Helfman Collision Center

Overview

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7

(3,416 Reviews)

ReScore Reviews™ (1)

ReScore
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
Original
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
95% Would Recommend
Latest Review 1 day ago

Reviews


CC
Chris C.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
09/23/2020 Category: Collision
Chris said he thought they took care of him but he had to bring his vehicle back. Vern did an outstanding job, but the technicians fell short. Very simple things like the doors still leaking and the windshield leaking. Whoever worked on the electrical just stuffed it back in instead of clamping it down. There was a $300 charge for a pitman arm and when he looked under the vehicle it's the same pitman arm. His power steering makes a noise when he turns to the right. These are all things he experienced since taking his vehicle home. They have great customer service but fall short repair wise.

CS
Chanda S.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
08/18/2020 Category: Collision
Chanda said it was a very expensive vehicle and he got very bad customer service, he spent $10,000 and could not even get good customer service there. He said he is returning the vehicle on Monday so he does not have to go there ever again.
Greg L. from Helfman Collision Center responded on 09/21/2020

He was upset because the free loaner car we offered him wasn't a nice enough replacement for his vehicle and he refused it. After that, there was no pleasing him, regardless of how hard we tried. Unfortunately, we cannot make every customer happy.


JH
Jovonna H.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
08/15/2020 Category: Collision
Jovonna said that she had to take her vehicle back because the paint wasn't up to par. There were smudges and drips so she took her vehicle back to them the next day. She would not recommend this facility to others.

KS
Kenneth S.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
08/01/2020 Category: Collision
Kenneth said they did not complete the repair. He said the suspension was not repaired. He said the vehicle was not ready when promised because they not complete the repair. He said they didn't do a thorough estimate. He said they were dishonest. He would not recommend for the reasons stated.
Greg L. from Helfman Collision Center responded on 08/14/2020

Well, all I can say is our history of excellent customer service speaks for itself and not every customer is right.


WW
Wencie W.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
05/20/2020 Category: Collision
Wencie said she had to take her vehicle back twice, once for the tire and then for an electrical issue. She stated that the person that helped her was great, but they did have her vehicle for almost 3 months. She would not recommend this facility to others because she had to keep taking it back.

WS
Walter S.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/18/2020 Category: Collision
Walter said they overcharged the insurance company and he had to pay 56 dollars out of his pocket. He said he told them he didn't have a job and the manager said there was a 7 day delay and was told they were waiting for approval from the insurance company. He said he had 2 different people work with him as his estimator. He would not recommend for reasons stated.

AJ
Amalio J.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
03/23/2020 Category: Collision
Amalio said despite his having full coverage insurance, he ended up having to spend over $700 out of pocket for repairs. Apparently the repair facility manager Ira, made some decisions without consulting the insurance carrier. The communication was horrible. He was not notified with the status of his vehicle. Any updates were due to him calling in . The explanation of why there was the out of pocket expense was stated as work performed, and in his view, that is not a very good explanation. The return of his vehicle was delayed by 2 days due to a bad part. The service department has done very good service to his vehicle previously however he is not pleased with the customer service with the body repair facility. The repairs were done well.
Greg L. from Helfman Collision Center responded on 04/14/2020

He was warned about the out of pocket cost before leaving his vehicle with us. His insurance company is notorious for not paying for a complete and proper repair as required by the OEM repair manual. We advised him to seek service elsewhere if he did not want to cover the additional expense. He insisted that he would make the carrier pay and in the end is upset with us because they did not. We cannot provide free services just because an insurance carrier does not want to pay for it. There are many untrained, shady repair shops that do not follow OEM procedures and will perform poor repairs that an insurance company will gladly pay for. This customer could have chosen one of those shops to save some money.


MW
Michael W.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
02/28/2020 Category: Collision
Michael said that he still has issues with his vehicle. The fog lights don't work. The parking and cruise control lights are on and the check engine light came on. They told him that it would take a week to repair his vehicle but it took a month. The insurance company blamed the facility and the facility blamed the insurance company for the delay. He had to call them for updates.
Greg L. from Helfman Collision Center responded on 03/18/2020

It is Unfortunate there was substantially more damage than we predicted when he dropped off for repairs. However, he and the insurance provider were notified of this within days of it being discovered. We presented our findings to Geico immediately and it took them 2 weeks to approve the work. So, although he is correct on the time frame, it takes a while to repair $10,000 in collision damages. As for the issues Mr. Wong is experiencing, the vehicle was operating properly during the long test drive we performed before he picked up the Jeep and we have reached out to him to resolve these problems

Greg L. from Helfman Collision Center responded on 03/18/2020

It is Unfortunate there was substantially more damage than we predicted when he dropped off for repairs. However, he and the insurance provider were notified of this within days of it being discovered. We presented our findings to Geico immediately and it took them 2 weeks to approve the work. So, although he is correct on the time frame, it takes a while to repair $10,000 in collision damages. As for the issues Michael is experiencing, the vehicle was operating properly during the long test drive we performed before he picked up the Jeep and we have reached out to him to resolve these problems


AK
Andrew K.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
02/27/2020 Category: Collision
Andrew said the repair took longer than expected, there were a lot of delays. He needs to return because of a rattling noise that was not there before. The repair took 1 and a half weeks longer than expected. There were shipping delays. He had to call the facility for repair updates. Because he has already returned for other reasons and must again return, and the delays and the current rattling noise, he would not recommend this business.

