O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc.


Overall Rating 4.85/5Overall Rating 4.85/5Overall Rating 4.85/5Overall Rating 4.85/5rating 4.85

570 Reviews

ReScore Reviews™ (3)

ReScore
Overall Rating 3.6666667/5Overall Rating 3.6666667/5Overall Rating 3.6666667/5rating 3.6666667rating 3.6666667
Original
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5rating 2.0rating 2.0rating 2.0
98% Would Recommend
Latest Review about 1 year ago

Ron C. on 01/31/2017
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
"Replaced the front drive spindles. My vehicle still has problems with tight turning, making clunking sounds. Not fixed!"
My Subaru is still not driving correctly, after thousand dollar repair. I am not pleased with your service.
Vehicle: Subaru Forester
Service Date: 01/09/2017
Review Created: 01/31/2017 09:59 AM
Craig O. at O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 03/08/2017

Ron,

We are sure glad things are working good on your car now.  It's never a fun process when a prior repair facility has had their hands in things, but I think we have you sorted out now! 

It would mean a great deal if you would revisit this review in light of the current state of the car.  

Be well, and thank you so much for your enduring patience as we worked through the issues.  

With repsect,

Craig O'Neill
Business Manager / Technician
616-949-1230
Deb M. on 10/19/2015
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
"very pricey"
After taking my vehicle to my regular mechanic to replace the right front axle, I learned he could have replaced the left front axle and the rear drive shaft for half what you charged me. Your discount wasn't very discounted. Also, you disconnected my exhaust system from the undercarriage and never reconnected it so now it is completely broken off the front catalytic converter, and banging on the underside of the car. The brand new muffler and tail pipe are in danger of coming off and the car is really, really LOUD. I am really unhappy with your service this time. You may have done a terrific job on the transmission back in April, (my mechanic still says I paid too much for that too) but this time you overcharged me and damaged my exhaust system by not reconnecting it to the undercarriage. My husband said the brackets holding the muffler in place were welded to the frame and they were actually cut when the transmission was put in. Why wasn't it reconnected then? Now because the rest of the pipe was disconnected from the frame, it completely broke loose of the converter. Yes, there was a crack there before but, it wasn't completely loose-broke off and noisy then.
Vehicle: Honda CR-V
Service Date: 10/09/2015
Review Created: 10/19/2015 04:47 PM
Craig O., Service Manager at O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 10/20/2015

Deb, It needs to be pointed out, that we did absolutely nothing with your exhaust system during your most recent visit.  Your 260,000 mile vehicle has many other issues ( aside from what we helped you with most recently ). I'm glad we were able to squeeze you in on a Friday, I"m happy when we can help customers out.  As for our pricing, I'm sure you'll recall, we offered you a used option on this repair, and you opted for the new part ( wise choice, and an easy choice when your not paying the bill ).  When your parents came down to pay for, and pick up the vehicle for you, I showed them all the broken parts and discussed the right side axle. I'm glad you addressed that.  If your regular "mechanic" was cheaper, it was due to cheaper parts. Cheap parts don't last, and end up costing more in the longrun. Lots of shops use cheaper parts, WE DO NOT. Our shop is known for quality repairs,and we don't cut corners.  Had you called me with any of these concerns, I would've  been more than happy to re-inspect your vehicle, and confirm for you that we did NOT disturb your exhaust.  I have notes from your first visit (over 6 months ago ) about your cracked exhaust system, and other issues with the vehicle.  You chose to ignore the information and it broke, I'm not quite sure how we could've prevented that.  We do appreciate your business, we gave you fast service, and a top notch repair at a very fair price.  I believe your mechanic is giving you false information, and I'm sorry for that.  Hopefully his ignorance doesn't compromise your safety.

