2005
BMW
X3

Overall Rating 4.33/5Overall Rating 4.33/5Overall Rating 4.33/5Overall Rating 4.33/5rating 4.33
4.3
(9 Reviews)
Latest review 5 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

GW
Garnet W.
2005 BMW X3
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/15/2019
Used but Great so far!
Great used SUV so far with minimal repairs, just good new tires which made a huge difference in the ride. Very good European handling, this like many SUVs built these days is not your off road, road warrior! The X3 is more of hauling your kids to soccer and or ski practice and handles great in the snow and is build like a tank making it very safe vehicle to drive.

Pros
Drives like a smooth European car, still has decent styling, we bought thus used with high mileage, but it was well cared for.

Cons
This year 2005 is highly outdated now, interior looks good but they should have used slightly better interior materials. But then again this car is 14 + years old. Repairs can be expensive but if you do your homework you can find a decent Mom and Pop shop that don’t gouge you like some dealers do!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Julie W.
2005 BMW X3
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/27/2018
I love my BMX X3!
The BMW X3 has been the safest vehicle I have ever owned. This is my 4th one in my life. Nothing better or more sure footed when the roads are bad. I trust it with my life and those of my family and dogs.

Pros
Safe. Sound. Reliable in any and all weather. I'm guaranteed to get where I need to go. Plenty of space in the back for taking all the things I need.

Cons
Head room is a problem for tall people getting in and out of the vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
ANNA C.
2005 BMW X3
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/19/2018
I will buy again
It’s a SUV, but agile like a sedan. Love the panoramic sunroof; tried, but still haven’t find another vehicle can compete with the size and design of its sunroof . Have been owning and driving this car since 2005, reaching 190k miles now, the original engine is still going strong. The body still looks great. Nobody can believe it’s an older car and parked outdoor 2/3 of its life time.

Pros
Uses regular gas

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RL
Ray l.
2005 BMW X3
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/22/2017
First gen X3’s are excellent vehicles.
Quick handling, very non-SUV feeling in all the right ways. Reliable motor/drivetrain. The early years of this vehicle were the best IMO, due to their spartan features. This greatly boosts their reliability. More current year X3’s - as well as other BMW models - are loaded with too many things that can fail - ie too many electronic/luxury features. Go simple in whatever you buy, if buying for the long term (200-300K miles).

Pros
Reliable, fairly quick/agile. Timeless exterior design. Confidence inspiring. Nice to be seen in. Beautiful vehicle.

Cons
Panoramic roof can fail - a costly repair. Gas mileage could be better, though it’s not terrible by any means.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DQ
Debra Q.
2005 BMW X3
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/18/2017
Service
Awesome

Pros
Excellent

Cons
Price

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Masoud M.
2005 BMW X3
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/05/2017
Great SUV
I have this SUV for past 8 years and still running great and several time the BMW dealer offer me to purchase my car and I did not. the interior room are larger than new X3 and X5. No rust at all kept in good condition all way around.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HG
HARRISON G.
2005 BMW X3
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/16/2016
BMW X-3
I purchased my first BMW, a 74Io Il in 1999 and a second one, this X-3 in 2015. The 740 lasted over 300,000 miles with only minor repairs and required maintenance. This X3 now has 114,000 miles and I am having required maintenance and replacement parts as needed. I intend to keep the X-3 for another 100,000 miles at least.

In my view, BMW manufactures fine automobiles that handle beautifully, are nicely appointed, and deliver mile after mile. I am a BMW devotee.

Pros
BMW classifies their automobiles as "the ultimate driving machine". They are! When you are in a BMW you feel like you are in control. My wife commented after the first test drive she took that "it feels like they built this car around me".

Cons
Cup Holders leave a lot to be desired. Electronics are usually slightly behind the tech curve.

Beware of servicing at most BMW dealers. They are like most auto dealerships: They exist to rip you off. They are not accountable to BMW and BMW will not act as your ombudsman. Once out of warranty, you are fair game for their commissioned (it seems) auto service advisors.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CN
Chuck N.
2005 BMW X3
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/13/2015
2005 X3
Not a very reliable SUV. Begins to deteriorate around 100k miles. From broken rear springs, radio problems, wheel bearings and other issues. MPG is low. Not as rugged as my 2001 150k mile 325ci.

Pros
Style, features

Cons
Performance and longevity. Cost and frequency of maintenance.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Richard B.
2005 BMW X3
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/26/2015
Quality doesn't live up to the hype considering the cost of upkeep.
Overrated!

Pros
Handling and braking is superb. Plenty of power when needed. Very comfortable and a pleasure to drive.

Cons
High cost of repairs and routine maintenance. Dealer charges are outrageous.
Transmission through the gears is not as smooth as it should be.
Poor mileage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying all 9 reviews