Overview

Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5rating 4.9

221 Reviews

99% Would Recommend
Latest Review 6 days ago

Reviews


VL
VOLTARE L.
Desert Hot Springs, CA
Dodge Avenger
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/13/2015
Front Brakes Job
Your charges were way too much.
1. Front brake pads...you charged $121 ?
I would have agreed to $80.00 or less.
2. Front brake rotors..you charged $136 ?
I feel $50 each would have in order.
3. There was no need to change calipers
cushions. You charged us $5.54
4. You charged us $3.66 for brake fluid?
Was there a lot of fluid bleeding?
5. Wheel balancing $60.00 ?
Others would have done it for $10 each.
Since the front brakes were worked on,
it should have been only the front
wheels to be balanced. Who gave the
okay for all wheels to be balanced?
6. There was nothing wrong with the
rear brakes. We went to your auto
shop for the front brakes only. Who
gave the okay to check rear brakes?
Not me. You charged us $47.50 just
to look at the rear brakes.
Tracy F. from Valley Smog and Auto Repair responded on 09/21/2015

Vlotare,
Let me start by saying we always use the best quality parts whenever we can especially when it comes to the brake system due to the fact that it is a safety issue.  Also we use the best Napa brake parts because we offer 2 years/24,000 mile warranty on everything we do.

I am not certain where the miscommunications happened with the work on your son's car.  We preformed a full brake inspection on the vehicle which included a run out check on the rotors since your son's concern was that the pedal pulsed when he stepped on the brake pedal.  We found that the rotors would not be able to be machined because the run out was so great that it would put the rotors below minimum specifactions if machined.  Wayne described the work that was needed to be done which included front brake pads, brake rotors, clean and adjust the rear brakes due to excessive brake dust we found and the shoes were severly out of adjustment.

Also while your car was on the rack we found abnormal front tire wear that we informed you about, and recommended an alignment, rotation and balance of the tires.  All of these things were approved by both your son and yourself and the total amount was given to you at that time.

Once the work was completed, Matthew went over the bill with you and your son and asked if you had any questions.  I feel that Wayne and Matthew communicated everything clearly to you, but perhaps it was lacking somewhere.  I have attempted to contact you multiple times to discuss this and would still like to at some point.

Tracy Finnell
Owner
760-328-8848

JM
Javier M.
Rancho Mirage, CA
Nissan Armada
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/23/2015
Overpriced
I brought my car in with a list of items to checkout along with an oil change. The professionalism was there in spades but what good is that when you feel ripped off? Quite frankly I was taken overcharged for some phone calls and an oil change. All for a WHOPPING $200. The actuator problem that I had would have necessitated removal of the dash which means no deep investigation was performed. No more headaches for me though. The vehicle was sold and I picked up another chariot.

HR
Hopie R.
Cathedral City, CA
Ford Pickup
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/12/2015
unsatisfied customer
Very unhappy. I'm now searching for a new location. i took "4" vehicles and now you are too much. No smiles, talking to people like "you" are the only shop in town that can fix the problems. While I was there, there was a man who was VERY upset, he went there for a fix and as he left town he got stranded. He kept on telling me to go somewhere else. I now know why, the quality of work has gonna down. You use to have a young man and there was a lady there also, who made you feel like it's ok, our car problems WILL get fix guaranteed. But now I doubt it'll get fix, maybe after $5000.00 later. Sorry but I'm not happy anymore. by the way I don't want work for free and I'm aware of the cost of living but PLEASE....
Tracy F. from Valley Smog and Auto Repair responded on 01/26/2015

Hopie,
I am sorry you feel you you had a bad experience with us.  We have tried twice to call you to get a better understanding of what you feel we did wrong.  When the vehicle was brought in your concern was the vehicle was shaking.  We preformed an inspection and found the brakes were worn out and the rotors had significant lateral runout causing the shaking you were feeling.  We recommended replacing the front and rear brake pads and rotors.
However to get a little more in depth, you have a Ford F150 where the amount of labor to remove the brake pads on the front is more significant than most pickup trucks.  Due to the lateral runout and the thickness of the rotors, the rotors and pads on both the front and rear needed to be replaced.  We gave your son the option of replacing the rotors with an option that will make doing the brakes significantly cheaper the next time or we could put on the rotors that were original equipment which would be a cheaper option now, however the next brake job would require a higher amount of labor.  The most expensive option would have been $1150.00 with the updated rotors for the front.  This includes front and rear pads and rotors for the rear and includes  tax and labor.  With the original equipment rotors it would have been $990.00.  Your son was notified of the pricing and he left tellingd us he would return after Christmas to get the work done.

