Overview

Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5rating 4.74

479 Reviews

ReScore Reviews™ (1)

ReScore
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
Original
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5rating 3.0rating 3.0
97% Would Recommend
Latest Review 3 days ago

Reviews


TE
Tony E.
Kansas City, MO
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/31/2018
KINGS OF THE UP CHARGE
Honestly after reading a few of these posts I am thoroughly convinced some of these are fake, because my experience was completely horrible. I have a 1992 Honda accord that needed the rear motor mount replaced and A/C repair. After dropping the car off and filling out paper work concerning my issue. Cody a representative called and told me that in addition to fixing the rear motor mount and A/C, he found several other problems that needed to be fixed. Ok fine. The cost he said would be over $2,000 dollars, well I told him that the car was purchased for only $650 dollars and that I couldn’t see spending that much money. So it was agreed, so I thought that no more than $1,000 dollars of work would be done including the REAR MOTOR MOUNT. This is where the communication went south. I believe Cody was so eager in getting every single dime that he thought the REAR MOTOR MOUNT!!! was a minor issue or he forgot. I found this out when I inspected the car, which I recommend everyone do, DON’T PAY BEFORE YOU INSPECT. Why, because we all work hard for our money.
The real problem quickly came when he said that it would cost additional $614 dollars to fix. I suggested since they forgot to fix the motor mount that they eat half the cost, Why not make them pay all the cost? Well sometime it’s easier to try and work things out. I thought this was more than fair. Unfortunately they didn’t. At this point since Cody and his supervisor Andrew weren’t going to work with me I suggested they let the owner know what was going on, so I left the car there over the weekend which by the way I had planned to drive to Mexico Missouri to visit family. Long story short they later called that same day and agreed to fix the rear motor mount, which they did that following Tuesday. I would like to add that the story still didn’t end well I paid over $1300 dollars and my rear motor mount they allegedly fixed makes a clanking sound when engine engages from park to drive or to reverse. So am I happy. NO!! Will I bring my car back again? NO!!
Andrew O., Owner from Otto Service Of Kansas City responded on 12/31/2018

Tony, I am sorry to hear you wont be coming back in.

When a vehicle needs over $2000.00 dollars in repair and you have a $1000.00 dollar budget our procedure is to prioritize & recommend safety & reliability first. Our service advisors are not paid on commission so they have nothing to gain by trying to upsell repairs, their goal is always safety first. We always inform you what your vehicle needs and you decide how you would like to proceed. Since the engine mount was not a safety item and cost over $600.00 it doesn't make sense to replace that part when there was safety items needed that would take precedent over the engine mount. For example you had bald tires and one that was ready to blow out if we had replaced the engine mount and waited on the tires since they were still holding air you leave our facility and have a blow out then you would ask why didn't we as professionals recommend a repair having a higher priority that could leave you or your family on the side of the road or in an accident. We did not forget to replace the engine mount we were trying to stay within your budget & making your car safe & reliable for you and your family to drive. When you picked up your car you wanted to look at the engine mount that was not replaced that we informed you was not replaced. We informed you at that time the car was safe to drive to Mexico Missouri as the safety & reliability items had been repaired and we kept the cost within your budget. We are happy to show anyone what was replaced on their vehicle at any time and save old parts for viewing . (When in doubt Ask) We always say is the best thing to do. There is no question about the rear engine mount allegedly being replaced, We Agreed to split the price as to your request, we saved the old part & supplied you with a copy of our receipt from the dealer for the part that we purchased as you requested. I know that we are human and make mistakes so if a miscommunication happened I wanted to meet your request to make things right. If you have someone you trust they can look at the rear engine mount & tell it is a new part. We will continue to recommend safety & reliability repairs first before cosmetic or comfort repairs if there is a budget needed. Thank you for your feedback I hope your 1992 honda accord is performing well for you and your family. May you have an excellent 2019.
 From your Otto Service family.


RG
Robert G.
Lees Summit, MO
Toyota Highlander
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/17/2018
Oil change problem
Last week my oil change turned into a half day lost. I had an oil leak repair that was supposed to be a one hour job. Somebody did not order enough parts and the one hour turned into four hours and twenty min.
Andrew O., Owner from Otto Service Of Kansas City responded on 12/19/2018

Robert,
I appreciate you entrusting us to service your Toyota.
We put you in a loaner vehicle free of charge in order to uninterrupt your day as much as possible. We contacted our parts distributor multiple times that morning to find out where the driver was with the part we had ordered to correctly repair your vehicle. I was ready to get in my car and go to the parts driver in order to speed up the delay. I apologize for your inconvenience, we installed the parts immediately when they arrived. I hope you will understand this was a situation out of our control.
We appreciate you being part of the ottoservice family and hope to see you soon.


