; this is not just a part of the service but our responsibility as automotive professionals.


NB
NICOLE B.
Sterling, VA
Chrysler
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/14/2014
Great Oil Change. Change the Engine Light Dignostic Service.
I had a standard oil change service. That went fine. I was reminded of an engine light. I asked them what the code was and they said it will cost you $110 for a diagnostic. Annoyed, then I have to run over the Advanced Auto parts to borrow their device so I can read the code. In my case I have a reoccurring problem of the cat converters showing an error. Then I know that my car is not going to blow up and break down for some other reason. You need to change that and it's very unattractive because everyone knows how easy it is to read the codes. Just let people know at least what the code is and potential explanation. It could lead to more smooth sales down the road instead of an irritated customer trying to find another service shop.
Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 04/28/2014

We appreciate your review.  It helps us know where we can get better.  I do want to appologize for the poor experience you had with us.  There is a diagnostic fee to actually diagnose and determine what faulty component is causing the light to come on but there is no charge to pull the code to let you know what system it is with.  I am sorry for the inconvenience of you having to go elsewhere to pull the code.  I will definately be speaking to the party involved and re-educate them on our policy with this matter.


MS
MATTHEW S.
Saturn Sky
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/16/2014
Couldn't get it done
I came in for 4 new tires and an alignment. I broke a cardinal rule and decided to wait for the car, after all, how long could that take? After 3 hours, they finally admitted to me that they could not get the car aligned. Worse, in my opinion, they could not tell me WHY they could not get it aligned. The cited a couple examples of things that it could be, but told me they had no way to determine if any of those parts were bad and their only method for isolating the problem would be to replace part after part until it worked.

I don't consider this type of "trouble shooting" to be an effective methodology.

Bottom line is that I have new tires, I have their "word" that the way the car is currently aligned won't excessively wear the tires, yet I'm still in a stock car, turning left constantly.
Jason M. from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 03/16/2014

We do appologize for the long wait and the inconvenience it caused you.  We should have kept you updated on why it was taking so long to complete your vehicle.  There is no way for us to determine how the alignment was moved out of specification but we can speculate based on how bad the readings are.  In your case, the camber reading on the left front was 1.3 degrees out of spec.  There was an impact on the lower part of the wheel causing the top part to be pushed out.  To adjust all the readings it did take a substantial amount of time.  After the alignment was completed and everything was put into spec we did see that the vehicle was still pulling to the right.  We did verify that there were no loose suspension components.  If you can return the vehicle we can diagnose what needs to be done to address the vehicle pulling while driving.  We will contact you to arrange an appointment.


ER
Edmond R.
Sterling, VA
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/26/2014
Convient but...
I bought a "VIP" club membership from them. I get discounts but not VIP service. I expect a mechanic to be my partner in the care of my vehicles. Helping me to keep them in top condition. They are a significant investment for me and require constant maintenance. I can't see everything that needs to be watched so I rely on my mechanic to help. VA tire continues to disappoint me. I brought my truck in for an oil change. When I looked around after they were done I noticed a leak near the radiator. There was oil or trans fluid all over the hoses and skid plate. They could not have missed it during the oil change but failed to mention it to me.
Bob Booth; M., General Manager from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 03/04/2014

Thank you Mr. Ray for the review, I am sorry we did not notify you of and provide an estimate for the Transmission fluid leak when we were performing the service on the Chevy last week. The technician made a note on the work order but it was not noted on the invoice due to an error on the part of the front counter advisor that completed the ticket. We have no excuse for this but will conduct follow up training along with a discipline of the person responsible.
I do appreciate your bring it back in for us to both check and provide an estimate for you but to touch up the paint on the passenger door.


