Overview

Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5rating 4.79

288 Reviews

99% Would Recommend
Latest Review 9 days ago

Reviews


TD
Tom D.
Hollywood, SC
GMC Caballero
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/25/2017 Category: Service
Tom said he was not happy with the service this business provided. They forgot to do half of the things that needed to be done.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
BOB Z. from American Automotive responded on 08/29/2017

Tom I am really shocked that you would say this. Order #2151 was an oil change on your Caballero. We changed the oil, new oil filter, topped off all fluids, checked air pressure in your tires. also checked belts hoses etc. Thats what you get with an oil change. Next time you are in our area stop by and tell me what we FORGOT to do?
Bob 


KH
Kathrine H.
Athens, GA
Toyota Matrix
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/25/2016 Category: Service
Kathrine said the business didn't fix her vehicle and her door handle was broken during the time they had her vehicle.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
BOB Z. from American Automotive responded on 11/27/2016

Katherine we changed the plugs in your car. I personally drove it and it ran just fine. No hesitations or skips. Not sure what problem you are having now but it was fixed properly in my shop. Also not sure about your door handle. We did nothing with that part of your car? Have no idea what you are talking about?
Bob Zobel
owner


CL
Charles L.
Charleston, SC
Ford Pickup
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
01/11/2017 Category: Service
Charles said he has gone to this business many times, and he would recommend them to others. However, the issue he went in for did not get resolved during his last visit.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
BOB Z. from American Automotive responded on 01/16/2017

Charles not sure what the problem is. We took the header completely off you truck welded the crack ( at no charge) and installed a new gasket for you. You paid exactly waht was quoted even though we did more work? there were no leaks when it left our shop?
Bob Zobel
Owner


BL
Bryan L.
Charleston, SC
Chevrolet Astro
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/10/2016 Category: Service
Bryan said he had to have something fixed on his vehicle and they thought they had fixed it, but they didn't. However, he is sure they will make it right.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
BOB Z. from American Automotive responded on 09/23/2016

Bryan. We have done a lot of work on your van. Stayed after hours and even worked on a Saturday to fix your problem. This last trip to my shop we did fix a noise problem but not the one you heard. I did refund money to be fair.
Bob Zobel
Owner


CB
Crystal B.
Hollywood, SC
Chevrolet Impala
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
02/23/2015 Category: Service
Crystal said she has never paid $142 to get her oil changed. She does use a synthetic oil but that was very expensive. She said she thinks they should have told her that before they did it. She would not recommend this facility for that reason.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
BOB Z. from American Automotive responded on 02/28/2015

Crystal
First thank you for your business. Second you came to my shop for an oil change. We carry two grades of oil in my shop. You asked for a full synthetic oil change which we do not carry as it is very expensive oil. I do not get any price breaks on this synthetic oil. My mechanic told you the cost prior to doing the work. We did a full service on your car checking all fluids air pressure etc. Third your car will not require another oil change for 10,000 miles. You were not overcharged. 
Bob Zobel owner


SS
Steven S.
North Charleston, SC
Toyota Camry
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/14/2017 Category: Service
Steven said he was taken advantage of.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
BOB Z. from American Automotive responded on 04/17/2017

Steven how can you possibly ay that. Your car was towed to my shop. It was found to have a faulty starter. you agreed to the price of repair(part plus labor,taxes). Part came in and you were on your way. Other shops would have taken days on that repair? how can you possibly state you were taken advantage of?


DF
Dave F.
Charleston, SC
Subaru Legacy
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/18/2016 Category: Service
Dave said he originally took his vehicle to his personal mechanic who found his vehicle was having a transmission issue. He then took his vehicle to a transmission specialist, who did a diagnostic and found that there was an issue with his catalytic converter, so he took his vehicle to this business. They changed out the catalytic converter for him but it did not improve the issue. He plans on taking his vehicle back to this facility to have them do another diagnostic test on his vehicle.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
BOB Z. from American Automotive responded on 09/23/2016

Dave thanks for your vote of confidence. Please feel free to bring the mustang back and we will diagnose it properly.bob ZobelOwner


FL
FRED L.
Charleston, SC
Dodge Grand Caravan
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/08/2016
Service.
Can you please me a copy of my repair. .......lewisf@cofc.edu.............Thank you.
BOB Z. from American Automotive responded on 07/12/2016

