O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc.

Overview

Overall Rating 4.85/5Overall Rating 4.85/5Overall Rating 4.85/5Overall Rating 4.85/5rating 4.85

572 Reviews

ReScore Reviews™ (3)

ReScore
Overall Rating 3.6666667/5Overall Rating 3.6666667/5Overall Rating 3.6666667/5rating 3.6666667rating 3.6666667
Original
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5rating 2.0rating 2.0rating 2.0
98% Would Recommend
Latest Review 26 days ago

Reviews


RC
Ron C.
Shelbyville, MI
Subaru Forester
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/31/2017
Replaced the front drive spindles. My vehicle still has problems with tight turning, making clunking sounds. Not fixed!
My Subaru is still not driving correctly, after thousand dollar repair. I am not pleased with your service.
Craig O. from O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 03/08/2017

Ron,

We are sure glad things are working good on your car now.  It's never a fun process when a prior repair facility has had their hands in things, but I think we have you sorted out now! 

It would mean a great deal if you would revisit this review in light of the current state of the car.  

Be well, and thank you so much for your enduring patience as we worked through the issues.  

With repsect,

Craig O'Neill
Business Manager / Technician
616-949-1230

RP
ROBERT (BOB) P.
Byron Center, MI
Toyota Camry
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/11/2016
MY RECEINT WORK AT O'NEILL'S
I have had a lot of work done at O'Neill's from just fluid flushes to a new transmission install. They Keep me informed on everything and their quality of work is excellent. I will keep on going there when I need work.

MF
Mike F.
Wyoming, MI
Toyota Sienna
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/21/2016 Category: Service
Mike said the business was suppose to take his vehicle for a test drive, but they drove it for only 2 miles. He stated that was not enough driving to determine an accurate diagnoses and he feels he has been lied to.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Craig O., Service Manager from O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 09/23/2016

Mike.  We raodtested the vehicle a year before and also found no problems.  We told you then that you should continue to drive it.  This year, it was the same.  Your problem is not one that we can recomend any service on... nor did we feel it.  We told you that we do not recommend anything OTHER than to continue diriving it.  Why would we lie to you about NOT needing anything after a free roadtest?  How would I benefit from that?

Your review completely shocked everyone on our crew.

We have never, ever, had a man so displeased to have recieved a free road-test and recieve the good new that his vehicle does not have a problem.  Don't you think we would have liked to sell you some service if any was recommended? 
If you want.  Call us when you have it acting up in the area, and I will have someone ride with you.  Perhaps the issue you are feeling may be related to your driving style, and it just never showed up for us. 

Still.  Your tranmission doesn't need any repairs at this time.  I sincerely hope you don't let some other shop tell you it does, as you seem a little to eager to spend money on a problem you do NOT need to!

- Craig O'Neill


TA
Tyler A.
Grand Rapids, MI
Chevrolet Malibu
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/23/2016
Mediocre Experience
As far as I can tell, the mechanic/technician did a good job and the repair was done correctly. What went poorly was everything else. First I was told I'd get the car either Thursday or Friday, which didn't happen. Then I was told Monday morning. Then it was Monday afternoon. Then it was Tuesday between 2-4p. I had to call for the update at 4p Tuesday to find out it was going to be Wednesday after 1p. Poor managing or knowledge of managing expectations. In addition to that, they billed me incorrectly at first and had to rerun my credit card for an extra $500 when the mistake was found. That's a punch in the gut.
Craig O., Service Manager from O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 06/28/2016

Tyler,
  Thanks for your review.  I can't say I don't agree.  Your experience here could have definitly gone better.  I put partial blame on GM's software tech support as a primary cause for the delays, but I felt I had informed you better of the timeline.  My sincerest apologies.  We strive for customer satisfaction, and make every effort in that direction.  I truly am sorry about how it ended, and hope you give us another shot at earning a five star from you in the future.  I promise not to dissapoint.  Above all else, thanks again for your business.


WD
William D.
Ada, MI
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/16/2015
Nice guys, but not a place I would go again - a different company had to correct the issue
I have had the 1967 mustang checked and rechecked, and the frame is straight. I took the auto to Grapewood Frame and Axle where they confirmed the frame was straight. I then took the car to Wiltse Automotive where they checked the frame (which again was fine) and then corrected the alignment, and the car is now excellent. There was also no reason to change the upper control arm. I am sure you tried your best, but the net net of it is, that I paid you (twice) a total of ~$800.00 and the car was not safe when I retrieved it from your shop. The alignment was set correctly by Wiltze Automotive, and the car handles perfectly. Sorry, but the facts are the facts.

Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/16/2015
DO NOT Take Your Classic Car Here!!
The shop admittedly does not understand the required alignment procedure for classic cars with radial tires - yet they replaced parts, "aligned" the car, and proceeded to charge me $775.00. Then when i brought it back because the car would not handle safely above 45 mph, and asked them to set it with the correct spec's, they said there was nothing they could do, BUT the still charged me another $50.00. I see that as extremely dishonorable.
Craig O., Service Manager from O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 11/17/2015

Bill, I'm sorry that you left our shop feeling this way, that is not our intention.  We are more than happy to go above and beyond for our customers.  Unfortunately in your situation, the project car your working on has major frame issues.  It is our DUTY as a responsible repair facility to inform our customers of making adjustments to the vehicle that are unsafe.  The specs you requested, would make the vehicle unstable ,and unsafe to drive.  That is why we recommended a frame shop. I stand behind our work and pricing, and will go to any length to explain that.  I urge you to bring your vehicle to a frame shop and after it's properly fixed we would gladly align it to the correct specs for you.  We truly appreciate your business, and hope to be of help to you in the future.

Craig O., Service Manager from O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 01/05/2016

Bill,
   We are glad that someone was able to figure out a way to correct your issues. 


DM
Deb M.
Holland, MI
Honda CR-V
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/19/2015
very pricey
After taking my vehicle to my regular mechanic to replace the right front axle, I learned he could have replaced the left front axle and the rear drive shaft for half what you charged me. Your discount wasn't very discounted. Also, you disconnected my exhaust system from the undercarriage and never reconnected it so now it is completely broken off the front catalytic converter, and banging on the underside of the car. The brand new muffler and tail pipe are in danger of coming off and the car is really, really LOUD. I am really unhappy with your service this time. You may have done a terrific job on the transmission back in April, (my mechanic still says I paid too much for that too) but this time you overcharged me and damaged my exhaust system by not reconnecting it to the undercarriage. My husband said the brackets holding the muffler in place were welded to the frame and they were actually cut when the transmission was put in. Why wasn't it reconnected then? Now because the rest of the pipe was disconnected from the frame, it completely broke loose of the converter. Yes, there was a crack there before but, it wasn't completely loose-broke off and noisy then.
Craig O., Service Manager from O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 10/20/2015

Deb, It needs to be pointed out, that we did absolutely nothing with your exhaust system during your most recent visit.  Your 260,000 mile vehicle has many other issues ( aside from what we helped you with most recently ). I'm glad we were able to squeeze you in on a Friday, I"m happy when we can help customers out.  As for our pricing, I'm sure you'll recall, we offered you a used option on this repair, and you opted for the new part ( wise choice, and an easy choice when your not paying the bill ).  When your parents came down to pay for, and pick up the vehicle for you, I showed them all the broken parts and discussed the right side axle. I'm glad you addressed that.  If your regular "mechanic" was cheaper, it was due to cheaper parts. Cheap parts don't last, and end up costing more in the longrun. Lots of shops use cheaper parts, WE DO NOT. Our shop is known for quality repairs,and we don't cut corners.  Had you called me with any of these concerns, I would've  been more than happy to re-inspect your vehicle, and confirm for you that we did NOT disturb your exhaust.  I have notes from your first visit (over 6 months ago ) about your cracked exhaust system, and other issues with the vehicle.  You chose to ignore the information and it broke, I'm not quite sure how we could've prevented that.  We do appreciate your business, we gave you fast service, and a top notch repair at a very fair price.  I believe your mechanic is giving you false information, and I'm sorry for that.  Hopefully his ignorance doesn't compromise your safety.


PK
Phillip K.
Alto, MI
Jeep Patriot
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/06/2015
Quick and Straight Forward
Brought our vehicle in and was quickly explained what could be wrong. Diagnostics were ran and determined that my issue was a cheap part and some more transmission fluid. Did receive a run around or a bunch of jargon no one understands. Once the issue was recognized the staff at O'Neill's took care of me the very next business day!
Lisa O. from O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 10/11/2015

Hi Phillip,
I am thinking that you did NOT receive a run around or a bunch of jargon. I am going by the rest of your kind words. Thank you for the response and the time you took to do so. We greatly appreciate it. 


