Castro Valley Union 76


Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5rating 4.82

913 Reviews

98% Would Recommend
Latest Review 8 days ago
George M. on 01/10/2018
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
George said he was charged $114 for the timing belt and he came off.
Vehicle: Chevrolet Colorado
Category: Service
Service Date: 01/08/2018
Review Created: 01/10/2018
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Ali R. on 12/08/2017
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
Ali said the staff was not really friendly, especially the old man. Sometimes they are nice and sometimes they're rude. The son of the owner is nice.
Vehicle: Honda Civic Si
Category: Service
Service Date: 11/22/2017
Review Created: 12/08/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
BARBARA N. on 03/31/2017
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Recent Car service at Castro Valley Union 76"
I have been going to Castro Valley Union 76 for 30 years because I totally trust that they will perform expert service on my car and they didn't disappoint this time. My 2004 Saturn still runs like a brand new car. Thank you Castro Valley 76. See you next service time.
Vehicle: Saturn Ion 2
Service Date: 03/29/2017
Review Created: 03/31/2017 01:32 PM
Joshua W. on 03/28/2017
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
Joshua said there was a miscommunication between him and the business. When they told him 45 minutes, he thought it would be done in 45 minutes not that they would start in 45 minutes. It was the most expensive smog check he has ever had. He was disappointed with them and he would not recommend them to others.
Vehicle: GMC Suburban
Category: Service
Service Date: 03/15/2017
Review Created: 03/28/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
jack M. at Castro Valley Union 76 responded on 03/30/2017

Joshua sorry to hear that you had a misunderstanding with our business we will be more carefull about that next time with our customers. The price for smog was given to you before we started the smog on estimate you signed. This is our regular price for long time. Thanks for your business

Oyung L. on 02/23/2017
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
Oyung said he was satisfied with their friendliness, but he would not recommend this business because their prices are higher than the norm. He called around and he was able to get lower prices elsewhere.
Vehicle: Audi A4
Category: Service
Service Date: 01/27/2017
Review Created: 02/23/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
James B. on 01/09/2017
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
James said everyone was friendly. However, he would not recommend them because they took longer than normal. It took them 35 minutes to complete an oil change, which is ridiculous.
Vehicle: Dodge Grand Caravan
Category: Service
Service Date: 01/05/2017
Review Created: 01/09/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Ana T. on 11/26/2016
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
Ana said she took her vehicle there several months back, and they fixed it. Six months later, the same problem occurred. They gave the vehicle back to her on Thanksgiving Eve, but it started leaking again. She paid $700 for the service. They told her to bring the vehicle back.
Vehicle: Isuzu Rodeo
Category: Service
Service Date: 11/22/2016
Review Created: 11/26/2016
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
jack M. at Castro Valley Union 76 responded on 11/29/2016

We repaired the power steering leak 6 months ago by finding a part in the junk yard for rack n pinion asy since the new part is obsolete, the part from junk yard failed, we went to junk yard again and replaced the part for her for no cost, the vehicle came back after two days saying it is still leaking but not as much. Found rack n pinion leaking from shaft, part we did not replace and gave her the estimate for repairs. Unfortunatly we can not warranty the part we have not replace.

EMILY M. on 10/02/2016
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
"Overall bad experience(s) "
Needed a brake and light inspection and Found place on yelp so I decided to go there. Went there, met someone named jax and he helped me, told me to leave my car and pick it up in a few hours.
Hours passed, went back and was told it failed and need to fix my lights(blacked out) and brakes and tires because it was going out. Got a quote, I wanted to shop around so I just laid the inspection fees ($120) and left.
Got the brakes and lights all fixed elsewhere and came back. I dropped the car off again and max calls me telling me why'd I waste his time bringing my car there when things weren't finished (censors) Car failed again because brake sensors weren't installed. Paid again ($60) and left. Before leaving jay said next time I come he won't charge me no fees (since I went there a few times already).
Got the censors installed elsewhere and went back for inspection.
Car passed (which was great) but before leaving they wanted to charge me again. I asked why when he told me before that it was going to be free and his answer was he still had to pay his guys to do the work. Here's the key thing he said to me. Max said that since I decided to get all the work done elsewhere for a cheaper price that he had to charge me something. I refused to pay and they let me go.

