Overview

Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5rating 4.76

712 Reviews

ReScore Reviews™ (6)

ReScore
Overall Rating 2.6666667/5Overall Rating 2.6666667/5rating 2.6666667rating 2.6666667rating 2.6666667
Original
Overall Rating 1.6666667/5rating 1.6666667rating 1.6666667rating 1.6666667rating 1.6666667
97% Would Recommend
Latest Review about 9 hours ago

Reviews


DM
DERRON M.
Lexington, KY
GMC Yukon XL
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
04/14/2019
Was in the same boat after I picked up my vehicle
They were friendly and nice enough to honor my 21 years of Honorable service in the Army with a discount, but I was charged 138 dollars for a diagnostic test and still had no idea what the problem was on my GMC Yukon. I will NEVER be back to this business.
5 Star S. from 5 Star Auto Repair & Exhaust Of Lexington responded on 04/18/2019

Thank you for being understanding, and taking time to speak with me on the phone about this situation.


BM
Brad M.
Louisville, KY
Hyundai Elantra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/20/2018 Category: Service
Brad said that the facility charged him for three gallons of coolant when his radiator only holds less than two gallons. There was follow up, and a refund.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
5 Star S. from 5 Star Auto Repair & Exhaust Of Lexington responded on 10/25/2018

Again I am sorry for the mistake, and did everything in my power to correct the situation. I hope to get the chance to make it up to you in the future. We strive for honest, excellent service here at 5 Star but nobody is perfect 100% of the time and occasionally mistakes are made. If we are at fault we will own up to it.


Verified Customer
Paris, KY
Chevrolet Malibu
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/10/2018
5 Star, Lexington, Review
The turn around for the oil change was excellent. The car was dropped off at 8:30. I was not called before lunch time as to the status. I had to call to find out.

I have not received the promised estimates as promised for additional work found during the oil change.
5 Star S. from 5 Star Auto Repair & Exhaust Of Lexington responded on 07/10/2018

Dear Valued Customer 

I am sorry you are not happy with our recent customer service, I can honestly tell you normally it is much better. 5-Star has recently switched phone / internet providers and we are unfortunately receiving poor service our selves, we currently are trying to meet our customers needs with only 1 of 3 phone lines, no fax line, and at best occasional internet. Please accept my apologies and give us a second chance to show you the true custom service we offer. If you have any other questions or concerns please contact me. 

Sincerely Ryan D


JP
JARED P.
Star Prairie, WI
INFINITI QX56
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/06/2017
$ preferred over business or customer service
When i asked them to investigate an exhaust leak sound on my vehicle they identified a muffler seam as possible cause. Muffler ordered and appointment scheduled for 8 a.m. with instructions to investigate further if sound of exhaust leak continued after muffler install, removing heat shields as may be necessary. Results are I'm charged fairly for work completed (new muffler) and vehicle returned with same exhaust leak sound. When discussed with shop, I'm told that they performed the work that I was charged for, and apologies for not completing work order as written. And that they didn't have enough time in the day to investigate further, even if they had intended to complete the work order (8:00 a.m. scheduled appointment) 11 days later and no attempt by shop to call and discuss my dissatisfaction. A poor job of customer consultation both prior to as well as after work was completed
5 Star S. from 5 Star Auto Repair & Exhaust Of Lexington responded on 11/06/2017

I had spoken to Jared when he came to pick up his vehicle, he had at that time informed me that the exhaust sounded the same to him. The flange was in fact broken and the seam of the muffler blown- two obvious repairs needed.Unfortunately we didn't have a opportunity to remove the heat shields that day and I told Jared that if he would bring back the vehicle on Monday that we would remove the heat shields and if it needed any small tack welding that we would take care of it. I meant that to say that for his troubles if it was something small we would not charge him. He said he would come on Monday but never showed up. I wrongly assumed he had rescheduled. After recieving this review I realized how wrong I was and promptly called him. He had taken his vehicle somewhere else and has been given an estimate for a large job, I have countered an estimate, and offered for him to return to us to verify work needed, when it is convenient to him. It is  hoped that we can come to a happy medium and Jared can have a great experience with us.