Michael T. ReScore Review on 05/30/2014
ReScore
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
Original
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
Recommended? Yes
Surecritic checkman logo Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Make it right"
I originally brought my car to them for a transmission problem and when I got it back after an expensive repair, it still had the problem. After subsequent testing and diagnostics, they concluded that there was most likely an issue with the parts that they replaced. They said they needed the car for a number of days to replace the defective parts and rented a car for me to use while mine was in their shop. When I got the car back after this repair, the problem was fixed. I'll give them credit for calling many times to convince me to bring it back to them to "make it right".
Vehicle: Honda CR-V
Service Date: 03/28/2014
Review Created: 04/16/2014 02:15 AM

Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
"Never again"
Charged me over $2300 to replace the torque converter and it didn't fix the problem I brought it in for. I'm not even sure the torque converter needed to be replaced.
Vehicle: Honda CR-V
Service Date: 03/28/2014
Review Created: 04/16/2014 02:15 AM
Craig O., Service Manager at O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 05/16/2014

Michael, we would like the opportunity to further discuss this repair with you.  Please contact me via phone to arrange a re-assessment of your situation. We are as interested in getting your vehicles problem corrected as you are.

David S. on 01/18/2014
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
David said this business wanted too much money and they are not friendly. He would not recommend this business due to the reasons mentioned.
Vehicle: Ford Explorer
Category: Service
Service Date: 12/23/2013
Review Created: 01/18/2014
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Tedd O. at O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 01/22/2014

David, I'm truly sorry you feel you did not receive the service I expect all of our customers to get from my staff. 

I do remember your time in Grand Rapids the week of Christmas, and, frankly not sure how we failed to express friendliness, and gratitude for the chance to service your car.  We all remember you having car problems, dealing with an ill family member far from home.  This is a far more stressfull situation than your typical breakdown.

Your unfortunate car issue did coincide with a time (Christmas) that we were opperating with less than half of our normal staff.  So the estimate you received was for a factory exchange unit, not one of our own rebuilds, or repair options.  This was done to help get the job done quicker for you, and with the best out of state warranty.  Cheaper options, we never got the opportunity to explore for you.

Mike F. on 09/21/2016
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
Mike said the business was suppose to take his vehicle for a test drive, but they drove it for only 2 miles. He stated that was not enough driving to determine an accurate diagnoses and he feels he has been lied to.
Vehicle: Toyota Sienna
Category: Service
Service Date: 09/15/2016
Review Created: 09/21/2016
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Craig O., Service Manager at O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 09/23/2016

Mike.  We raodtested the vehicle a year before and also found no problems.  We told you then that you should continue to drive it.  This year, it was the same.  Your problem is not one that we can recomend any service on... nor did we feel it.  We told you that we do not recommend anything OTHER than to continue diriving it.  Why would we lie to you about NOT needing anything after a free roadtest?  How would I benefit from that?

Your review completely shocked everyone on our crew.

We have never, ever, had a man so displeased to have recieved a free road-test and recieve the good new that his vehicle does not have a problem.  Don't you think we would have liked to sell you some service if any was recommended? 
If you want.  Call us when you have it acting up in the area, and I will have someone ride with you.  Perhaps the issue you are feeling may be related to your driving style, and it just never showed up for us. 

Still.  Your tranmission doesn't need any repairs at this time.  I sincerely hope you don't let some other shop tell you it does, as you seem a little to eager to spend money on a problem you do NOT need to!

- Craig O'Neill

Clayton P. on 12/20/2015
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
Clayton said he had a appointment to take his vehicle back in for work they were supposed to have already fixed. After driving around all day to get it there on time, they did not look at the vehicle. They told him to bring it back the next week.
Vehicle: Dodge Durango
Category: Service
Service Date: 11/25/2015
Review Created: 12/20/2015
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Craig O., Service Manager at O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 12/31/2015

Clayton,
    I've initially looked into this, and would like to further discuss what happened, and how we can make it right for you.  Please contact me on Monday, and we will do whatever we can to rectify the situation.  My sincere apologies for your inconenience.  We truly appreciate your business, and hope to hear from you.