BV
Brian V.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/24/2020 Category: Collision
Brian said he did not like the customer service he was given. The repair was a month or 2 late due to the parts. The estimator was very argumentative with him and told him the insurance company was lying about the pricing. He was not satisfied with the treatment because of this as well and is not recommending this facility.

DD
Dwight D.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
12/26/2019 Category: Collision
Dwight said this business took longer than they were supposed to with his vehicle. They were over the promise date by 2 and a half weeks. They messed up on the repair and they tried to charge the insurance company for the mess up. They eventually took responsibility for it, but it cost him more money on his rental. He chose a larger vehicle and had to pay an extra $7 for it per day and in the end had to pay an extra $100 for his rental because they did not repair the vehicle in the promise time. The insurance company updated him not this business. They were not forth coming. He will not go back to this business anymore.
Greg L. from Helfman Collision Center responded on 01/15/2020

People should not trust the insurance company that owes them money. The insurance adjusters’ job is to adjust the claim and they typically adjust down from what is really needed for a complete and proper repair. The only thing we did wrong was attempt to repair a panel that needed replacement. Our staff should have refused the repair attempt because it was a waste of time. In the end, the insurance company denied the proper repair of his vehicle and blame us for an improper repair attempt. It took the insurance carrier over 2 weeks to deny the replacement request. Since making the repair attempt was a mistake on our part, we replaced the panel at our expense. It is unfortunate that our customer doesn’t appreciate this but, in the end, we did the right thing.


OG
Oscar G.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
11/19/2019 Category: Collision
Oscar said the estimator at this facility did not know how to estimate properly. The communication was fine, but no details were provided. It took 3 weeks after the promise date to get his vehicle back and when he picked it up there was paint on the window.
Greg L. from Helfman Collision Center responded on 12/17/2019

All I can say is, these statements are less than truethful. This was a $14,000 repair that took 4 weeks to complete correctly and he expected it should have only taken one week. Unfortunately this type off heavy collision damage can take quit some time to repair properly. There are many chop shops that could have completed the repairs faster and cheaper but we are not one of those shops. We do it right or we don't do it. 


SL
Susan L.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
10/26/2019 Category: Collision
Susan said she had a lot of concerns with the work that the business did. She addressed the concerns, and they were fixed but now she is concerned if there are more underlying issues that she hasn't noticed yet. She is not that pleased with the experience or the repair. She stated she felt belittled when she addressed a valid concern she had. The windshield that was replaced had streaking on it that limited her visibility, and there was adhesive residue from where a sticker was torn off. Her estimator acknowledged it, when she voiced her concern. She was not given a promised date her vehicle would be finished. It took a total of 6 weeks, she stated it felt extremely long. She was not kept updated, she had to call or email to get communication. She called and left a voice mail and did not hear back. When they replied to her email it was refusal of accepting responsibility, saying they had called her back and left a voice mail. She was not satisfied with the estimate. They did not include the drivers side tire. She had to remind them to include it, and they still ended up not replacing it. She had to go elsewhere to get a tire because it was over looked. At the beginning the staff were accommodating and assuring letting her know they had dealt with this type of claim before, but she stated she felt they lied to her insurance company saying her vehicle was not drivable because the driver's door wouldn't open just to appease them and get her into a rental. She was not satisfied with the communication, they were demeaning and dismissive when it came to her windshield. She would not recommend the business.
Greg L. from Helfman Collision Center responded on 11/19/2019

 We try our best but not all customers can be satisfied with our service. Once again, we cannot perform un-approved repairs. 


JW
Joe W.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
10/17/2019 Category: Collision
Joe said his extra fuel box on the back of the vehicle was torn up and the staff hadn't wired it back up. He asked them to wire it, and the motor on that external fuel tank was left on by the staff and it burned up. The right screws were missing. He added the vehicle looks good, except for those things. He was told the repair would be completed in two weeks and it took eight weeks, due to the insurance company. He stated the staff was not truthful about that delay. The completion date of the repair kept changing. He would not recommend the business for those reasons, and because the vehicle is still not fixed.
Greg L. from Helfman Collision Center responded on 11/19/2019

He is correct about the fuel box - This was not a factory part and something he added to the vehicle. Although we could not confirm the damage was a result of our staff, we took care of the issue. We ordered him a brand new part from the tank manufacture. As for the delays, the responsible party did not agree to fully cover the damage to his vehicle. We advised him to file on his own insurance policy and he continued fighting with the at fault carrier. In the end the repairs were covered and complete but once again, we can't perform repair until the vehicle owner and insurance payer agree and approve the work. 


FG
Francisco G.
Texas
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
09/17/2019 Category: Collision
Francisco said this business took over a month to fix a little dent on a little Fiat 500. That was ridiculous. It was being paid by the at fault insurance. When he arrived to pick up his vehicle they told him there was a $300 balance. The quality was good but the customer service was not. There was no promise date for the repair.