Overview

Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5rating 4.9

614 Reviews

99% Would Recommend
95% Business Response
Latest Review 4 months ago

Reviews


CM
Cindy & Tom M.
Concord, NC
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/12/2017
Air conditioner repair
After 3 trips to the shop and approximately $2000.00 our AC still doesn't cool. Not going back there.
Paul R. from Pauls Automotive Service And Repair responded on 07/26/2017

We are so very sorry for the inconvience you may have been caused.  A/C systems can sometimes be very fickle.  Thank you so much for coming by the shop and giving us the chance to make you a satistified customer once again.  We do go the extra mile to make sure our customers are satisfied.  Thanks, Paul & Pat


SW
Samuel W.
Greensboro, NC
Mazda B4000
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/19/2017 Category: Service
Samuel said this business quoted him a high estimate and they told him they would not provide the parts that were needed.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Paul R. from Pauls Automotive Service And Repair responded on 05/23/2017

We are so sorry that you were unhappy with our services for your '94 Mazda.  You were given a fair price on the cost of the repair.  Not sure how you understood that we would not provide the parts for the repair. We always provide quality parts for the repairs since we warranty all of our work. We would not use junk yard parts as you requested or allow customers to provide their own parts.  If customers provided their own parts then we could not warranty the work.  We believe that it is best business practice to be able to warranty all work--best for the customer and best for our business. 


VS
Villard S.
Concord, NC
Mercedes-Benz E320
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/20/2016 Category: Service
Villard said the air conditioner service that was quoted to him by this business was almost double in price, compared to where he had the service done.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Paul R. from Pauls Automotive Service And Repair responded on 05/23/2016

It is hard to respond to your comments since we do not have a record of the estimate that was given to you.  Unsure if we gave you an estimate before we looked at you vehicle or after we diagnosed it and if comparison was made apples to apples.   We have never claimed to be the cheapest, only one of the best with all work being guaranteed.  One can always find someone cheaper and that is why we strongly believe that price is what you pay and value is what you get.  We are happy that you found someone to do your repair that you are pleased with.  Thank you, Paul & Pat


JP
Jonas P.
Concord, NC
Honda Civic
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/08/2015
expensive air conditioning repair
After bringing 3 times my car to Paul's automotive, and paying the repair of my air conditioning, I decided to move to another shop. I wasted my money and my time. No repair, no fix, but I still had to pay Paul.
Paul R. from Pauls Automotive Service And Repair responded on 08/10/2015

Jonas, We are so sorry that we did not meet your expectations and hope that we can come to some sort of amenable agreement.  We do pride ourselves in making sure our customers are satisfied. 
Your first visit for A/C work showed that you were low on freon and the compressor and system was working appropriately at that time. We also tested for leaks.    We did an A/C recharge at this time and put dye in system so if a high pressure leak was present we could easily find it if you had problems again.  You did have problems again and the dye showed us that the shrader valve was leaking.  We replaced with no charge.  Condensor was still operating at this time.  Once again you had problems and brought your car in and at this time we found that the clutch in the condensor was not working. We have no idea if the clutch worked some time and not at other times,  but once this was discovered, we shared the findings with you along with a quote for the repair.  Unfortunately replacing the condensor is not cheap--taking close to 4 hours to do the job.  We offered you financing (both CarCareOne and in-house financing) since you indicated that this was alot of money for you.  You left saying you would get back to us.  We did receive a call from you saying that you had decided to do without A/C.  You never indicated to us any issues you had with our service.  If the compressor repair would have been done, your vehicle would have still needed as part of that repair a recharge.  Since you had already paid for a recharge you would not have been charged for another recharge. 

Our belief is to not replace any parts until we are 100% certain they need replacing and your compressor was not initially indicating a need for replacement-- would it not have been great if the $88 for a recharge would have fixed the problem, saving you lots of money.  We are sorry the recharge did not completely solve your problem.  But as always, throughout this repair process we did what we believe was in THE BEST INTEREST OF OUR CUSTOMER (YOU). 

And in response to your statement indicating that we should not charge for repairs we cannot do--we would say that we do not charge for repairs we cannot do.  We have sent numerous customers away without charging because we diagnosed an issue that we were not qualified to repair.  We are highly qualified to repair your issue, you just chose not to follow through. 

If we can be of any assistance to you in the future, please don't hesitate to call.  We do value you as a customer and believe that our reputation for honesty, fairness, and quality repairs stand out in our community.


