Overview

Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5rating 4.74

778 Reviews

ReScore Reviews™ (7)

ReScore
Overall Rating 4.85714/5Overall Rating 4.85714/5Overall Rating 4.85714/5Overall Rating 4.85714/5rating 4.85714
Original
Overall Rating 2.14286/5Overall Rating 2.14286/5rating 2.14286rating 2.14286rating 2.14286
95% Would Recommend
100% Business Response
Latest Review 3 months ago

Reviews


TN
Theresa N.
Novato, CA
2012 Hyundai Sonata Hyb
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/19/2018 Category: Service
Unnecessary repairs
He said car was puking oil. Needed all belt replaced. About $1500 worth of work.. Took car for second opinion, mechanic said work not necessary..
BRYAN W E. from Hyundai of Petaluma responded on 07/23/2018

My apologies that your service visit was less than exceptional. It was a plessure speaking with you this morning. Thank you for allowing me the time to go over your last service visit. Contact me when your schedule allows it so we can get your vehicle in the shop and go over it together.

Sincerely,
Nick Giannone
Service Manager
Hyundai of Petaluma


ST
Sabrina T.
Penngrove, CA
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe S
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/30/2017 Category: Service
Revision
The general manager of Petaluma Hyundai reached out to me personally to discuss my recent visit. I felt that Josh really heard what I had to say, he listened to my experience, and was apologetic. He ensured me that action will be taken to avoid future instances such as the one I went through. Because of his great customer service and willingness to work with me I have decided to give them another chance. It’s nice to see that Josh puts his customers first above all else. Thank you for hearing me and for your support.

Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/30/2017 Category: Service
Poor communication in all ways
I paid for a service I did not receive. My tires were not rotated. Had to come in a second time to get the service completed. The service department failed to communicate the current state of my vehicle, in fact gave me false information. The first appointment they told me to my face that my tires were in “great” condition. When I came in a second time, all of a sudden I need two tires replaced on my next scheduled appointment for oil change/tire rotation. How is that possible? One day the tires are quote “great” the next day I need to replace tires.
The recipt records Hyundai provides also gives zero information regarding the current state of your vehicle. It states what was done, and that’s it. Doesn’t rate your tire condition or provide any detailed information on anything else at all. How can a customer keep proper and accurate information on their vehicle if the records don’t give any information? And how would they know when they’ll need future maintenance if they can’t properly gage the condition of their vehicle. Hyundai Petaluma needs a series upgrade in all of their communication channels to their customers.
Nick G., Service Manager from Hyundai of Petaluma responded on 01/02/2018

Hi Sabrina,
Im sorry to hear your visit was less than exemplary. I would like the opportunity to resolve your concerns and gain your trust back with our store. Please contact me at 707-765-1900

Sincerely,
Nick Giannone
Service Manager
707-765-1900

AA
Ariana A.
Santa Rosa, CA
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/02/2017
Thanks for your "courtesy check"
After you checked my running lights, now my left turn signal is out and that was not out before it was dropped off this morning. You guys also washed my vehicle and knocked off a whole chrome strip down the side and you "can't find it" and will not replace it. Thanks for your awful service I am now getting in contact with my lawyer. Every time my car leaves your dealership it is worse than when it came in.

SM
Scott M.
Santa Rosa, CA
2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybr
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/06/2017 Category: Service
Great service! - FIVE STARS
My one star rating should be a five star rating, the disadvantage of working on a "smart" phone.

I have been servicing my Hyundai vehicles in Petaluma for 4+ years. Every experience at Petaluma Hyundai has been exceptional. My last visit was to locate and fix a rattle on my brand new Ioniq.

