Helfman Collision Center

Overview

Overall Rating 4.66/5Overall Rating 4.66/5Overall Rating 4.66/5Overall Rating 4.66/5rating 4.66

3062 Reviews

ReScore Reviews™ (1)

ReScore
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5rating 4.0
Original
Overall Rating 1.0/5rating 1.0rating 1.0rating 1.0rating 1.0
95% Would Recommend
Latest Review 18 days ago

Reviews


JL
Jeanne L.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/23/2013 Category: Collision
Jeanne said she thinks this business is expensive and feels the estimate was 30 percent off the true amount. There is also a part of the wheel protection missing. She chose not to elaborate.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Greg L., Manager from Helfman Collision Center responded on 01/03/2014

Fortunately for her,  she hasn't had much experience with collision repair industry. Her repair cost was less than half of the national average. She could have found some place to do it cheaper but not better.


BH
Barbara H.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/17/2013 Category: Collision
Barbara said there are some minor issues after she dropped off her vehicle. The arm rest is broken. The passenger seat lift handle cable is snapped off. There is a paint chip in the middle of the front of her vehicle above the windshield, which has paint flaking off.The staff must not have known their strength. She had to play phone tag with Maria in the beginning. Maria wouldn't answer her phone and was slow to return calls. Maria spent 30 minutes looking for her file one time. Her file kept getting lost. Everyone was nice. Maria was helpful over the phone, once Barbara got ahold of her. Once she contacted Frank, things went better.They were really quick and she wasn't given a promised time. Frank was really nice and she liked him.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Greg L., Manager from Helfman Collision Center responded on 01/03/2014

I'm not sure who Maria is? She must work for the insurance company invovled in the repairs. It sounds like Barbara was happy with Frank, her shop estimator.


SK
Stephen K.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/28/2013 Category: Collision
Stephen said he had picked his vehicle up with change missing from it. There were other small personal belongings taken as well.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Greg L., Manager from Helfman Collision Center responded on 05/22/2014

We ask that all valuables be removed before the vehicles are left with us. We have signs posted as well. We try our best to keep our customer's vehicles secure, but a theif is a theif.


CP
Chris P.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/26/2013 Category: Collision
Chris said he knows the employees at this business and they are good guys. He wasn't satisfied with how they returned his vehicle. They hadn't attached the back door molding properly and it rattled. They even did a poor job reattaching it. The assistant manager was involved and he did a good job. They had to jump start his vehicle for him because it wouldn't start. He had to wait an extra 2.5 hours longer than expected. They should have inspected his vehicle for quality before returning it back to him. He was pleased with the cleaning and detail.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Greg L., Manager from Helfman Collision Center responded on 05/22/2014

The vehicle 16 years old and has problems, as did the salvage repair parts used. This is not uncommon when dealing with older cars and parts from a junk yard that were mandated by the insurance company. We do our best with what we have to work with.


OS
Oscar S.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/26/2013 Category: Collision
Oscar said they are nice and very good about calling him back. They charged him $200 extra, but they did not tell him why. They left scratches on the paint from the sandpaper on the right side near the back of the vehicle. His service advisor, Mario told him to let the paint dry and bring it back. He has not brought the vehicle back yet, but he plans to very soon. If they do not fix the vehicle on the second service visit he will be going elsewhere for the repairs.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Greg L., Manager from Helfman Collision Center responded on 05/22/2014

The problem was taken care of.


CA
Curtis A.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/22/2013 Category: Collision
Curtis said it took 3 days longer than promised. They did not give him a reason for the delay but it cut into his vacation time. The only communication was when he called them. They didn't call him or keep him informed.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Greg L., Manager from Helfman Collision Center responded on 01/03/2014

We have since added additional staff to repair vehicle faster and keep our customers better informed.


ER
Erasmo R.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/16/2013 Category: Collision
Erasmo said the customer service was not that good. They could use some improvement. The estimator did not have any contact with him at all. He said he felt that the estimator could have explained things to him. There was no communication unless he called them. He would not recommend them because their customer service needs to be improved.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Greg L., Manager from Helfman Collision Center responded on 08/22/2013

This was 1 day repair, so to say there was no communication unless he called doesn't make since. How many times can we contact someone in one day?


