Overview

Overall Rating 4.67/5Overall Rating 4.67/5Overall Rating 4.67/5Overall Rating 4.67/5rating 4.67

380 Reviews

ReScore Reviews™ (10)

ReScore
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5rating 4.8
Original
Overall Rating 1.9/5rating 1.9rating 1.9rating 1.9rating 1.9
96% Would Recommend
100% Business Response
Latest Review 5 days ago

Reviews


Verified Customer
Bennington, VT
2014 Hyundai Elantra Co
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/18/2019 Category: Service
Poor Service !!!!
Why do you make appointments ??? I asked how long will it take and the service writer told me 6 hours to change the tires on my car. what ?? He told me they had a lot of drop off today. Who cares ,!!! I make the appointment a week ago !!!
JENNIFER P., Service Manager from Carbone Hyundai Of Bennington responded on 04/24/2019

Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time to talk with me today, again I am certainly sorry to hear that your father was upset with the appt here, as i explained when a vehicle is dropped off for an appt we certainly try to meet expectations of time sensitivity and needs. I apologize we fell short and apologize for lack of communication this visit. Please let me know if there is anything else i can do!

Thank You
Jennifer

Jennifer Periard
Service Manager
802-442-2888
JenniferPeriard@carbonecars.com

BR
Brenda R.
Stamford, VT
2015 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/20/2019 Category: Service
Service
The Service writer was helpful and gave a 25% discount on the service of replacing the brakes, which we have replaced twice in 44,000 miles

Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/20/2019 Category: Service
over price
over price
JENNIFER P., Service Manager from Carbone Hyundai Of Bennington responded on 02/21/2019

Brenda and Ed,

Thank You for taking the time to speak with me, I truly appreciate it. As per our conversation on the phone I absolutely understand and empathize with your displeasure with your vehicle. We here at the dealership value you as customers , we do our very best to meet your service expectations, and based on our conversation  the survey reflected your displeasure with the vehicle versus our performance here at the dealership, however the survey is actually a reflection of our customer service experience and not a report card of the vehicles performance. I appreciate the willingness of you agreeing to retake the survey based off that information and still allow you to have a voice regarding your vehicle dissatisfaction. Look forward to future interactions and again truly appreciate your business. Thank You!!

Jennifer Periard
Service Manager
802-442-2888
JenniferPeriard@carbonecars.com
JENNIFER P., Service Manager from Carbone Hyundai Of Bennington responded on 02/25/2019

Thank you again for allowing me to attempt to help to resolve your concerns, as i stated i will reach out to hyundai on your behalf and we will continue to monitor the brakes. We value and appreciate your continued partnership with us here at Carbone. I will speak with you soon. Thank You

Jennifer Periard
Service Manager
802-442-2888
JenniferPeriard@carbonecars.com

Verified Customer
Whitingham, VT
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe S
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/13/2018 Category: Service
Service plan not what I was told.
Was told I had lifetime oil changes and got them for a year and half..And like magic I now have none. Where did they go?

JD
Jacqueline D.
Pownal, VT
2005 Hyundai Xg350
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/09/2018 Category: Service
Harder to navigate, atmosphere unwelcoming, no one available to help.
Even this review is not user friendly.
Ken P., Service manager from Carbone Hyundai Of Bennington responded on 10/09/2018

Hello, I'm sorry you feel the way you do, and that we couldn't continue the repair for you
If there is anything I can help you with in the future, please call me at my extension

Ken Pallman
Hyundai Service Manager
802-442-2888 ext 4141

SC
Steve C.
Crouy, Hauts-de-France
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/29/2018
DO NOT BUY FROM THEM
Do your bank account a favor and drive to NY, NH or MA and buy a car. They will stick your with high fees and interest because they are the only new dealership around. If you are buying used, they have junk bought at auctions. Do not buy from them.

