Overview

Overall Rating 4.72/5Overall Rating 4.72/5Overall Rating 4.72/5Overall Rating 4.72/5rating 4.72

509 Reviews

ReScore Reviews™ (1)

ReScore
Overall Rating 1.0/5rating 1.0rating 1.0rating 1.0rating 1.0
Original
Overall Rating 1.0/5rating 1.0rating 1.0rating 1.0rating 1.0
96% Would Recommend
Latest Review 4 days ago

Reviews


Verified Customer
Orlando, FL
Toyota Corolla
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/05/2018
Had to come back the next morning.
They did not properly assembled what I initially went for yesterday so I had to go today to have it fixed again.
Yogi W., Managing Partner from Lancaster Auto And Tire Co Inc responded on 10/04/2018

Hi
Melvin,
We are sorry for the inconvenience but sometimes this happens when customer brings their own part and it does not fit right.
We gain apologize for that.
Thanks

Yogi Wadhwa

MC
Michel C.
Orlando, FL
Mercedes-Benz E320
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/01/2017 Category: Service
Michel said the employees were accurate in diagnosing his vehicle's problem. However, he felt they were adding additional issues as well.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

RM
RUPERTO M.
Orlando, FL
Volkswagen New Beetle
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/19/2017
Engine replacement
I did not appreciate that my auto was worked on for almost two weeks to change an engine when it was expected in three days. Three engines were delivered and they were the wrong engines. When they receive the final one it was still incorrect and they went ahead and modified to be used on my car. I was quoted $2100. The engine was to have had another 87,000 miles on it but the final engine ended up with 100,000 miles on it and was still charged the same amount. They did attempt to compensate with new spark plugs and cables and repaired a hose connection. After two days of very little driving the car began to leak oil. They told me the seals on the engine are warranteed on this engine since it was a used engine. This was not explained to me beforehand and I had to spend an additional $600. I don't want to be the cause of anyone missing out on running a business but this was very upsetting.
Yogi W., Managing Partner from Lancaster Auto And Tire Co Inc responded on 08/23/2017

hi,
Ruperto,
We sincerely apologize for the delay happened in your job and we take full responsibilty for that.
Also we kept you notified the delay at every stage when we got the wron engine three times for your car,Since manufacturer changed the engine in that year multiple times that is why we could not get the right engine first time.
As far as the mileage of the used engine is concerned, again we coud not get the right model of the engine for the miles we told you but we still stand behind the warranty for the mileage we committed to you.
Again we feel extremely sorry for the delay and extra charges you had to pay and we offer you free labor upto $200 of work on any vehicle you own, if you need in future,only you have to pay for the parts.
There is no time limit to it.
Thanks and Wish you well.


DM
Diana M.
Orlando, FL
Lincoln Town Car
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/31/2017 Category: Service
Diana said the service was good at this business.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

SB
Scott B.
Danville, KY
Kia Sedona
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/22/2017 Category: Service
Scott said the gentleman who he had been working with him, told him he would pick him up when his vehicle was ready. When the time came, he had gotten really busy and was unable to come and get him. He ended up having to spend $25 on a cab so he could get his vehicle from them.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Yogi W., Managing Partner from Lancaster Auto And Tire Co Inc responded on 07/27/2017
Hi
Scott,

Thanks for your recommendation.
Also we were able to drop you where you asked but very sorry that we could not pick you up becuase of some unavaoidable circumstances.
We apologize for that.
Thanks again for recommending us.

