Valley Smog and Auto Repair


Overall Rating 4.88/5Overall Rating 4.88/5Overall Rating 4.88/5Overall Rating 4.88/5rating 4.88

182 Reviews

98% Would Recommend
Latest Review 6 days ago
Hopie R. on 01/12/2015
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
"unsatisfied customer"
Very unhappy. I'm now searching for a new location. i took "4" vehicles and now you are too much. No smiles, talking to people like "you" are the only shop in town that can fix the problems. While I was there, there was a man who was VERY upset, he went there for a fix and as he left town he got stranded. He kept on telling me to go somewhere else. I now know why, the quality of work has gonna down. You use to have a young man and there was a lady there also, who made you feel like it's ok, our car problems WILL get fix guaranteed. But now I doubt it'll get fix, maybe after $5000.00 later. Sorry but I'm not happy anymore. by the way I don't want work for free and I'm aware of the cost of living but PLEASE....
Vehicle: Ford Pickup
Service Date: 12/22/2014
Review Created: 01/12/2015 02:56 PM
Tracy F. at Valley Smog and Auto Repair responded on 01/26/2015

Hopie,
I am sorry you feel you you had a bad experience with us.  We have tried twice to call you to get a better understanding of what you feel we did wrong.  When the vehicle was brought in your concern was the vehicle was shaking.  We preformed an inspection and found the brakes were worn out and the rotors had significant lateral runout causing the shaking you were feeling.  We recommended replacing the front and rear brake pads and rotors.
However to get a little more in depth, you have a Ford F150 where the amount of labor to remove the brake pads on the front is more significant than most pickup trucks.  Due to the lateral runout and the thickness of the rotors, the rotors and pads on both the front and rear needed to be replaced.  We gave your son the option of replacing the rotors with an option that will make doing the brakes significantly cheaper the next time or we could put on the rotors that were original equipment which would be a cheaper option now, however the next brake job would require a higher amount of labor.  The most expensive option would have been $1150.00 with the updated rotors for the front.  This includes front and rear pads and rotors for the rear and includes  tax and labor.  With the original equipment rotors it would have been $990.00.  Your son was notified of the pricing and he left tellingd us he would return after Christmas to get the work done.

Since then we have heard nothing from you until now.  I do not know what would have cost $5000.00 to repair.  Everything that we work on has a nationwide 2 year 24,000 mile warranty, and we stand behind everything we do.  If you would like to discuss any of this further please do not hesitate to call us. 

Tracy Finnell
Owner
760-328-8848
VOLTARE L. on 09/13/2015
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
"Front Brakes Job"
Your charges were way too much.
1. Front brake pads...you charged $121 ?
I would have agreed to $80.00 or less.
2. Front brake rotors..you charged $136 ?
I feel $50 each would have in order.
3. There was no need to change calipers
cushions. You charged us $5.54
4. You charged us $3.66 for brake fluid?
Was there a lot of fluid bleeding?
5. Wheel balancing $60.00 ?
Others would have done it for $10 each.
Since the front brakes were worked on,
it should have been only the front
wheels to be balanced. Who gave the
okay for all wheels to be balanced?
6. There was nothing wrong with the
rear brakes. We went to your auto
shop for the front brakes only. Who
gave the okay to check rear brakes?
Not me. You charged us $47.50 just
to look at the rear brakes.
Vehicle: Dodge Avenger
Service Date: 09/11/2015
Review Created: 09/13/2015 11:17 AM
Tracy F. at Valley Smog and Auto Repair responded on 09/21/2015

Vlotare,
Let me start by saying we always use the best quality parts whenever we can especially when it comes to the brake system due to the fact that it is a safety issue.  Also we use the best Napa brake parts because we offer 2 years/24,000 mile warranty on everything we do.

I am not certain where the miscommunications happened with the work on your son's car.  We preformed a full brake inspection on the vehicle which included a run out check on the rotors since your son's concern was that the pedal pulsed when he stepped on the brake pedal.  We found that the rotors would not be able to be machined because the run out was so great that it would put the rotors below minimum specifactions if machined.  Wayne described the work that was needed to be done which included front brake pads, brake rotors, clean and adjust the rear brakes due to excessive brake dust we found and the shoes were severly out of adjustment.

Also while your car was on the rack we found abnormal front tire wear that we informed you about, and recommended an alignment, rotation and balance of the tires.  All of these things were approved by both your son and yourself and the total amount was given to you at that time.

Once the work was completed, Matthew went over the bill with you and your son and asked if you had any questions.  I feel that Wayne and Matthew communicated everything clearly to you, but perhaps it was lacking somewhere.  I have attempted to contact you multiple times to discuss this and would still like to at some point.

Tracy Finnell
Owner
760-328-8848
Patricia C. on 05/13/2015
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
"AAA"
Not a AAA approved station
Vehicle: Saturn L300
Service Date: 05/11/2015
Review Created: 05/13/2015 11:33 AM
Tracy F. at Valley Smog and Auto Repair responded on 05/13/2015

Patricia,

We have meet the criteria for AAA to be an authorized repair facility.  We have submitted all the paperwork that AAA requires and we are waiting for their response.  The AAA rep said this could take up to three months for completion.  

