Overview

Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9

(677 Reviews)

99% Would Recommend
Latest Review 3 days ago

Reviews


SM
SCOTT M.
Alameda, CA
Mazda CX-5
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/20/2020
Great
Thank tou for reliable service.

AS
ALICE S.
Alameda, CA
Subaru Outback (Natl)
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/20/2020
Always great!
Always great!

BP
BETSY P.
Alameda, CA
Ford Econoline Wagon
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/16/2020
Definitely Come Here
I've been coming here for years. Fred and Barry are kind and patient and always make time to talk through any concerns I have. I really appreciate that they always talk me through procedures and never talk down to me.

Both Fred and Barry always remember me and my vehicles (1997-2012, Ford and Toyota), and they've been willing to continue to work on my 20+-year-old car. And speaking of old vehicles, they often give me a hit list of repairs that could be done and repairs that must be done—I appreciate having all of the information about the state of the vehicle and also the help assessing what the most cost-effective plan forward might be.

In the past, Barry has kindly provided me with printouts and reminders of previous repairs when I've misplaced my personal records. He's just upgraded their system to an online one, where I can access that info myself, which is also really helpful.

Couldn't recommend Fred's Wrenchouse more.

AH
ANNE H.
Alameda, CA
Toyota Prius
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/15/2020
Went the extra mile
I brought my toyota prius in for routine maintenance. A check engine light was on. Fred said it might just be that the gas cap was not put back on in the right way, and to let him know if it came back on. It has not come back on. Thanks Fred! I'll be more careful about putting the gas cap on.

JG
Joseph G.
Alameda, CA
Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
10/14/2020 Category: Service
Joseph said he will be returning due to the tire pressure light being on after the repairs. He appreciates the technicians getting him in on such short notice. The cost of the checkup cost more than he usually pays.

Verified Customer
Alameda, CA
Toyota Camry
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/10/2020
Great work!
Great staff, services above average, reasonable rates. My car is 2001 model, and it runs smoothly after the tuneup.

WM
Walter M.
Alameda, CA
Saturn VUE
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/09/2020 Category: Service
Walter said he dropped it off in the morning, until he called back at 3pm it had not even been touched yet, then when they got back to him he had to wait around for it to get fixed. The fellow on the phone was very pleasant, very professional, told him everything was good and the cost, but it was a 3 or 4 man facility and he thought they should have had it looked at as soon as they could in case it needed parts, which it did. They did a very good job, he took it to Oakland and it drove absolutely great and he absolutely recommends them.

OD
OTIS D.
Oakland, CA
Buick LeSabre
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/04/2020
Great customer service !!
Fred and Barry are AWESOME !! Their customer service is A1 !! This business doesn’t try to rip you off .....like some mechanics do. They don’t bs around and will have you back on the road feeling confident about your repairs !! I’ll definitely be taking my car to them again, when needed !!

MS
Michael S.
Oakland, CA
Subaru Legacy
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
09/30/2020 Category: Service
Michael said they seemed average.

LP
Larissa P.
Alameda, CA
Toyota Camry
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/19/2020 Category: Service
Larissa said the service was pretty good at this business but it was kind of pricey.

TA
TOM A.
Alameda, CA
Subaru Forester
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/11/2020
No fuss, no muss (well, a little grease but that’s expected)
Highly recommended

KB
KIM B.
Alameda, CA
Volvo S40
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/09/2020
Awesome as always
They have been consistently fast, friendly, reasonably priced and completely transparent about what's going on. Never try to upsell or push unneeded services. Cannot recommend them highly enough.

VP
Viktoria P.
San Francisco, CA
Ford Escape
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/27/2020 Category: Service
Viktoria said it was great.

MR
Mike R.
Oakland, CA
Toyota Prius
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/22/2020 Category: Service
Mike said the business provided good service and they were also super friendly.

BJ
BRIAN J.
Alameda, CA
Chevrolet Cruze
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/21/2020
Best in town
Fast diagnosis and turn around, good communication, accommodating, honest and fair. Good people, highly recommend.