It turned out to be a simple fix with the cargo net. I was provided a loaner car and a no charge for the visit. I can't ask for more than that!
Nick G., Service Manager from Hyundai of Petaluma responded on 06/06/2017

Thank for taking the time to respond to the survey. You are correct your Ioniq was not serviced. This was in regards to the rattle noise that was occuring from the rear of your vehicle the day after you purchased your vehicle. We had isolated the rattle to your rear cargo net and resolved the concern. If my records are incorrect please contact me at your earliest convenience. I apologize for the confusion. My direct line is 707-779-2494

Sincerely

Nick Giannone
Service Manager
707-765-1900

Verified Customer
Petaluma, CA
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/11/2017 Category: Service
Irresponsible Customer Service
I called the service department 4 times to make a service appointment. I left 4 messages, and NEVER got a call back. On the 5th try, someone answered the phone and I was able to make a service appointment. That is bad customer service. I will give them another try but if this happens again, I will find a different place to take my car.
Nick G., Service Manager from Hyundai of Petaluma responded on 05/17/2017

Sorry to hear your service expierence was less than exemplary. I've already spoken with my service staff and made the needed adjustments to prevent this from occuring again. For your next service visit, you may email me directly to ensure prompt appointment scheduling on a day that is convenient for you.
nickg@petalumahyundai.com

Sincerely,

Nick Giannone
Service Manager
707-765-1900

RA
Robert A.
San Rafael, CA
2007 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/28/2017 Category: Service
Terrible
My appointment was scheduled at 9 am. My car was released to me at 1pm.

It was a simple matter of inspecting the warning light and horn that was sounding spontaneously in the early morning hours.
I will not be returning. The former servicing agent, Auto World, did a superior job.

SS
Silvia S.
Rohnert Park, CA
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/18/2016 Category: Service

Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/18/2016 Category: Service
Excellent Service. Nick emailed me right away with my concern and know I am sch to bring in my car on Monday. Great customer service. ***** five starts for sure.
Excellent Service. Nick emailed me right away with my concern and know I am sch to bring in my car on Monday. Great customer service. ***** five starts for sure.
Nick G., Service Manager from Hyundai of Petaluma responded on 10/21/2016

Hi Slivia,
I apologize for the unfortunate leak on your a/c compressor,
I would be happy to submit a PA request for a Hyundai Goodwill
repair. Please contact us and we can schedule you an appointment to start the Prior Approval process
Sincerely
Nick Giannone
Hyundai of Petaluma


JF
Jeanne F.
Larkspur, CA
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hyb
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/20/2016 Category: Service
Poor service from booking to payment
As a first time customer to your service center on a vehicle I purchased from you in July I am severally disappointed in the level of customer service I received from start to finish:
1. Scheduling an appointment online I was offered a “rewards program”, which I signed up for only to find that my vehicle was registered to someone else, presumably the first owner and the VIN was never cleared at the dealership- so stated he CS at the rewards program.
2. Once item 1 was cleared up, I registered and then made an appointment on line. Have to rescheduled the appointment I found no was to do so online, so I called the number on my confirmation – which is not your number and was informed when the line was answered that “this happens all the time, but it’s not Hyundai’s number” yes its listed on your confirmation.
3. I then tried to call your dealership and ask for service as I wanted to let them know that as I couldn’t reschedule or cancel an appointment online, I had made a new one and wanted to let them know the other appointment time was open; I was transferred to service and went right to voicemail, I called back and explained that I needed to let someone know about the appointment change as it was 24 hours away and I wanted someone to know (I thought I was doing you a curtesy) I was once again transfer and went straight to voicemail. I called back a third time and being transferred right to voicemail left a message to call me – that was Thursday 9/15 to day I have yet to receive a call back.
4. I called late Thursday and spoke to someone on the sales floor and he checked to make sure my rescheduled appointment was okay and left word that that original time was open. I asked the cost of the oil change, and how long it would take – he has no answers,
5. I arrived for my appointment, the very friendly young women welcomed me but could not tell me how long it would take, exactly how much it would cost, why I should use synthetic and when I asked about the reward program she stated she had no idea.,
6. I waited while my service was done which took one hour and 45 minutes which seems long for an oil change and this was an 8:30 appointment so you were busy yet.
7. Upon checking out I again asked the young women, she still had no idea and walked me to the cashier to pay.
8. As soon as I walked up the phone rang and the cashier took the call and preceded to make me and the gentleman who walked up behind m wait while she walked through what seemed to be a very confusing call for her rather than ask the caller to hold or that she would call her back as she had a line in front of her waiting to check out. I again asked about the rewards program and was again told I have no idea. I asked if the services were captured automatically and she stated she didn’t know and said she would get me someone who could answer my questions. Enter the young woman who couldn’t answer the question the two times I asked her.

