Jerry DeLong Automotive


Overall Rating 4.94/5Overall Rating 4.94/5Overall Rating 4.94/5Overall Rating 4.94/5rating 4.94

124 Reviews

ReScore Reviews™ (1)

ReScore
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
Original
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5rating 2.0rating 2.0rating 2.0
99% Would Recommend
97% Business Response
Latest Review about 2 months ago

Lauri T. on 08/28/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"So awesome"
My repair was done quickly and perfectly. Most honest mechanic ever
Vehicle: INFINITI FX35
Service Date: 08/21/2017
Review Created: 08/28/2017 01:14 PM
Michael D., General Manager at Jerry DeLong Automotive responded on 08/29/2017

Thanks, Lauri!!

Greg B. on 08/22/2017
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
Greg said he was not happy at all with the staff. They charged him for services he didn't authorize. He would not recommend them.
Vehicle: Ford F-150
Category: Service
Service Date: 08/16/2017
Review Created: 08/22/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Michael D., General Manager at Jerry DeLong Automotive responded on 08/29/2017

Greg's statement that we charged him for services he did not authorize is entirely false. The short version is that he did not want to compensate us for our time to diagnose the vehicle when he did not approve repairs. We just have to ask: when was the last time your doctor diagnosed your illness, wrote you a perscription, and didn't ask to be compensated for his/her time? The full explanation follows.

Greg initially came to us back in December of 2016 have to have a check engine light diagnosed on his 2002 Ford F-150. At the time, we explained to him how our diagnostic services work, which is that if we diagnose a problem but are not given the opportunity to accomplish our recommended repairs, we do ask that our diagnostic time is covered. If we do accomplish the recommended repairs, we do not charge diagnostic time. This is standard across the industry, and across many other industries.

On his first visit, we observed DTC P0306, which is indicative of a misfire on cylinder #6. We educated Greg on his options for repair stating that at 153,000 miles, it was probably time for a tune up and new coils. We offered to replace just the one ignition coil that was acting upl, or the coil and plug on cylinder #6, or we could replace all coils and plugs now and get it out of the way because he would eventually have to be back to replace them all. We explained that we could replace them one-by-one over several visits, which would cost more in the long run but the repair bill would be easier to digest each time since they would be smaller than a complete tune up. Greg elected to replace just the one coil.

Fast forward to August 16, 2017. Greg comes back in and asks us to diagnose another check engine light. This time, Michael did not re-explain to Greg the diagnostic policy because he felt that as Greg was a returning customer, there wasn't a need.

On this second visit, we found misfires on cylinder #5 and we observed that the intake manifold was leaking coolant into cylinder #5, which was fouling out the coil. As always, we offered multiple strategies to take towards this repair, and he could select the best version that suited his needs and budget. The bare minimum repairs that were needed would be an intake manifold gasket and an ignition coil for about $952 out-the-door. However, as the intake manifold is plastic on this vehicle and warping is a common problem in plastic intake manifolds, we couldn't promise that the old manifold wasn't warped and wouldn't leak even after our repairs. The other option was in addition to the above, go ahead and replace the rest of the ignition coils and all spark plugs in order to limit the number of visits for this kind of issue, and also replace the intake manifold to ensure we didn't have a leak even after doing these labor-intensive repairs. The cost on this repair was around $2,100 out-the-door.

Where Greg's complain lies is in the fact that he did not approve any repairs and when he came to pick up the vehicle, we insisted that we were compensated for our diagnostic time. We asked to be compensated for 1 hour of our time, plus shop fees, for $132.79 out-the-door, even though we had spent more 3 hours between diagnosing the vehicle, writing up multiple estiamtes, and discussing those estimates with the customer on multiple occasions. Yet, Greg was still unhappy that he was asked to compensate our time. We even offered to NOT charge him and let him just take the keys and go, but he reluctantly agreed to pay for the diagnostic services.

We feel that we are reasonably owed compensation for our time and services rendered to diagnose a vehicle, just like any other shop would, and just like your doctor would expect payment for time spent with you. We again reached out to Greg to discuss this situation, but to date, our phone calls have gone unanswered.

Chad E. on 08/19/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Excellent service"
Jerry took great care of us! He showed us each issue on the car physically that had been written up in the papers. He also explained the priority levels for each repair. I really appreciated his honesty and will be bringing my business to Jerry in the future.
Vehicle: Lexus RX 330
Service Date: 08/14/2017
Review Created: 08/19/2017 08:29 AM
Michael D., General Manager at Jerry DeLong Automotive responded on 08/21/2017

Thanks, Chad!

Keya D. on 08/10/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Excellent work and service"
I was recommended to Jerry DeLong by a friend and am 100% pleased by the work done. Jerry specializes in Toyota's so he was able to figure out the problem almost instantly and Michael (who does the business side of the work) was able to get the part quickly. They also made my power steering work more smoothly, which I didn't ask for and they didn't charge me for. I guess going above and beyond is their professional model.
Vehicle: Toyota Corolla
Service Date: 08/08/2017
Review Created: 08/10/2017 07:14 AM
Michael D., General Manager at Jerry DeLong Automotive responded on 08/11/2017

Thanks, Keya!

Carol H. on 08/01/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great service"
After long debate whether to have someone look at my car, plus wanting someone local, I took it to Jerry DeLong Automotive. They did a thorough job finding things that I didn't even know were wrong with the vehicle.
Vehicle: Ford Taurus
Service Date: 07/26/2017
Review Created: 08/01/2017 12:35 PM
Michael D., General Manager at Jerry DeLong Automotive responded on 08/02/2017

Thanks Carol!

