Overview

Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5rating 4.9

201 Reviews

99% Would Recommend
Latest Review 3 days ago

Reviews


HR
Hopie R.
Cathedral City, CA
Ford Pickup
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/12/2015
unsatisfied customer
Very unhappy. I'm now searching for a new location. i took "4" vehicles and now you are too much. No smiles, talking to people like "you" are the only shop in town that can fix the problems. While I was there, there was a man who was VERY upset, he went there for a fix and as he left town he got stranded. He kept on telling me to go somewhere else. I now know why, the quality of work has gonna down. You use to have a young man and there was a lady there also, who made you feel like it's ok, our car problems WILL get fix guaranteed. But now I doubt it'll get fix, maybe after $5000.00 later. Sorry but I'm not happy anymore. by the way I don't want work for free and I'm aware of the cost of living but PLEASE....
Tracy F. from Valley Smog and Auto Repair responded on 01/26/2015

Hopie,
I am sorry you feel you you had a bad experience with us.  We have tried twice to call you to get a better understanding of what you feel we did wrong.  When the vehicle was brought in your concern was the vehicle was shaking.  We preformed an inspection and found the brakes were worn out and the rotors had significant lateral runout causing the shaking you were feeling.  We recommended replacing the front and rear brake pads and rotors.
However to get a little more in depth, you have a Ford F150 where the amount of labor to remove the brake pads on the front is more significant than most pickup trucks.  Due to the lateral runout and the thickness of the rotors, the rotors and pads on both the front and rear needed to be replaced.  We gave your son the option of replacing the rotors with an option that will make doing the brakes significantly cheaper the next time or we could put on the rotors that were original equipment which would be a cheaper option now, however the next brake job would require a higher amount of labor.  The most expensive option would have been $1150.00 with the updated rotors for the front.  This includes front and rear pads and rotors for the rear and includes  tax and labor.  With the original equipment rotors it would have been $990.00.  Your son was notified of the pricing and he left tellingd us he would return after Christmas to get the work done.

Since then we have heard nothing from you until now.  I do not know what would have cost $5000.00 to repair.  Everything that we work on has a nationwide 2 year 24,000 mile warranty, and we stand behind everything we do.  If you would like to discuss any of this further please do not hesitate to call us. 

Tracy Finnell
Owner
760-328-8848

GL
GARY L.
Rancho Mirage, CA
Chrysler Town & Country
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/09/2015
Review
An OK car repair shop.

BH
BARBARA H.
Rancho Mirage, CA
BMW 325Ci
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/07/2015
Valley Smog Service
Valley Smog's employees are courteous and very efficient. They explain the procedure and then carry it out. My visit took only a short time. Thank you.

DD
David D.
Palm Springs, CA
Jeep Wrangler
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/21/2014
Great Service
Adam and entire staff excellent.

KB
KATHRYN B.
Palm Springs, CA
Toyota Corolla
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/19/2014
convience, price, quality of work
the place seems up front about your car diagnostics.

PM
Paul M.
Rancho Mirage, CA
Isuzu
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/16/2014
Fast, courteous service
After 20 years being a A/C, electrical technician, at a Ford dealership, I know what its like being on your side of the fence. you handle the stress very well for pleasing everyone. Its the old saying of putting yourself in you customers shoes, so you know how they feel.
As for Adam your technician, he is by far the best I've seen in many years (and I'm 68 years old) not only is he a professional, but his amount of knowledge is amazing for all of the different types of vehicles and trucks he services.
Its a nice feeling of confidence to bring all my vehicles to Valley Smog and Repair, keep up the good work.

Thanks
Paul
Monroe's Eyewear

PH
Peter H.
Palm Springs, CA
Subaru Outback
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/08/2014
5 star
as already experienced, a level of confidence
with your work
thanks
Peter

HM
HAROLD M.
Palm Springs, CA
Mercedes-Benz C280
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/03/2014
OUTSTANDING SERVICE A +++
As per usual...the same expected EXPERT service provided by a very friendly staff.

Thank you

JC
John C.
Cathedral City, CA
Toyota Camry
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/18/2014 Category: Service
John said the service was efficient and performed well.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

DH
Don H.
Rancho Mirage, CA
Mercedes-Benz S320
Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/18/2014 Category: Service
Don said he took his vehicle to this business for a tire rotation. He noticed three of his tire caps were missing he had to go back to pick them up but they have good service.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

LL
Luis L.
Nissan Altima
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/17/2014 Category: Service
Luis said this business was quick, efficient, and they got everything done that needed to be done.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

CF
Connie F.
Honda Civic
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/17/2014 Category: Service
Connie said the service was good and the staff was nice.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

LH
Louise H.
Chevrolet Cavalier
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/17/2014 Category: Service
Louise said this business is wonderful. Everything came out good.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

JL
JOHN L.
Cathedral City, CA
Volvo 850
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/16/2014
The Best
Knowledgeable, experienced, helpful! EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE! Above and beyond what one is used to experiencing. Second visit in 2 years and service remains Top Notch! I am sure that I will return to this shop in the future.

GB
Gail B.
Rancho Mirage, CA
Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/12/2014
friendly and genuinely nice
My only issue is a simple oil change took almost 2 hours even with a scheduled appointment. This is much too long.

LK
Lee K.
Rancho Mirage, CA
Jeep Grand Cherokee
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/08/2014
Friendly and reasonable service
Professional auto service keeps me as a loyal customer

MF
Michael F.
West Hollywood, CA
Hyundai Elantra
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/08/2014
Great service and prices, as always.
Great service and prices, as always.

DD
David D.
Palm Springs, CA
Jeep Wrangler
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/08/2014
Alex is great!!!
I have to many friends.

PH
Peter H.
Palm Springs, CA
Subaru Outback
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/07/2014
smog certificate
Wayne is efficient and congenial
Tracy F. from Valley Smog and Auto Repair responded on 11/07/2014

Thank you Peter for your review.

Tracy Finnell
Owner
760-328-8848

CV
CHARLES V.
Rancho Mirage, CA
Lexus RX 350
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/04/2014
service
Completely satisfied with all stages of service,