ReScore Reviews™ (3)
We are sure glad things are working good on your car now. It's never a fun process when a prior repair facility has had their hands in things, but I think we have you sorted out now!
It would mean a great deal if you would revisit this review in light of the current state of the car.
Be well, and thank you so much for your enduring patience as we worked through the issues.
With repsect,Craig O'Neill
Business Manager / Technician
Deb, It needs to be pointed out, that we did absolutely nothing with your exhaust system during your most recent visit. Your 260,000 mile vehicle has many other issues ( aside from what we helped you with most recently ). I'm glad we were able to squeeze you in on a Friday, I"m happy when we can help customers out. As for our pricing, I'm sure you'll recall, we offered you a used option on this repair, and you opted for the new part ( wise choice, and an easy choice when your not paying the bill ). When your parents came down to pay for, and pick up the vehicle for you, I showed them all the broken parts and discussed the right side axle. I'm glad you addressed that. If your regular "mechanic" was cheaper, it was due to cheaper parts. Cheap parts don't last, and end up costing more in the longrun. Lots of shops use cheaper parts, WE DO NOT. Our shop is known for quality repairs,and we don't cut corners. Had you called me with any of these concerns, I would've been more than happy to re-inspect your vehicle, and confirm for you that we did NOT disturb your exhaust. I have notes from your first visit (over 6 months ago ) about your cracked exhaust system, and other issues with the vehicle. You chose to ignore the information and it broke, I'm not quite sure how we could've prevented that. We do appreciate your business, we gave you fast service, and a top notch repair at a very fair price. I believe your mechanic is giving you false information, and I'm sorry for that. Hopefully his ignorance doesn't compromise your safety.
Michael, we would like the opportunity to further discuss this repair with you. Please contact me via phone to arrange a re-assessment of your situation. We are as interested in getting your vehicles problem corrected as you are.
David, I'm truly sorry you feel you did not receive the service I expect all of our customers to get from my staff.
I do remember your time in Grand Rapids the week of Christmas, and, frankly not sure how we failed to express friendliness, and gratitude for the chance to service your car. We all remember you having car problems, dealing with an ill family member far from home. This is a far more stressfull situation than your typical breakdown.
Your unfortunate car issue did coincide with a time (Christmas) that we were opperating with less than half of our normal staff. So the estimate you received was for a factory exchange unit, not one of our own rebuilds, or repair options. This was done to help get the job done quicker for you, and with the best out of state warranty. Cheaper options, we never got the opportunity to explore for you.
Mike. We raodtested the vehicle a year before and also found no problems. We told you then that you should continue to drive it. This year, it was the same. Your problem is not one that we can recomend any service on... nor did we feel it. We told you that we do not recommend anything OTHER than to continue diriving it. Why would we lie to you about NOT needing anything after a free roadtest? How would I benefit from that?
Your review completely shocked everyone on our crew.
We have never, ever, had a man so displeased to have recieved a free road-test and recieve the good new that his vehicle does not have a problem. Don't you think we would have liked to sell you some service if any was recommended?
If you want. Call us when you have it acting up in the area, and I will have someone ride with you. Perhaps the issue you are feeling may be related to your driving style, and it just never showed up for us.
Still. Your tranmission doesn't need any repairs at this time. I sincerely hope you don't let some other shop tell you it does, as you seem a little to eager to spend money on a problem you do NOT need to!
- Craig O'Neill
I've initially looked into this, and would like to further discuss what happened, and how we can make it right for you. Please contact me on Monday, and we will do whatever we can to rectify the situation. My sincere apologies for your inconenience. We truly appreciate your business, and hope to hear from you.
Bill, I'm sorry that you left our shop feeling this way, that is not our intention. We are more than happy to go above and beyond for our customers. Unfortunately in your situation, the project car your working on has major frame issues. It is our DUTY as a responsible repair facility to inform our customers of making adjustments to the vehicle that are unsafe. The specs you requested, would make the vehicle unstable ,and unsafe to drive. That is why we recommended a frame shop. I stand behind our work and pricing, and will go to any length to explain that. I urge you to bring your vehicle to a frame shop and after it's properly fixed we would gladly align it to the correct specs for you. We truly appreciate your business, and hope to be of help to you in the future.