Since then we have heard nothing from you until now.  I do not know what would have cost $5000.00 to repair.  Everything that we work on has a nationwide 2 year 24,000 mile warranty, and we stand behind everything we do.  If you would like to discuss any of this further please do not hesitate to call us. 

Tracy Finnell
Owner
760-328-8848

Verified Customer
Cathedral City, CA
Volkswagen New Beetle
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/10/2019
Honesty and dependability
Honesty and dependability

GR
GEORGE R.
Thousand Palms, CA
Saturn SL2
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/07/2019
Awesome
They are always there to answer your questions and help you.

BS
Bruce S.
Rancho Mirage, CA
Acura 3.2TL
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/02/2019
Acura Repair
I've been a customer at Valley Smog for a number of years and the professional service they offer is very dependable.
Each appointment is handled with courtesy and a full explanation of the needed repairs, etc..
I would highly recommend Valley Smog and Auto Repair and the services they provide.

AF
AL F.
Palm Springs, CA
Toyota Corolla
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/01/2019
Stellar Customer Service
I was treated promptly and professionally when I brought my car in for a 'Smog Check'. All turned out well and it was all completed in less than an hour.

JM
JACK M.
Rancho Mirage, CA
Jaguar X-TYPE
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/02/2019
Great service and fair price ... as usual.
I've been using your service for many years. Great service and fair price. I can't say more than that.

NY
NICHOLAS Y.
Cathedral City, CA
Volkswagen Eos
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/30/2018
My go to service and car maintenance shop
This shop always exceeds my expectations in terms of service, reliability and professional expertise. I own two cars and this is my first stop for both when they are in need service!

GR
GEORGE R.
Thousand Palms, CA
Pontiac Grand Am
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/06/2018
Awesome!
You can always count on everyone at Valley Smog to give you 100 percent.

DW
Don W.
Palm Springs, CA
Toyota Camry
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/05/2018
Great service once again.
Thank you for replacing the Toyota radiator. I know, it was long overdue. Thanks for taking me home and picking me up when the car was ready. You all do great work.

RS
RONALD S.
Cathedral City, CA
Toyota Sequoia
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/27/2018
Honest and is going to be my go to mechanics.
I got and advertisement in the mail for Valley Smog and Auto repair. I needed an oil change, so I thought I would give them a try. They did the oil change and checked the SUV out. They told me everything looked good. I didn't know if I needed a synthetic blend since I have over 145,000 miles on the vehicle. They looked it up by the manufacturer and said I needed a regular oil change which saved me money. I will be giving them my business from here on out.

AT
AARON T.
Rancho Mirage, CA
INFINITI G35 Coupe
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/16/2018
Required smog test.
We feel lucky that we found this facility for required smog checks. Although they don't take reservations the waiting time has always been short. The staff is friendly and professional. I recommend this facility to my friends!

SC
SCOTT C.
Palm Springs, CA
Subaru Outback
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/13/2018
First timer
Thank you for the great service. I felt very please with the service a few things I was thinking I might need I was told I did not saving me $ and gaining trust in Valley Smog. I'll be back.

DD
David D.
Palm Springs, CA
Jeep Wrangler
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/02/2018
Excellent
The best service on my 1998 Jeep Wrangler Sahara. The best!!!! David

DL
DALE L.
Palm Springs, CA
Toyota RAV4
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/30/2018
Thanks
Great service, as usual. Thanks Matt.

MS
MELINDA S.
Cathedral City, CA
Chevrolet Malibu
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/28/2018
Car Repairs
Excellent repair work. Matt and his crew are friendly and care about their work. The prices are reasonable. Highly recommend them.

SG
STEVE G.
Rancho Mirage, CA
Lexus RX 350
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/27/2018
Service at Valley Smog
Enjoy the honest service and fair prices. Matt is excellent at explaining service and work. I have been going here for the last 8 years.

GL
GARY L.
Rancho Mirage, CA
Chrysler Town & Country SWB
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/02/2018
Preventive care
Valley Smog noticed font-end sway bar links were going bad and fixed the problem. I totally trust their judgement.

EK
ESTELLE K.
Palm Springs, CA
Toyota Camry
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/28/2018
good atmosphere; work excellent;pleasant people
work done in a timely manner; treated very well; freindly staff