2006
BMW
3 Series

Overall Rating 4.67/5Overall Rating 4.67/5Overall Rating 4.67/5Overall Rating 4.67/5rating 4.67
4.7
(24 Reviews)
Latest review 8 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MS
Mel S.
2006 BMW 3 Series
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/07/2019
Oil leaks and small problems
As has been noted many times, these cars are prone to oil leaks. My daughter's 325i only has 78k miles on it and has had major oil leaks on the oil pan, oil filter stand and cam covers when I first got it and things like the washer pump went bad and a recall for faulty wiring. The oil leaks were a major expense as the engine had to be lifted off the subframe to get the pan off to replace the seals and that was very labor intensive and expensive for a car with only 74K miles on it at the time. It runs and drives great, but BMW needs to engineer better seals for their engines and not require special oil to keep them from leaking.

Overall, a good car with expensive small problems.

Pros
The BMW driving experience and the prestige.

Cons
Oil leaks and small things that go wrong like the radio display , washer pump, and a few other small things like seals around the trunk at the base of the rear window and the trim around the drivers side doors. Small things that don't affect how it drives and handles, but have to be fixed to keep out moisture and wind noise. A car this expensive shouldn't have these type of issues less than 80k miles.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GC
GREG C.
2006 BMW 3 Series
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/29/2017
325i
This is a great handling vehicle that also get good gas mileage.

Pros
This vehicle is well equipped.

Cons
Can't Bluetooth music from my phone through the car without a aux card.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ME
Mike E.
2006 BMW 3 Series
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/03/2017
Great fun to drive, but awful to maintain
Exactly as the title reads. Acceleration and handling are great fun. Maintaining a vehicle designed to be cared for only by those who paid their dues in deutschmarks is a tremendous pain in both the butt and the wallet.

Pros
FUN.

Cons
EXPENSIVE. And silly, fragile cupholders. No manual oil dipstick. What ???

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
PAT B.
2006 BMW 3 Series
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/14/2017
What's not to love about this car?
I loved it the moment I saw it. Classic beauty with a great engine. Couldn't ask for more.

Pros
Convertible with a strong engine. Interior very nice. Great for around town and shorter, fun day trips. Love my BMW.

Cons
It's older so it doesn't have all the bells and whistles. Not great for long trips.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AR
ALAN R.
2006 BMW 3 Series
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/27/2017
2006 BMW 330xi
I like this and the older BMWs vs the newer 3 series. I don't like the 4 cylinder version BMWs. I also prefer the handling and ride of the older vs the newer. The BMWs are precision vehicles and require a tighter maintenance schedule vs U.S. manufactured vehicles. A tradition probably started by the restrictions on Germany's top engineers from building military equipment like airplanes, tanks and ships so they had yo move over to building BMW, MB, and Audi cars, trucks and motorcycles to make a living. I think the Japanese had the same issues and produced Nissan, Datsun, Subaru, and Toyotas.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AA
Angela A.
2006 BMW 3 Series
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/07/2017
Fun car to drive!!!
This car is very fun to drive. I still have a ways to get it in top shape, but very happy with the performance of a car that is a decade on the road.

Pros
High performance vehicle and very fun to drive.
Very efficient on fuel.
Very comfortable interior.

Cons
Maintenance cost is a bit expensive, but you get what you pay for.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DE
DAVE E.
2006 BMW 3 Series
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/25/2017
Great car!
Great reliable vehicle.

Pros
Everything

Cons
Small drink holders.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
MITCHELL B.
2006 BMW 3 Series
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/30/2017
Bmw 330i
Very fast with no turbo. Engine leak at 100000 miles. Premium gas. 90/cents more than premium. Vinyl seat in less expensive model. Small tear in driver's seat. Approximately 2000 dollars in repairs as the. At ages evey year since 2015.

Pros
Stability at high speed

Cons
Repair costs

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
Dan G.
2006 BMW 3 Series
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/26/2017
Great car
Reliable, fun to drive and comfortable

Pros
All good

Cons
NA

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WO
WILLIAM O.
2006 BMW 3 Series
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/01/2017
Don't buy unless you are handy with a wrench or have deep pockets!!
Wonderful vehicle to drive when it is running correctly. Be warned, they aren't the most reliable cars and they are not cheap to fix. Be ready for warning lights on the dash and repair bills. I am fortunate enough to have the knowledge to do my own repairs, but those that do not should know!