LK
Lindsy K.
Kissimmee, FL
Toyota Corolla
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/06/2017 Category: Service
Lindsy said the mechanic at the business was nice. He only looked at her vehicle for only five, maybe ten minutes. He told her the vehicle was basically not fixable and he still charged her for looking at it.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Yogi W., Managing Partner from Lancaster Auto And Tire Co Inc responded on 05/20/2017
hi
Yes we do charge for diagnostics if customer is not getting the vehicle fixed or vehicle is not fixable because we have to pay our techs to disgnose the vehicle.
Their is no diagnostice charges if we are fixing the vehicle and we explain that upfront.
Thanks

KW
Kenrick W.
Orlando, FL
Dodge Pickup
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/23/2017 Category: Service
Kenrick said there was a noise in his universal joint and he asked the business to fix it but they told him he needed his wheel bearings changed instead. After he left, he continued to hear the noise and when he took his vehicle back, they fixed his universal joint and the noise disappeared. He ended up paying more than he needed to because they did not listen to him in the first place.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Yogi W., Managing Partner from Lancaster Auto And Tire Co Inc responded on 03/30/2017
hi
Kenrick,
Vehicle was amking noise from bearing as well so we advised both.
Thank you for your feedback and recommendation.

DP
Diris P.
Orlando, FL
Mitsubishi Galant
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/07/2017 Category: Service
Diris said there were other ways that the issue could have been taken care of. They were expensive.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Yogi W., Managing Partner from Lancaster Auto And Tire Co Inc responded on 03/08/2017
Hi
Diris
We are really sorry you felt that way.
If you stop by next time for any other repairs,we will try to make you happy on this part also.
thanks

DA
DARLINE A.
Orlando, FL
Jeep Commander
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/08/2016
Not satisfied
Well I had a diagnostic done on my AC because it was not cooling. I was told what the problem was and an estimate was given to me. I went back part of the job was done and part was left behind, 314 dollars was taken from me and my AC still not cooling because they didn't have all the parts. Now I was told to go back with an extra 284 dollars to get the whole thing done. I thought that was very unprofessional and a waste of my time and money. Totally messed me up.

JD
Johnny D.
Orlando, FL
Nissan Altima
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/24/2015 Category: Service
Johnny said the customer service was ok, but he did have an issue the second time he went in. A mechanic lost his fuse box top, but other than that, the service was good,
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

MT
MARIEM T.
Orlando, FL
Dodge Caliber
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
12/16/2018
Dodge Caliber
When I received the car I found out the air conditioner that was working fine is not working anymore , and I had to pay fir fixing it. So you missed up with the air conditioner that was working fine in my car and you charged me for fixing it. Thank you
Yogi W., Managing Partner from Lancaster Auto And Tire Co Inc responded on 12/21/2018

Hi
Mariem
We are very sorry that you felt that we broke your AC while repair and you had to pay again to fix that.
To make you feel better we can compensate you with 2 Free Oil Changes with free inspection.
You can stop by any time and we wil take care of that.
Or you advise anything we can do to make you feel better.
Thanks

Yogi Wadhwa

Verified Customer
Orlando, FL
Jeep Liberty
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/29/2018
Overcharged
Definitely over charged.
Yogi W., Managing Partner from Lancaster Auto And Tire Co Inc responded on 06/29/2018

Niza,
Hi,
We are sorry that you feel that we overcharged you but $105.00 for Radiator Flush with supplies and taxes is not a very high price to pay for the job.
It is very much with in industry standards.
Also we did it after your pre approval.
Still if you feel that way, we will compensate you in the next visit for any other future repairs.
Thanks and really appreciate your business.

Yogi Wadhwa

AR
Angel R.
Florida
Mazda Mazda6
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/22/2018 Category: Service
Angel said he was quoted one price and after the service, was charged another. He did not like the way he was treated. The vehicle is still not the same. He may or may not return.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Yogi W., Managing Partner from Lancaster Auto And Tire Co Inc responded on 06/25/2018

im sorry for the missunderstanding but we tried our best to resolve youre situation you where quoted a price for a diagnostic that you did youre self.When the service you requested didnt resolve thew issue we diagnosed youre vehicle. youre intial bill was 105.61 and we only charged you 89.99 eventho we performed the trothel relearn and the diagnostic after wich you repalsed youre purgue control valve and retuned to clear the codes on the car and we didnt charge either. in the future please be fair in youre revue

Yogi Wadhwa

MT
MARY T.
Orlando, FL
Ford Focus
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/23/2017
Over priced
Over priced services.

