2004
BMW
X3

Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5rating 4.5
4.5
(8 Reviews)
Latest review 3 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

TH
THERESA H.
2004 BMW X3
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/03/2019
Don’t buy a BMW
I was told in advance that a BMW is the most thrilling ride but also the most frustrating mechanical experience I’ll ever have. I have found this to be true of my 2004 BMW X.3. It is beautiful, fast, responsive and has a great comfortable ride, but it has been in the shop so many times I’m ready to pull out my hair. I have spent as much in repairs as I have for the price of the actual car itself in only three years time. I will take a tremendous bath on this if I sell it, but I’ve been stranded in the desert on the ride back from Las Vegas to Los Angeles 3 times now, which in my opinion is 3 times too many. Even if you get a good one, BMWs are notorious leakers. There’s always fluid everywhere, in the garage, in the street, etc. . Both the regular seals and aftermarket seals are not good, my BMW mechanic won’t even own one because of the problems. Save yourself some time, money and headache, an older model Mercedes is so much better. They cost about the same amount to fix and you won’t be fixing it very often.

Pros
Responsive, fast, thrilling to drive

Cons
Completely unreliable, way too many expensive things that must be maintained or replaced on a regular basis.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MJ
MARCIA J.
2004 BMW X3
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/28/2019
Best car....EVER!
I loved this car from the moment I test-drove (an automatic).
I ordered the standard shift (6-gears), the premium package and could follow it being built in Bavaria.
The standard shift is no longer made and these cars are no longer made in Bayerische (Bavaria) for the USA.
I have a unique GEM!

Pros
I think the above answers say it all.

Cons
They don't make them like this any more.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VF
Van F.
2004 BMW X3
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/01/2018
2004 BMW X3
Bought this vehicle the first year this model came out. I've been more than satisfied with it's performance. Has 89,000+ miles and it still runs like a charm. Would highly recommend the X3 series. Would definitely buy another.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Joyce D.
2004 BMW X3
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/26/2017
Satisfied owner.
Enjoy this vehicle!

Pros
Easy and fun to drive.
Attractive style.

Cons
High maintenance costs.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DU
DAYLING MARISOL U.
2004 BMW X3
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/18/2017
Like my car
So far the best car I've ever owned

Pros
Runs great

Cons
When something breaks, parts are very expensive to replace.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Douglas S.
2004 BMW X3
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/25/2017
X3
Overall a very good car. I have enjoyed it for more than 10 years. Limited problems if do regular maintenance schedule.

Pros
Well build car with some power

Cons
Expensive to maintain

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
KEN/ROGER M.
2004 BMW X3
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/15/2017
Great Reliable Car
I wasn't familiar with BMX but after having TechAge Auto look it over, this vehicle is a great buy, very happy with this car!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jerrie S.
2004 BMW X3
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/31/2016
Drives like a dream
I am happy with my BMW X3. I read a lot of reviews before buying a used one; all reviews just depend on so many variables it's hard to really know what your getting. First, it drives like a dream; responsive, easy and overall just fun to drive. I wanted a smaller SUV and that is what it is--smaller so the interior feels more like a sedan than an SUV. Getting it repaired does cost a bit more, but so far other than a new starter everything else is just routine or preventative. It would be nice if the center console was wider-kind of an elbow fight for the space but the extra big sunroof makes your feel like you are riding with the top down.
CONS: A smaller than the average SUV

Pros
Responsive, pick-up, gas milage (ok in comparison) and style.

Cons
Smaller than the average SUV

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying all 8 reviews