Thanks

William D. ReScore Review on 01/01/2016
ReScore
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
Original
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
Surecritic checkman logo Verified
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
"Nice guys, but not a place I would go again - a different company had to correct the issue"
I have had the 1967 mustang checked and rechecked, and the frame is straight. I took the auto to Grapewood Frame and Axle where they confirmed the frame was straight. I then took the car to Wiltse Automotive where they checked the frame (which again was fine) and then corrected the alignment, and the car is now excellent. There was also no reason to change the upper control arm. I am sure you tried your best, but the net net of it is, that I paid you (twice) a total of ~$800.00 and the car was not safe when I retrieved it from your shop. The alignment was set correctly by Wiltze Automotive, and the car handles perfectly. Sorry, but the facts are the facts.
Service Date: 10/22/2015
Review Created: 11/16/2015 12:03 PM

Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
"DO NOT Take Your Classic Car Here!!"
The shop admittedly does not understand the required alignment procedure for classic cars with radial tires - yet they replaced parts, "aligned" the car, and proceeded to charge me $775.00. Then when i brought it back because the car would not handle safely above 45 mph, and asked them to set it with the correct spec's, they said there was nothing they could do, BUT the still charged me another $50.00. I see that as extremely dishonorable.
Service Date: 10/22/2015
Review Created: 11/16/2015 12:03 PM
Craig O., Service Manager at O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 11/17/2015

Bill, I'm sorry that you left our shop feeling this way, that is not our intention.  We are more than happy to go above and beyond for our customers.  Unfortunately in your situation, the project car your working on has major frame issues.  It is our DUTY as a responsible repair facility to inform our customers of making adjustments to the vehicle that are unsafe.  The specs you requested, would make the vehicle unstable ,and unsafe to drive.  That is why we recommended a frame shop. I stand behind our work and pricing, and will go to any length to explain that.  I urge you to bring your vehicle to a frame shop and after it's properly fixed we would gladly align it to the correct specs for you.  We truly appreciate your business, and hope to be of help to you in the future.

Craig O., Service Manager at O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 01/05/2016

Bill,
   We are glad that someone was able to figure out a way to correct your issues. 

Colin R. on 04/21/2015
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
Colin said another business had quoted him a quarter of the price that this business had estimated for the necessary work. For this reason, he would not recommend this business.
Vehicle: Ford Pickup
Category: Service
Service Date: 04/15/2015
Review Created: 04/21/2015
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Craig O., Service Manager at O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 04/27/2015

Colin, 
  I'm glad we were able to diagnose and confirm your problem for you.  I'm sorry to hear you'll be getting the repair done elswhere, but glad you found a price to fit your budget.  We don't cut corners at O'Neill's, and doing jobs properly costs alot of money.  There are alot of shops that use cheaper ( poorly manufactured ) parts, and thus can offer lower cost repairs.  Be careful, cheap parts don't last. We are here to offer quality repairs at a reasonable rate.

Craig O., Service Manager at O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 04/27/2015

The price you wanted us to beat, was ridiculous at best.  I can't even buy a used unit for $650.00 for that truck.  NO SHOP ANYWHERE CAN BEAT YOUR "BUDDY WITH A POLE BARN" PRICE.   

Tyler A. on 06/23/2016
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
"Mediocre Experience"
As far as I can tell, the mechanic/technician did a good job and the repair was done correctly. What went poorly was everything else. First I was told I'd get the car either Thursday or Friday, which didn't happen. Then I was told Monday morning. Then it was Monday afternoon. Then it was Tuesday between 2-4p. I had to call for the update at 4p Tuesday to find out it was going to be Wednesday after 1p. Poor managing or knowledge of managing expectations. In addition to that, they billed me incorrectly at first and had to rerun my credit card for an extra $500 when the mistake was found. That's a punch in the gut.
Vehicle: Chevrolet Malibu
Service Date: 06/22/2016
Review Created: 06/23/2016 06:35 AM
Craig O., Service Manager at O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 06/28/2016

Tyler,
  Thanks for your review.  I can't say I don't agree.  Your experience here could have definitly gone better.  I put partial blame on GM's software tech support as a primary cause for the delays, but I felt I had informed you better of the timeline.  My sincerest apologies.  We strive for customer satisfaction, and make every effort in that direction.  I truly am sorry about how it ended, and hope you give us another shot at earning a five star from you in the future.  I promise not to dissapoint.  Above all else, thanks again for your business.

