Riley & Sons Collision & Mechanical Specialists


Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5rating 4.9

438 Reviews

99% Would Recommend
Latest Review 19 days ago
Robin H. on 03/31/2017
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
Robin said she had this business replace a starter for her since she could not get to it. She is not happy with the price she was charged for the repair. A starter for that vehicle should cost $70. This business charged her $192 for the starter and that was way too much. It does not take that long to install a starter. She watched the video and it only takes 3 minutes. They overcharged her for the oil pan gasket. She ended up paying close to $500 for a starter.
Vehicle: Pontiac G6
Category: Service
Service Date: 03/27/2017
Review Created: 03/31/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
David D. at Riley & Sons Collision & Mechanical Specialists responded on 04/04/2017

Robin: I am very sorry that you were not please.  I did review your file and I was glad to find that our service writer did communicate the price to you before the repairs were started and that you did approve the repair.  Please know if you ever have questions about pricing we can provide other options.  If the service writer would have known that you were looking for a lower price we could have priced you a USED part instead of a new one.  However, in most cases with starters a used option is not recommended.  Also, I assure you that it takes way more than 3 minutes to install a started on your vehicle.  I also saw that your total bill covered not only the started but the repair of an oil/trans leak.  It is always our goal that every customer leaves satisfied, when that does not happen we take it very seriously.

Peggy D. on 03/15/2017
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
Spoke with Peggy's husband. He said he is very upset at the fact that he was given a price and after the work it was a lot more. They said they forgot to add something. He spoke with the manager and he is still upset. He will not recommend this facility because that was not fair.
Vehicle: Pontiac Montana SV6
Category: Service
Service Date: 03/06/2017
Review Created: 03/15/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
David D. at Riley & Sons Collision & Mechanical Specialists responded on 03/20/2017

I am very sorry that you were not satisfied.  I know my staff had quoted you around $42 for a synthetic oil change, and when your husband came in he added a tire rotation.  The addition cost was for the tire rotation that he added on.  I was glad to see that my that my customer service rep gave an additional $10 off when your concern was voiced.  It is always goal that our customer leave 100% satisfied. 

Ron D. on 02/22/2016
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
"Very average and mediocre"
Had my 3 month old vehicle repaired at the New Castle location, while it was in the process of transitioning from Smiley's Body shop to Riley and Sons. The first repair was a joke...blotchy paint, overspray etc. I can't believe they actually gave the car back to me. They repainted everything they touched, it was better but still just an average job. Still mottled and inconsistent. Unfortunately I just have to accept it now, because the shop seems to not have the ability to improve or understand what the problem is with the paint process.
Service Date: 10/26/2015
Review Created: 02/22/2016 06:31 AM
David D. at Riley & Sons Collision & Mechanical Specialists responded on 02/26/2016

Ron, I am sorry that the repairs were not to your satisfaction. I have left you two messages in an effort to resolve any issues, but have been unable to reach you.  I know your vehicle was originally repaired under the other ownership; however, Riley & Sons as the new owner is more than glad to try to resolve your concerns.  Please feel free to contact me at my office at 765-649-4902 or you can email me at gm@rileyandsons.com.  It is our goal that our customers leave 100% satisfied. I hope you allow me the opportunity to address these items.  Dave Driggers Co-Owner

Jason B. on 09/13/2013
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
Jason said the service visit took an hour and a half. He said he had to ask the receptionist to check on his vehicle to make sure there was nothing wrong. He waited 15 more minutes for his vehicle to be brought out to him. He would not recommend this business based on this experience.
Vehicle: Ford Ranger
Category: Service
Service Date: 09/03/2013
Review Created: 09/13/2013
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
David D. at Riley & Sons Collision & Mechanical Specialists responded on 09/21/2013

Jason: We apologize for your extended wait when you were at our facility. Unfortunately the day you were here we were running a little behind schedule. It is always our goal to deliver Gold Class service, and when we fail to do so we try to make it right. Even though you were not charge for the services you received that day we are also willing to give you your next oil change at a 50% discount. I hope that this small token will indicate to you, that when we do make a mistake, or fail to meet the customer’s expectation, we do whatever we can to make it right.