TV
Timothy V.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/06/2013 Category: Collision
Timothy said this business did not fix the problem like they were suppose too, the paint work turned out to be just fine but the repair on the lock was not fixed properly. He mentioned that this business never gave him a promised time for when his vehicle would be ready. He will be bringing his vehicle back to have the work done properly.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Greg L., Manager from Helfman Collision Center responded on 08/22/2013

He is correct the lock in his BMW was not installed properly. We have since corrected the issue. 


MD
Michael D.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/02/2013 Category: Collision
Michael said he has gone to the business twice and there have been minor mix-ups with the personnel. The business replaced his window without notifying him and the tint was lighter than it should have been, so they had to fix it. His window is still not the same tint, but it is as close as they can get. They replaced the window because it had a scratch on it, but it could have been wiped off. They did not attach his bumper cover properly. The last time he went to the business they put his emblem on backwards. He said the business should have checked on their work before returning the vehicle. He was not happy with the way he was treated, but he chose not to elaborate. He would recommend the business to others, but he would tell people to check the work before leaving to make sure it is done correctly.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Greg L., Manager from Helfman Collision Center responded on 07/09/2013
Mr. Duffy is particular when it comes to his vehicle, which we don't mind. Although he complains about alor of stuff, we must be doing something right because he keeps coming back and he would recommend to others.

DT
Daniel T.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/19/2013 Category: Collision
Daniel said he cannot say whether he is satisfied with the quality because there is still more work to do on his vehicle. They did an excellent job putting the front end back together after his collision. It took so long that he had to request they release his vehicle before the hood striping was done. They did not have the right striping. He was not given a promised completion time. They did not keep him updated. His rental insurance expired. He was without of a vehicle. They said he could pick up his vehicle on a Friday, but when Friday came it was not ready. Daniel needed the vehicle so he could get to work. They said they would be in touch about the striping, but they have not called. He was not satisfied with their communication because he did not hear from anyone until his rental expired. The paperwork is not complete. He is very busy with his job and the business is closed when his shift ends. They are 35 minutes out of his way. He has been waiting for the business to contact him. The estimator was not thorough because he did not communicate. The personnel were real nice about most things.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Greg L., Manager from Helfman Collision Center responded on 07/09/2013
First let me say, there were 3 parties involved in this repair. The owner, us and the insurance company. His wreck happen on May 2, we did not get the insurance estimate until May 22 and its was horrible. So now on May 31, we received a supplement estimate that would allow us to begin the repairs which were over $9,000. He had been in a rental for 28 days of his 30 day max before we could start his repairs. We did everthing in our power to process his repairs quickly but this much work takes some time. We had his vehilce ready except for the stripe in 7 days. A repair of this size would normaly take several weeks but we knew he was in a bind to no fault of his own. As for the striping, we do not supply the parts and it has now been handled.

RR
Roman R.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/06/2013 Category: Collision
Spoke with Anthony. Anthony said the staff took over 2.5 weeks to complete the repairs. Anthony stated he felt it was not a big job to complete. The first reason given for the delay was due to insurance related issues regarding approval. Then, the staff stalled again for an additional 3 days. Once finished, the vehicle looked pretty good.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Greg L., Manager from Helfman Collision Center responded on 07/09/2013
This customer is correct about the time frame but we can't control the insurance company taking 15 days to approve damages that need to be repaired. This is just one the problems with the automotive insurance industry. When vehicle owners start holding the insurers more accountable, maybe this problems will go away. Instead they assume we are the bad guys and really we are doing everything we can to the insurance comapnies to pay for complete and proper repairs.

MO
Matilda O.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/24/2013 Category: Collision
Matilda said when they promise her vehicle on a certain day they should keep their promise. He was supposed to be the head supervisor but he did not return her calls. He is not a good representative. He was too busy. She was told there was a delay in ordering the parts when she spoke with someone else. They had her vehicle for almost three weeks. He would call her daughter, not her. She doesn't know why he would call her daughter since she had nothing to do with it. He just kept putting her off. She was very unhappy about it. She wasn't kept adequately informed. She had to call to find out anything. She wasn't satisfied with the way she was treated for the reasons mentioned. She did not have any other communication with them. She was given a loaner vehicle. She only had it for two days. She had to get a rental for the rest of the time. She had to pay 10 percent of the rental, which was $112. She did not think that was fair. The other person hit her. He should have paid for the whole rental. She would still refer them. The work they did was good.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Greg L., Manager from Helfman Collision Center responded on 07/09/2013
We have no control over the lack of communication between mother and daughter. We also can't control the insurance companies determination of fault. We only fix vehicles, not people.