Bottom line, This place isn't really friendly and I didn't like the service at all. After leaving, I felt my tires shaking. Not to blame them but before going back there I got my brakes and brand new tires. Everything was fine while driving. Now after leaving this inspection shop, tires where shaking and come to find out the balance was off. I didn't bother to go back and got my tires rebalanced elsewhere.
I would not recommend this place to anyone nor will I got there again, they just want your money and your money only. Customer service wasn't too friendly.
Vehicle: Porsche Cayenne
Service Date: 09/12/2016
Review Created: 10/02/2016 08:38 PM
jack M. at Castro Valley Union 76 responded on 10/03/2016

We try our best to satisfy customers. Customer came for brake and lamp certification, we showed him what the vehicle needed to pass the inspection, he was told at the time if he gets repaired done somewhere else we will have to reinspect the work and charges will be another $60.00 to make sure the work is done right. He comes back and leaves the truck we put it on the rack he could not find wheel locks, took the vehicle back wasted our tiem. Makes the appointment never showed up on time and than showed up at his convenience again we inspected the vehicle found out all the ABS sensors some were broken and some not working, took the vehicle back, came back after few days with correct sensors installed and ABS light on dash was off, all this work done by him or other shop. We finally were able to give him certificates and did not charge him third time. We did the best for customer. 

Pat V. on 04/09/2016
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
Pat said this business charged him quite a bit for an oil change and he had asked them to do a brake inspection, which they did not do. He would not recommend this business for service due to these issues.
Vehicle: Volvo 740
Category: Service
Service Date: 04/02/2016
Review Created: 04/09/2016
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
jack M. at Castro Valley Union 76 responded on 04/15/2016

Sorry to hear that Mr Pat that you are unhappy with our service, we do charge the same for oil change to anybody coming to us from last 2 yrs, we have not changed our price. We offered you to check brakes when you picked up the vehicle and you mentioned that it is ok. We did not check your brakes we apologies for that. Also did not charge you to check your battery and installed it with no labor charge. Thanks for business may be we can do better next time.

Frank R. on 02/20/2016
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
Frank said he received friendly customer service, but felt that the price was too high for service.
Vehicle: Hyundai Sonata
Category: Service
Service Date: 02/16/2016
Review Created: 02/20/2016
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
JESSICA J. on 11/07/2014
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
"Poor Customer Service"
I went in to have my car serviced, oil change. When I walked into the front store the owner and one of the technicians were discussing the differences between two light bulbs and didn't even acknowledge I was there. 'We'll be with you in a moment' would have done the trick but they continued their conversation for another couple of minutes. The owner then proceeded to help the man who walked in after me who was there to deliver a package before assisting me. Later, when my car was almost finished, I hear a different technician say, "Dang, she's in here again? She must drive a lot." Granted, the man wasn't speaking directly to me, but the fact that he would say something like that with customers in earshot is ridiculous. The only good thing to come from this experience was that I was in and out in 30min.
Vehicle: Chrysler 200
Service Date: 11/06/2014
Review Created: 11/07/2014 11:13 PM
Bob S. on 11/07/2014
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
"Auto repair"
Had a bad experience with the shop. Called them to see how much it would cost to do an oil change, the person on the phone did not say anything then hung up on me.
Service Date: 11/07/2014
Review Created: 11/07/2014 09:58 AM
jack M. at Castro Valley Union 76 responded on 11/09/2014

Sorry for the inconveniece sometimes when we get phone calls specially from cellular it is not clear, we do not hang up on any customers specially if they want estimate for any repairs

Jennifer P. on 11/04/2014
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
"WOMEN They will get you if you don't know anything about cars "
Be careful women or anyone that knows nothing about cars I'm a women and i have work on cars and fix them myself plus I gotten two estimate before I took it in to them and they tried to tell me it was my breaks and rotor that's needs to be replace, the price for $450
When in fact the real problem was my alinement and bearings. So be careful
Service Date: 10/02/2014
Review Created: 11/04/2014 07:14 PM
jack M. at Castro Valley Union 76 responded on 11/05/2014

Vehicle having multiple problems and very poorerly maintained finding a problem you have to start with basics and go from there. Informed customer few times, the problem was explained to the comsumer

Betty H. on 09/12/2014
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
Betty said they did not thank her for her business when she picked up her vehicle. They just kind of threw the receipt at her. She has a business and she always thanks her customers. She would not recommend them to others for the reasons mentioned.
Vehicle: Lexus ES 350
Category: Service
Service Date: 09/08/2014
Review Created: 09/12/2014
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
jack M. at Castro Valley Union 76 responded on 09/20/2014

Hi Betty
Sorry to know that you had a bad experience at out business, We apologise for not thanking you for your business, We appreciate the business always, thanks for pointing out our mistake, we will be more carefull in future.