All in all are any of these life shattering, no. As a completely unsatisfactory front facing customer service experience, yes is was. I believe in keeping my car serviced at the Dealer and I am happy to drive the extra distance as I live in Marin to do this but this sort of service or lack of is disturbing and makes me question if I will ever bring my car back to Petaluma for service. If it were any one of these incidents I would take it in stride, with disappointment at each step it’s a bit much to overcome.
As a new owner of a Hyundai and one who is thoroughly enjoying her car and happy to recommend it to friends, family and colleagues I can’t recommend the service center.
Kat B. from Hyundai of Petaluma responded on 09/28/2016

Good morning Jeanne , 

     Hope your doing well. I did some research on the Hyundai points.It looks like your car is not registered for the rewards. I have the link for you to get your car set up for that.(If you’re already a myHyundai.com member, just log in to your account, click on the Rewards link, and enroll in Hyundai Rewards.myHyundai.com/Rewards or Hyundai-Rewards.com. Then, click on the Rewards link and enroll in Hyundai Rewards.) I will also send the link that talks about how the points work. (https://hyundai-rewards.com/Rules) I really hope this was helpful. It was to me. Have a beautiful day and enjoy.Please feel free to call me or respond to this email with any further questions . (707-765-1900)
Kat Barry, Service Advisor
 Hyundai Petaluma.  


SS
Steven S.
Petaluma, CA
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/27/2016 Category: Service
They are incompetent.
Every time the Petaluma Service Center touches the car, they fix one problem and create another. Each time they refuse to acknowledge they were responsible even though the new problem always occurs in the vicinity of the old one. The costs to fix the new problem are always exorbitant. Avoid this dealership.
Randy T., service director from Hyundai of Petaluma responded on 08/09/2016

Hi Steve,
Sorry for the disatifaction, currently attempting to get a goodwill gesture from hyundai for approval on your spiral cable and cruise control concern.

Nick Giannone
service director
707-765-1900


Verified Customer
Rohnert Park, CA
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/24/2016 Category: Service
Mediocre at best
Check in time was exceptionally long. Was told someone would check in to give me a cost estimate within an hour-I had to wait 3 hours and then call repeatedly myself. Service desk seemed short staffed and rushed. Not professional. The employees were nice and kind, but I don't think the service was worth the high price tag, especially when there are many other service stations in town.

Verified Customer
Guerneville, CA
2008 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
12/20/2018 Category: Service
Petaluma Hyundai service
Seems overpriced.
KIMBERLY R. from Hyundai of Petaluma responded on 12/26/2018

Hello Valued Customer,

Thank you for taking time to submit a review. I'm sorry to see that we have not met your expectations during your last visit. Please feel free to contact my service manager Nick directly so we may discuss some ways that we can improve our level of service. (707)779-2494  We appreciate your business and strive to satisfy our customers at every opportunity. Thank you for taking time to submit a review.  



Best regards,

Kimberly Rangel

Hyundai of Petaluma

SM
Scott M.
Novato, CA
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/31/2018 Category: Service
15k service
upon further review - Hyundai Petaluma actually performed more service items than I thought. In light of the service performed, the price seems to be pretty competitive after all. Based on our follow up discussion, I'll be returning for my next service.

Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/31/2018 Category: Service
Pretty pricey
I guess it's shame on me for thinking a simple oil change service wouldn't be "dealer" expensive.
BRYAN W E. from Hyundai of Petaluma responded on 09/04/2018

Hi Scott,
Thank you for giving me the opportunity to go over your last service appointment. I do apologize for the inconvience that has been brought upon you. If you have any questions or further concerns regarding this matter, please contact me at (707)779-2494.  It was a pleasure speaking with you this morning.