Michelle A. on 05/18/2013
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
"Not that good"
they couldn't figure out problem, when the issue was very obvious.
Vehicle: Saturn SC2
Service Date: 05/16/2013
Review Created: 05/18/2013 08:06 AM
David D. at Riley & Sons Collision & Mechanical Specialists responded on 05/22/2013
Ms. Michelle A, We apologize we were not able to duplicate the rough running condition that you sometimes experience. Our technician put approximately 72 miles in the test driving of your vehicle with out a performance failure or even tripping any engine lights or codes. Intermitted problems can be very frustrating for the customer as well as for the technician trying to diagnose the problem. I hope you could agree that it was in your best interest that we did not make any recommendations to have any parts replaced or repaired since nothing has proven faulty at this time. As you were previously informed, please stop by any time if the vehicle problem reoccurs so we can observe your concern. I assure you, we will help in any way possible, and I hope that we have proven that with having not charge for any of the time we have already spent on your vehicle. Thank you for your feedback, and the opportunity to help resolve your concerns; we look forward to addressing any future needs you may have.
Jessica W. on 12/30/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Spoke with James. He said there were no problems. His vehicle was serviced and ready for pick up, within the same day.
Vehicle: Dodge Avenger
Category: Service
Service Date: 12/26/2017
Review Created: 12/30/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Michael D. on 12/22/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Michael said the staff was responsive to his questions, and quick at fixing the problem.
Vehicle: Honda Fit
Category: Service
Service Date: 12/15/2017
Review Created: 12/22/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Bryan R. on 12/22/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Bryan said this facility has great customer service.
Vehicle: Chevrolet Captiva Sport Fleet
Category: Service
Service Date: 12/19/2017
Review Created: 12/22/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Joanne W. on 12/21/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Joanne stated she has been taking her vehicle to this business for 20 years and she wouldn't think of taking it anywhere else. They were super and very attentive.
Vehicle: Chrysler 300M
Category: Service
Service Date: 12/13/2017
Review Created: 12/21/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Marlene N. on 12/20/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Marlene said she was pleased with everything. The service took a bit longer than expected but the outcome was good.
Vehicle: Volvo S60
Category: Service
Service Date: 12/08/2017
Review Created: 12/20/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Josh W. on 12/12/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Josh said the service was really good. He has had no problems.
Vehicle: Chevrolet Pickup
Category: Service
Service Date: 11/28/2017
Review Created: 12/12/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Debbie D. on 12/07/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Debbie said the service was awesome. The business took great care of her vehicle.
Vehicle: Oldsmobile Alero
Category: Service
Service Date: 12/06/2017
Review Created: 12/07/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Gordon G. on 12/04/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Gordon said he liked the quality of service.
Vehicle: Jeep Renegade
Category: Service
Service Date: 11/28/2017
Review Created: 12/04/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Benny B. on 11/25/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Benny said the staff were on top of it and no one was just standing around. Everyone was friendly and efficient.
Vehicle: Dodge Pickup
Category: Service
Service Date: 11/20/2017
Review Created: 11/25/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Glenn G. on 10/30/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Glenn said the service was costly, but the facility treated him right.
Vehicle: Pontiac Vibe
Category: Service
Service Date: 10/05/2017
Review Created: 10/30/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Bill W. on 10/28/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Bill said this business provided good quality work on his vehicle.
Vehicle: Chevrolet Silverado 1500
Category: Service
Service Date: 10/27/2017
Review Created: 10/28/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Clint C. on 10/26/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Clint said he has been going to the business for a long time. They have done great work on both his vehicle and his family's vehicles.
Vehicle: Ford Mustang
Category: Service
Service Date: 10/11/2017
Review Created: 10/26/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Shelly S. on 10/16/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Shelly said the staff were honest and they did a good job.
Vehicle: Chevrolet Impala
Category: Service
Service Date: 10/10/2017
Review Created: 10/16/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Pamala F. on 10/12/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"They worked on problem till it was fixed."
Had a few issues with my truck and Jeff at the shop explained everything to me and let me know it would take a little time because we had some wiring issues but assured me they would get if fixed. After another shop had replaced a couple parts it was just some wiring issues that needed repaired. Riley and Sons should have been my first place to go. Thank you for fixing my truck at a very good price.
Vehicle: Ford Explorer
Service Date: 10/11/2017
Review Created: 10/12/2017 04:41 AM
Tim S. on 10/09/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Tim said the staff did a great job, and he got the vehicle back cleaner than it was when he sent it to them.
Vehicle: Chevrolet Colorado
Category: Service
Service Date: 10/03/2017
Review Created: 10/09/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 438 in total