Orlando O. on 07/12/2014
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
Orlando said he took the vehicle into this business to have a timing chain repaired, and to fix the check engine light. He had to take the vehicle back three different times, and they still could not figure out why the light was coming on. He had his own technician scan the vehicle to figure out it was a cam adjustable sensor. He notified the business of this, and took it back. The business corrected the situation by not charging him labor and only 50 percent of the parts price. Regrettably, after this visit, he would not recommend this business.
Vehicle: Nissan Frontier
Category: Service
Service Date: 06/19/2014
Review Created: 07/12/2014
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
jack M. at Castro Valley Union 76 responded on 07/13/2014

Hi Orlando, sorry for the inconvenience that you had to go through, my sincere apologies to you, I know we took a little time to fix your vehicle, we will try our best next time. Sometimes in computerized vehicles certain sensors will show they are working sometimes and we did not want to change something that we did not catch not functioning. Yes we learned something next time for similiar malfunction we know what to do. Again we apologies for taking time to repair the vehicle.

Roberta B. on 06/19/2014
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
Roberta said she took her vehicle in for the check engine light, which she told them could be the oxygen sensor and requested that they check her brakes. They charged her $99 for the diagnostic that revealed it was the oxygen sensor. They did not check the brakes until late in the evening and discovered that they needed to be done, so they told her to bring the vehicle back. She needed her vehicle and she will probably not bring the vehicle back for the brake service unless they make it right. For these reasons, she would not recommend this business for service but did mention that she was satisfied with them until this service visit. Lastly, she mentioned that it was very nice that someone comes in at 7:00 am to give the customer a ride.
Vehicle: Toyota Land Cruiser
Category: Service
Service Date: 06/10/2014
Review Created: 06/19/2014
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Ruth S. on 05/03/2014
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
Ruth said she was treated rudely by her representative. They changed out her new battery and the replacement was dead in a few days. She would not recommend them due to this experience.
Vehicle: Buick Electra
Category: Service
Service Date: 04/23/2014
Review Created: 05/03/2014
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
DOROTHEA H. on 06/27/2013
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
"I paid $48.98 for an oil change and got nothing else."
I paid $48.98 for an oil change and got nothing else. My other fluid levels were not checked, the air pressure on my tires were not checked, I had a break light out and no one asked if I wanted it replaced. On my receipt it did not say what type of oil that was put in my car. I got nothing else but a simple oil change for $48.98.
Vehicle: Hyundai Elantra
Service Date: 06/25/2013
Review Created: 06/27/2013 03:10 PM
jack M. at Castro Valley Union 76 responded on 07/03/2013
We performed the entire service, tire pressure was checked, on the work order it states we used 5W30 oil, we did not check all the lights. Rest of the claim from customer if she reads her work order will explain it.
Conor D. on 09/17/2012
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Conor said the work on his vehicle was good but the personal service wasn't great. His vehicle was supposed to be ready at 4pm and they were supposed to call and let him know. He arrived at 5pm and they told him the vehicle was done. He didn't appreciate that nobody called him. Next time he will go somewhere else because he didn't appreciate waiting longer than he needed to.
Vehicle: Isuzu Rodeo
Category: Service
Service Date: 09/11/2012
Review Created: 09/17/2012
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
EVANS I. on 09/03/2012
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
"Failed Smog test"
My car failed the smog test because of the engine light that was on. I wish they would have told me up front that my car would fail the smog test before I paid for the smog test. Their was no recommendation on how to resolve the problem or estimate. They just said we want you to come back and then we will take a look at. I just felt like they wanted to nickle and dime me. People shoudl feel that they are getting a good value and I didn't feel that I was getting a good value. I have worked with them in the past and they do good work but, they won't cut you any slack.
Vehicle: Acura 3.5RL
Service Date: 09/01/2012
Review Created: 09/03/2012 09:40 PM
jack M. at Castro Valley Union 76 responded on 09/05/2012
Wr are sorry customer feels that way. According to smog laws of california state we are suppose to smog the vehicle as is when it comes in. As for recommendations are concerned they are written on the final copy of the work order we gave customer. The computer codes P0420 for cat efficiency below threshhold and code P0401 for egr flow insufficient detected. Both these codes to diagnosis takes time to diagnos. We need the car for 4-5 hours and we charge to diagnos like any other shop. We were told by customer that she got some work done at another shop and she would like to check with them if it related to their work. We gave customer $10.00 off regular price and told her we can resmog her car withing 30 days at no charge if she gets the car repaired some where else. We appreciate the business. Thank you
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 913 in total