ReScore Reviews™ (2)
They did their big diagnostic... topped off AC and said the skip was because the transmission had too much fluid and it was the "wrong color". So... they topped off AC - said I should replace compressor at some point ($450-500 estimate), drained/refilled Transmission twice and handed me a bill for $450.
Next day - it car was skipping worse than when I dropped it off. They took it in - called me back and said I needed a new transmission (only $3,500)... I asked if there was going to be any refund/adjustment for the $450.... They said no - all work they charged for was done. No mention of discounting new transmission or AC compressor if I did the work.
I did declined. Took car to another repair shop - they confirmed transmission problem (rebuilt for $2,300)... didn't see problem w/ AC... and ran another diagnostic (didn't charge as a separate line item).
Disappointed - I understand things happen... but for me... I can't trust Lex's for honest/fair work going forward.
We are very sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your last visit. You are important to us and work very hard to earn your continued trust.
We recommended performing the transmission fluid service first to see if it would improve the 3/4 gear shudder based on the poor condition of the fluid before incurring the cost of the transmission replacement. It was explained to you that we could not guarantee an improvement. When the service didn't make a difference, we provided an estimate for replacing the transmission with a remanufactured transmission which provides a 36month /100,000 mile warranty while most local rebuilt units only offer a 12 month/ 12,000mi. warranty. It is understood that the vehicle is still driveable and the transmission does not need to be replaced immediately.
I'd love an opportunity to talk to you about this to see if we can help you with this if you have not had the unit rebuilt already.
Sincerely, Tanya Lex (941)723-0806 x3
Your Silverado alignment was definitely a chore to correct with the 7" suspension lift & offset wheels you just installed. We apologize that we had to make corrections to re center the steering wheel but thought you understood why the truck still has a drift/pull. The offset on the wheels cause the vehicle to drift and that we did make compensations to the alignment in order to help minimize it. The best way is to have the original wheels on the truck after the lift was installed and you could see that the vehicle drove straight before installing the offset wheels that will cause a drift. Although with any suspension lift you will also change the driving and turning conditions of the vehicle too. Please feel free to contact me with any questions. Tanya Lex (941)723-0806
We apologize your visit did not meet your expectations. We strive to please our customers and make them aware of every step during repairs along with estimates. Your visit was a simple service and we did advised you of pricing for services before we began working on your vehicle. Unfortunately synthetic oil can be pricey along with some newer vehicles that have oil filters that are less accessible. We do have vouchers for a $15.00 rebate on the Kendall oil or online at BackatChaRebate.com if you didn't recieve one. Once again, we apologize that the price did not meet your expectations and hope to earn your business again in the near future.
Brought it back in with an additional request for an oil change, which seemed expensive compared to dealers shops. Informed there is now a transmission problem which was not earlier identified and with the same noise that was exhibited at earlier service call.
Estimated repairs are High costs. This condition was evident when I had car in previously and it would have been nice to have had it addressed earlier.
I'm not sure I could recommend or not at this time, so have to click No for recommend.
Mike, thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience with us. I’m sorry to hear you’re disappointed and want to review the order of events to make sure we’re on the same page. You initially brought your vehicle in on January 6th with only a rough running complaint. We diagnosed your concern and determined your vehicle was in desperate need of spark plugs, ignition wires, and an air induction service to clean carbon build-up in the engine.
In an effort to provide superior service, we visually inspected your vehicle for any other issues you should be aware of. We found your fluids overdue for service, a coolant leak as the system was low and a bubble in the sidewall on the right front tire due to something impacting the tire (pothole or curb most likely). Based on the age and mileage of the vehicle, and the issues this transaxle has, we recommended not servicing the transaxle because we felt it could cause more harm than good.We did recommend servicing the other 2 fluids and did not note any evident noises. Spotting the two issues we did address saved you from overheating your engine and having a tire blow out while driving. We replaced the coolant elbow and replaced two tires as per our estimate. When we finished with the work, we road tested the vehicle and it ran great!