JL
John L.
Lexington, KY
Volvo S40
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/28/2017 Category: Service
John said he was not happy with the business because they did the same repair twice and double charged him. The lady at the front desk said he had a bad attitude. He will be calling the Better Business Bureau.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
5 Star S. from 5 Star Auto Repair & Exhaust Of Lexington responded on 11/09/2017

John came in with a check engine light on and a lean code and we found a pcv hose broken, we replaced the hose and the plenum gasket drove the vehicle and everything was good to go. He received a veterans discount.  John called back later stating the check engine light had come on and was asked if he wanted to bring it in the next day. He responded upset because he thought he was being put off instead of being asked if that was convenient to him. That was explained to him later. He had sold the car and the new owner brought it in the next day. We diagnosed (for free) the problem and found that the diaphram inside of the oil trap housing (located under the pcv hose, and internal of the housing) had failed. Our shop foreman offered to do the work only charging 1/2 hour although the job took 2 hours not including diagnose time of over 1 hour. After the work was done John shook the shop foremans hand, thanked him, and  came in and paid his bill. John actually saved $194.10 on his bill with the discounted labor and no charge for additional diagnose. We are sorry that two different components failed ,however we did not do the same repair twice, nor did we double charge him, in all actuality we tried to make easier a difficult situation after a customer had already sold a vehilce to someone else.


WH
WALTER H.
Lexington, KY
Ford Explorer
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/14/2017
Didn't fix,the problem that I brought it in to fix
Didn't fix,the problem that I brought it in to fix.
5 Star S. from 5 Star Auto Repair & Exhaust Of Lexington responded on 07/14/2017

Walter,
We did perform the vehilce inspection and at that time did not find the answer to one of your problems,  however we did find another problem that you weren't aware of, and were able to  make your vehicle road worthy. I am glad that you have scheduled another appointment next week and hopefully then we can find and fix your other problem. Thank you!


JH
JEREMY H.
Lexington, KY
Honda Pilot
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/02/2017
Poor work.
My break caliper has come lose and moves along the wheel, I will be there first thing in the morning to have it repaired and I expect that any damage caused by this will be covered as well. I had recently had my tires rotated there and then all the sudden my rotors are warped. I replace my rotors and break pads and now this. I am beginning to question after this repair if I will bring my business back.
5 Star S. from 5 Star Auto Repair & Exhaust Of Lexington responded on 07/05/2017

Jeremy,
We checked out your vehicle and replaced a caliper bolt that had somehow worked itself back after 2,000 miles which is almost unheard of. Your brakes (pads and rotors) looked good, you have a lifetime warranty on pads and a year on rotors, so no worries. If anything needed replacing we would have taken care of it. After the rotate and balance we had spoken and figured that the vibration you felt-your warped rotors, you could not have distinguished before the balance of the tires. With everything you have done here you have a nationwide warranty, if you are out of the area you can call 1-800-457-0019. I hope you are satisfied with our work and the compensation you were given for your troubles and rental car.


CD
CRYSTAL D.
Lexington, KY
GMC Envoy
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/14/2017
Had to have my vehicle towed back to the shop.
When I picked up my vehicle, it was making a funny noise. I immediately returned to the shop. They drove it and said it was fine, just some air trapped. On Saturday we noticed the antifreeze was leaking out. The car had to be towed back to the shop on Monday. They said the thermostat that they put in was faulty. They did fix it at no additional cost. It was just a pain to be without my vehicle again. They were also very defensive about the situation.
5 Star S. from 5 Star Auto Repair & Exhaust Of Lexington responded on 04/14/2017

I am so sorry you felt that way! You had been informed if the problem was not related to anything you had done here you could be charged a tow, and I know that was what bothered you. That is our policy, as it is, it was related as there was a defective part involved.  We had  your vehicle  towed in free of charge, the defective part replaced, and a free oil change was also given to smooth things over. I feel bad that this situation occured, unfortunately parts can sometimes be defective, however this is why we offer a 12 month 12,000 mile warranty with our work. We understand how important it is for everyone to have a good running vehicle every day. We apologize again for any inconvenience incurred.