ER
EDMOND R.
Sterling, VA
Pontiac Solstice
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/26/2014
The Little Things
had the 60K mile service, battery replaced, and an oil change done on my car. When I got it back one of the screws that holds the wheel well to the fender was missing. It was removed to replace the battery. This shows the on-going lack of care I have seen from this shop. I brought it back and they replaced the screw. I shouldn't have had to bring it back. I shouldn't have to worry about what did they screw up this time.
Bob Booth; M., General Manager from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 03/04/2014

Thank you for the review Mr. Ray,
 These are the reviews that help us work out the kinks and perform at a higher level. It is always nice to hear when we do a great job but it is very important to hear about our weak areas in order to grow in this profession. I am pleased we were able to correct this for you.
Sincerely,
Bob


RS
RICHARD S.
Sterling, VA
Subaru Forester
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/23/2014
failed to check all fluids
I apidenough and it is winter so I thought you should have check the windshield wiper fluid
Bob Booth; M., General Manager from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 02/27/2014


Mr. Shapiro,
Thanks you for returning to the shop with this concern, I was pleased to see that the technician did fill up the windshield fluid to the full mark on the container keeping in mind that the bulk of the container is below the filler neck and is not visible unless you know how to check it. I have asked them to make sure they fill it to the point that you will be able to see the fluid so you will see it was done. As always, I appreciate you review. It is important that we are on top of our game and you have confidence in our service.
Sincerely,
Bob Booth


MD
MARK/MARY JANE D.
Sterling, VA
Chevrolet Impala
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/21/2014
OK
Service was OK but just OK. Seems like it took a long time to get an inspection and emissions test. I found the service rep only slightly courteous and friendly on my checkout when I asked a few questions.
Bob Booth; M., General Manager from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 01/23/2014

I am sorry we were unable to meet the level of service you deserved on your safety and emissions inspections visit. We were very busy last Friday, when you were in, with a long line of inspections waiting. As per the Virginia State regulations we must take each inspection on a first come basis which can take a bit of time. If you would like to call ahead next time we can let you know how long of a wait we are experiencing on any given day, we also offer rides home and a pick up service when complete, if you prefer to leave the car to have this done.
I will review the security tape of your visit to better handle the service issue you had while checking out. I hope you give us the opportunity to show you what our service truly is like and allow us to make this up to you.
Thank you for your business.
Sincerely,
 Bob Booth


TB
THOMAS and KATHY B.
Sterling, VA
Toyota Avalon
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/15/2014
Too Expensive
The staff was professional and courteous. I think they do fine work, but their prices have gotten out of hand. I will be going elsewhere for oil changes from now on.
Bob Booth; M., General Manager from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 01/17/2014

Thank you for the feedback Mr. and Mrs. Butler,
I reviewed your records and noticed that we performed a synthetic Oil change on your last visit. The Synthetic oils will go for 7,500 miles between oil changes instead of the 3 thousand miles the conventional oil changes required, this makes the cost of the service a better value than what you had been using. The counter staff should have explained this to you in more detail, I will speak to them so we don't repeat this mistake.
I will call you as well to explain.
Thanks again for taking the time to send us this review.
Sincerely,
Bob Booth 


AP
ARTI P.
Sterling, VA
Toyota Camry Solara
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/30/2013
Listening to the Customer - Part 2
Great Job!

Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/30/2013
Listening to the customer!
Picked up my baby 2004 Toyota Solara and drove home with nail in tire; not sure if nail attacked tire on way home or tire fought nail at shop. Back again to fix. Staff provided solution supported by store Manager.
Bob Booth; M., General Manager from Virginia Tire and Auto of Cascades responded on 12/31/2013

Thanks Arti, It was my pleasure speaking with you the other day. I was surprised to see you yesterday but am pleased we were able to find a resolution for getting the tire so quickly. I am sure the staff would have seen the nail as it was on the outside edge in plain sight. We can pick up road debris any time. We appreciate your business. I will call you this morning when the tire arrives.
Bob

1/2/2014
Arti,
 I am pleased we were able to get you back on the road with the new tire. Have a great New Year. See you soon! (Not to Soon I hope) As always please let me know if you need anything.
Bob