Castro Valley Union 76


Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5rating 4.82

913 Reviews

98% Would Recommend
Latest Review 11 days ago
George M. on 01/10/2018
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
George said he was charged $114 for the timing belt and he came off.
Vehicle: Chevrolet Colorado
Category: Service
Service Date: 01/08/2018
Review Created: 01/10/2018
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Pat V. on 04/09/2016
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
Pat said this business charged him quite a bit for an oil change and he had asked them to do a brake inspection, which they did not do. He would not recommend this business for service due to these issues.
Vehicle: Volvo 740
Category: Service
Service Date: 04/02/2016
Review Created: 04/09/2016
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
jack M. at Castro Valley Union 76 responded on 04/15/2016

Sorry to hear that Mr Pat that you are unhappy with our service, we do charge the same for oil change to anybody coming to us from last 2 yrs, we have not changed our price. We offered you to check brakes when you picked up the vehicle and you mentioned that it is ok. We did not check your brakes we apologies for that. Also did not charge you to check your battery and installed it with no labor charge. Thanks for business may be we can do better next time.

JESSICA J. on 11/07/2014
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
"Poor Customer Service"
I went in to have my car serviced, oil change. When I walked into the front store the owner and one of the technicians were discussing the differences between two light bulbs and didn't even acknowledge I was there. 'We'll be with you in a moment' would have done the trick but they continued their conversation for another couple of minutes. The owner then proceeded to help the man who walked in after me who was there to deliver a package before assisting me. Later, when my car was almost finished, I hear a different technician say, "Dang, she's in here again? She must drive a lot." Granted, the man wasn't speaking directly to me, but the fact that he would say something like that with customers in earshot is ridiculous. The only good thing to come from this experience was that I was in and out in 30min.
Vehicle: Chrysler 200
Service Date: 11/06/2014
Review Created: 11/07/2014 11:13 PM
Bob S. on 11/07/2014
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
"Auto repair"
Had a bad experience with the shop. Called them to see how much it would cost to do an oil change, the person on the phone did not say anything then hung up on me.
Service Date: 11/07/2014
Review Created: 11/07/2014 09:58 AM
jack M. at Castro Valley Union 76 responded on 11/09/2014

Sorry for the inconveniece sometimes when we get phone calls specially from cellular it is not clear, we do not hang up on any customers specially if they want estimate for any repairs

Jennifer P. on 11/04/2014
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
"WOMEN They will get you if you don't know anything about cars "
Be careful women or anyone that knows nothing about cars I'm a women and i have work on cars and fix them myself plus I gotten two estimate before I took it in to them and they tried to tell me it was my breaks and rotor that's needs to be replace, the price for $450
When in fact the real problem was my alinement and bearings. So be careful
Service Date: 10/02/2014
Review Created: 11/04/2014 07:14 PM
jack M. at Castro Valley Union 76 responded on 11/05/2014

Vehicle having multiple problems and very poorerly maintained finding a problem you have to start with basics and go from there. Informed customer few times, the problem was explained to the comsumer

DOROTHEA H. on 06/27/2013
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
"I paid $48.98 for an oil change and got nothing else."
I paid $48.98 for an oil change and got nothing else. My other fluid levels were not checked, the air pressure on my tires were not checked, I had a break light out and no one asked if I wanted it replaced. On my receipt it did not say what type of oil that was put in my car. I got nothing else but a simple oil change for $48.98.
Vehicle: Hyundai Elantra
Service Date: 06/25/2013
Review Created: 06/27/2013 03:10 PM
jack M. at Castro Valley Union 76 responded on 07/03/2013
We performed the entire service, tire pressure was checked, on the work order it states we used 5W30 oil, we did not check all the lights. Rest of the claim from customer if she reads her work order will explain it.
JASON K. on 02/03/2013
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
"professional/clean enviroment"
kind/understanding people and respectable employes
Vehicle: Buick LaCrosse
Service Date: 02/02/2013
Review Created: 02/03/2013 08:45 PM
jack M. at Castro Valley Union 76 responded on 02/05/2013
You need to contact this customer again I think there is a big mistake about one star he is very happy customer comes here all the time, he meant it is 5 start and will recommend to other people
JAMES M. on 09/15/2012
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
"Easy to get a smog check"
Easy to drop in and service was quick.
Vehicle: Dodge Pickup
Service Date: 09/13/2012
Review Created: 09/15/2012 08:19 AM
Grace M. on 08/24/2012
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
Grace said she went into this business a day ahead of time to schedule her appointment. They told her the analysis on her vehicle would take an hour and a half. She came in early and waited for her vehicle to be done. An hour and a half later they said they still hadn't gotten to it. She was disgusted and then they told her it could take up to 15 hours to analyze what was wrong with her vehicle. She wished they would have told her that instead of having her wait around for an hour and a half for nothing.
Vehicle: Volvo 242
Category: Service
Service Date: 08/22/2012
Review Created: 08/24/2012
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
jack M. at Castro Valley Union 76 responded on 09/05/2012
We are sorry for misunderstanding . We did mention to customer that it will take hour and half for diagnosis, we also told her that we need the car for 4-5 hours, we misunderstood her that she was going to wait around near the shop, if we would have known that we could have given her ride home or not taken the work. Next time we will try to be more clear to customer. In smog repairs sometimes car will be diagnosed quickly some time it takes longer time and we like to find the exact problem without charging customer more money. Hope we can do better next time.
Ana T. on 11/26/2016
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
Ana said she took her vehicle there several months back, and they fixed it. Six months later, the same problem occurred. They gave the vehicle back to her on Thanksgiving Eve, but it started leaking again. She paid $700 for the service. They told her to bring the vehicle back.
Vehicle: Isuzu Rodeo
Category: Service
Service Date: 11/22/2016
Review Created: 11/26/2016
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
jack M. at Castro Valley Union 76 responded on 11/29/2016

