Overview

Overall Rating 4.83/5Overall Rating 4.83/5Overall Rating 4.83/5Overall Rating 4.83/5rating 4.83

258 Reviews

ReScore Reviews™ (2)

ReScore
Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5rating 4.5
Original
Overall Rating 2.5/5Overall Rating 2.5/5rating 2.5rating 2.5rating 2.5
98% Would Recommend
Latest Review 10 months ago

Reviews


SL
Steve L.
Warwick, RI
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/18/2018
Done with this place....
Ouch, hit or miss with this place. After five years of pretty good service. Had AC looked and was told it was the condenser. Had it fixed and then the AC stopped working, oops it is the compressor. They replaced it (free of charge) then oops, the AC stopped working. Also had both axles replaced and the car drove wobbly after the repair. Brought car back and they fixed the AC and replaced both axles (free). Drove the car off the lot, a little wobbly but better and of course the AC stopped working on the way home. OK so maybe a total of 6 days and $2000+ and I have a car that drives a little wobbly during initial acceleration and no AC. I did bring it right back and demanded that my car be fixed a ready in the morning and said if they can't do it I'll bring it somewhere else. I guess that was the wrong thing to say....one of the managers told me to get the car off the lot before he calls the police. Wow, because I said I would bring it somewhere else. I made an appointment at another shop and the first thing the supervisor said was there is an issue with the after market right axles on my make of car and will cause the car to drive wobbly during initial acceleration....

AS
Andrea S.
Warwick, RI
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/30/2016
Valve cleaning/diagnostic
Took car Friday for diagnostics and they said they wanted to keep it for Saturday to start car cold. They are usually closed Saturdays but would be working this Saturday . It's 6:30 pm Saturday and no call and no answer when I call. Not happy right now - need car for work Monday!

AW
Annie W.
Warwick, RI
Land Rover Discovery
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/16/2016 Category: Service
Annie said she saw an advertisement on Angie's list, the estimate was listed as free, if they had to do work they would take 10 percent off. They checked it out, and they informed her that it was not worth putting the money into the vehicle because of the rust. He offered her $300 to $400 for the vehicle, but someone else came along and offered her $2000 for the vehicle as is. She went to pick up her vehicle and since someone else is buying it from her, he mentioned to her how the vehicle could be fixed even after he told her it was not worth it to fix. He told her the charge was $45.00 with 10 percent off the cost would be $40.00, when she got home and looked over the paperwork and the receipt she noticed a charge of $50.00. This was supposed to be free according to Angie's list. She has not contacted the business regarding this, she does not want anything to do with them. She stated she was taken advantage of.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Joe H. from J & S Auto Repair responded on 01/19/2016

Annie, We Try our Best to Honest and Communicate clearly. Sometimes there is a miiscommunication . I Think That is what happend In This Case.  Pease call or stop in and We will Refund The whole Amount. 

Joseph Hoyle 
J&S Auto Repair

LB
Luis B.
Providence, RI
Nissan Xterra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/14/2016
Good service
Good service, clean shop, with free wife and cable, great groupon prices, reason why I didn't went back for other repairs was it was too expensive for me, parts are overpriced as well as repairs:
Joe H. from J & S Auto Repair responded on 01/15/2016

Mr Bozo,Thank you for taking the time to review our business. We agree you can get repairs done less expensive at other shops. We are Nissan master  and ASE Master certified technicians .We Offer a 2 year 24 Thousand mile Nationwide warantee on all of our repairs . Which we feel puts us ahead of other shops. Thank You for the oppertunity to service Your vehicles.

Joseph Hoyle 
J&S Auto Repair

RF
Rodney F.
Fall River, MA
Scion tC
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/10/2015 Category: Service
Rodney said this business did not do the work he requested. His fiance brought in his vehicle to have the air conditioning repaired. When she picked it up, they told her they could not fix the air conditioning because it would cost an extra $900. She refused to pay for the service because they did not fix the air conditioning. The staff member she was dealing with crumpled up her recite, threw it at her face, and her told her to get out.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Joe H. from J & S Auto Repair responded on 08/18/2015

Rodney, We At J&S Are Truly Sorry You are not satisfied with the service You Purchased from Groupon . We completed the service As described on your purchase voucher from groupon. However Your vehicle required more repairs than what the voucher coverd. You Where offerd a refund . We will look further into the Employee and Take corrective action.

Joseph Hoyle 
J&S Auto Repair

MK
Marty K.
Coventry, RI
Kia Sorento
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/23/2015
Customer satisfaction
Joe is EXTREMELY concerned for customer satisfaction. Fine communication resolved my misunderstanding of completed performance. Car was serviced at the time of appointment. Waiting was made very comfortable with TV and wifi..thank you Joe.

Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/23/2015
Oil change, tire rotation, general check.
Tire rotation was not performed although it was stated that it was performed on final statement.
Joe H. from J & S Auto Repair responded on 07/24/2015

Marty , Thank You For Taking The Time  to talk with Me Yesterday.We understand The Importance of Being Upfront And informed  With our customers. Thanks Again Joe

Joseph Hoyle 
J&S Auto Repair

SK
Shannon K.
East Greenwich, RI
Toyota Corolla
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/23/2015
Sorry for the miscommunication
I remember giving my new number, but I guess I hadn't. Wish you had tried using my email as well. Anyway, my car is running great and I'm glad you were quick to respond to the issue. Thank you for your service!

Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
04/23/2015
didn't call & locked me out of my car
I'm really confused by this. I went to pick up my car today after my scheduled service and it was locked, no key to be found. I checked my voicemail on my phone and it was empty. I've never had this problem before. My past experiences have been good... But this just left me really disappointed after I went there to pick up my car only to find out I couldn't because they hadn't left me the key.
Joe H. from J & S Auto Repair responded on 04/24/2015

Shannon, We Are Sorry For any confusion . We Tried to call several time during the day.The Phone would go to voicemail each time and it said mailbox is full and can not accept any more messages. So we stayed past closing time  until 5:30 .After we did not hear from you we went home . We didn't think it would be a good idea to leave your keys in the vehicle. We Make every effort to communicate with our customers as we know it is important to have your vehicle serviced in a timely manner. 

Joseph Hoyle 
J&S Auto Repair

WA
Willene A.
North Providence, RI
Mitsubishi Galant
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/30/2016
Great service and work
Workers were knowledgablr and very helpful. My issue I came in with was resolved effectively

AS
Andrea S.
Warwick, RI
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/30/2016
Misunderstanding
After being concerned about no contact all day Saturday from the shop when my son dropped his car off for a diagnosis Friday and repairs Saturday I wrote an unsatisfied review. Joe contacted him after seeing my first review. He was unaware of the issue being he was out of town and assured my son he will look into the situation and apologized and also offered to work things out should my son decide to have his repairs done there. I am very Impressed that Joe reached out to my son and took responsibility for the misunderstanding. My son will do business with J&S due to the professionalism on joes part. I am confident in the outcome .

EB
Elizibeth B.
Riverside, RI
Honda Odyssey
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/30/2016
Service
The service was excellant

JW
Jeanna W.
Warwick, RI
Ford Taurus
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/30/2016 Category: Service
Jeanna said this business is extremely efficient. They got the work done quickly and they are very friendly.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

GG
George G.
Warwick, RI
Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/30/2016 Category: Service
George said the employees at this business provide good service.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

LC
Lei C.
Cranston, RI
Toyota Camry
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/30/2016 Category: Service
Lei said he would recommend this business for service.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

NB
Neeraj B.
Cumberland, RI
Nissan Altima
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/30/2016 Category: Service
Neeraj said the business does well.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

TC
Therse C.
Warwick, RI
Hyundai Azera
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/29/2016
Lucky find w/ Groupon
Had car serviced at dealer I bought my car , AC did not work ( 3 year old car) Dealership too busy for scheduling a repair, purchased groupon and had service done w/ oil change. Garage is immaculate and my car was spotlessly returned. Estimate given for tires~ dealership has marked as excellent shape and I could see obvious tread wear. Will return for future service here.

JA
John A.
Providence, RI
Mercury Grand Marquis
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/29/2016
Effecient and dependable
I hate yo write a great review. In time with the excellent service, honesty and reasonable prices it will get very difficult for me to get an appointment. Great place. They have honesty, integrity and take pride in theirs work.

Jj

MD
Mary D.
Riverside, RI
Honda Civic
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/29/2016
Great service, fast and good work.
Great service, fast and good work.

DM
Daniel M.
West Warwick, RI
Hyundai Elantra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/29/2016
Happy customer
This is my second time being here and they are wonderful. My oil change was quick easy. They even printed a sheet of recommended work to be done, but wasn't pushy about getting them done. Despite someone telling me he wouldn't bring his car there I book an appointment for my other car. I have had nothing but a good experience with them.

DR
Denise R.
Swansea, MA
BMW 328i
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/29/2016
J&S Auto Repair
Great experience.

SA
Susan A.
West Greenwich, RI
BMW 328xi
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/29/2016
Fast
First time I used them because I had a groupon. Carl was nice to work with he did exactly as I requested and also fixed a small problem without me knowing until I drove it home. I would definitely go back.