MB
MARY B.
Lexington, KY
Chevrolet Sonic
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/16/2017
Oil change took way too long!
It took 1 hour and 5 minutes to get a simple oil change. After 55 minutes I ask what the problem was and was told they were waiting on a filter. I thought this was odd since I had made the appointment 2 days earlier and would have thought they would have what they needed to change my oil. Then the guy rang it up without using the coupon we had discussed when I came in. So it took more time to get that right. I might as well go to one of those drive through oil change places. It would have surely been faster.
5 Star S. from 5 Star Auto Repair & Exhaust Of Lexington responded on 02/16/2017

I reached out to Mary and apologized for the delay. Her vehicle does take a special cannister filter that was not in stock and while delivering it, the parts truck came upon a train with over 100 boxcars! We now have her filter information in her memo to ensure that upon her next oil change we will have it in stock. She did receive her coupon discount, which offset the cost of the filter, which is much more expensive than a regular filter. We will work on our communication with our customers to ensure a quicker turn around and less down time. We want to be a one stop shop for our customers and will strive to accomodate their needs. Thank you Mary for our great phone conversation and allowing me to resolve this unfortunate experience! We look forward to seeing you again!


TK
Tim K.
Ravenna, KY
Chevrolet Impala
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
01/21/2017 Category: Service
Tim said this business is drastically over-priced. He said he had a plug placed in his tire and was charged $19. He believes other businesses would have charged around $10.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
5 Star S. from 5 Star Auto Repair & Exhaust Of Lexington responded on 01/23/2017

Tim, 
I am so sorry you feel that way!! To be fair, I checked prices from three different tire retail shops in Lexington and one priced the same tire repair at $18.00 before tax, another at $30.19 before tax and another at $25.00 before tax. I feel that our price of $19.43 total of taking a tire off of a vehicle, performing a repair and then mounting and balancing the tire and reinstalling to be a fair price. I'm not sure about the pricing in Ravenna Ky.


DG
DALE G.
Versailles, KY
Dodge Dakota
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/03/2016
2004 Dodge Dakota
Actually I am Quite Unhappy. After # separate visits and several hundred $ work on the blower for AC/Heater, it stopped working again, and was repaired elsewhere , basically a 'short'. And, the reason it ended up elsewhere is that the vehicle overheated because y'all didn't tighten the radiator cap @my last service. So, after a few years of doing business there, I'm Done. Dale G.
5 Star S. from 5 Star Auto Repair & Exhaust Of Lexington responded on 11/04/2016

Dale,
I am sorry you feel that way! I see we have replaced the blower motor resistor and pigtail in 2015 and it had been about a year since you came back needing the blower motor replaced. We also did an oil change where we did check your coolant strength by testing the coolant from the reservoir. I don't see any reason we would have opened your radiator cap. And since you didn't let us know about having a problem with the blower motor after you left I'm not sure what the short was. I am aware that last year you had many burnt wires that we repaired. Remember that we have a 12 month 12.000 mile warranty with every service but unfortunately if you don't let us know of a problem, we can't fix it. When you picked up your vehicle last month everything was in good working order which leads me to believe that your short was in fact another problem, or the blower motor installed would not have worked for us. I also don't know why you waited a month to let us know of this problem. I called and left you a message, and do hope we can speak to resolve this situation.


DH
Doug H.
Kentucky
Jeep Wrangler
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/07/2016 Category: Service
Doug said this business did nothing to resolve his problem. He is still having the same issue.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/07/2016 Category: Service
Doug said the people were nice and friendly at this business but he wasn't happy with the service. He had to pay $50 and they didn't do what needed to be done right. They were supposed to put a cable on that he provided and they didn't adjust it right when they put it on his vehicle.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
5 Star S. from 5 Star Auto Repair & Exhaust Of Lexington responded on 10/11/2016

I called Doug and reminded him that we put in his cable as requested, that his old cable was broken and held in by jb weld and hose clamps, and his jeep was missing the throttle return spring and bracket, so that is why the job was not able to be done completely correctly, due to the missing parts he did not have and the condition of the jeep. We will happily replace the parts missing if the customer so desires to make everything as it should.