Nick B. ReScore Review on 06/17/2014
ReScore
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Original
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
Recommended? Yes
Surecritic checkman logo Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"helped me out"
After writing the review the owner of the company promptly called me and set up an appointment for me to stop by and get the grinding checked out. They called me back within the hour and told me they sorted it out and it was ready to be picked up, great experience and they really care about their customers
Vehicle: Mazda 3
Service Date: 06/06/2014
Review Created: 06/07/2014 11:24 PM

Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
"clutch works, but new engine noise"
After getting my car back for a 5 hour repair that turned into a 3 day repair (broken battery cable and box, "worn" parts) i get the car back and there is now a grinding/chirping noise coming from my linkage. They claimed it was brakes but it is definitely coming from either a bearing or cv shaft.
Vehicle: Mazda 3
Service Date: 06/06/2014
Review Created: 06/07/2014 11:24 PM
Craig O., Service Manager at O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 06/11/2014

Nick, please call us so we can re-investigate this concern for you.  It is important to us to get your problem corrected as soon as possible.

Megan E. on 12/07/2013
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
"Knowledgable "
I brought my Honda Odyssey in, we'll aware of most all it's mechanical problems, & wanted a rough estimate on a transmission for my model & year. The tech spent some time reading all the check engine light codes, & spent time talking about much less than my transmission, that needed to be done. I was told the quote would be between $25-50. They charges me $40, for what I feel was everything else he told me. Since I came in with the knowledge already, I would have preferred to pay the $25 for the quote on the transmission I asked for. I felt my time was ignored, & I was overcharged.
Vehicle: Honda Odyssey
Service Date: 11/19/2013
Review Created: 12/07/2013 07:01 AM
Lisa O. at O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 12/07/2013

Megan, I'm sorry you feel that you didn't experience the service that you were paying for. Please allow me to give you some background, and our objective in these situations.  If then, you still feel short changed we will refund you the difference. 

Modern transmissions are electrically controlled, and require us to read codes for a starting point in diagnostics. Many engine sensors, and mechanical problems can effect transmission function. 

We feel that our typical customer wants to know as much about all mechanical problems that we can observe so that they can make sound repair decisions. We are not just a transmission specialty shop. We are well equipped and trained in all aspects of your vehicle. 

If in our process, you received diagnostic information that you already posessed, please don't consider it an attempt to just sell you more.  We simply want informed customers. 

Charging for this initial diagnostics is actually new for us. I had to start this because much of Shaun's days were spent diagnosing work that we did not sell repairs on, and he is our highest paid tech. 

I sincerely want a positive experience for all of my customers, and appreciate your feedback. Let me know if you have further questions or concerns. 

Thank you,
                Tedd O'Neill

Ron D. on 10/31/2013
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
"Currently Incomplete "
We are waiting for a tool to be delivered in order to complete the job.
Vehicle: Volkswagen EuroVan
Service Date: 10/17/2013
Review Created: 10/31/2013 08:33 AM
Lisa O. at O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 10/31/2013

I am confidant you will be very pleased when the job is complete.