Pros
Fun to drive, good styling and cool factor.

Cons
Unreliable and expensive to maintain and repair.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ND
NICQUANNA D.
2006 BMW 3 Series
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/29/2016
Electric Water pump went out twice in 5 years.
I've had my car for 7 years and I haven't had too many problems. However, my electric water pump went out twice in 5 years. That was expensive.

Pros
Decent on gas, reliable and still runs well after 180,000miles

Cons
Parts are expensive, back seat is pretty small, leather isn't the softest

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
Deletha G.
2006 BMW 3 Series
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/19/2016
the best
This was 2006, pre-owned vehicIe when I purchased it in September, 2007. I have now owned it for 9 years. I can honestly say, it is the best car I have ever owned. I like the style, gas mileage, comfort and it's easy to handle. My effort has been to take the car in at least once a year for maintenance. So far, I have no complaints.

Pros
all of the above -

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
RICK W.
2006 BMW 3 Series
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/10/2016
STILL EXQUISITE
OUR E90 WILL TURN TEN YEARS OLD AND REACH 100,000 MILES IN NOVEMBER, 16. THE RED BARRIQUE EXTERIOR AND MOCHA INTERIOR HAVE BEEN BABIED BUT THE DRIVETRAIN MAINTENANCE HAS BEEN PERFORMED BY PROFESSIONALS.

Pros
HANDLES, LOOKS, FEELS LIKE NEW

Cons
AUTO TRANS IS PERFECT BUT MANUAL UPSHIFT STOPPED;

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
Dan G.
2006 BMW 3 Series
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/13/2016
Great car
Fun to drive and reliable. Last one with standard transmission.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
Kim C.
2006 BMW 3 Series
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/29/2016
Love my 325
This is the 2nd BMW I have owned and I love it.

Pros
Fun to drive.

Cons
No heated seats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DO
DERWIN O.
2006 BMW 3 Series
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/27/2016
Car lover
Everything I expected in a car of my dreams

Pros
Great on gas

Cons
Need a little more room

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Alan M.
2006 BMW 3 Series
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/29/2016
BMW325xi
Drove a Z model that y sister had. When we found this and drove it, there wasn't any hesitation in purchasing it.

Pros
Puts American cars to shame.

Cons
As an older citizen, it is not as easy to get in and out of this vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
Arletta B.
2006 BMW 3 Series
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/23/2016
I'm certain I will always own a BMW
My BMW 330i is the second BMW I've owned. My other one had over 300,000 miles and a mechanic were i have it service bought it off me. Best car I ever had so decided to to get another. Why change when these cars preform so well. Some may complain about repairs / parts being high dollar but I have had far less repairs on my BMW than on several other vehicle I have had in the past.

Pros
Great reliable car & I will warn you these cars are addictive.

Cons
Ok I'm going to be picky with this part.
#1- The few thing I do not like is that the body style is so similar to other vehicles. I would like it to have a more unique appearance to the body style. After all its a BMW ! It's still a sharp looking car but it could be even better.

#2- a larger selection in paint colors.

#3- the interior trim pieces are showing some wear before they should. Just with normal every day use the finish on the inside door handle has a rubberized finish that is slightly peeling off.

This is about as detailed as I can get.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VA
Victor A.
2006 BMW 3 Series
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/21/2016
2006 BMW 325i
Excellent car for the money. Solid build, very responsive, yet comfortable for the long drives. Powerful V6 engine, yet very good in gas for a V6. Very reliable car.

Pros
Reliability
Powerful V6
Very responsive car
Very good gas economy for a V6

Cons
Front plastic grill is too low to the ground and bumps into all parking stops.
A little too low to the ground for a big guy like myself to get in and out.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
LOU ANN M.
2006 BMW 3 Series
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/27/2016
Solid ride!
Always feel safe & the power & handling is outstanding!

Pros
Safe & solid vehicle

Cons
Plastic engine parts are expensive to replace

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 24 in total