KC
Keri C.
Norwich, VT
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/25/2018
Bait and switched
We had a 12:15 appointment today to look at and very likely buy a used Insight. My husband had emailed multiple times with sales reps during the week to pound out the details. We drove two hours to she shop and showed up 15 minutes early, only to be told, "It was sold this morning." No apology or explanation for why it was sold out from under us and, even worse, no one called to let us know to save us a four hour round trip. What a waste of time and money. Could not be more disappointed in the level of service provided. I hope they don't treat existing customers the way they treat potential customers.
Ken P., Service manager from Carbone Hyundai Of Bennington responded on 08/25/2018

This is a service survey completely unrelated to sales.
Did you have any issues with your service visit I may be able to resolve?

Ken Pallman
Hyundai Service Manager
802-442-2888 ext 4141

Verified Customer
Pittsfield, MA
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/17/2018 Category: Service
Poor
I have a lot of people say they won’t go back to Carbone
Ken P., Service manager from Carbone Hyundai Of Bennington responded on 08/17/2018

Shona, sorry I was out ill when you came in on Wednesday, that is a very rare occurrence. No excuse for the two new guys not coming in, good news is they won’t be there in the future either. Transitions and training is currently, and very soon we’ll be back doing business as before, in fact, even better.
As far as your repair, I’m sure it was done professionally and with care. It was unfortunate that your right front door window switch failed when it did,  but it certainly does happen, especially being used more while the master switch wasn’t working 
Please call me at my extension if I can help you with anything..

Ken Pallman
Hyundai Service Manager
802-442-2888 ext 4141

JB
Jeanne L B.
Shaftsbury, VT
2014 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/16/2018 Category: Service
Debating whether to ever go back
Really was not a good experience this time. Definitely rethinking my choice of dealership for my next car.
Ken P., Service manager from Carbone Hyundai Of Bennington responded on 08/17/2018

Jean, you know from servicing with me for many years, that your recent experience was far from the norm. Transitions and training are happening, I hope we’re to be back to business as it was, in fact even much better very soon. Please bear with us as we get people into their new positions. Being an employee of the group for twenty years, I have to be where I’m most needed at this time.
Please give me the opportunity to be your service professional at your next service interval

Ken Pallman
Hyundai Service Manager
802-442-2888 ext 4141

Verified Customer
Hoosick Falls, NY
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hyb
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/08/2018 Category: Service
Ken can't keep track of which car needs what service at Bennington Carbone
I think my title says enough without completely bashing the entire service team.
Ken P., Service manager from Carbone Hyundai Of Bennington responded on 08/10/2018

So sorry you feel that way. I had a bad day, aren’t we allowed to have one once in a while? It was indeed the front brakes that Kevin and had spoken about in the past that need attention. I’ve been at the groups dealerships since
1998, have had stellar reviews always and have been at the very top of the region of Honda(5 Presidents Awards), Toyota, and for seven years, Hyundai. I apologize once again for the mix up at the time, I’m am more than happy and welcoming to invite you or Kevin to come in and let us perform a complimentary brake inspection, and let you both see for yourselves.
If there is anything I can do in regards to helping you in servicing your automobile, above and beyond oil services, I promise your vehicle will be worked on by seasoned top notch, highly trained  professionals, and use OEM top grade parts engineered specifically for your car. 
Allow me to make up for one day out of hundreds I’ve given Kevin excellent service, while you’ve owned this automobile It would be a pleasure to get to meet you as well and show you in person what we can do for you..
At your service..

Ken Pallman
Hyundai Service Manager
802-442-2888 ext 4141

JG
James G.
Pittsfield, MA
2009 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/10/2018 Category: Service
Not great
Need a lot of customer service on phone call answering and returning them hope things get better there
Ken P., Service manager from Carbone Hyundai Of Bennington responded on 07/11/2018

Hopefully we can get everything squared away next week, I am afraid though that the right front door has additional issues, a failed switch or motor perhaps. We’ll find out
See you soon,

Ken Pallman
Hyundai Service Manager
802-442-2888 ext 4141 

BD
Bromley D.
Manchester, VT
2017 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/27/2018 Category: Service
Sloppy
Being told to go to the FORD section for service gives one pause if you own a Hyundai. And no Hyundais in show room. I want my next car to be a Hyundai , but it looks like you're phasing Hyundai out. The whole Carbone thing seems very disorganized. Why not mix them all up in one showroom.
Ken P., Service manager from Carbone Hyundai Of Bennington responded on 06/27/2018