5 Star S. from 5 Star Auto Repair & Exhaust Of Lexington responded on 10/18/2016

How does our rating goes from 2 out of 5 to 1 out of 5 after I reach out to the customer to see how we can resolve the situation?  Again, I let the customer know that we would gladly repair his vehicle correctly if either he brings us the parts it is missing or he lets us supply them. Unfortunately we are not miracle workers and cannot perform to perfection with an imperfect situation.


DB
DANNY B.
Lexington, KY
Jeep Grand Cherokee
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/25/2016
Bad experience for no reason.
I brought my Jeep in to have a check brakes dash indicator. $75 later the mechanic banged around on my brakes and I have a click and clunk noise and a pitiful explanation. I won't be back.
5 Star S. from 5 Star Auto Repair & Exhaust Of Lexington responded on 08/25/2016

Danny,
I am so sorry about your experience! I have called and left you a detailed message and want to remedy this situation as soon as possible. Please call me back so we can make this right. We want all of our customers to be satisfied and can't do that if we don't know that there is a problem so contact me as soon as possible.


DS
DORISA S.
Lexington, KY
Chrysler PT Cruiser
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/06/2016
Dorisa Slaughter's PT Cruiser 2007
I am giving this $2,000 car repair job on my PT Cruiser a poor rating. The mechanics admitted not having the knowledge/training to work on PT Cruisers after they tried to repair the problems; however, this was not disclosed to me beforehand. All of the problems they repaired were ineffectively done and had to be repaired again. I had to return 3 times for them to redo their work and my Satelite Radio (unplugged by mechanic) still doesn't work. I am putting this review on their web page so folks won't be misled and will also submit a review to the Better Business Bureau. I am also sending an email to my fellow KCTCS co-workers warning them not to get their cars repaired at this particular repair shop. If I need further redoes, I will discuss disputing the charges with my bank. I will never ever return to the shop to even have a skate board repaired. Very, very disappointed and let down. If you need car repairs, see the repair shop up the street from this one so you won't be ripped off.
5 Star S. from 5 Star Auto Repair & Exhaust Of Lexington responded on 07/07/2016

Dorisa,
 I am sorry you feel this way. When you car came to us it was not running and was towed in. We replaced the timing belt and got the vehicle running. We are very familiar with PT Cruisers and are very qualified to work on them. My tech stated he didn't know a lot about the satelite radio. He wasn't talking about not knowing about PT cruisers. The problem you had to come back for is in the ignition switch. We replaced it and the pigtail. I showed your husband what was going on with it. It was nothing we done wrong, but was a defective part. We raplaced it and you had to come back again due to the part being defective. I looked at it today and we replaced it with a different brand from a different parts store. I know it is a hassle having to come back and I hate that. We never want a customer to have to come back or to be unhappy. I can not help if I get bad parts. I am not trying to make excuses but that is something that is completely out of my control. I talked to your husband and you all know me well enough that I will bend over backwards to try to do anything I can to make you happy. I gave him 2 free oil changes for having to come back dur to defective parts. That is also why I personally took him out and showed him exactly what was going on with your vehicle. I really appreciate you all trusting us with your vehicle and I will always try to make sure you are happy and satisfied. We do unfortuntely run into new parts being bad. I realize it is a hassle for you as it is for us also. I can promise you I don't like answering ratings like this. You all have known me for quite awhile and I hope I have built trust with you all that we can keep a good relationship. Anytime you have a problem my phone line is always open for you to call me and I will take care of the problem. You should always be able to get in touch with me at 231-5750 or 744-4054.  I talked to your husband for awhile today and hopefully we have everything fixed and good to go for you. If you have any questions or want to bend my ear please give me a call. Most defiantly if you are still unhappy please call me so we can get together and work this out.