Tracy Finnell
Owner
760-328-8848
Javier M. on 03/23/2015
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
"Overpriced"
I brought my car in with a list of items to checkout along with an oil change. The professionalism was there in spades but what good is that when you feel ripped off? Quite frankly I was taken overcharged for some phone calls and an oil change. All for a WHOPPING $200. The actuator problem that I had would have necessitated removal of the dash which means no deep investigation was performed. No more headaches for me though. The vehicle was sold and I picked up another chariot.
Vehicle: Nissan Armada
Service Date: 03/19/2015
Review Created: 03/23/2015 08:51 PM
Don H. on 11/18/2014
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
Don said he took his vehicle to this business for a tire rotation. He noticed three of his tire caps were missing he had to go back to pick them up but they have good service.
Vehicle: Mercedes-Benz S320
Category: Service
Service Date: 11/14/2014
Review Created: 11/18/2014
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Jane A. on 07/18/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Cheerful and speedy and affordable service."
I will use Valley Smog and Auto Repair when my elderly Sebring needs attention/service. I was happy that after the Auto Club brought me in and my problem was identified that Matt and crew got the car fixed in just a few hours. I then drove it home. The lobby/customer area was very nice and clean. This is important if someone needs to wait for the car to be repaired.
Vehicle: Chrysler Sebring
Service Date: 07/10/2017
Review Created: 07/18/2017 07:02 PM
James J. on 02/17/2016
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Transmission repair"
Took awhile for parts but so far so good. If it fails anytime soon I wwill be back.
Vehicle: Ford Mustang
Service Date: 02/16/2016
Review Created: 02/17/2016 10:56 PM
WALTER B. on 10/23/2015
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"service, matt was very helpful"
kept me informed about what was happening with my car.
Vehicle: Kia Sedona
Service Date: 10/21/2015
Review Created: 10/23/2015 08:26 AM
RICKY E. on 09/06/2015
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"very reliable and convenient "
Knowledgeable people, helpful in explaining things.
Vehicle: Ford Fusion
Service Date: 09/04/2015
Review Created: 09/06/2015 03:32 AM
James J. on 07/16/2015
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Service"
after a diagnostic test was told temp sensor was bad did not replace and check engine light has not came on any more.
Vehicle: Ford Mustang
Service Date: 07/10/2015
Review Created: 07/16/2015 12:23 PM
Roxcy M. on 05/16/2015
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Mostly good...."
Matt was really great at helping arrange to get a friend's car repaired. He even went out of his way to test drive the car to make sure everything was right. When my friend went to pick up the car she was very pleased until she was told that the hood was left open overnight with the hood light shining. This ran the battery down so low, it had to be jumped. The battery would not hold a charge and she was told a new battery would cost 4 times what the repair bill was! Needless to say, she did not have them replace the battery. I was very disappointed. I believe there should have been some compensation for killing the battery, or at least an offer to reduce the installation cost of a new battery.
Vehicle: Buick Regal
Service Date: 05/14/2015
Review Created: 05/16/2015 07:32 PM
GARY L. on 01/09/2015
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Review"
An OK car repair shop.
Vehicle: Chrysler Town & Country
Service Date: 01/07/2015
Review Created: 01/09/2015 06:07 PM
Gail B. on 11/12/2014
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"friendly and genuinely nice"
My only issue is a simple oil change took almost 2 hours even with a scheduled appointment. This is much too long.
Vehicle: Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Service Date: 11/11/2014
Review Created: 11/12/2014 11:58 PM
Randolph L. on 01/10/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Fast and efficient Service"
Fast and efficient Service in taking care of my bi annual smog check up of vehicle. Clean premises and friendly reception
Vehicle: Cadillac DeVille
Service Date: 01/08/2018
Review Created: 01/10/2018 12:34 AM
GEORGE R. on 01/04/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Awesome!"
They're always available to answer any questions and explain so you can understand. They're very reliable and stand by their work.
Vehicle: Pontiac Grand Am
Service Date: 12/22/2017
Review Created: 01/04/2018 01:49 PM
Sharon W. on 12/30/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Always able to help on short notice"
Always doing a great job
Vehicle: Buick Century
Service Date: 12/29/2017
Review Created: 12/30/2017 09:27 PM
DANA W. on 12/20/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Oil Change/Service & Gasket "
Good job done in good time.
Thanks for good service.
Vehicle: BMW Z4
Service Date: 12/18/2017
Review Created: 12/20/2017 01:44 PM
Peter H. on 12/08/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Confidence of trustworthy service"
Efficient and responsive.
Recommend without hesitation
Excellent mechanic expertise
Hospitable environment
Customer satisfaction witnessed while on premise.
An excellent source for mechanical repairs besides the smog service
Vehicle: Subaru Outback
Service Date: 12/06/2017
Review Created: 12/08/2017 07:40 AM
GEORGE R. on 11/03/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great!"
Great!
Vehicle: Saturn SL2
Service Date: 10/25/2017
Review Created: 11/03/2017 12:27 AM
Edwin K. on 11/02/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great staff, easy in & out & reasonable prices."
I have used this place several times & always enjoy the people, the service & the fast attention.
Vehicle: Mercedes-Benz SL-Class
Service Date: 11/01/2017
Review Created: 11/02/2017 09:03 PM
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 182 in total