CR
Colin R.
Ada, MI
Ford Pickup
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
04/21/2015 Category: Service
Colin said another business had quoted him a quarter of the price that this business had estimated for the necessary work. For this reason, he would not recommend this business.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Craig O., Service Manager from O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 04/27/2015

Colin, 
  I'm glad we were able to diagnose and confirm your problem for you.  I'm sorry to hear you'll be getting the repair done elswhere, but glad you found a price to fit your budget.  We don't cut corners at O'Neill's, and doing jobs properly costs alot of money.  There are alot of shops that use cheaper ( poorly manufactured ) parts, and thus can offer lower cost repairs.  Be careful, cheap parts don't last. We are here to offer quality repairs at a reasonable rate.

Craig O., Service Manager from O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 04/27/2015

The price you wanted us to beat, was ridiculous at best.  I can't even buy a used unit for $650.00 for that truck.  NO SHOP ANYWHERE CAN BEAT YOUR "BUDDY WITH A POLE BARN" PRICE.   


NB
Nick B.
Grand Rapids, MI
Mazda 3
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/07/2014
helped me out
After writing the review the owner of the company promptly called me and set up an appointment for me to stop by and get the grinding checked out. They called me back within the hour and told me they sorted it out and it was ready to be picked up, great experience and they really care about their customers

Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/07/2014
clutch works, but new engine noise
After getting my car back for a 5 hour repair that turned into a 3 day repair (broken battery cable and box, "worn" parts) i get the car back and there is now a grinding/chirping noise coming from my linkage. They claimed it was brakes but it is definitely coming from either a bearing or cv shaft.
Craig O., Service Manager from O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 06/11/2014

Nick, please call us so we can re-investigate this concern for you.  It is important to us to get your problem corrected as soon as possible.


MT
Michael T.
Grand Rapids, MI
Honda CR-V
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/16/2014
Make it right
I originally brought my car to them for a transmission problem and when I got it back after an expensive repair, it still had the problem. After subsequent testing and diagnostics, they concluded that there was most likely an issue with the parts that they replaced. They said they needed the car for a number of days to replace the defective parts and rented a car for me to use while mine was in their shop. When I got the car back after this repair, the problem was fixed. I'll give them credit for calling many times to convince me to bring it back to them to "make it right".

Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/16/2014
Never again
Charged me over $2300 to replace the torque converter and it didn't fix the problem I brought it in for. I'm not even sure the torque converter needed to be replaced.
Craig O., Service Manager from O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 05/16/2014

Michael, we would like the opportunity to further discuss this repair with you.  Please contact me via phone to arrange a re-assessment of your situation. We are as interested in getting your vehicles problem corrected as you are.


JB
Judy B.
Grand Rapids, MI
Buick Lucerne
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/29/2014
Great, friendly and fast service.
My car was fixed quickly, and was very impressed with how professional the service was. Oh, and cute guys!!
Lisa O. from O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 02/07/2014

Judy,
Thank you for the response. They are a nice looking bunch! Keep them in mind for any of your cars service and maintenance needs. We are your total car care people!


DS
David S.
St. Peters, MO
Ford Explorer
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/18/2014 Category: Service
David said this business wanted too much money and they are not friendly. He would not recommend this business due to the reasons mentioned.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Tedd O. from O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 01/22/2014

David, I'm truly sorry you feel you did not receive the service I expect all of our customers to get from my staff. 

I do remember your time in Grand Rapids the week of Christmas, and, frankly not sure how we failed to express friendliness, and gratitude for the chance to service your car.  We all remember you having car problems, dealing with an ill family member far from home.  This is a far more stressfull situation than your typical breakdown.

Your unfortunate car issue did coincide with a time (Christmas) that we were opperating with less than half of our normal staff.  So the estimate you received was for a factory exchange unit, not one of our own rebuilds, or repair options.  This was done to help get the job done quicker for you, and with the best out of state warranty.  Cheaper options, we never got the opportunity to explore for you.