We are glad that someone was able to figure out a way to correct your issues.
I'm glad we were able to diagnose and confirm your problem for you. I'm sorry to hear you'll be getting the repair done elswhere, but glad you found a price to fit your budget. We don't cut corners at O'Neill's, and doing jobs properly costs alot of money. There are alot of shops that use cheaper ( poorly manufactured ) parts, and thus can offer lower cost repairs. Be careful, cheap parts don't last. We are here to offer quality repairs at a reasonable rate.
The price you wanted us to beat, was ridiculous at best. I can't even buy a used unit for $650.00 for that truck. NO SHOP ANYWHERE CAN BEAT YOUR "BUDDY WITH A POLE BARN" PRICE.
Thanks for your review. I can't say I don't agree. Your experience here could have definitly gone better. I put partial blame on GM's software tech support as a primary cause for the delays, but I felt I had informed you better of the timeline. My sincerest apologies. We strive for customer satisfaction, and make every effort in that direction. I truly am sorry about how it ended, and hope you give us another shot at earning a five star from you in the future. I promise not to dissapoint. Above all else, thanks again for your business.
Nick, please call us so we can re-investigate this concern for you. It is important to us to get your problem corrected as soon as possible.
Megan, I'm sorry you feel that you didn't experience the service that you were paying for. Please allow me to give you some background, and our objective in these situations. If then, you still feel short changed we will refund you the difference.
Modern transmissions are electrically controlled, and require us to read codes for a starting point in diagnostics. Many engine sensors, and mechanical problems can effect transmission function.
We feel that our typical customer wants to know as much about all mechanical problems that we can observe so that they can make sound repair decisions. We are not just a transmission specialty shop. We are well equipped and trained in all aspects of your vehicle.
If in our process, you received diagnostic information that you already posessed, please don't consider it an attempt to just sell you more. We simply want informed customers.
Charging for this initial diagnostics is actually new for us. I had to start this because much of Shaun's days were spent diagnosing work that we did not sell repairs on, and he is our highest paid tech.
I sincerely want a positive experience for all of my customers, and appreciate your feedback. Let me know if you have further questions or concerns.
I am confidant you will be very pleased when the job is complete.
Thanks for taking the time to speak with me about this matter on Friday Jon. If I can help you with any other questions in regards to this, feel free to give me a call. We appreciate your business
I can't thank you enough for your patience and understanding while we sorted out the problem, and I'm glad our follow up inspection was able to discover it. Rare as these instances are, we take a lot of pride in making sure things are addressed promptly. Don't hesitate to call if there are any further concerns. You know we will back up our work, whatever the cost.
Business Manager / Technician
We are sorry that your Subaru took longer then we anticipated it would. Not very often we have a "problem vehicle child". Or Gremlins.. We appreciate your recommending us to others. It was a pleasure working with you and again, we are sorry for the time that it took.
Thank you for the review Anna. We certianly understand the shock of expensive car repairs. Particularly on AWD vehicles like yours.
You might want to consider the fact that we offer comprehensive inspections that can be used to help you understand and map out a more predictable repair budget custom tailored to your transportation needs. We'd be happy to schedule this, and either myself or our service manager would be happy to provide more details.
Our primary concern is to make sure your vehicle is safe and dependable. To do this, we hire great technicians, and source high quality parts. I know you will agree it is worth the cost.
We hope you enjoy your leak free car! Thanks again!
Business Manager / Technician
Thanks for response. We appreciate when our customers recommend us to their friends and family.
Chad, I am sorry for your disappointment in not getting your car back the same day. I understand your disappointment, as it is not easy to be with out wheels. You can be assured that your vehicle was given the attention it needed so you could be safely on your way in as timely a manner as was possible.