Thank you
Dean Bartholow
Area Manager
5 Star Exhaust
859-231-5750
859-744-4054


CL
Clayton L.
Lexington, KY
Porsche Boxster
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
04/19/2016 Category: Service
Clayton said they took his vehicle on a test drive and he thinks they drove it pretty hard because the temperature gauge was up more than normal. They told him nothing was wrong with it after they test drove it. He would not recommend for reasons stated.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Dean B., Area Manager from 5 Star Auto Repair & Exhaust Of Lexington responded on 04/21/2016

Clayton
 I am sorry you feel this way. My technician did not do a full test drive. He pulled your car around to our back bays. You were complaining about an exhaust noise. He racked your car and left it running while it was up in the air to see if he could hear anything underneath. He did not hear anything. He pulled your car back around front and went on a test drive with you driving and he said that you drove the car pretty hard, harder than he would drive anyones car. He did not tell you there was nothing wrong with your car. He said that he did not see anything physically wrong with your car, but if the tone was different it may have a baffle coming apart in your muffler. I am sorry that we didn't find anything at the present time but we are not one of the shops that is going to tell you you need to replace something that you don't need. We do not know what your vehicle sounded like before it was making the noise to compare it to what we heard. We did not hear any rattles only the tone of the exhaust. If it is louder than it used to be then yes the tech is correct, you may have a baffle coming apart. We can not see thru metal to be able to tell for sure. We did not charge you for looking at it, racking it or test driving with you. I think that everything we did was on the up and up and you were treated very well.  Most people get more upset when we have to tell them there vehicle needs several hundred dollars worth of work, not when we tell them there is nothing that needs addressed at this time.


Dean Bartholow
Area Manager
859-231-5750
859-744-4054


DN
DAVID N.
Lexington, KY
Toyota Tacoma
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
04/18/2016
replace the clutch, throw out bearing and pilot bearing
The clutch was replaced 4 years ago and the throw out bearing was making noise. 5 Star was able to warranty the clutch kit and I paid for the labor. Roughly one week later the throw out bearing is making the same noise and they have to redo the clutch installation. A similar noise is occurring however it may be the water pump. Disappointing as this has been the case with 5 star on major repairs - the vehicle o=is brought back several times until it is fixed.
5 Star S. from 5 Star Auto Repair & Exhaust Of Lexington responded on 04/18/2016

David and I spoke Monday morning and he let me know that he had dropped his vehicle off at a shop closer to his work to have the timing and water pump replaced. I let him know that we felt terrible that the clutch had failed after we had warrantied it out and that is why we had installed a throw out bearing from the dealer free of charge, to prevent any further clutch problems. We feel that we did do everything possible to remedy the situation by warranting a part 4 years after the fact and installing for free a dealer item. We look foreward to hearing from David after the timing and water pump replacement as he promised to let us know if that takes care of all of his noise.


RN
Rachel N.
Lexington, KY
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/30/2016
They stole items from my car.
Went in to get my brakes replaced in Jan. Upon inspection they gave me a list of things my vehicle . So on zmarch 11th I came back to have some of the repairs done. They replaced my water pump. Everything seemed fine. On march 18th I went to get in my car and noticed I had an extreme leak coming from my radiator. I called them and there were closed soon monsay march 21st I took it to them and them. They told told me it was ready to pick up. They said had to replace the o ring for the radiator drain plug. They didn't charge me and Elliane told me sorry things happen and I left. That should have been a red flag for me right there. Why were they sorry? Any way on march 29th go to get in my vehicle same leak as before I call them ask If i can bring in the morning they say sure. Drop it off on march 30th . Chris calls me a while later and tells me I need a whole new radiator. I tell him you know what Im coming to get it and I take it somewhere else. I get down yhere and chris can't really tell my why I needed a new other than things happen. I leave. I get across the street and realize my car phine charger is gone and my auxiliary cord is gone so I turn around and go back. They reveiw the cameras and no one but their employees entered my car. Im overwhelmed and upset so I leave and my husband stays and speaks to them they eventually give him a 20 dollar check for my missing property. So absolutely disatisfied and violated. I will never recommend them.
5 Star S. from 5 Star Auto Repair & Exhaust Of Lexington responded on 03/31/2016