MR
Michael R.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/22/2013 Category: Collision
Michael said the business took a long time on the work. The vehicle was ready three weeks late because they found additional damage. He said some of the parts of the vehicle were touched that did not need to be repaired. When he picked the vehicle up there were still unfinished repairs. He chose not to elaborate further.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Greg L., Manager from Helfman Collision Center responded on 05/29/2013
Michael is correct, it did take a long time to repair his vehicle. It had over $6000 in damages and a lot of special order parts needed. They can take a while to come in. As for the parts that were touched that did not need to be repaired, he just does not know what we have to take apart in order to perfrom these types of repairs and that's ok because he shouldn't know. All his issues have been corrected and he is now a happy customer.

DM
Donald M.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/18/2013 Category: Collision
Donald said this facility has higher prices than other places in the area. The vehicle was ready when promised but it had a big scratch on it and this took another 2 days for them to take care of this issue. He was satisfied with the quality after this.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Greg L., Manager from Helfman Collision Center responded on 05/29/2013
We are not higher priced, we're just honest when we give someone an estimate. We don't practice the bait and switch tatic like many other shops in the area. We give the most accurate estimate possible so folks have as much information as possible to make their repair choice. Also, we stand behind our work for as long as you own your vehicle and if we do make a mistake, we will fix it.

AH
Amber H.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/26/2013 Category: Collision
Amber said she's going to have to take her vehicle back. They did a rushed job on it. The paint isn't right. She said she wasn't satisfied with the quality of the repair. They put a scratch in her vehicle that took an extra day for them to repaint. They already had her vehicle for a week. After she got there she had to wait an hour. They hadn't buffed it out. They should've had that done before she got there. They had called her a couple of times to tell her what was going on. She had to call them to find out what was going on as well. The communication could be improved. She wouldn't recommend them because of all of the inconveniences.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Greg L., Manager from Helfman Collision Center responded on 05/29/2013
Amber is correct. We had to redue some our work because an employee screwed up (he no longer works here) but she is now a happy customer.

MC
Maria C.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/01/2013 Category: Collision
Spoke with Hector. He said the work took longer than expected. The vehicle was ready about a week and three days later than promised and he doesn't know why.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Greg L., Manager from Helfman Collision Center responded on 03/11/2013
Not sure what the issue was but I think she may be confusing our repairs with another repair becasue our repair was completed in 4 days

ES
Eric S.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/26/2013 Category: Collision
Eric said there was a 2 week delay on his vehicle because of additional damages. They forgot to place some parts on the vehicle and he had to return to the business to for additional parts.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Greg L., Manager from Helfman Collision Center responded on 03/11/2013
He is correct. We messed up on this one. We have now corrected the problems but we did screw up, this time.

JH
Jason H.
TX
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/25/2013 Category: Collision
Jason said he had to bring the vehicle back a second time to resolve some issues, but he chose not to elaborate further. He was not shown or given an estimate for the repair.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Greg L., Manager from Helfman Collision Center responded on 03/11/2013
He is correct but the issue was a worn out part and we fixed the problem at no charge to him.

FH
Freddie H.
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/15/2013 Category: Collision
Freddie said there was work done before, and they said they could not connect the bumper to the vehicle properly. Also, she was not satisfied with the person that prepared the estimate. What he said and what was on the estimate were different.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Greg L., Manager from Helfman Collision Center responded on 02/14/2013
We can't be held responsible for poor prior repairs done eslewhere. As for the estimator problem, an insurance company estimator wrote the estimate, not a Helfman employee.

EG
Ellen G.
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/05/2012 Category: Collision
Ellen said she wasn't told when the vehicle would be ready, but the work took longer than expected. She chose not to elaborate further. She said she wasn't satisfied with the communication because they called her only once to give her a quote.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Greg L., Manager from Helfman Collision Center responded on 09/18/2012
Although the repairs turned out great, the estimator in charge of her repairs did drop the ball when in came to keeping her informed. I hope she can forgive us for that. We do our best but we do sometimes make mistakes.