Verified Customer
Concord, NC
Toyota Camry
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/22/2018
$200 for 4 quarts of ATF.
I got a quote through the site. Called to confirm that new fluid pumped thru the torque converter was part of the price. I was told it was on the phone. In person, the story changed. I ended up paying $200 for $40 worth of trans fluid.
Paul R. from Pauls Automotive Service And Repair responded on 07/06/2018

Not really sure I understand.  Here is the email response to your inquiry that was sent to you.  (copied directly from the e-mail)-"Thank you for inquiring.  The cost would be approximately $230 depending on exactly how much fluid it actually holds.
Please give us a call at 7047860904 to schedule an appointment.
Thank you,
Paul"
So your total bill was almost $40 less than you were quoted.  Just not sure what you are talking about. 
Thanks, Pat


JR
James R.
Concord, NC
Volvo S40
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/22/2017 Category: Service
James said he wasn't satisfied with the service. The prices were high and the staff still have a part for his vehicle. The employees forgot to put it in. He had to take his vehicle to another business.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Paul R. from Pauls Automotive Service And Repair responded on 11/27/2017

We are very sorry that you were not happy with our services and appologize that we left a bottom cover off. Just an oversight.  We realize that this was an inconvience to you and we notified you immediately concerning the cover.  We do not appolize for not being the cheapest, there is always cheaper out there-but we strive to give the best quality service that you can find paired with an amazing 36,000 mile warranty and trustworthyness unsurpassed. 


MA
Matt A.
Concord, NC
Honda Civic
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/09/2017 Category: Service
Matt said he had a simple service and all was good.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Paul R. from Pauls Automotive Service And Repair responded on 01/10/2017

We really strive to make our customers our first priority! Thank you for taking the time to review our services. If you have any suggestions on how we can better your experience with us, please don’t hesitate to let us know. We are so glad you were pleased with our services. Thank you, Paul & Pat.


DL
Don L.
Concord, NC
Nissan Frontier
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/07/2016 Category: Service
Don said the business's prices were too high. He took his vehicle to be diagnosed at another facility and was quoted 50 percent less than the rate at this business.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Paul R. from Pauls Automotive Service And Repair responded on 03/09/2016

We are sorry that you were not pleased.  I realize that you were not happy with the diagnostic charge, but the days of just "looking at" a vehicle (as you indicated in another review)  to determine what is wrong with the vehicle are way gone.  We spent a considerable amount correctly diagnosing your vehicle.   Your price included the diagnostic charge. Diagnostics are the most important part of the repair--Without a correct diagnosis the customer is wasting their time and money.   You presented your vehicle with codes you had gotten at another shop, but the codes did not match the issue you were having with the running of your vehicle, so further diagnostics had to be done. You also indicated you were not pleased with the cost of the part.  We do not sell parts for the same amount we paid for them because we guarantee the part and labor should a failure happen.  This is just standard business practice.  Nothing else you buy anywhere (food, clothing, home repairs, etc) is sold for the amount that the business paid for them --auto repair is no different.  We have never claimed to be the cheapest.  You can always find someone cheaper, but we do claim to be one of the best.  Cheap and Best do not go hand in hand.  Again we are sorry that you were not pleased and wish you the best in the future.  Thanks, Paul & Pat 


CB
Cindee B.
Kannapolis, NC
Chrysler 300M
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/10/2015
Parts cost is over priced...
The atmosphere was very friendly and the work that was done was great. My only issue was the price of the parts which were at least double of what it would have cost me to buy directly from O'Reilly's. I understand that there should be a slight mark up on parts (I come from a family that was in the auto repair business) but I feel that I was charged too much. I would still take my car to Paul for future repairs.
Paul R. from Pauls Automotive Service And Repair responded on 10/12/2015

I am sorry Cindee that you were not happy with our parts pricing.  We do use quality parts and the O'Reilly part you mentioned may not be comparing apples to apples.  We have no way of knowing.  Obviously we do mark up parts based on industry standards which is a proven strategy to keep a shop in the acceptable profit margin.  We operate under the belief that price is what you pay and value is what you get.  Being the best and the cheapest do not go together.  We choose to be the best. 
It ws a pleasure meeting you and We hope that we can continue to serve you and provide you with the best service possible in the future.    Thank you, Paul & Pat Rodgers


PA
Phyllis A.
Midland, NC
Buick Regal
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/22/2014 Category: Service
Phyllis said there is still a leak in the floorboard on the passenger side. She plans to return when she has the chance.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Paul R. from Pauls Automotive Service And Repair responded on 12/01/2014