On January 18 Rachel came in for a brake check and we did a thorough check and one of the things we noticed was that the water pump was leaking. Rachel brought it back on March 11 and we replaced the water pump and thermostat among a few other items she needed. She came back on March 21 due to a coolant leak and the technician found the radiator drain plug was leaking, which we replaced free of charge.  On March 30 she returned due to a coolant leak, and after performing a coolant pressure test- free of charge, it was noted that the radiator was seeping. Rachel was informed that in a coolant system after replacing one component, sometimes the vehicle being under the correct pressure once again will find the next weakest spot and another component will begin to leak. It is a 13 year old van with 148,000 miles on it. Unfortunately components over time are going to break down, this is natural wear and tear. Chris and I both informed her of this.  She left and came back stating that her phone charger and auxilliary cord was stolen. We have no idea if these items were in the vehicle when it was pulled in the shop.  Chris proceeded to spend an hour going over the cameras with her husband. Only the same technician that has always worked on her vehicle had entered and exited the vehicle. This individual has worked here over 8 years and we have never had a problem with him stealing nor would he risk his job for a phone charger and auxillary cord. I told them both this and that I stand by my tech. She proceeded to say that I was then calling her a liar, and left. To try and appease the couple I offered the husband 20 dollars and informed him I was in no way admitting guilt, but I wanted them to leave in a better mood. He was understanding and accepted my offer. We feel bad that they had that experience, have never had any problems with them in the past, and hope that they can come to see that we are a reputable shop that works hard to serve our customers and take care of their vehicles.


AG
Abitha G.
Kentucky
BMW X5
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/20/2016 Category: Service
Abitha said she is highly disappointed with this business. When the vehicle was brought back for repairs it was not fixed properly and is still leaking. She said she is not happy.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
01/20/2016 Category: Service
Abitha said they are experiencing the same problem 3 months after the repair was made by this business. She has called them but has not received a call back.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Dean B., Area Manager from 5 Star Auto Repair & Exhaust Of Lexington responded on 01/25/2016

Abitha,
 I am sorry you are having problems, but you aren't having the same problem that you came in with. When you brought your vehicle to us it had to be towed in due to a blown motor. We give you the option of purchasing a remanned motor with a 3 year unlimited mile warranty or a used motor that carries a 30 day warranty from the junkyard. You decided on the used motor. We installed the used motor and you have been driving it. When you came back 3 months later with a leak, we checked it and found that the valve cover gaskets are leaking oil. I would not consider this the same problem as 3 months previous. When we purchase a used motor from the junkyard the valve covers are on the motor and we do not remove them. They are part of the motor. I am sorry you are having a problem with that. If you will come back by our Winchester store we will help you out on the labor side of the repair.

Thank you
Dean Bartholow
Area Manager

Dean B., Area Manager from 5 Star Auto Repair & Exhaust Of Lexington responded on 01/29/2016

Abitha we fixed the oil leak you had. It is not leaking. When you brought it in for the oil leak we topped off all your fluids. Your washer fluid was completley empty. We filled it up. You are telling us over the phone that something is leaking that is blue. That is most likely your washer fluid. It is blue. Oil is not blue. We have asked you to bring it back to let us look but you haven't.  We can't tell what it is over the phone but the only blue fluid in your vehicle is washer fluid we put in as a courtesy. You purchased a used engine. You keep saying you are coming back for the same problem. None of the problems you have talked about are the same problem. We fixed a transmission leak for free that has nothing to do with the engine we installed. We fixed the oil leak out of warranty for cost of parts. You all have been rude to my employees and keep finding things wrong with your vehicle that have nothing to do with the job we have done. If you want a new vehicle you would need to trade that one in on a new vehicle. The reciept plainly stated that it was a used engine with a 30 day warranty. You were also told that in the beginning when we told you it was best to go with a new motor. You chose to go with the used engine after we explained all the risk of a used engine to you. We also told you what the difference was in the warranties. You are not telling the truth on these articles when you do them. I hope you know that that is defamation of charactor.