Mr. Demeritt, there are now vehicles in the show room, many more on the way. The Hyundai franchise is here to stay!
We've added more new vehicle on the lot as well.
Just a bit of a reorganizational period, all is well
Please call or stop by if you have any concerns

Ken Pallman
Hyundai Service Manager
802-442-2888 ext 4141

RO
Rose O.
Petersburg, NY
2018 Hyundai Elantra Gt
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/15/2018 Category: Service
Doing Business With Carbone Hyundai of Bennington Since 2005
Bought my third Hyundai from Carbone Hyundai of Bennington in December, 2017, by virtue of the great service there, friendly and helpful staff. Shortly thereafter, it seems that a great deal of “restructuring” took place. Two service managers gone, my mechanic gone, financial officer who prepared my loan, and my salesman, also gone. Kind of shakes my confidence in Carbone Hyundai. What can I expect?
Ken P., Service manager from Carbone Hyundai Of Bennington responded on 05/16/2018

Hi Rose!...Thank you!!
Yes there have been some changes, but wherever I end up on this campus, I'm will be available for you in anyway I can possibly be. Employees come and go, and sometimes it's very unfortunate when we lose one like John, but that is the way life goes sometimes, he had an opportunity, and we can't deny bettering himself, we love John...
 Call me if you need me....

Ken Pallman
Hyundai Service Manager
802-442-2888 ext 4241
Ken P., Service manager from Carbone Hyundai Of Bennington responded on 06/20/2018

Hello my friend...I'm baaaaack!
I'm working from the Ford side if you happen be around, stop and say hello!!

Ken Pallman
Hyundai Service Manager
802-442-2888 ext 4241

Verified Customer
Berlin, NY
2011 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/10/2018 Category: Service
Service
They had my car for almost 2 weeks I get it back and have it not even a week and it’s back there somewhere someone missed something so I’m out a car yet again and no option for a rent a car which is rediculous in my book

DH
Drew H.
Troy, NY
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/17/2017 Category: Service
Disappointed
The resolution to our problem was not resolved after all.
Ken P., Service manager from Carbone Hyundai Of Bennington responded on 11/20/2017

I'm so very terribly sorry you are still having an issue.
Both the technician and myself each test drove the vehicle
over a three mile tract of roads of verying conditions, and even railroad tracks, and did not experience any unusual noises.
You are very well aware what you paid for was the strut mount and bearing that was in a very unsafe condition, and could have easily come apart over a pothole or dip in the road. You personally looked at the failed component.
Once again I am very sorry we apparently did not the vehicle rid of the squeak that is annoying you, we know the components there are certainly safe and sound for road use.
I'd like for you to give us a shot at rectifying the condition, but definitely want to drive with you to make sure we are aiming at what you are hearing. I'll be calling you to see if we can make that happen. Bottom line looking at this survey, you were happy with way I treated you, and this my report card, this directly reflects on me.
I am happy that at least for the second time leaving our dealership, you left with your vehicle in a much safer condition then when it came in. Hopefully we can come to a managable agreement on this issue..Talk to you soon

Ken Pallman
Hyundai Service Manager
802-442-2888-4241

HL
Heather L.
North Adams, MA
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/20/2017 Category: Service
Pissed poor
I'm not at all satisfied with the customer service that was received at the time of the service. What should have been covered under my warranty was not covered they refuse to put it under my warranty. I was not given the option to have them do the work or to be able to do it myself. They should have given me the courtesy of choosing to do the work myself or them do it. I paid extra when I purchased a car to have a warranty on certain things and they did not honor it. They said that it would not be covered and it most definitely should have been covered under the warranty.
Ken P., Service manager from Carbone Hyundai Of Bennington responded on 09/21/2017