I thought everything was going great until I got a notification of your review on January 23rd which is the first time I heard anything about a belt noise. I called you and we spoke that you were going to bring it back the following week. On February 24th the vehicle was brought in and we looked into the noise, we found it coming from inside the transaxle which would require rebuilding or replacing the unit which you declined further work at this time. While we hated giving you the bad news, we are always honest and want to help you with any options that are available. If you’re going to keep the vehicle, you’ll need a transaxle. If you’re thinking of replacing the vehicle, now is a great time.
Terry, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. Each and every one helps us to become a better company. Based on the information you have I can certainly understand why you feel the way you do. You're absolutely right, there are cheaper part options out there. As we both know that cheaper doesn't always mean better. While these parts are cheaper, there's a reason for that and the end result is a repair that doesn't last. (the parts you googled were incorrect & didn’t have internal sensors or dual track) The decision we made when we started our business is to provide the very best value we can which means sometimes the repair has an initial higher price but a lower overall cost. And with this part quality, we can provide a 24 Month/24,000 Mile No Hassle Parts & Labor Warranty which is the best in the area. The one thing we did take from your review is to be clearer on any possible diagnostic charges before any work is started.
Thank you, Tanya Lex
Tanya, thank you for your response. I checked the other day on a Nissan OEM parts site and the motor was approx $340 MSRP and the regulator $150. If that is what you paid for the parts then I agree that your markup is reasonable. I don't think there was any misinformation that Neil gave me. I just hadn't mentioned the oil change. Again, thank you for your detailed response and addressing my initial issues. Terry C.
Cheryl came in today and we discussed her vehicle, we refunded her diagnosis charge and ended with a hand shake and a smile. Thank you for your follow up.Tanya Lex
Thank you Joe for your business and for taking the time to leave a review. 5 Stars! Tanya Lex (941)723-0806
Thank you very much for the 5 star review. We appreciate your business and thank you for putting your trust in Lex's Automotive with your family's vehicles. Tanya Lex (941)723-0806
Thank you for taking the time and leaving a review. Your business is greatly appreciated. Tanya Lex (941)723-0806
Thank you for allowing Lex's Automotive to service your vehicle. We are glad you were happy with our services. Thank you for your business. Tanya Lex (941)723-0806
Thank you John for your trust you have placed with us to maintain your van. Have a great summer with your family. Tanya Lex (941)723-0806
Thank you Anne for allowing us to maintain your vehicle and keep you on the road safely. We appreciate the review and your business. Tanya Lex (941)723-0806
Thank you very much for your kind words & 5 star review. We love to hear feedback on how we are performing. We are glad to be of service to you and value you as our customer.Tanya Lex (941)723-0806
Thank you Thomas for taking the time to complete the survey & giving us a 5 STAR rating. Your business is greatly appreciated. Tanya Lex (941)723-0806
Thank you for choosing Lex's Automotive to repair your Ranger last week. We appreciate your business. Tanya Lex (941)723-0806
David, thank you for allowing Lex's Automotive to service your vehicles - it is our pleasure! We are happy that we were able to locate your oil leak before more damage was caused. Thank you for your business and referrals. Tanya Lex (941)723-0806
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your business is greatly appreciated. Our 36month/36,000 mile warranty is a one of a kind warranty in this area. This warranty continues to assist our customer's satisfaction today and many miles down the road which is our #1 goal.Tanya Lex
Lori, thank you for your continued business. Thank you for your 5 Star Review. Tanya Lex (941)723-0806
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Your business is greatly appreciated. Wish we could have seen one more star. Tanya Lex (941)723-0806
We are sorry to see you move away to Texas, hope you enjoy the weather & cusine. Stop by to say hi next time your back in town. Tanya Lex (941)723-0806
Roger, we appreciate doing business with you and happy to hear that your visits to Lex's Automotive are satisfactory.Tanya Lex (941)723-0806
Thank you Roger for allowing us each year to service your vehicle. It has been our pleasure. Tanya Lex (941)723-0806