We repaired the power steering leak 6 months ago by finding a part in the junk yard for rack n pinion asy since the new part is obsolete, the part from junk yard failed, we went to junk yard again and replaced the part for her for no cost, the vehicle came back after two days saying it is still leaking but not as much. Found rack n pinion leaking from shaft, part we did not replace and gave her the estimate for repairs. Unfortunatly we can not warranty the part we have not replace.

EMILY M. on 10/02/2016
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
"Overall bad experience(s) "
Needed a brake and light inspection and Found place on yelp so I decided to go there. Went there, met someone named jax and he helped me, told me to leave my car and pick it up in a few hours.
Hours passed, went back and was told it failed and need to fix my lights(blacked out) and brakes and tires because it was going out. Got a quote, I wanted to shop around so I just laid the inspection fees ($120) and left.
Got the brakes and lights all fixed elsewhere and came back. I dropped the car off again and max calls me telling me why'd I waste his time bringing my car there when things weren't finished (censors) Car failed again because brake sensors weren't installed. Paid again ($60) and left. Before leaving jay said next time I come he won't charge me no fees (since I went there a few times already).
Got the censors installed elsewhere and went back for inspection.
Car passed (which was great) but before leaving they wanted to charge me again. I asked why when he told me before that it was going to be free and his answer was he still had to pay his guys to do the work. Here's the key thing he said to me. Max said that since I decided to get all the work done elsewhere for a cheaper price that he had to charge me something. I refused to pay and they let me go.

Bottom line, This place isn't really friendly and I didn't like the service at all. After leaving, I felt my tires shaking. Not to blame them but before going back there I got my brakes and brand new tires. Everything was fine while driving. Now after leaving this inspection shop, tires where shaking and come to find out the balance was off. I didn't bother to go back and got my tires rebalanced elsewhere.
I would not recommend this place to anyone nor will I got there again, they just want your money and your money only. Customer service wasn't too friendly.
Vehicle: Porsche Cayenne
Service Date: 09/12/2016
Review Created: 10/02/2016 08:38 PM
jack M. at Castro Valley Union 76 responded on 10/03/2016

We try our best to satisfy customers. Customer came for brake and lamp certification, we showed him what the vehicle needed to pass the inspection, he was told at the time if he gets repaired done somewhere else we will have to reinspect the work and charges will be another $60.00 to make sure the work is done right. He comes back and leaves the truck we put it on the rack he could not find wheel locks, took the vehicle back wasted our tiem. Makes the appointment never showed up on time and than showed up at his convenience again we inspected the vehicle found out all the ABS sensors some were broken and some not working, took the vehicle back, came back after few days with correct sensors installed and ABS light on dash was off, all this work done by him or other shop. We finally were able to give him certificates and did not charge him third time. We did the best for customer. 

Betty H. on 09/12/2014
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
Betty said they did not thank her for her business when she picked up her vehicle. They just kind of threw the receipt at her. She has a business and she always thanks her customers. She would not recommend them to others for the reasons mentioned.
Vehicle: Lexus ES 350
Category: Service
Service Date: 09/08/2014
Review Created: 09/12/2014
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
jack M. at Castro Valley Union 76 responded on 09/20/2014

Hi Betty
Sorry to know that you had a bad experience at out business, We apologise for not thanking you for your business, We appreciate the business always, thanks for pointing out our mistake, we will be more carefull in future.