I am truly sorry you feel that way, especially after getting you right in. Let's look at the actual issues, you have a platinum coverage extended warranty, which will not cover bulbs, and the bulbs were the failed parts, we would certainly NEVER deny coverage, that'd be silly, we get paid the same as customer pay. If this was a warranty issue, which it was not, you would have to pay a $50 deductible, you paid $49.50 for the diagnostic work, no installation of bulbs charged, you did pay for the 4 failed bulbs. The technician checked the charging system, checked for feedback to the rear lamps under use, checked grounds, which certainly took longer than thetime you were charged. If your lamps are still working, we did our job.
I find it very unfair to slam the service department for doing a maintenance repair not covered by your plan, infact no extended warranty would cover it, and that was explained to you thoroughly at time of delivery. I'll gladly credit the price of the bulbs, but not the $49.50 labor you'd have to pay for it, if was indeed covered. Our service departments reputation stands for itself, read all the reviews, see our standings for customer satisfaction which are always at, or near the top of the region every month, just not this month with this survey. Please read the survey questions again, if you answered it literally, the score would be quite different. Think it through, read your warranty contract, you've been well taken care of here in the time you've owned this vehicle........ I'll be in touch

Ken Pallman
Hyundai Service Manager
802-442-2888-ext 4241

SG
Shannon G.
Bennington, VT
2010 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/14/2017 Category: Service
Thank you Ken!
Ken really goes above and beyond to help out a customer. Ken goes out of his way to make sure a customer is satisfied with the services that they received.

Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/14/2017 Category: Service
Not impressed
If a vehicle comes into the shop clean, then it should be leaving the shop clean too! It should be common curtesy to look and clean up any grease or grime left behind.
Ken P., Service manager from Carbone Hyundai Of Bennington responded on 07/15/2017

Hi, Shannon and Gary..
 I'd like to start with an apology regarding the grease on your door, 
I was on vacation when you picked up, and Jason was indeed covering three departments by himself. As Jason stated we do outsource our corrosion treatment just a little over two miles from our actual dealership point, so with a short test drive after installing the springs, and performing the alignment, the total your vehicle was driven was at maximum total of 8 miles. From my understanding from Gary it was to be towed in from Eagle Hose.
I can't understand the fuel issue, but we can deal with that.
The vehicle was not greasy when it left our facility to be corrosion treated, I know this because I had moved the vehicle myself after we performed the on facility goodwill replacement of the broken spring, and the replacement of the other side spring, alignment, and other campaigns(recalls) that had not been performed over the past few years I had found open, and Gary approved.
It is unfortunate with my being away on vacation, there was no chance to check the vehicle after it returned from the corrosion treatment facility, and quite frankly, we've had no issues with this prior, and again I sincerely apologize. I will be calling you upon my return on Monday to discuss this, if I may, and rectify all pertinent issues. We do indeed try to go the extra mile to assure your vehicle is as it should be when it leaves....
Sorry again, enjoy your weekend, and let's talk on Monday

Ken Pallman
Hyundai Service Manager
802-442-2888 ext4241
Ken P., Service manager from Carbone Hyundai Of Bennington responded on 07/20/2017

Thanks Shannon, I'm so glad we could work it all out!!!
Call if you need me..

Ken Pallman
Hyundai Service Manager
802-442-2888-4241

Verified Customer
Hoosick Falls, NY
2011 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/19/2017 Category: Service
I hope everyone gets to know Ken P!!!!! He is truly the best!!!!
It is a blessing to be getting the help from Ken P. He has listened to my concerns and addressed them immediately. These are concerns that he could have directed me right back to Carbone in Troy, but NO, he has graciously been an "outstanding" man! One that all the other service professionals can only hope to compare to one day! Ken, me and my family can not thank you enough!

Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/19/2017 Category: Service
Not off to a good start
My vehicle is still rattling and what sound like metal rubbing- the issue was never resolved!
Ken P., Service manager from Carbone Hyundai Of Bennington responded on 06/19/2017

Hi Alana, I will be giving you a call shortly to talk about this issue....

Ken Pallman
Hyundai Service Manager
802-442-2888-4241
Ken P., Service manager from Carbone Hyundai Of Bennington responded on 06/20/2017

My word, I'm truly humbled..
Thank you so much for the commendation!
I'll see you Wednesday..