Shannon J. on 07/29/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Friendly, informative, no pressure"
I took my son's 2007 Honda in for a check engine light and decided to get a thorough lookover also since we bought it used a year ago. I picked this place just based on internet reviews. Wow what a place! Jerry is passionate about his work. He truly does not try to sell you anything you don't need. He takes time to educate you on what he does or does not find wrong with your car and there is no pressure to get the work done if needed. This is a place you can trust, and I definitely will use them again!
Vehicle: Honda Civic Si
Service Date: 07/27/2017
Review Created: 07/29/2017 07:11 PM
Michael D., General Manager at Jerry DeLong Automotive responded on 07/30/2017

Wow, Shannon! Thanks for the glowing review!

Sid B. on 07/29/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Sid said the business provided excellent service.
Vehicle: Saturn VUE
Category: Service
Service Date: 07/07/2017
Review Created: 07/29/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Michael D., General Manager at Jerry DeLong Automotive responded on 08/01/2017

Thank you!

Mary G. on 07/28/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Mary said she trusts Jerry. They are honest and they always take care of her vehicle. She was satisfied with everything.
Vehicle: Honda CR-V
Category: Service
Service Date: 07/03/2017
Review Created: 07/28/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Michael D., General Manager at Jerry DeLong Automotive responded on 08/10/2017

Thanks, Mary!

Don P. on 07/26/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Honest Mechanic"
Never recommend anything that is not needed. I always feel good working with this company.
Vehicle: Ford Pickup
Service Date: 07/12/2017
Review Created: 07/26/2017 02:01 PM
Michael D., General Manager at Jerry DeLong Automotive responded on 07/27/2017

Thanks, Don!

Brett J. on 07/25/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Brett said he knows the employees do good work and he will continue to use their services.
Vehicle: Ford Mustang
Category: Service
Service Date: 07/21/2017
Review Created: 07/25/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Michael D., General Manager at Jerry DeLong Automotive responded on 07/27/2017

Thanks!

Mic D. on 07/11/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Nissan"
As always an honest place to go
Vehicle: Nissan Rogue
Service Date: 06/27/2017
Review Created: 07/11/2017 06:57 AM
Michael D., General Manager at Jerry DeLong Automotive responded on 07/12/2017

Thank you!

Kristen D. on 07/09/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Exceptional service"
Thanks to Michael and Jerry for explaining the issues with my truck and the different options that I was able to choose. Also, I appreciate Jerry for taking the time and showing me what happened to cause the issue and how he was able to resolve. I appreciated the communication!!!
Vehicle: Ford Pickup
Service Date: 07/08/2017
Review Created: 07/09/2017 08:16 PM
Michael D., General Manager at Jerry DeLong Automotive responded on 07/10/2017

Outstanding! Thank you so much!

Lauri T. on 06/29/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Honest!!! Awesome!! "
The very best service ever. My service was a big job and was done correctly. A good and honest mechanic is very hard to find. Well I found the most excellent and professional mechanic yet. Not only is my car old it is a high end foreign car and they repaired it beautifully. Lauri Tyler
Vehicle: Infiniti FX35
Service Date: 05/25/2017
Review Created: 06/29/2017 05:08 PM
Michael D., General Manager at Jerry DeLong Automotive responded on 06/30/2017

Thanks, Laurie!

Steve P. on 06/28/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"A/C Service"
Jerry provided a thorough explanation of likely sources of trouble and approached the problem very logically. The A/C is working great again and in the event the issue should return, a plan for next steps has already been outlined. The price seemed very fair.
Vehicle: Honda Accord
Service Date: 06/26/2017
Review Created: 06/28/2017 06:12 PM
Michael D., General Manager at Jerry DeLong Automotive responded on 06/30/2017

Thanks, Steve!

Katie R. on 06/26/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Fantastic Service"
Got my oil changed here and they were fantastic, friendly and very knowledgeable.
Vehicle: Toyota Prius
Service Date: 06/23/2017
Review Created: 06/26/2017 01:35 PM
Michael D., General Manager at Jerry DeLong Automotive responded on 06/28/2017

Thanks, Katie!

Phyliss W. on 06/24/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Phyliss said the business is honest and they do good work.
Vehicle: Lincoln LS
Category: Service
Service Date: 06/16/2017
Review Created: 06/24/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Michael D., General Manager at Jerry DeLong Automotive responded on 06/28/2017

Thanks, Phyliss!

John O. on 06/21/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Reliable "
Excellent service as always!
Vehicle: Ford Ranger
Service Date: 06/19/2017
Review Created: 06/21/2017 07:25 AM
Michael D., General Manager at Jerry DeLong Automotive responded on 06/22/2017

Thanks, John!

Dave B. on 06/10/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Acura"
Always receive great service from a trusting and knowledgeable business.
Vehicle: Acura MDX
Service Date: 06/08/2017
Review Created: 06/10/2017 07:51 PM
Michael D., General Manager at Jerry DeLong Automotive responded on 06/11/2017

Thank you!

Janet N. on 06/09/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Consistently great service and integrity!"
What a pleasure to have a mechanic that is of such high integrity and knowledge. Thanks for taking such great care of all our vehicles!
Vehicle: Ford Pickup
Service Date: 06/06/2017
Review Created: 06/09/2017 09:01 AM
Michael D., General Manager at Jerry DeLong Automotive responded on 06/11/2017

Thank you!

Russ B. on 06/05/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Excellent visit"
Jerry and Michael always provide the best service. They come up with alternative to over priced factory parts which saves money. Awesome
Vehicle: Toyota Avalon
Service Date: 06/03/2017
Review Created: 06/05/2017 06:25 AM
Michael D., General Manager at Jerry DeLong Automotive responded on 06/06/2017

Thanks Russ! Always a pleasure!

Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 124 in total