BK
BERTIE K.
Altamonte Springs, FL
Nissan Frontier
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
05/05/2017
Engine light
The check engine light continues to go on and off for 1 year now A/c broke.. Tech said to drive faster on I4
Yogi W., Managing Partner from Lancaster Auto And Tire Co Inc responded on 05/08/2017
Hi
Check engine light is an intermittent problem and Customer does not want to spend money on the vehicle.
And we did not break the AC,also we tried to work out on the price and did not charge the work we did but still we could not make her happy.
But we still want to work out with her,
thanks

DS
Dana S.
Orlando, FL
BMW 330i
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/31/2016 Category: Service
Dana said she had to take her vehicle back after 6 months because they put on a faulty part. They also did an alignment that was done incorrectly. She is dissatisfied with the young man at the front desk because she is not fond of his attitude.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Yogi W., Managing Partner from Lancaster Auto And Tire Co Inc responded on 11/02/2016
hi
we did not put the faulty part but part went bad otherwise it would not have worked for 6 months.
we took care of the whole job under our warranty programm and did not charge anything for doing it again.
we are sorry that you did not like the service advisor attitude or his way of expressions,we will definitely train him better.
thanks for your feedback

Verified Customer
Orlando, FL
Ford Fusion
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/08/2019
Never did what they said
I came there to get my car fixed they upped the price because it was through insurance. They were supposed to send a quote to me but never did and never told me or showed me what was wrong with my vehicle.

Verified Customer
Orlando, FL
Nissan Altima
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/17/2019
GO ANYWHERE ELSE BUT HERE!!!!
I came in for an oil change APPOINTMENT at 9:35. i didn’t get my car even LOOKED AT until 12:55pm. I had to call out of work because i didn’t leave until 4:30. They lied and told me something major was wrong with my car then proceeded to tell me the issus was on recall and I could get it fixed for free(LIE) just to
get me out of there because they were closing. LONG STORY SHORT GO ANYWHERE BUT HERE.
Yogi W., Managing Partner from Lancaster Auto And Tire Co Inc responded on 03/20/2019

Hi
Sorry to see that you felt that way.
Your oil change change was done in the hour but you wanted to get your vehicle diagnosed which took more time and we did not lie to you about recall,instead we told you to take for recall and get that fixed for free.
We have documentary proof of the recall which shared with you.
Still if you feel you were not treated right we apologize for that and we offer you a complimentary oil change to make you feel little comfortable.
Thanks again for bringing your vehicle here.

Yogi Wadhwa

MB
MIKE B.
Brookfield, WI
Ford Econoline Wagon
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/09/2019
Not truthfull
Promised one day givin following week at higher than quoted promised price
Yogi W., Managing Partner from Lancaster Auto And Tire Co Inc responded on 02/09/2019

Hi
Mike,
We sincerely apologized you earlier on phone also and we again apologize to you for the delay caused by some unforeseen reasons beyond our control.
As far as the cost increase is concerned because of new water pump and exhaust manifolds we replaced because it did not feel right to put old one with new engine so  we again apologize for that and we are willing to refund you the differenceof $150.00 back.
Again it is never our intentions to make false promises but sometimes things go out of hand and we are dependent on part suppliers commitments but we are not making that as an excuse and apologize.
Thanks and really Appreciate your business.

Yogi Wadhwa

LD
Leora D.
Kissimmee, FL
Chevrolet Venture
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/18/2018 Category: Service
Leora said she went to the business to have her thermostat and dashboard replaced. She said for what this business charged, she could have had the repairs done cheaper. She said she was charged $300. She was told the parts would be in Monday and they were not in until Tuesday.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Yogi W., Managing Partner from Lancaster Auto And Tire Co Inc responded on 05/22/2018

Hi
Leora,
We are sorry that your part came a day late,but since it was out of our hand because your cluster was new and came from out of state and we did not have any control on it.
On the price part we charged you only $100.00 plus the cost of the part including diagnostics and labor,which sound very reasonable considering the job we did upon your pre approval.
Still if you feel we did not come to your expectations, we are sorry for that and definitely will try to make up for you in future,if you needed our services again.
Thanks for your feedback.

Yogi Wadhwa