Overview

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75

629 Reviews

ReScore Reviews™ (2)

ReScore
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
Original
Overall Rating 1.0/5rating 1.0rating 1.0rating 1.0rating 1.0
97% Would Recommend
Latest Review about 9 hours ago

Reviews


DC
d c.
San Rafael, CA
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/03/2017
Failed for no reason...
Failed us on a total BS "visual inspection", but did give us a quote for $700 to "fix" the problem. The car passed with flying colors at the next shop.
Micheal P., Marketing Director from Marin Express Lube & Diagnostic Center responded on 02/10/2017

B.A.R. rules are that when vehicle comes in with severe exhaust leak. We are to fail it or our license would be at jeapordy.We just went under state of california rules. 


MB
MARVIN B.
Belvedere Tiburon, CA
Lexus GS 300
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/04/2016
Management cares about its customers
I appreciate fact that the owner of Marin Express Lube responded to my complaint. After discussing the matter I feel confident that I will continue to do business with them. They truly care that every customer is satisfied with their service.

Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/04/2016
Extremely long wait time for oil/filter change because they did not have required air filter.
Staff apologized for very long wait time. Said they would provide a "discount" if I returned to replace spark plugs. Why not discount for the current service which was very poor? The offer was insulting.
Micheal P., Marketing Director from Marin Express Lube & Diagnostic Center responded on 10/05/2016

We at Marin Express Lube and our staff apoligize for the time wait and the inconvenience. We know that you are a long time customer. We will be sending you a gift card in the mail to show our appreciation for your business and that we do care about our customers. Thanks again and hope you understand. Owner Peter Jizrawi.


LH
Leon H.
California
Honda Civic
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/22/2015 Category: Service
Leon said everything is okay at this business now.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/22/2015 Category: Service
Leon said they ran a test but no one told him about the gas cap. His vehicle failed the test and he paid for two of them. He would not recommend this business because they should have let him know about the gas cap.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Peter J., OWNER from Marin Express Lube & Diagnostic Center responded on 01/29/2015

By law i  can not tell customers that a vehicle is going to fail or not till test is over.There are under cover cars that the state sends out to see if tests are done properly and if done incorrectly. Will lose license. Only time I could tell customer if customer asks the question about gas cap, or check engine light, or about aything else if vehicle is going to fail. Call the state and they will tell you same thing. Thank you. Hope you understand.


KA
Kurt A.
Mill Valley, CA
BMW 735i
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/19/2014 Category: Service
Kurt said the facility did not put his fuse box cover back on correctly and rain got in. This caused the vehicle to overheat and when he reached for the handle it burned his hand. Once he figures out what is going on he is going to come back to the facility and demand his money back. He would not recommend them to others for the issues mentioned.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

VC
Vadim C.
Chevrolet Astro
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/19/2014 Category: Service
Vadim said they overcharged him upfront, and then asked for more money to install the catalytic converter. This was very unprofessional. They did the inspection for $50, added a fee of $50, then diagnosed the vehicle for $100. It would have cost him $300 for the catalytic converter. He plans to trade in this vehicle. They could have been more upfront. If there was a problem with the smog check, he could have had his vehicle fixed elsewhere. The woman was fair to him and told him they would only charge another $50 for another smog check. This is not smart and a bad way to do business. He would not recommend this business for these reasons.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

AC
Antonio C.
San Rafael, CA
Toyota Pickup
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/13/2014 Category: Service
Antonio said he took his vehicle to this business for a smog test and he was told they could not do it because the RPM was too high. He said he went to another business and they were able to do it without any problem. He would still recommend them.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

BC
Brandon C.
San Rafael, CA
Dodge Durango
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/12/2014 Category: Service
Brandon said this business has terrible service and they overcharged him. The amount he paid was double the amount of the original estimate. Their process to repair the vehicle made no sense to him. He would not recommend them to others for the reasons mentioned.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

TS
Traavis S.
Emeryville, CA
Chrysler PT Cruiser
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/27/2014 Category: Service
Traavis said this business was disappointing because they did not know what they were doing. They disconnected his auto start and did not recognize what is was. He would not recommend this business.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

NC
Nicolas C.
Fairfax, CA
Ford Pickup
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/21/2013 Category: Service
Nicolas said he is unhappy with this business. He said they could have told him his gas cap was cracked before doing the smog check. They did the smog check and told him it failed. They offered to fix it for $200.00. He told them no and noted this business is a rip off. He will not recommend them to others based on this experience.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

JC
Joseph C.
Ford Pickup
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/23/2013 Category: Service
Joseph said this business quoted $575 to have the fuel filter replaced. He purchased the part himself for $175 and installed it in less than an hour.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Peter J., OWNER from Marin Express Lube & Diagnostic Center responded on 07/29/2013
The part customer got was from kragens and part we were going to get is from dealer original part and not after market. that is the difference in price. dealer price on part is 351.00 after market is 175.00.

OG
Omar G.
San Rafael, CA
Chevrolet Pickup
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/30/2013 Category: Service
Omar said they told him it would take 20 minutes but it took 1.5 hours. The business lost his registration and the paperwork from the towing company. He was told they would return it to him but he has not received it yet. He stated he would not recommend them because he should have been told it would take 1.5 hours. He further noted he would have left and returned had he known about the time frame instead of waiting the whole time.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

Displaying all 11 Review