MB
Martain B.
Kansas City, MO
Acura MDX
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/09/2017 Category: Service
Martain said the business provided poor service, the communication was bad and he was overcharged.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

WW
Walter W.
Leawood, KS
Acura RL
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/29/2017
Tried to bait and switch two times! Reported to BBB
Lying underhanded company! Won't honor their quote for repairs! Wanted to double my quote, saying they fired the guy who completed quote! What a bunch of crooks!
Andrew O., Owner from Otto Service Of Kansas City responded on 05/02/2017

Mr. Willett,

 I am very sorry that the quote given six months ago when you first came in wasn't the actual price of the repair, Our technician started to perform the recommend repair and stopped immediately to inform my service advisor that the original diagnosis would not fully resolve the ticking noise from the engine. My service advisor came and sat down with you in the lobby to let you know what had been discovered and the price to do the repair and fully resolve the ticking noise was going to change from $205.65 To $388.94 because of an additional part cost.  The repair could not be done that day and a part would have to be special ordered. It would not have been fair to you if we had performed the original recommended repair knowing it would not have fully resolved the problem and incurred an additional labor charge at a later date. We are always happy to show our customers on their vehicles specifically what the needed repair may need. You stopped the conversation and demanded your car be taken out of the shop immediately, we respectfully did as you asked. The gentleman that we were referring to was not fired, and he was not there to speak on his behalf as he has moved on from our company. We always like the positive reviews but understand we will not be able to please everyone,we always strive to do the best that we can. In times when we make a mistake we have no problem acknowledging it as we know perfection is not possible. At the end of the day these situations are a benefit as it keeps us on our toes and reviewing our process & procedures to see if we can make improvements.


KH
Kenneth H.
Kansas City, MO
Acura 3.5RL
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/09/2016
Said brake were bad. Change brake myself we're new
I was quoted for work that did not need to be done
Andrew O., Owner from Otto Service Of Kansas City responded on 12/12/2016

Kenneth, i am very sorry to hear that you had a bad visit to our facility. I would like to start off by saying your car was evaluated by a technician who is very gifted and knowledgeable about Honda and acuras he did say that the front brakes were after-market pads that had a very hard surface and caused warped rotors, thats why your steering wheel shakes when braking, when we replace brakes on a car we always resurface the rotors at the same time to prevent this from happening and thats why i recommended that you get new pads on the front. Now he also said that the rear brakes have about 5% left on the pads now if you did your own brakes you would have already confirmed that. we would like you to come back kenneth so if you had anymore questions or concerns then please feel free to give us a call


MB
Martain B.
Missouri
Acura MDX
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/12/2016 Category: Service
Martain said they returned his vehicle to him and want another $1,000 to repair a rear main seal. He said he thinks they diagnosed the original problem incorrectly, because he already paid $1236 for work on the transmission. He has submitted his experience to Yelp and been telling people to stay away from this business. He is hoping they will contact him for some financial relief.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Andrew O., Owner from Otto Service Of Kansas City responded on 07/14/2016

Martain,
Thanks for letting us know your concerns.
Your original problem was the radiator went bad internally causing transmission fluid and engine coolant to mix and leak out of the radiator. Unfortunately we cannot control the rear crankshaft engine oil seal to start leaking engine oil excessivly.
A great resource to you since we are a AAA approved facility you can contact AAA with your concern and they will do an investigation into the process & procedure we followed when your vehicle was brought in. If we are found to be at fault we are bound to correct the problem with your vehicle or risk loosing our AAA approved facility and accreditation.
AAA contact information 1-800-345-4283 Extension 154

Thanks again Martain for your feedback.

Andrew Otto


JD
Joann D.
Acura RDX
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
12/15/2018
Great job
Great job, but a little pricey
Andrew O., Owner from Otto Service Of Kansas City responded on 12/31/2018

Joann Thank you for being part of the Otto Service Family. We take great pride in using the best OEM parts for your Acura and our technicians have over 50 years combined experience, these parts do cost a little more than an aftermarket part but the quality is so much better. We are not the least expensive but we are also not the most expensive either. We appreciate you choosing us to take care of your vehicle to ensure its safety and reliability for you and your family. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in need of our services.


BS
Brian S.
Kansas City, MO
Toyota Avalon
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/20/2018 Category: Service
Brian said that the facility incorrectly diagnosed his vehicle, selling him a part that did not fix his problem.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Andrew O., Owner from Otto Service Of Kansas City responded on 10/22/2018

Brian, we stand behind our work and if we make a mistake we would love the opportunity to fix it. Since this is the first of us hearing of this, I will have our Service Manager contact you soon so that we are able to make this right for you. If there should ever be a problem please contact us directly. We are here to help! 


