Overview

Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9

(525 Reviews)

98% Would Recommend
Latest Review 3 days ago

Reviews


DB
Donald B.
Alameda, CA
Subaru Legacy Sedan
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/23/2019 Category: Service
Donald said he is very pleased to have found this business and a mechanic he can trust here. His last vehicle needed a new clutch, he asked him to take pictures, and he did. He was pleased to have that happen, and he was able to view the pictures. Fred checked his vehicle out. He added he had asked Fred if this particular vehicle had a certain device present, and he forgot to ask the staff member when he picked it up if that had been done. He stated it might have been partially his fault for not mentioning it himself, but he thought it should have been brought up to him during the post-inspection. He really likes going there, and he will continue going there. He has gotten very good service with his other vehicle here, and this was the only little disappointment he has had with them. He said he is very impressed with Fred.

KK
KAREN K.
Richmond, CA
Hyundai Tucson
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/13/2019
Fair and reliable
I can always trust Fred's to do their work thoroughly and on time. But more importantly, they are proactive about maintenance without recommending unnecessary work.
Today they checked the timing belt on my 2008 Hyundai because I couldn't remember when it had last been replaced. If they'd replaced it today, earlier than necessary as it turned out, I wouldn't have known the difference. But instead, I was told that it was too early for a replacement and we discussed when the best time would be.
Thorough, reliable, honest (and really nice guys, too).

EC
ERICA C.
Alameda, CA
Toyota Corolla
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/03/2019
Reliable
I can always count on Fred and Barry to get my car in great working order.

PH
Pat H.
Alameda, CA
Mercedes-Benz ML320
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/03/2019 Category: Service
Pat said she liked the service.

PS
PAUL S.
Alameda, CA
Volvo 240
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/29/2019
225k service onVolvo 240DL
they get the job done. they know vintage models,(88 Volvo)They don't overcharge.

JL
Joey L.
Alameda, CA
Subaru Legacy
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/22/2019 Category: Service
Joey said his experience was great, and the oil change was quick and easy at this place.

EW
Eric W.
Berkeley, CA
Chevrolet Volt
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/10/2019 Category: Service
Eric said the business did a good job.

RC
Ross C.
Alameda, CA
Ford Transit Van
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/06/2019 Category: Service
Ross said he would recommend this business for service.

EB
ERIN B.
Alameda, CA
Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/01/2019
Amazing service
Fred and Barry are always honest, efficient and friendly. I am so happy to have found them!

JA
JOSE A.
Oakland, CA
Chevrolet Chevy Van
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/19/2019
Outstanding mechanic
Not too many mechanics out there that still work on older vehicles. Especially the time they get the job done. Outstanding all around mechanic.

ES
ED S.
Alameda, CA
Ford Fusion
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/19/2019
Excellent Service
My Ford Fusion wouldn't start. After jump start brought it to Fred. Had the problem diagnosed and fixed within a few hours. Straightforward, no nonsense approach just like I appreciate.I plan on making it my place for future car maintenance and repair.

Verified Customer
Alameda, CA
INFINITI G35 Coupe
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/19/2019
Very Happy
Fred’s Wrenchouse took care of my 80 yr old mom’s car quickly and she enjoyed her experience there. She says everyone was super friendly, knowledgeable and what she liked most is that they parked her car out front when it was ready so she didn’t have to walk very far. Thank you!

Verified Customer
Alameda, CA
Oldsmobile Bravada
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/18/2019
Friendly
I have Always had the most wonderful experience with Fred and his crew.
They are super friendly and explain things so you understand what they did.

KL
KAY L.
Berkeley, CA
Volvo 240
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/16/2019
Excellent service
After two other garages opted not to spend the necessary time to figure out how to repair my car, Fred was willing to make the effort, figure it out, and make the appropriate repairs. I'm grateful, and would happily recommend them to anyone who asks.

HR
Hiroaki R.
Alameda, CA
Chevrolet Suburban
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/16/2019 Category: Service
Hiroaki said they were super helpful and very trustworthy.