2006
BMW
X3

Overall Rating 4.33/5Overall Rating 4.33/5Overall Rating 4.33/5Overall Rating 4.33/5rating 4.33
4.3
(12 Reviews)
Latest review 6 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


LM
LINDA M.
2006 BMW X3
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
04/13/2019
Parts too expensive
Ridiculous amount of money to replace any thing. Just a simple thing like a battery is 400.00 because you HAVE to take to dealership to recode.. Really.. Just another gouge by BMW. Definitely my 1 and done car. Going back to Toyotas..

Pros
Nice car. Good gas milage

Cons
Expensive as in gouging by BMW to repair

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GK
Gerry K.
2006 BMW X3
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/12/2016
BMW X3
This vehicle has everything. I could want and nothing I don't. (I can parallel park it myself,. thank you) This size is perfect, plenty of room,for passengers and cargo, good road clearance and visibility and plenty of pick up and power. It rides smoothly and handles like a sportscar, very peppy and responsive. Mileage is 20 to 30 around town and on the hwy. .

Pros
a real quality ride, suspension and maneuverability are very good and this model is a perfect size for my personal use and transporting a good size cargo load. Good mileage on regular gas with an occasional shot of high octane. Very, very good in snow..

Cons
a little tight for 5 passengers or child car seats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
Derek R.
2006 BMW X3
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/25/2017
Fun ride, but tough on the wallet
We like driving this car a lot. Very sporty, fun, car-like in many ways, xDrive does great in snow and rain. That said, be prepared for the fairly high cost of ownership. There are many small SUVs with much higher MPGs and fewer/cheaper repair bills.

Pros
Very fun to drive and handles great.

Cons
Set some money aside for the pump and shop.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Stephen M.
2006 BMW X3
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/20/2017
Definitely an above average vehicle for its class.
3.0L I-6 Engine
6-spd man w/OD Transmission
225 @ 5,900 rpm Horsepower
214 @ 3,500 rpm Torque
All wheel Drive type
ABS and driveline Traction control
1st and 2nd row regular express open/close sliding and tilting glass Sunroof
17" silver aluminum Wheels
Front air conditioning, automatic
AM/FM stereo, seek-scan Radio
Keyfob (all doors) Remote keyless entry
Front Fog/driving lights
Windshield wipers - rain sensing
Cloth/leatherette Seat trim

Pros
Overall, definitely an above average vehicle for its class. It handles corners well and accelerates nicely. Body is extremely tough; handles like a tank. High performance, anti-lock brakes, split rear seats, ample cargo space, 4WD, manual/automatic transmission.

Cons
This particular make and model has a stiff ride and low mpg in city driving (avg. 11.2mpg), MUST be maintained as scheduled to be fully enjoyed. Keep in mind, this is a sport version, the interior materials are harder than usual; the seats are leatherette for durability for all-weather, along with a stiff suspension as mentioned.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RZ
ROMAN Z.
2006 BMW X3
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/24/2018
2006 X3
Great handling and performance, comfortable, and plenty of power. AWD is on-track. Vehicle performs well with great features. No blind spots - help improve safety of the vehicle. Ageless design with high qualify paint. Plenty of space. Love driving the X3. Great vehicle!

Pros
Performance and handling

Cons
Gas mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
DONIELLE H.
2006 BMW X3
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/07/2019
Nice car!!!!
Over all a very nice car but I love my American made cars more. It looks good and it drives good but when it breaks down it’s very expensive to get fixed let me tell you. An it’s hard to find parts for it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PW
Peggy W.
2006 BMW X3
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/10/2016
Peggy Wieters
See below
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Michael H.
2006 BMW X3
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/16/2017
Best of the rest.
This is a great vehicle to own. It’s only set back is cost of operation. But if one reads the enclosed manuals and follow the procedures, this vehicle will last. Mine has over 300K and still runs great and still looks like new. I love it like I just bought it. Bonnie

Pros
Powerful comfortable and value added.

Cons
High cost of maintenance.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DJ
DONNA J.
2006 BMW X3
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/20/2018
Not cheap to Maintain...
BMW Corporate did not want to hear the review I gave...They are all about making MONEY...So the many repairs I've had to do..They don't care. Purchased with 52000..Miles....6yrs ago.This was my dream car..

Pros
Dependable

Cons
Parts are Very costly

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
SONJA R.
2006 BMW X3
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/27/2018
Old School Smooth
Although he has leaks periodically which can be expected due to age, I really enjoy this vehicle. Smooth ride, awesome sound system, great acceleration and sear comfort like no other car Ive had. Everytime I consider trading or selling I always change my mind.

Pros
Great in bad weather, very comfortable, size perfect for all needs.

Cons
Gas mileage, cost of repairs

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TL
TIMOTHY L.
2006 BMW X3
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/27/2019
Luxury workhorse
Our X3 is 13 years old, and has 145k miles, and just keeps working. It has treated my family very well, and has been less costly to own than most other cars we've had. The trick with BMWs is to do the maintenance, far more often than the manufacturer's schedule. All fluids and filters annually, including brake and coolant. Doing this has made the X3 a quite inexpensive vehicle over quite a long life, and it just keeps running.

Pros
Comfortable, reliable, safe, and with good longevity.

Cons
None come to mind.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DN
David N.
2006 BMW X3
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/16/2019
2006 BMW X-3
We bought this car new. It has served us very well and very comfortably. It takes us shopping and it has taken us on long road trips. Hard to beat. My wife usually drives it and I am confident that it will take care of her.

Pros
Tops.

Cons
None.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying all 12 reviews