Roberta B. on 06/19/2014
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
Roberta said she took her vehicle in for the check engine light, which she told them could be the oxygen sensor and requested that they check her brakes. They charged her $99 for the diagnostic that revealed it was the oxygen sensor. They did not check the brakes until late in the evening and discovered that they needed to be done, so they told her to bring the vehicle back. She needed her vehicle and she will probably not bring the vehicle back for the brake service unless they make it right. For these reasons, she would not recommend this business for service but did mention that she was satisfied with them until this service visit. Lastly, she mentioned that it was very nice that someone comes in at 7:00 am to give the customer a ride.
Vehicle: Toyota Land Cruiser
Category: Service
Service Date: 06/10/2014
Review Created: 06/19/2014
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Ruth S. on 05/03/2014
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
Ruth said she was treated rudely by her representative. They changed out her new battery and the replacement was dead in a few days. She would not recommend them due to this experience.
Vehicle: Buick Electra
Category: Service
Service Date: 04/23/2014
Review Created: 05/03/2014
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Madelyn Y. on 07/26/2012
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
Spoke with Joe. He said the personnel are very nice and they provide great customer service. He said they seem willing to do the work, but he is very dissatisfied with the work they did. He has spent about $1,500 on both of his vehicles in the last 2 months. He said he has had to bring the Ford Focus back and forth for services for an ongoing issue. He said they thought they fixed the problem and he had to bring the vehicle back a few days later. The staff told him there was a crease in the hose and that they needed to replace the cannister. He said after that they replaced the gas cap. The vehicle is still not fixed properly and he had to make arrangements to bring it back in for service again. He would not recommend this business based on this experience.
Vehicle: Ford Focus
Category: Service
Service Date: 07/06/2012
Review Created: 07/26/2012
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
jack M. at Castro Valley Union 76 responded on 07/28/2012
Car has come back 3 times for fuel evap code P0456 minor vapor leak, smoke test the vehicle could not find any external leak every time the car came in,we did replace fuel pressure sensor on top of the gas tank and gasket seal for fuel pump unit on top of the gas tank without charging customer for parts and labor. Small vapor leak could be caused by even loose gas cap, customer drove the car for 1000 miles and canister monitor ran than one day it came back on. Unfortunately it is hard to find the problem if it happens this way.
Yung C. on 03/23/2018
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
Young said the service took longer than expected and the end cost was more than he expected.
Vehicle: Nissan Murano
Category: Service
Service Date: 03/08/2018
Review Created: 03/23/2018
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
jack M. at Castro Valley Union 76 responded on 03/27/2018

Mr Yung we are so sorry that you felt this way, we called you everytime to let you know the progress at the same time you wanted to buy used parts, that normally takes more time, we did the best for your repairs, we are sorry if you feel that we did not finish the job on time also becuase you keep saying take your time/

Ali R. on 12/08/2017
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
Ali said the staff was not really friendly, especially the old man. Sometimes they are nice and sometimes they're rude. The son of the owner is nice.
Vehicle: Honda Civic Si
Category: Service
Service Date: 11/22/2017
Review Created: 12/08/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Jotham N. on 07/22/2017
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
Jotham said the fee for the inspection was high at the business.
Vehicle: Ford Ranger
Category: Service
Service Date: 06/26/2017
Review Created: 07/22/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Gerald J. on 05/12/2017
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
Gerald said this business provided good service. However, they did not inform him that he had a factory alarm on his vehicle.
Vehicle: Toyota Previa
Category: Service
Service Date: 05/10/2017
Review Created: 05/12/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
jack M. at Castro Valley Union 76 responded on 05/14/2017

Mr Gerald we did know the after alarm was causing your car not to start, some of these modesl came with factor alrm some did not, sorry we did not know that you were not aware of the factory alarm.

Joshua W. on 03/28/2017
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
Joshua said there was a miscommunication between him and the business. When they told him 45 minutes, he thought it would be done in 45 minutes not that they would start in 45 minutes. It was the most expensive smog check he has ever had. He was disappointed with them and he would not recommend them to others.
Vehicle: GMC Suburban
Category: Service
Service Date: 03/15/2017
Review Created: 03/28/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
jack M. at Castro Valley Union 76 responded on 03/30/2017

Joshua sorry to hear that you had a misunderstanding with our business we will be more carefull about that next time with our customers. The price for smog was given to you before we started the smog on estimate you signed. This is our regular price for long time. Thanks for your business

Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 913 in total