99% Would Recommend
Latest Review 3 days ago

Reviews


AS
Andrea S.
Mount Vernon, OH
Chevrolet Cruze
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
04/03/2020
I am not sure
This was sent to the wrong person. We live in cincinnati

GS
Greg S.
Mount Vernon, OH
Ford F-150
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
01/18/2019 Category: Service
Greg said the estimate they gave was so high that the insurance company totaled the vehicle, and he fixed the vehicle himself. He stated they told the insurance company the parts were new, when they were actually used parts. He would not recommend them because they are not an honest business.
Jim A. from Howard Street Autocare Center responded on 01/22/2019

Greg,

Due to the strict part replacement guidelines that your insurance agency requires, we were unable to fluctuate as we normally would on selection of usable parts. Our office staff works tirelessly to find the best prices for our customers on a daily basis through our vast array of resources. However, when a third party entity limits the suppliers & condition (new vs. used / OEM vs. aftermarket) of parts, our hands are tied in regards to "shopping around" to find you the best deal. 

In regards to your labor in fixing your own vehicle; this is an option that anyone has. Much the same as fixing your refrigerator when it breaks or building a fence around your property; you pay for the expertise of a professional. We understand that DIY repairs are always cheaper initially (though often times not long term); and can be performed on your most convenient schedule. The simple fact is this: Towing a vehicle to the area's leading repair shop without notice and expecting them to put the vehicle ahead of others that were already scheduled for repairs; in addition to expecting them to fix it at the cost you could do the job yourself; is farfetched at best. Especially in regards to an insurance claim, there is a process. In regards to our shop, there is a schedule. In regards to labor and parts, there are guidelines. 

We maintain such a high consumer rating because we follow all of these guidelines. We are fair, and unbiased in our quotes/scheduling/processes. If you misunderstood or chose to overlook any of these aspects that were outlined to you when you brought the vehicle in & in your insurance policy regarding part replacement, that is an aspect that is out of our control. Each customer that walks through our door is treated with the same level of honesty, compassion, and drive towards getting them back on the road as soon as possible, at the best price possible. Much like our scheduling and the insurance policy regarding part replacement, we hold ourselves to these standards without compromise. 


MS
Matt S.
Howard, OH
Ford Pickup
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
02/03/2015 Category: Service
Matt said they messed up the shaft to his four wheel drive and the service is not as good as it once was.

MN
Marsha N.
Howard, OH
Chevrolet TrailBlazer
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
10/10/2014 Category: Service
Marsha said this business told her it would be worked on starting Wednesday but they didn't start until Thursday afternoon. They told her she had no oil in the vehicle but she checked before and after the visit and the oil was about full. Do to this situation she would not recommend others to this facility.

AL
Al L.
Mount Vernon, OH
Chevrolet Venture
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
02/11/2016 Category: Service
Spoke with Annabelle. She said she took her vehicle to this business to have one problem fixed and it took three visits for them to fix the problem. They were not thorough enough the first time to fix the problem. She said she is not happy since Jim left. She said she feels like she is not getting the same service.

MN
Michael N.
Mount Vernon, OH
Ford F-150
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
06/02/2018 Category: Service
Michael said the staff had a pretty long lead time, and the price was disproportionate with competitors in the area. The person who handled his call was fairly rude.
Jim A. from Howard Street Autocare Center responded on 06/05/2018

Michael, 

We take pride in the amount of customers that trust our shop with their vehicles. Unfortunately, due to the volume of customers, the quality of our repairs, and our good reputation in the area; our schedule is always full. Since your vehicle was towed in without a scheduled appointment, we simply had to create a time slot that would not jeopardize the existing appointments made by customers, while still being able to address your vehicle in a timely manner.

In regards to the price, and customer service - Our Office Staff makes every possible effort to provide our customers with the best prices, and the best service in the industry. We offered you a multitude of pricing options, including the cheapest possible route (which would compromise your AC, via installing a bypass pulley). Your vehicle arrived in inoperable/non-running condition. Our quote was $230.00 for the repair, and $42.24 for our standard diagnostic fee. For roughly $250, your truck would have been operable once again, and the repairs would have been completely immediately after your authorization.

If our pricing was disproportionate in your opinion, we do apologize. We attempted to identify the best route for your needs, and thoroughly explained how each option would affect the vehicle. If these explanations seemed, in any way rude or offputting, we do apologize. Factors that play into pricing do include - part quality, availability of service, experience of technicians, reputation of shop, etc. Simply put, we repair vehicles correctly, with long term solutions. The preciseness of our pricing, and our customer service reflects that.

Please let us know if we can be of further assistance in the future.


BE
Blayne E.
Gambier, OH
Ford Pickup
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/17/2017 Category: Service
Blayne said the final quote was about $350 more than what they originally told him the service work would cost, even though he was willing to perform the service himself.
Jim A. from Howard Street Autocare Center responded on 01/19/2017

We spoke with the customer on 1/19/17. He did not word it that we charged him $350 more, he said when we quoted him the original price the part was $150 more than he could really afford at this time. He was pricing a cheap gear box from Advanced and we were pricing a premium one from NAPA. The customer stated he was pleased with everything and the truck was driving great and he did not mean to give us a bad review.


JR
Jim R.
Howard, OH
Jeep Grand Cherokee
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
03/24/2016 Category: Service
Jim said they got his vehicle running, but there are 2 things not fixed. They did not fix the rear end, and brakes.

GS
Geoff S.
Centerburg, OH
Acura MDX
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/12/2015 Category: Service
Geoff said this business did fine. When he arrived his vehicle was not there, so he had to wait over an hour for them to get it back to him.

LG
Lori G.
Mount Vernon, OH
Dodge Dakota
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
12/24/2014 Category: Service
Lori said her vehicle was not done in a timely fashion.

RF
Robert F.
Walhonding, OH
Chevrolet Camaro
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
07/27/2013 Category: Service
Robert said he asked specifically for a computer diagnosis on his vehicle's computer and the business could not do it. He added his vehicle was at the business for 6 days and they could not tell him anything. The mechanic was pretty decent and fair.

FM
Fred M.
Mount Vernon, OH
Chevrolet Malibu Limited
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/17/2020
Trust
I was quoted a price for two filter changes. $343 for both (includes oil change). Had one changed (including oil) $123. That leaves $220 for other. I Personally had it changed for $17. Trust is very important in a business.

RM
Ron M.
Mount Vernon, OH
Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/15/2020 Category: Service
Ron said they fixed the vehicles problem.

JN
Jeff N.
Mount Vernon, OH
Ford F-150
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/25/2019 Category: Service
Jeff said they had overall good communication and good work, but timing took a little longer than expected.

BC
Bob C.
Mount Vernon, OH
Mercury Grand Marquis
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/15/2019 Category: Service
Bob said his experience with the business was ok. He added it was kind of expensive. It was his second or third time going there, and they are doing a good job. .