Phyllis I am so sorry to hear you are still having problems.  We make every effort possible to make sure your issues are fixed when you leave our shop.  We welcome you bringing you vehicle back to our shop and letting us check what is going on.  All of our work is guaranteed and we will make it right.  Thank you, Paul & Pat Rodgers


JI
Jeffery I.
Concord, NC
Dodge Dakota
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/18/2018 Category: Service
Jeffrey said he would recommend the business to anyone.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Paul R. from Pauls Automotive Service And Repair responded on 05/23/2018

Thanks for recommending us! That really means a lot. Call us anytime you need our help.
-Paul & Pat


MH
Matt H.
Concord, NC
Chevrolet Tahoe
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/11/2018 Category: Service
Matt said the facility never answers their phone when he calls.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Paul R. from Pauls Automotive Service And Repair responded on 05/15/2018

Matt thank you for your comments.  I do not understand why your calls are not being answered.  We have a procedure in place that every phone call must be answered in 3 rings. If the office staff is unavailable then the Service Advisor is to answer the call.  Obviously there is a flaw in our procedure or in our phone system (we have had trouble lately with the Spectrum  phone service going down). WE thank you for pointing this out to use so be can address the issue.  Always looking for ways to improve. 


CS
Carl S.
Concord, NC
Chevrolet Equinox
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/26/2017
Friendly personell, does great work.
Very good service and quick.
Paul R. from Pauls Automotive Service And Repair responded on 10/26/2017

Thanks for your positive review Carl. If we can help you in the future, please don't hesitate to let us know!
Thanks, Paul and Pat


RH
Ryan H.
North Carolina
Toyota Camry
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/26/2017 Category: Service
Ryan said the staff was nice and helpful. The situation was stressful and expensive.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Paul R. from Pauls Automotive Service And Repair responded on 11/09/2017

Thanks for your feedback Ryan. We try our best to make every car repair an easy process for our customers and i'm sorry to here that the situation was stressful for you. If you need anything else in the future, please don't hesitate to give us a call! We will try our very best to eliminate as much stress on you as possible.
-Paul & Pat


QC
Quanteria C.
Charlotte, NC
Acura 3.2TL
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/23/2017 Category: Service
Quanteria said the business tried to tell her something was needed for her vehicle when she just replaced it.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

CM
Crystal M.
North Carolina
Ford Focus
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/16/2017 Category: Service
Crystal said she had no problems. They were prompt and responsive.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Paul R. from Pauls Automotive Service And Repair responded on 06/20/2017

Your review is very important to us and it really helps us improve our services. Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. Please don’t hesitate to let us know if you ever have any suggestions. Thank You, Paul & Pat.


SL
Susan L.
Concord, NC
Ford Expedition
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/19/2017 Category: Service
Susan said she would recommend this business for service.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Paul R. from Pauls Automotive Service And Repair responded on 05/24/2017

Thanks Susan! Your review is very important to us and it really helps us improve our services. Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. Please don’t hesitate to let us know if you ever have any suggestions. Thank You, Paul & Pat.


SS
Susan S.
Concord, NC
Toyota RAV4
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/18/2017
Best customer service
Paul helped us decide on the purchase of a used car when we took it to him for a presale inspection. He was very thorough and always fair and knowledgeable. It is a pleasure to do business with Paul's Automotive.

PW
Paula W.
Concord, NC
Dodge Grand Caravan
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/23/2016
Repeat Customer
We take our cars to Paul for oil changes and maintenance. He is good to explain issues and give reminders on maintenance of vehicles. Service is prompt and staff are courteous.
Paul R. from Pauls Automotive Service And Repair responded on 11/23/2016

Thank you for taking the time to review our services.  Your opinion is very important to us.  We are constantly looking for ways to improve our services, so don’t hesitate to let us know if you ever have any suggestions.   We are so glad that you were pleased with our services.  Thank you, Paul & Pat


TH
Tim H.
Concord, NC
GMC Terrain
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/11/2016 Category: Service
Tim said he had a little issue with the bill and he thought the price was too much. He had to ask them, in order to make sure the cost was correct.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Paul R. from Pauls Automotive Service And Repair responded on 11/14/2016

Tim we are so very sorry for the mix up on the bill.  No explanation for why our operating system showed the incorrect amount time required once the VIN number was put in.  An honest mistake was made and we hope that we resolved the issue to your satisfaction.  Never hestitate to let us know if you feel something is not right.  We value the input of our customers and mistakes like this make us aware of things to keep an eye on in the future.  We look forward to working with you in the future.  Thanks, Paul & Pat