Overview

Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5rating 4.9

201 Reviews

99% Would Recommend
Latest Review 3 days ago

Reviews


HR
Hopie R.
Cathedral City, CA
Ford Pickup
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/12/2015
unsatisfied customer
Very unhappy. I'm now searching for a new location. i took "4" vehicles and now you are too much. No smiles, talking to people like "you" are the only shop in town that can fix the problems. While I was there, there was a man who was VERY upset, he went there for a fix and as he left town he got stranded. He kept on telling me to go somewhere else. I now know why, the quality of work has gonna down. You use to have a young man and there was a lady there also, who made you feel like it's ok, our car problems WILL get fix guaranteed. But now I doubt it'll get fix, maybe after $5000.00 later. Sorry but I'm not happy anymore. by the way I don't want work for free and I'm aware of the cost of living but PLEASE....
Tracy F. from Valley Smog and Auto Repair responded on 01/26/2015

Hopie,
I am sorry you feel you you had a bad experience with us.  We have tried twice to call you to get a better understanding of what you feel we did wrong.  When the vehicle was brought in your concern was the vehicle was shaking.  We preformed an inspection and found the brakes were worn out and the rotors had significant lateral runout causing the shaking you were feeling.  We recommended replacing the front and rear brake pads and rotors.
However to get a little more in depth, you have a Ford F150 where the amount of labor to remove the brake pads on the front is more significant than most pickup trucks.  Due to the lateral runout and the thickness of the rotors, the rotors and pads on both the front and rear needed to be replaced.  We gave your son the option of replacing the rotors with an option that will make doing the brakes significantly cheaper the next time or we could put on the rotors that were original equipment which would be a cheaper option now, however the next brake job would require a higher amount of labor.  The most expensive option would have been $1150.00 with the updated rotors for the front.  This includes front and rear pads and rotors for the rear and includes  tax and labor.  With the original equipment rotors it would have been $990.00.  Your son was notified of the pricing and he left tellingd us he would return after Christmas to get the work done.

Since then we have heard nothing from you until now.  I do not know what would have cost $5000.00 to repair.  Everything that we work on has a nationwide 2 year 24,000 mile warranty, and we stand behind everything we do.  If you would like to discuss any of this further please do not hesitate to call us. 

Tracy Finnell
Owner
760-328-8848

VL
VOLTARE L.
Desert Hot Springs, CA
Dodge Avenger
Verified
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/13/2015
Front Brakes Job
Your charges were way too much.
1. Front brake pads...you charged $121 ?
I would have agreed to $80.00 or less.
2. Front brake rotors..you charged $136 ?
I feel $50 each would have in order.
3. There was no need to change calipers
cushions. You charged us $5.54
4. You charged us $3.66 for brake fluid?
Was there a lot of fluid bleeding?
5. Wheel balancing $60.00 ?
Others would have done it for $10 each.
Since the front brakes were worked on,
it should have been only the front
wheels to be balanced. Who gave the
okay for all wheels to be balanced?
6. There was nothing wrong with the
rear brakes. We went to your auto
shop for the front brakes only. Who
gave the okay to check rear brakes?
Not me. You charged us $47.50 just
to look at the rear brakes.
Tracy F. from Valley Smog and Auto Repair responded on 09/21/2015

Vlotare,
Let me start by saying we always use the best quality parts whenever we can especially when it comes to the brake system due to the fact that it is a safety issue.  Also we use the best Napa brake parts because we offer 2 years/24,000 mile warranty on everything we do.

I am not certain where the miscommunications happened with the work on your son's car.  We preformed a full brake inspection on the vehicle which included a run out check on the rotors since your son's concern was that the pedal pulsed when he stepped on the brake pedal.  We found that the rotors would not be able to be machined because the run out was so great that it would put the rotors below minimum specifactions if machined.  Wayne described the work that was needed to be done which included front brake pads, brake rotors, clean and adjust the rear brakes due to excessive brake dust we found and the shoes were severly out of adjustment.

Also while your car was on the rack we found abnormal front tire wear that we informed you about, and recommended an alignment, rotation and balance of the tires.  All of these things were approved by both your son and yourself and the total amount was given to you at that time.

Once the work was completed, Matthew went over the bill with you and your son and asked if you had any questions.  I feel that Wayne and Matthew communicated everything clearly to you, but perhaps it was lacking somewhere.  I have attempted to contact you multiple times to discuss this and would still like to at some point.