You can reach me at 744-4054 or 231-5750
Dean
Area Manager


LV
LYNN V.
Lexington, KY
Nissan Sentra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/29/2015
5 trips
Came to Five Star with an antifreeze leak and overheating engine. They replaced the radiator and hoses. Returned 4 times with the same problem. They did minor adjustments then a new water pump. The water pump had been replaced the month before by a different garage. They gave me parts free but charged me labot. Finally this last time they replaced the radiator free of charge. I really hope that this fixes the problem. Five times for one problem is really ridiculous. I will never come back.
5 Star S. from 5 Star Auto Repair & Exhaust Of Lexington responded on 10/30/2015

The first time the customer brough her vehicle in for a coolant related problem was 10-30-2014 and requested a thermostat replacement saying that another shop had told her that thermostat is bad, we replaced it per customer request. On 6-9-2015 customer came in complaining of overheating, found radiator was leaking, replaced radiator and both hoses that were soft, returned in 8-18-2015 for a coolant leak, we installed new hose clamps , topped off fluids and performed a pressure test for free, all checked out well, on 9-9-2015 we replaced her radiator cap. On 9-18-2015 customer returned for a coolant leak, water pump was leaking, we received ok to do work and once we were almost done customer informed us they were going to take it back to the other shop that had done the water pump previously, since we were almost done we warrantied pump as a loss to ourselves and only charged labor time to the customer. At this time we also warrantied the thermostat. On 10-27-2015 customer returned and reequested we replace the radiator which we warrantied out, although no leaks were found. At this time it was noted that someone had messed with the radiator since the last time we had installed it since the transmission cooler lines that connect to the radiator were smashed, the radiator had mismatched bolts and was also missing bolts. The technician replaced these. I feel that we have worked with her throughout various circumstances and problems. While it is true that these have all been cooling system problems, they have been individual in nature and in no way neglect by shop or owner. Unfortunately it is common that when one part of a system fails, once the system is again working under full pressure it will look for the next weakest spot, which is what appears to have happened to her 2003 Sentra. We value her business and the relationship we have had with her over the years and hope that she will reconsider her rating of our services and continue to work with us in the future.

Dean B., Area Manager from 5 Star Auto Repair & Exhaust Of Lexington responded on 11/02/2015

Lynn,
 We ahave tried to get in contact with you over the problems with your cooling system. We have not heard from you. I want to make sure that you are satisfied with our shop and the repairs to your vehicle. Please let me know what I can do to help in this situation. Our goal at 5 Star is customer satisfaction. I will do everything I can to help you and make sure you are happy. Please call me at your earliest convienance.

Thank you
Dean
Area Manager
859-231-5750
859-744-4054


PW
PAM W.
Lexington, KY
Chevrolet Tahoe
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/26/2015
Thank you
Thanks for everyone who contact me to help me understand was was going on.

Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/26/2015
There needs to be more parking.
I got a back compressor fix and they didnt bother ro check the front. So with that being said I had to spend $400 in two weeks, just because they dont check almost everything that goes with what they fix.
5 Star S. from 5 Star Auto Repair & Exhaust Of Lexington responded on 10/06/2015

I contacted Pam since I was confused at her rating. When she picked up her vehicle she was delighted as we had saved her over 600$ being that at first we thought the a/c compressor was going out but after removing the belt and tensioner we found that the tensioner was bad, it was visually ok, but tension was not holding onto the  belt well causing it to slip. The week prior we had replaced the rear blower motor and the front blower motor resistor. These three problems are non related parts, located in different areas of the vehicle. It is hoped that the customer sees that we did her a service in being honest and only fixing what was wrong, instead of doing a whole a/c compressor kit and charging her for parts that she did not need. When I spoke to Pam she also mentioned brake noise and I informed her that her rear brakes were still under warranty and if that was the problem we could replace them free of charge, but that we had never done front brakes here. She said she would let me know.

Dean B., Area Manager from 5 Star Auto Repair & Exhaust Of Lexington responded on 11/02/2015

Pam,
 After talking to Elaine you said you understood the mis-communication and everything was ok. She had sent a request for a re-score and to make sure you were happy. We have not heard from you. Can you please give Elaine a call? We want to make sure you are happy with our work. If you are still not happy please let me know what I can do to make you happy.

Thank you
Dean
Area Manager
859-231-5750
859-744-4054


Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 712 in total