Jon F. on 10/30/2013
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
"Charged more than what was initially quoted."
The first time I went in to get a quote on the repair, I was given around an $80 price for the part and another $65 for service. I had access to the part already and asked to have them replace my broken part with the one I already had, assuming that the service charge would stay the same. But AFTER replacing the O2 sensor, I was asked to pay $90. $20 didn't seem like a big enough deal to question it at the time, but the more I thought about it, the more bitter of a taste it left in my mouth. It just feels like I got swindled out of some money a bit and it saddens me because my car seems to be fixed and the overall experience other than that was ok. If someone were to ask me if I recommend this place, I wouldn't be able to tell them without mentioning that they are dishonest about pricing their services.
Vehicle: Eagle Vision
Service Date: 10/29/2013
Review Created: 10/30/2013 08:13 PM
Craig O., Service Manager at O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 11/04/2013

Thanks for taking the time to speak with me about this matter on Friday Jon.  If I can help you with any other questions in regards to this, feel free to give me a call.  We appreciate your business
Thanks,
   -Tom Wagenaar

Jack T. on 03/18/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
Jack said the business is good to work with but the vehicle wasn't repaired correctly the first time. He had to bring the vehicle back to the business. He expressed he would recommend the business for service.
Vehicle: Chevrolet Impala
Category: Service
Service Date: 03/09/2017
Review Created: 03/18/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Craig O. at O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 03/20/2017

Jack, 

I can't thank you enough for your patience and understanding while we sorted out the problem, and I'm glad our follow up inspection was able to discover it.  Rare as these instances are, we take a lot of pride in making sure things are addressed promptly.  Don't hesitate to call if there are any further concerns.  You know we will back up our work, whatever the cost.

Craig O'Neill
Business Manager / Technician
616-949-1230
Ron C. on 03/06/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"2010 Subaru Forester"
Took awhile to get fixed, running very well now, thank you for your service, I will recommend to anyone your transmission service. Thanks, guys.
Vehicle: Subaru Forester
Service Date: 03/03/2017
Review Created: 03/06/2017 05:32 AM
Lisa O. at O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 03/07/2017

Hi Ron,
We are sorry that your Subaru took longer then we anticipated it would. Not very often we have a "problem vehicle child". Or Gremlins.. We appreciate your recommending us to others. It was a pleasure working with you and again, we are sorry for the time that it took. 

Anna A. on 03/06/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
Anna said they were more expensive than she expected.
Vehicle: Ford Taurus
Category: Service
Service Date: 03/01/2017
Review Created: 03/06/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Craig O. at O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 03/08/2017

Thank you for the review Anna.  We certianly understand the shock of expensive car repairs.  Particularly on AWD vehicles like yours.  

You might want to consider the fact that we offer comprehensive inspections that can be used to help you understand and map out a more predictable repair budget custom tailored to your transportation needs.  We'd be happy to schedule this, and either myself or our service manager would be happy to provide more details. 

Our primary concern is to make sure your vehicle is safe and dependable. To do this, we hire great technicians, and source high quality parts.  I know you will agree it is worth the cost.  

We hope you enjoy your leak free car!  Thanks again!

Craig O'Neill
Business Manager / Technician
616-949-1230
Tom D. on 01/17/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
Tom said he would recommend this business for service.
Vehicle: Saab 9-2X
Category: Service
Service Date: 01/13/2017
Review Created: 01/17/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Lisa O. at O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 01/19/2017

Thanks for response. We appreciate when our customers recommend us to their friends and family.

Chad G. on 01/14/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
Chad said he had an appointment with the business for Tuesday, but they did not get to his vehicle completed that day. He had to leave it overnight and he got it back on Wednesday, which was a little disappointing.
Vehicle: Mercury Mountaineer
Category: Service
Service Date: 01/11/2017
Review Created: 01/14/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Lisa O. at O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 01/17/2017

Chad, I am sorry for your disappointment in not getting your car back the same day. I understand your disappointment, as it is not easy to be with out wheels. You can be assured that your vehicle was given the attention it needed so you could be safely on your way in as timely a manner as was possible. 

Kieth A. on 01/13/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
Kieth said they're good, honest, knowledgeable and very friendly.
Vehicle: Buick Regal
Category: Service
Service Date: 12/29/2016
Review Created: 01/13/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Phil N. on 11/25/2016
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
Phil said he would recommend this facility to others.
Vehicle: Buick LeSabre
Category: Service
Service Date: 11/17/2016
Review Created: 11/25/2016
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 570 in total