Overview

Overall Rating 4.59/5Overall Rating 4.59/5Overall Rating 4.59/5Overall Rating 4.59/5rating 4.59

651 Reviews

ReScore Reviews™ (4)

ReScore
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5rating 4.0
Original
Overall Rating 1.25/5rating 1.25rating 1.25rating 1.25rating 1.25
94% Would Recommend
Latest Review 4 days ago

Reviews


LB
Lakshmi Vijaya B.
Mechanicsburg, PA
Kia Sorento
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/22/2016
Brakes Replaced saying the inspection won't pass for a 40K miles car
I have been told that Brake pads needs to be replaced otherwise the inspection won't be passed, the car has just 40,000 miles. They came down on the price 3 times since I didn't show the interest and asking questions how can the pads are torn in just 40K miles. Since I like the service before, I revisited but I am not going to visit again. Since my inspection has been expired I am forced to agree his claim and get the service done, otherwise I would have gone to the dealer.

RN
Ramesh N.
Mechanicsburg, PA
Acura TSX
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/11/2016
Problems next day after service.
Next day after the service I could hear a noise coming when I'm driving the car.

VN
Vidyalakshmi N.
Mechanicsburg, PA
Honda Odyssey
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
05/27/2016
A very long wait time
A very long wait. Gives promotional coupon, but ended up paying full price for emission, inspection.

JS
James S.
Harrisburg, PA
Mazda 6
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/21/2016
Reliable Service
I have been taking my car to Team One for years. They always do detailed quality work and beat the competition in price as well. I had my first issues at the Mechanicsburg location about a month ago. The issue was more customer service in nature. The owner of the company contacted me and went over and beyond to resolve the issue. Everyone makes mistakes and I appreciate how it was handled. I still plan to be a loyal customer of Team One.

Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/21/2016
Customer Service needs some training
I have been going to Team 1 for years at Harrisburg location and have been very happy with the services. I moved to Mechanicsburg and have not been happy my last few times I came in. I came in yesterday for a basic inspection and oil change. I came to pick up my car and I noticed my form didn't have an oil changed as requested on my drop off form. So I asked the gentleman working the register and he said yes we did chnage the oil. I go out to my car and see the oil change sticker was never changed. I go back in and said something. I went in circles with them trying to figure this out for 35 mins. It is not that hard to figure out. Then they offered me to come in Monday to change my oil. I have a job and already spent the day making ride arrangements for this day and I don't have time to do it again over your shops mess up. Then the manager came out and started telling me all kinds of nonsense that I knew better on. He kept recommending services I just had 2 months ago, like a break fluid flushs and some belt. Then I noticed they never fixed my burnt out headlight. How does a car pass inspection with a burned out headlight??!! Then once I finally leave and get back to work I noticed they charged me incorrectly for my inspection and emmisions and had to drive back to get a partial refund. I will never be coming back again. It was a comeplete mess and a waste of my time!
Jason W. from Team One Auto Group - Mechanicsburg responded on 06/01/2016

Hello James, I agree you didnt have a very good visit your full refund plus additional we spoke about are on the way, Please Update your reveiw and I look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next visit


JD
Jeff D.
Marysville, PA
Ford Expedition
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/06/2016
Great place however quoted me $600 but charged me over $925
Service is great however when you are quoted a price of $600 and then not receive a call telling you that the cost is going to be higher to go pick it up to find the bill over $1000 to fight to get it to just over $925 is rediculous!! No reason for this type of business you should ALWAYS call the customer when you know that you under quoted a job! Your business should have had to honor the price I was told!!

RN
Richard N.
Mechanicsburg, PA
Chevrolet Suburban
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
05/04/2016 Category: Service
Richard said he had a long wait at the business for his vehicle. Their customer service is not their top priority and he would like if they could improve their responses to their customers.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

JL
Jeremy L.
Mechanicsburg, PA
Dodge Pickup
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/11/2015 Category: Service
Jeremy said this business had a friendly staff. The person who serviced his vehicle quoted him a $1200 for a list of five services that his vehicle needed. When he balked at the price, the gentleman dropped the price to $1000. He then asked the business take his vehicle down so he could take it to his regular facility. After looking at the vehicle, the facility informed him only the ball joints they recommended were needed along with a tie rod, which they missed. He mentioned he felt like they tried to take him for a ride.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

SO
Stacy O.
Mechanicsburg, PA
Toyota RAV4
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/24/2015 Category: Service
Stacy said she had gone to this business to have new tires put on her vehicle. The employees told her that her tires had been balanced but they were not balanced and she had to go back in to have them balanced again. Now her steering wheel is still shaking when she applies her brakes. She will not go back a third time. She would not recommend this business for service because of these issues.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

JH
James Leroy H.
Mechanicsburg, PA
Chevrolet Camaro
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/12/2015
time and clean
It took much longer than expected and fingerprint smudges on car afterwords. It would only taken a second to wipe off.

BW
Beth W.
Millerstown, PA
Volvo S60
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/20/2015
unorganized - terrible service
Originally had my car scheduled on Wednesday the 18th for oil change and inspection @ 3:30. Could not get me in that day and rescheduled in for the following day. Went there to get the work done and wait for my car. I was told that they were not sure if they could get it done??? So they gave me a loaner car.... it was absolutely disgusting inside dirty and smelled of smoke, oil light on and ran rough. When i picked up my car, my original inspection sticker was for April but they changed it to March (so I lost a month). The coupon I had and I requested that the oil be full synthetic and on my receipt it says synthetic blend?? My old oil change sticker was half torn off and instead of scraping it off they put the new sticker over top and it will not stay on.
Jason W. from Team One Auto Group - Mechanicsburg responded on 04/06/2015

Talked to this customer, This was a bad visit for sure... Not Typical but certainly there is alittle disorganization which we worked thru and we had no clue the loaner had these issues as the car has been a loaner and no one informed us about the issues..We are making this right and she is coming back to get this mishap all Handled!!! Team One will make this customer a satisfied customer...100%  Sorry Beth


JM
James M.
Mechanicsburg, PA
Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
03/17/2015
average
I decided to check you out due to the coupons in the Valpak. I think the service was just average. Inspection took all day even though I was the first appointment. Was told it would be ready mid afternoon since I needed tires. When I called around 3pm I was informed that the alignment machine was not working and that they had to take my car to another shop. I suspect I would not have been told about that had I not called. I assume it was around a 20 mile round trip, no mention of it or offer to reduce the price. Car was ready finally around 4:15pm. Also, the coupons seem to really be the normal price.
Jason W. from Team One Auto Group - Mechanicsburg responded on 04/06/2015

Sorry About the lack of follow up on your visit James we strive for 100% Customer Service... We are still working our staff up to speed with being open less then 90 days.... We have spoken on the phone and I am gonna make your next visit an AWESOME experience..... I am always here if you have any problems and personally apologize for the poor visit. Also we do not take cars to our other locations without customer permission as per company policy.. I have addressed this problem as well, Thank You for taking your personal time to talk today!!