NT
Nick T.
Missouri
Honda Accord Sdn
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
04/13/2018 Category: Service
Nick said they did not tell him the window being installed was actually second hand and not new. He said the cost of the window was $69, but the labor was $390. He was very upset and said the next time they should not lie about the service.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Andrew O., Owner from Otto Service Of Kansas City responded on 04/16/2018

Nick,
I'm sorry you do not feel that we were up front about the service you had. Usually we use new parts on all of our services but in this case since your insurance was paying for this, they prefer we  take advantage of a used part and get the service done for less than using a new part in order to save you money. Your vehicle was broken into and they entered it by shattering your window, when that happens the glass goes everywhere and we charge an extra fee to make sure you don't have any glass left in your vehicle. If you have any further questions feel free to give us a call.

Thank you for your feedback and i hope to see you again in the future -Cody


AB
Amanda B.
Independence, MO
Honda Element
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
04/10/2018
Only out for you Money
During my oil change they came up with quite a list of bullshit things that were not wrong with my car. I was called and told to get my car running at its peak performance it would be $3,000. HA!! I'll just take oil change. I took that list two other places and they found none of those issues besides needing new back brakes and a new right caliper. My dad used to bring his honda here when it was ran by Allen. I guarantee this crap never would have occurred.
Andrew O., Owner from Otto Service Of Kansas City responded on 04/11/2018

Amanda, Thank you for letting us evaluate your vehicle after you had a local community college look at it for you. Our head technician that did the evaluation on your vehicle has been with us for almost 19 years. I worked along side my father for almost 15 years you will be happy to know our standard has not changed. It would have been nice if you had given us the opportunity to raise the vehicle up to show you, and anyone else you would like to bring in with you what was found on our evaluation. If you would like that opportunity we are happy to help and can be available to you at any time.


YM
Yemi M.
Kansas City, MO
Honda CR-V
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
01/22/2018 Category: Service
Yemi said he would recommend the business for service.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Andrew O., Owner from Otto Service Of Kansas City responded on 02/15/2018

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did! We are happy to hear that you would refer us to others! That is the greatest compliment we could get!


LS
Loretta S.
Missouri
Honda Civic Si
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/27/2017 Category: Service
Loretta said the staff did a good job, but they didn't give her any paper work on what they did or what the other problems with the vehicle were. They are good and she would go back to them.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Andrew O., Owner from Otto Service Of Kansas City responded on 11/07/2017

Loretta, Thanks for letting us get your civic running and back on the road. I show a detailed receipt with recommendations in our computer system. I dont recall the details of when you picked up your car, everyone gets a paid reciept. I would be happy to reprint one for you if you would like.


RN
Rosaunna N.
Kansas City, MO
Acura TL
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
04/29/2017
Disappointed
I recently had to bring my car in three times for the same issue. Each time I was told it was something different that I had to pay for. I'm skeptical at this point of if I really even needed the prior services. Just overall disappointed how the process went.
Andrew O., Owner from Otto Service Of Kansas City responded on 05/01/2017

Rosaunna,

I am sorry that you are disappointed in how your visit went, we should have been more descriptive in the services that we performed on your vehicle. Your thermostat and radiator both went bad at separate times causing the same symptoms. We really value you and appreciate your feedback and would like to continue having you as a part of the Otto service family. If you have any other questions or comments or would like to speak with someone regarding this issue feel free to give us a call.


KB
Kevin B.
Grandview, MO
Acura TL
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
03/27/2017
Not sure about my diagnose !!
Acura's tech ' you got a oil seal leak & dirty brake fluid. OTTO; you have oil seal plus valve cover gaskets leak!! I thought ni way !!! 81,000 miles
no way. I took it to another place
" you have no seepage or leaks at all !! Plus brake fluid fine. We do not see any seepage from valve cover and not sure what they were looking at and we can show you plus put in writing so we would love to take your money but its nothing to repair.
Andrew O., Owner from Otto Service Of Kansas City responded on 03/27/2017

Kevin, im sorry there has been some confliction as to what is actually happening with your Acura TL but we will be happy to show you in person the details of the oil pump seal and valve cover gaskets our head Technion has been here for 18 years and knows exactly where these items leak and how to fix them, We strive to be the best we can be and would never steer anybody in the wrong direction we feel very strongly about this and would like to get clarification and continue to have you as a customer so please when you have some free time stop by and we will be happy to present the information found.


GB
Gary B.
Missouri
Acura Legend
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/19/2016 Category: Service
Gary said this business was expensive, but they did a good job. They have really good guys. They told him his vehicle would take a few days and it ended up taking over a week. When he got his vehicle back, not everything was fixed but it was in better shape than before. He was a little disappointed but he was not dissatisfied. He will go back and he is not done with this business. They have good people and they know what they are doing.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Andrew O., Owner from Otto Service Of Kansas City responded on 11/22/2016

Thank you Gary we appreciate your business. We always strive to have a fast turn around time unfortunately when dealing with older vehicles sometimes getting parts can be harder in this case the needed part was discontinued from Acura and no one in town had a good used part So it did take longer than we would have liked. I know your car has special meaning to you and we look forward to seeing you and taking care of your car next time you are in need of our service.