Fred thanks for your business. A copy of your invoice has been sent.
Thanksagain
Bob Zobel
owner


NH
Noah H.
Charleston, SC
Pontiac Firebird
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/14/2016 Category: Service
Noah said he had to take his vehicle back to this business 10 minutes after picking it up because the issue he took the vehicle in for came back. He is at this business now.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
BOB Z. from American Automotive responded on 01/17/2016

Noah
thanks for your business. We have fixed your car in the past with no issues. Your current issue is electrical. Our computer told us it was your mass air flow. We replaced that item. It ran much better. You brought it back stating it was still miss firing. We then found that it would fire intermitenly on the left bank. That is a computer problem inside the car. It needs a ecm which we have ordered. It has to be flashed. Once this is done it should run fine. You have an older car with a high performance engine. These problems will occur.
Bob Zobel owner


DS
Denny S.
Charleston, SC
Mazda 626
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/26/2015 Category: Service
Denny said his experience was fair and the service was pretty good, but the prices were a little high.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
BOB Z. from American Automotive responded on 03/02/2015

Denny has been a long time customer and we appreciate his business. We have done oil changes up to having his transmission rebuilt. This was not his first oil change in his f250 diesel truck with us. He knew the price before we did the work. Maybe he does not realize it takes 15 quarts of Rotilla oil plus the oil filter.. Then I have to pay to have his used oil removed.We have also done numerous repairs to his wife's car at no charge! I am really surprised this was an issue with him. 
Bob Zobel
owner


JT
Jan T.
Charleston, SC
Pontiac G6
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/14/2017 Category: Service
Jan said the service was okay. The business was friendly, but there was a misunderstanding with transportation.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
BOB Z. from American Automotive responded on 01/18/2018

Thanks for your business. Not sure what you mean by our transportation  had a misunderstanding. I give people rides as far as  Summerville SC? Anyway we appreciate your business
Bob Zobel
owner


TB
Tony B.
South Carolina
Oldsmobile Custom Cruiser
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/09/2017 Category: Service
Tony said the staff always do good work, but the price always seems high.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
BOB Z. from American Automotive responded on 10/24/2017

Tony we really appreciate your business. Our pricing is based on an industry average. nothing more. We also fixed your daughters brake line (had to be replaced rotted out) at no cost to you. Again thanks for the business.
Bob Zobel Owner


RW
Rachel W.
Charleston, SC
Hyundai Santa Fe
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/13/2017 Category: Service
Rachel said she recommends this business for service.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

RL
Richard L.
Charleston, SC
Chevrolet Silverado Classic
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/09/2017 Category: Service
Richard said he would recommend this business.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
BOB Z. from American Automotive responded on 06/12/2017

Richard thanks for your business.
Bob Zobel owner


RS
Reginald S.
Charleston, SC
Mercedes-Benz S550
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/19/2017 Category: Service
Reginald said the service was good at this business.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

EK
Earle K.
Charleston, SC
GMC Sierra
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/09/2017 Category: Service
Earle said he would recommend this business for service.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
BOB Z. from American Automotive responded on 05/15/2017

Thanks for your business
Bob Zobel owner


LM
Linda M.
Charleston, SC
Ford Taurus
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/21/2017 Category: Service
Linda said this business is nice and she had same day service, which was great.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
BOB Z. from American Automotive responded on 04/28/2017

we always appreciate your business.
Bob Zobel owner


JF
Jack F.
South Carolina
Chevrolet Pickup
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/11/2017 Category: Service
Jack said they are good.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
BOB Z. from American Automotive responded on 02/21/2017

Jack thanks for your business.
Bob Zobel Owner


RL
Richard L.
Charleston, SC
Chevrolet Silverado Classic
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/10/2017 Category: Service
Spoke with James. He said he would recommend this business for service.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
BOB Z. from American Automotive responded on 02/01/2017

thanks for the business.
Bob


CD
Carlos D.
Charleston, SC
Nissan Murano
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/27/2016 Category: Service
Carlos said he liked the business because he liked the customer service, but he had an issue with the steering wheel not being fixed properly.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
BOB Z. from American Automotive responded on 08/31/2016

Carlos
You brought  us the hub and we installed them. This repair had nothing to do with your steering wheel. Not sure what you are talking about but if you bring the car back we will be glad to take a look at it.
Bob Zobel
Owner


Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 288 in total