Style image original

2007
Ford
Explorer

Overall Rating 4.17/5Overall Rating 4.17/5Overall Rating 4.17/5Overall Rating 4.17/5rating 4.17

18 Reviews

Latest review 5 months ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling
on 11/18/2017
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
"Worst vehicle I've ever owned"

So far I've had to have the front wheeling bearings replaced twice and the rear ones once at a cost of approximately $5,000.00 also have had to have the transmission rebuilt twice - can't remember how many thousands of dollars this ran. Only thing good on this vehicle is the engine, a V-6 which has never given me a problem. When I inquired about why form went to permanently lubricated bearings which can't be lubed, I was told it was to reduce the total cost of ownership - yeah, people would rather pay $3,000 every 50,000 - 60,000 miles (which is all they last) than $25 every time they have the oil changed for a lube job.

Pros
It's four wheel drive and has a reliable engine.

Cons
Most expensive vehicle to maintain, most unreliable, multiple bearing failures and transmission failures. Tried to rate this as a 1 on value for the money, reliability and build quality & the site wouldn't allow it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/19/2017
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
"I was sold a lemon "

I did not have any type of extended warranty upon purchase. I've discovered problems within the 30 days of purchase and some was corrected another was apparent but I did not have the foresight to notice it til after my thirty days and the dealership mechanic wanted to charge me $300.00 dollars for the part I purchased for approximately $65.00 and put it on my self. (I was a helicopter mechanic in the navy). It probable belief that my current computer module destroyed due to some previous alterations has tampered and messed up the wiring. I won't no the truth on this. It's a very sad lesson to learn from a dealership who present themselves as highly recognized and still took advantage of me.

Pros
This vechicle has all the features I've always wanted in a Ford SUV.

Cons
Very disappointed for it's condition as a use vechicle that could be considered a lemon and I'm still paying over $7.000 on it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 03/01/2016
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
"No longer a Ford guy"

I have had 5 different Explorers (I still have a 2007), and all but one have been great cars, and one of the reasons I loved the Explorer was because it was very affordable for what you got. Unfortunately, my 2004 Explorer was an absolute lemon, and Ford didn't stand behind the factory defects, of which there were many. EVERY SINGLE EXPLORER with that body has a CRACK IN THE TAILGATE below the window. The fact that they didn't do a recall on it is inexcusable. Also, there WAS a recall on the defective transmission, but all they did was put an ADDITIVE in the transmission fluid! That isn't FIXING it; it is just masking it. I had to have the fluid added twice, and then the transmission went out at 100,000 miles (just like EVERY other Explorer of that year-all of the transmissions will go out before they hit 120k miles). In addition, I was treated like garbage by Ford Credit when calling to get a lien release when I bought a new vehicle, which is a 2016 GMC Acadia. You will pay a lot more money for a GMC, but it is ten times the vehicle that the Ford Explorer was. I guess I should be glad that they made the 2004 so poorly, because if they hadn't, then I wouldn't be driving the best car I've ever owned, which is the GMC Acadia.

Pros
Inexpensive

Cons
Ford doesn't stand behind its manufacturing defects.

Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/11/2016
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Love it"

When I trade my Explorer I would trade it for another one.

Pros
Drive quality, Interior. I have all the features.

Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/20/2016
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Ford Exployer"

Longest I've ever had a car. It's been 8 years on this one and I still love it.

Pros
Great in inclement weather

Cons
Third row seats motor went bad after 3 years.

Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 06/29/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Lynn"

I bought this vehicle used with 3500 miles on it. It has been a reliable car.
Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/16/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Love"

This is our 2nd Explorer, we got over 300k miles on our 2002 gas mileage sucks but we still Love it 😊

Pros
Can haul many large items I can put an 8ft Christmas tree in it

Cons
Gas milage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/24/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Safety"

Have always felt comfortable and safe while traveling.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/26/2018
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"I love my FORD EXPLORER"

I enjoy driving rhe EXPLORER. Tjerw is plenty of room for other riders and the ac is noce and xold. A couple of blind spots make it difficult for lane changes.i would recommend the vehicle. Easy to maintain.

Pros
Roomy. Strong engine.

Cons
Blind spots

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/11/2015
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"The best vehicle ever"

I was a little skeptical buying this vehicle but I wouldn't trade it for the world! it has more room than I expected and the smoothness of the ride is spectacular! everyone that rides in it and drives it is impressed with the comfort - I don't know what I'm going to do when it doesn't run anymore - hopefully that won't be for quite a while -

Pros
very comfortable to drive great sound system good on long trips very dependable

Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 05/12/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2007 Explorer"

Original owner.. Have over 100,000 miles. Rides like a vehicle with 30,000 miles. With normal Maintenance vehicle has never let me down. Body free from rust. Major repair has been the breaks. Very Happy with vehicle.

Pros
Durability and Reliability. Good storage and amazing performance of 4 wheel drive system on snow covered roads. Sure footed... Never been stuck.

Cons
Ride a little stiff

Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 05/24/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Best SUV ever owned, glad I found it."

Love this vehicle, Minimal problems, Front wheel bearings were the most costly item I have put on this vehicle. Most maintenece items such as brakes, oil, tires.
Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 06/08/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"My Explorer is the greatest"

I love the ride and dependability of my Explorer--
Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/11/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"I love my explorer. I would not want any other truck."

I love the way it handles tight curves and has plenty of clearance for our uneven and rough Minnesota roads. It handles the winter driving conditions well, good weight distribution too. I do keep the mist rugged tires available on my truck. It helps quite a bit.
Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/09/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love my car"

This is a great family car. For short trips and long trips it's a great car.

Pros
Comfortable,roomy

Cons
The gas!

Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 05/24/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Ford Explorers are the greatest."

I have an older Ford Explorer, 2007, with 182,000. I hope it stays with me past 200,000. I love this car. It's taken me to places in the US that you can't imagine, narrow mountain roads, water covered lanes, highways, extreme heat, severe cold; it never fails. I would recommend the Ford Explorer - 4 wheeled drive - to any driver, male or female, young or old. I have four dogs and it's a great car for the dog owner. It has lots of room - I have three rows of seats and they are very easy to put up and down for a variety of configurations both with seating people, dogs and cargo. I love this car.

Pros
- reliability at 181,000 miles. - easy to configure seats for many uses both for people, pets and cargo - very comfortable to drive regardless of road conditions - leather upholstery holding up well after 10 years - body and paint still perfect after 10 years of much off road and highway traveling - beautiful tow vehicle

Cons
- I can't think of any

Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/10/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Very Solid!"

Cherry, my 2007 Explorer is running like a charm! She's had a few repairs but that is to be expected! This is my 2nd Explorer that I have owned for 10 years or more!!

Pros
Can seat 7!!!

Cons
Leather seats are a beige color and get dirty easily.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 03/14/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2007 Ford Explorer/Eddie Bauer"

I absolutely love my 2007 Explorer. It is a sturdy SUV on a truck chasis. I just had my 100,000 mile inspection and am ready for 100,000 more!

Pros
Too much to put down.

Cons
Lift gate is hard to lift ( heavy). I wish there would be an add on kit to make it automatic open and close like the newer model Explorers.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying all 18 Review