CW
Carl W.
Grandview, MO
Lexus RX 300
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/15/2019 Category: Service
Carl said at first, his experience was so bad, but In the end it was corrected. He stated that Andy worked with him to clarify the issue and it meant a lot to Carl that he did this and was the reason why he brought his vehicle back for the service.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

GN
Gwen N.
Lees Summit, MO
Acura MDX
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/02/2019
Service Appointment
My service request when I brought my vehicle in was to have an oil change, tire rotation, and balance I had an appointment for 9:00 am and I dropped my vehicle off the night before but after my vehicle had been there the whole day I received a call stating that I needed so much service and I agreed to the mile service which I was told included an oil change and tire rotation. I honestly don't remember which mile service was said, but I think he said 30000 mile service and not 150000 mile service. Now after spending $529 I still need the same services that I originally brought my vehicle in to have taken care of.

MR
Margarita R.
Blue Springs, MO
Honda CR-V
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/27/2019
We are not sure about that
We checked with others mechanics and we concluded that we overpay for the last service since it was just maintenance and not a major repair like transmission or engine and we still with the light problem ! hope the repairs are under warranty ! our 2006 CRV is getting old and we may need to replace it soon.
Andrew O., Owner from Otto Service Of Kansas City responded on 03/03/2019

Thank you for the feedback, Margarita. We know that your vehicle is an investment, which is why we truly invest in our customers. We take pride in providing not only highly qualified techicians to work on your vehicle, but ones that are trained to work specificially on Hondas. We also take pride in having a 2 year/ 24,000 warrenty on all new parts and labor. We have the tool and equipement need to work on your Honda and have specialized in them for over 43 years. For these reasons our prices may be higher compared to some facilities, but it is an investment that will keep your vehicle running strong. Your safety is our number one priority, so we stand behind our work and our service. We hope you choose to continue to be part of the Otto Service family because it is an honor to have you as part of the family. Stay safe on the road, Margarita!


Verified Customer
Lenexa, KS
Acura TL
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/17/2018
Prices getting to high
Went to the shop I have been going to for years. Pricing is getting out of hand. Tranny fluid now only 10-20 different from Acura. I drive to far to pay dealer pricing. I am sure it is not on everything but fluid change as an example is now over a 100 dollars way to much when I can get the fluid for 8 doolars a quart online. That business will now be done by myself. I went expecting to spend a couple hundred walked out at near 500 too much lower pricess sell more. Raise prices sell less and loose business. No way costs have gone up 35 percent. I see pretty new cars out front with ads on them don't make me pay for those it is a business cost. I like everyone here but the prices are to to to much. Change it or lose me.
Andrew O., Owner from Otto Service Of Kansas City responded on 08/19/2018

Let me start off by saying thank you for being part of the Otto Service family all these years. We appreciate your loyalty and the fact that you drive to see us. Cost going up over the years is unfortunately something that happens in all industries. We want our customers to have the best and sometimes that is not always the least expensive option. We strive to have highly trained technicians that have the knowledge and training to get repairs done correct the first time, as well as the fact we use OEM parts to help ensure quality for the life of your vehicle. We have never had new vehicles for loaners at our facility. The vehicles you are mentioning are actually wraps on our older vehicles to help them look nicer for our customers to drive. Very cost effective. We are excited to hear it looks new though! We strive to make our business the best we can for our customers because we truly do care. While we would be sad to lose you as part of the Otto Service family, we understand that it does come down to price for some people. We hope to see you again, but if you chose to move on we hope where you go treats you like family and keeps you safe on the road while meeting your financial needs as well. Thank you for being a valued member of the Otto Service family. Have a blessed day!


DM
Deana M.
Missouri
Honda CR-V
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/21/2018 Category: Service
Deanna said they always do an excellent job.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/21/2018 Category: Service
Deanna said that she is happy with the business. She is not happy with whoever took her headphones out of her vehicle.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Andrew O., Owner from Otto Service Of Kansas City responded on 05/22/2018

Deanna,

Thank you for taking my call today, i hope you are able to find your pink headphones. Thank you for being a great customer and i look forward to seeing you next time you come in.

Andrew O., Owner from Otto Service Of Kansas City responded on 06/01/2018

Thank you for the 5 stars, Deana! We appreciate having you as part of the Otto Service family and will always strive to do our best for you. At Otto Service we do not just care for your vehicle, but we care about you because you are family. We appreciate any feedback to make your experience better. Thank you for choosing Otto Service and we look forward to seeing you next time!