ME
Megan E.
Grand Rapids, MI
Honda Odyssey
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/07/2013
Knowledgable
I brought my Honda Odyssey in, we'll aware of most all it's mechanical problems, & wanted a rough estimate on a transmission for my model & year. The tech spent some time reading all the check engine light codes, & spent time talking about much less than my transmission, that needed to be done. I was told the quote would be between $25-50. They charges me $40, for what I feel was everything else he told me. Since I came in with the knowledge already, I would have preferred to pay the $25 for the quote on the transmission I asked for. I felt my time was ignored, & I was overcharged.
Lisa O. from O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 12/07/2013

Megan, I'm sorry you feel that you didn't experience the service that you were paying for. Please allow me to give you some background, and our objective in these situations.  If then, you still feel short changed we will refund you the difference. 

Modern transmissions are electrically controlled, and require us to read codes for a starting point in diagnostics. Many engine sensors, and mechanical problems can effect transmission function. 

We feel that our typical customer wants to know as much about all mechanical problems that we can observe so that they can make sound repair decisions. We are not just a transmission specialty shop. We are well equipped and trained in all aspects of your vehicle. 

If in our process, you received diagnostic information that you already posessed, please don't consider it an attempt to just sell you more.  We simply want informed customers. 

Charging for this initial diagnostics is actually new for us. I had to start this because much of Shaun's days were spent diagnosing work that we did not sell repairs on, and he is our highest paid tech. 

I sincerely want a positive experience for all of my customers, and appreciate your feedback. Let me know if you have further questions or concerns. 

Thank you,
                Tedd O'Neill


JF
Jon F.
Grand Rapids, MI
Eagle Vision
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/30/2013
Charged more than what was initially quoted.
The first time I went in to get a quote on the repair, I was given around an $80 price for the part and another $65 for service. I had access to the part already and asked to have them replace my broken part with the one I already had, assuming that the service charge would stay the same. But AFTER replacing the O2 sensor, I was asked to pay $90. $20 didn't seem like a big enough deal to question it at the time, but the more I thought about it, the more bitter of a taste it left in my mouth. It just feels like I got swindled out of some money a bit and it saddens me because my car seems to be fixed and the overall experience other than that was ok. If someone were to ask me if I recommend this place, I wouldn't be able to tell them without mentioning that they are dishonest about pricing their services.
Craig O., Service Manager from O'Neill's Transmission Service, Inc. responded on 11/04/2013

Thanks for taking the time to speak with me about this matter on Friday Jon.  If I can help you with any other questions in regards to this, feel free to give me a call.  We appreciate your business
Thanks,
   -Tom Wagenaar


JC
Jeff C.
Grand Rapids, MI
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/25/2018
Complete Trust in O'Neill's
This is the second time this year that I have had quite major repairs done on my two Honda Odyssey mini-vans. One van needed a tranny replacement and the other van needed a lot of front end work. Both times I have found all of the guys - front office and techs - to be very considerate and honest. Especially this last time when they could have easily recommended a couple thousand more in repairs but explained that the fears i had were not warranted. The struts were fine for quite a few more miles and it was not time to work on the tranny on this one. Another shop in town had recommended these repairs when I had some tire work done... hmm... I knew I could trust O'Neill's and am glad I can. Both vans run beautifully and I know they are well diagnosed for any foreseeable needs.

JT
Juanita T.
Hudsonville, MI
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/24/2018
Outstanding!
Not enough words to describe the level of commitment & expertise Jody Wierenga brings to the shop. His professionalism, knowledge, honesty & responsiveness exceed all expectations. I could not be happier with my experience at O’Neill’s & I guarantee you will be too. Thank you for all the hard work you did on my vehicle Jody!

BL
Bryn L.
Grand Rapids, MI
Honda Pilot
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/11/2017 Category: Service
Bryn said they did a good job and she was satisfied with the experience.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

GV
Gary V.
Grand Rapids, MI
Acura MDX
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/07/2017
broken AC
commitment to excellence

TK
Tony K.
Grand Rapids, MI
Volkswagen Passat
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/04/2017 Category: Service
Tony said they took plenty of time to explain the problem and to let him know why they could not fix it. He really appreciated talking to the manager and his son regarding the issue with his vehicle. They also provided him with great information regarding why the repair could not be completed.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

DS
Denny S.
Dewitt, MI
Buick Rendezvous
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/30/2017 Category: Service
Denny said he heard about the business through his son and he would recommend this business for service.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 572 in total