Tracy Finnell
Owner
760-328-8848

PC
Patricia C.
Palm Springs, CA
Saturn L300
Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/13/2015
AAA
Not a AAA approved station
Tracy F. from Valley Smog and Auto Repair responded on 05/13/2015

Patricia,

We have meet the criteria for AAA to be an authorized repair facility.  We have submitted all the paperwork that AAA requires and we are waiting for their response.  The AAA rep said this could take up to three months for completion.  

Tracy Finnell
Owner
760-328-8848

JM
Javier M.
Rancho Mirage, CA
Nissan Armada
Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/23/2015
Overpriced
I brought my car in with a list of items to checkout along with an oil change. The professionalism was there in spades but what good is that when you feel ripped off? Quite frankly I was taken overcharged for some phone calls and an oil change. All for a WHOPPING $200. The actuator problem that I had would have necessitated removal of the dash which means no deep investigation was performed. No more headaches for me though. The vehicle was sold and I picked up another chariot.

DH
Don H.
Rancho Mirage, CA
Mercedes-Benz S320
Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/18/2014 Category: Service
Don said he took his vehicle to this business for a tire rotation. He noticed three of his tire caps were missing he had to go back to pick them up but they have good service.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

JA
Jane A.
Cathedral City, CA
Chrysler Sebring
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/18/2017
Cheerful and speedy and affordable service.
I will use Valley Smog and Auto Repair when my elderly Sebring needs attention/service. I was happy that after the Auto Club brought me in and my problem was identified that Matt and crew got the car fixed in just a few hours. I then drove it home. The lobby/customer area was very nice and clean. This is important if someone needs to wait for the car to be repaired.

JJ
James J.
Palm Springs, CA
Ford Mustang
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/17/2016
Transmission repair
Took awhile for parts but so far so good. If it fails anytime soon I wwill be back.

WB
WALTER B.
Palm Springs, CA
Kia Sedona
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/23/2015
service, matt was very helpful
kept me informed about what was happening with my car.

RE
RICKY E.
Palm Springs, CA
Ford Fusion
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/06/2015
very reliable and convenient
Knowledgeable people, helpful in explaining things.

JJ
James J.
Palm Springs, CA
Ford Mustang
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/16/2015
Service
after a diagnostic test was told temp sensor was bad did not replace and check engine light has not came on any more.

RM
Roxcy M.
Rancho Mirage, CA
Buick Regal
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/16/2015
Mostly good....
Matt was really great at helping arrange to get a friend's car repaired. He even went out of his way to test drive the car to make sure everything was right. When my friend went to pick up the car she was very pleased until she was told that the hood was left open overnight with the hood light shining. This ran the battery down so low, it had to be jumped. The battery would not hold a charge and she was told a new battery would cost 4 times what the repair bill was! Needless to say, she did not have them replace the battery. I was very disappointed. I believe there should have been some compensation for killing the battery, or at least an offer to reduce the installation cost of a new battery.

GL
GARY L.
Rancho Mirage, CA
Chrysler Town & Country
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/09/2015
Review
An OK car repair shop.

GB
Gail B.
Rancho Mirage, CA
Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/12/2014
friendly and genuinely nice
My only issue is a simple oil change took almost 2 hours even with a scheduled appointment. This is much too long.

CS
CHERI S.
Palm Springs, CA
Cadillac Eldorado
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/15/2018
Always Good Service
Have used this garage/mechanic for approximately nine years. Always helpful
and good service
Cheri

DW
Don W.
Palm Springs, CA
Ford Pickup
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/13/2018
Thanks again as always
Thank you for the new radiator.......and for noticing that the fan clutch was leaking. This old truck is like part of our family and I sure feel fortunate that you guys provide the top service that you do.
Don W

GR
GEORGE R.
Thousand Palms, CA
Saturn SL2
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/12/2018
Awesome!
Valley Smog is the only place I will trust with my cars. They are courteous, know what they are doing and keep you informed about the process. I tell all my friends about them because I trust them.

DL
DALE L.
Palm Springs, CA
Toyota RAV4
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/26/2018
Best Shop in the valley.
It is a pleasure to work with your shop and Mike. Honest and straight forward. I will be back. Thanks again

Verified Customer
Rancho Mirage, CA
Chevrolet Malibu
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/06/2018
Great neighborhood auto service provider.
I have been taking my car in for service for years and always found the people friendly and knowledgeable. I recently went in for an oil change and it was done quickly and I was on my way.

GL
GARY L.
Rancho Mirage, CA
Toyota Prius
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/03/2018
routine service
great work ... knowledgeable staff

DW
Don W.
Palm Springs, CA
Ford Pickup
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/19/2018
Great Service
Thanks again for the great service and explanation regarding my old truck. All of you make the service experience easy.....especially delivering me home then picking me up. And, my a/c is now blowing really cold since you serviced it.