Ken Pallman
Hyundai Service Manager
802-442-2888-4241

Verified Customer
Bennington, VT
2015 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/13/2017 Category: Service
Call back for service
Called to set up an appointment left message because of high volume. No one returned my call. Had to call the next day to set my appointment. Not happy with no return call and had to call for service the next day
Ken P., Service manager from Carbone Hyundai Of Bennington responded on 06/14/2017


So sorry, I have no idea what happened with the phone situation, I return calls for every single phone message I receive, and went back through all my messages for 6/7, 6/8 and 6/9, and did not have a single one I did not call back, I have no idea how that happened, but we need to address that. In regards to your other comments, I'd like very much the opportunity to go over those issues either on the phone, or face to face if you care to.
Please call me at the number and extension below and I'll make every effort to cure any issues that may have arrisen so as to make your service truly 5 Star every single time

Ken Pallman
Hyundai Service Manager
802-442-2888 ext 4241
Ken P., Service manager from Carbone Hyundai Of Bennington responded on 06/28/2017

Well, I only have two weeks to resolve a low score, this timing ends today. Sadly I was not afforded the opportunity to do that even after repeated attempts by my self and Carbone corporate VP of fixed operations Sean O'Keefe.
As I said, I take this very seriously, as does Hyundai,
this simple matter that could have been resolved at the time of the service has now cost me my ranking for the quarter with Hyundai, and with my own organization as well. My standards are set very high by me, I take it very personally, this is my operation, and my reputation.
Very saddening that this one simple misunderstanding after years of providing you with outstanding service must be tarnished. For the future, when an appointment is made, it is made to see the service consultant, not the time the vehicle goes into the shop. Shop time starts after meeting with the service consultant, your vehicle was in the shop at exactly
1:09pm, and I made sure to get the vehicle in the same day you called. What happened with the phone system the prior day, I cannot explain, but it has and is being looked into. I call back, and return every call and email contact as quickly as humanly possible, for the issue I sincerely apologize as noted in previous correspondence. I also recommend if you decide to continue servicing with us, and I hope you do, please use my direct extension when calling in, which is 4241
Have a nice holiday...

Ken Pallman
Hyundai Service Manager
802-442-2888-4241

DC
Dawn C.
Bennington, VT
2010 HYUNDAI SANTA FE
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/07/2017 Category: Service
We have been customers at Carbone for many years.
I am optimistic that my car will be taken care of in the near future. Ken and Sean are working hard to figure out what is wrong- as the problem doesn't happen every day.

Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/07/2017 Category: Service
There is still something wrong with my car
My car was brought in because is was jerking badly between 40-50, when escalating. When I first got the car back- it seemed ok. Yesterday, I drove to Troy and coming through Hoosick Falls, the car did the same thing- jerking when accelerating. I would say it is something about the way I drive, except I have been the sole driver of this car for 6 years. I really don't think it is me. There is something wrong with the transmission of this car.
Ken P., Service manager from Carbone Hyundai Of Bennington responded on 06/09/2017

VP Of Fixed Operations spoke with customer

Ken Pallman
Hyundai Service Manager
802-442-2888-4241
Ken P., Service manager from Carbone Hyundai Of Bennington responded on 06/15/2017

Thank you, and indeed Sean and I will absolutely do everything in our power to correct the issue

Ken Pallman
Hyundai Service Manager
802-442-2888-4241

PG
Patricia G.
Wilmington, VT
2013 Hyundai Azera
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/26/2017 Category: Service
Timelyness
Live too far away to make routine maintenance visits possible. Still waiting to hear if window part has come in so it can be fixed.
Ken P., Service manager from Carbone Hyundai Of Bennington responded on 04/29/2017

Thank you so very much for letting me speak to you, it was a pleasure!

Ken Pallman
Hyundai Service Manager
802-442-2888-4241
Ken P., Service manager from Carbone Hyundai Of Bennington responded on 04/29/2017

Just a reminder, if you can would please do Jason's rescore today, our month end is today...thank you ever so much again!!!!

Ken Pallman
Hyundai Service Manager
802-442-2888-4241
Ken P., Service manager from Carbone Hyundai Of Bennington responded on 04/29/2017

* * * * *

Ken Pallman
Hyundai Service Manager
802-442-2888-4241