Best regards,
Nick Giannone
Service Manager
Hyundai of Petaluma


MW
Mike W.
Novato, CA
2017 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
04/13/2018 Category: Service
Elantra service 4/8/18
Tire air pressure was supposed to be checked. By law it was supposed to be check. The forms recieved after the service said the pressure was checked and read 36 across the board. I checked the pressure after the servicing. Pressure was 32 -34-33-33. The pressure was clearly not checked. It makes call into question the entire servicing. I was also supposed to have an oil change and the fluids topped off. I'm planning on getting the car looked at by another shop because I'm doubtful these services were performed.

I was also told that the car would be washed and it clearly wasn't.

Verified Customer
San Rafael, CA
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
03/26/2018 Category: Service
Poor technical service
It's shocking that a hyundai service center cannot fix a problem with hyundai car that another private technician was able to fix for lower price and less time.

Verified Customer
San Rafael, CA
2006 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
12/08/2017 Category: Service
2006 Elantra shakes on acceleration around 60mph
Place is good , but problems that expected to be fixed still exists.

SS
Sharon S.
San Rafael, CA
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/28/2017 Category: Service
Unrepairable
Unrepairable

Verified Customer
Windsor, CA
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/28/2017 Category: Service
Update
Thanks for reaching out a making things right.

Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/28/2017 Category: Service
Awful customer service
I was told my car would be ready in 2-3 weeks, I had to call the dealership mulitiple times just to get a hold of a service person. My car ended up taking 7 weeks and then when returned to me it had several problems that it did not have when it was brought in.
margaret f., Customer Relations Manager from Hyundai of Petaluma responded on 08/29/2017

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience at our dealership. I am sorry to hear that we provided you an unsatisfactory service experience during your last visit with us. I would like to apologize that the communication between you and our service advisor was not as frequent as you would have prefered. Please reach out to me if you have any more questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Maggie Fuhrer
Hyundai Petaluma
707-769-7700

Nick G., Service Manager from Hyundai of Petaluma responded on 08/31/2017

Hi Ariana,
I apologize that your service expierence was less than exemplary. I've been informed by my Service Advisor that your having trouble with your fog lights. I would like to diagnosis your fog light issue at no charge as a goodwill gesture. We already have you scheduled for this saturday morning 9/2/17. If you have any other questions or concerns please contact me at 707-765-1900

Nick Giannone
Service Manager
707-765-1900


Verified Customer
Santa Rosa, CA
2012 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/22/2017 Category: Service
Take along time with SCHEDULED APPOINTMENTS !
People are nice but service takes FOREVER even with an appointment! My schedules oil change took over two hours! Bring food and entertainment if you decide to go here!
margaret f., Customer Relations Manager from Hyundai of Petaluma responded on 07/22/2017

On behalf of the Hyundai of Petaluma service department I would like to apologize that your service took longer then expected. It looks like we did a regular oil change and completed 2 campaigns while we had your vehicle in for service, an accurate time estimate would have been about 2 hours to complete all 3 items. The service team will work on providing more accurate servicing times in the future to make sure that these types of inconveniences can be avoided.


Verified Customer
Mill Valley, CA
2013 Hyundai Accent
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/14/2017 Category: Service
NO Communication
There needs to be more communication. It is rediculous to have someones vehicle for numerous days and not follow-up with them or return their calls.
margaret f., Customer Relations Manager from Hyundai of Petaluma responded on 07/14/2017

Thank you for taking the time and filling out our survey. I am really sorry to hear that the service experience was not satisfactory and that there was a lack of communication between our service advisor and yourself during this process. For the inconvenience of the lack of communication I'd like to offer you a complimentary oil change and tire rotation.

DA
Donna A.
Cotati, CA
2012 Hyundai Sonata Hyb
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/06/2017 Category: Service
Servicing
They were on time with the servicing of my car. But the did a horrible job washing the car, scratched the paint in many places. It wasn't very clean. The vacuuming job was decent.
Nick G., Service Manager from Hyundai of Petaluma responded on 06/06/2017

Hi Donna,
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. Sorry to hear you were not satisified with the wash on your vehicle. I know you are busy, however if you have time I would like to have the chance to wash your vehicle agian and inspect the scatches that have apeared on your vehicle. Please contact me at your earliest convenience.

Sincerely

Nick Giannone
Service Manager
707-765-1900

Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 778 in total