Style image original

2014
Ford
Explorer

Overall Rating 4.69/5Overall Rating 4.69/5Overall Rating 4.69/5Overall Rating 4.69/5rating 4.69

17 Reviews

Latest review over 2 years ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


CA
CHERRYL A.
2014 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/13/2016
3rd Ford Explorer
Ford keeps improving the explorer to fit my needs. This is 3rd one we have bought new and are still driving two of them.

Cons
Only con I can think about is it took some getting used to sitting down lower in front that our 2002. Seems like we sit lot lower. Also, it seems the overall visibility from inside is not as good.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
TAMMY B.
2014 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/17/2016
My 2014 Ford Explorer
Looks good, rides good and is very family oriented. Love my Ford!!!!

Pros
Good gas mileage. Good size. Family oriented but still sporty looking.

Cons
The depth of the floor makes it a little hard for people with bad knees to enter the vehicle. They have to lift legs a little higher to get it over the lip of the doorway.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LL
LaVerne L.
2014 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/29/2016
WHAT I THINK OF MY FORD EXPLORER
GREAT CAR WILL ALWAYS OWN A FORD!!

Pros
EASY TO DRIVE. TURNING RAIDAS EXCELLANT! GREAT DASH.
I CAN READ IT MORE THAN I CAN SAY FOR MY 2011 ESCAPE!!!

Cons
SO MANY COMPUTER INFO AND DIRECTIONS TO MAKE THINGS WORK. I NEED SOME CLASSES....IT IS STILL A EXCELLENT CAR!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
Peter M.
2014 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/03/2016
The old and the new
I own a 2004 Ford Explorer and it has never done me wrong. When it was time to look for a new car, I looked into the new Explorers. You can't beat the roominess and comfort that a larger vehicle has to offer. The change from the rear wheel drive to the front wheel drive train wasn't a big deal but I noticed the handling was much better. The newer Explorers still offer 4 wheel drive with the rear wheels kicking in to give extra traction in rough terrain and snow.

Pros
Third row seating standard, plenty of room for all passengers and a great ride. The v-six engine gives great mileage which is a great plus.

Cons
I haven't had any problems.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AW
AMY W.
2014 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/03/2016
Explorer
LOVE,LOVE,LOVE this Explorer!

Cons
NONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
MARVIN S.
2014 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/27/2017
Love it!
I plan to be an Explorer owner period!

Pros
Love it!

Cons
Don't change too much...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Dale S.
2014 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/28/2017
Ford Explorer
Love it

Pros
Great SUV
Safe SUV I was hit head on in my Ford Explorer. The car was completely totaled. I walked away without a scratch. Safety A+

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NW
NORMAN F W.
2014 Ford Explorer
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/04/2017
Excellent for my use
Comfortable efficient easy to use good gas mileage on highways large trunk and electronics easy to use

Pros
See above

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LL
LaVerne L.
2014 Ford Explorer
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/20/2017
What I think about my 2014 Ford Explorer
I love my car!!!

Pros
I was driving an Ford Escape. What a piece of junk!! Had an 2000 Explorer before (still do). Drove the Escape for about 2 yrs and couldn"t stand it traded it in for my 2014 Ford Explorer! Never regretted one day!!!!

Cons
NONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
CHERYLE S.
2014 Ford Explorer
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/27/2017
2014 Ford Explorer
Love my vehicle. Most comfortable, best driving vehicle I have ever owned. Super safe and just a dream to drive.

Pros
Heated seats, and steering wheel. Heats up fast. Windshield clears in a matter of seconds. Drives great. Especially in all the rain we get in Washington.

Cons
None.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BC
BECKY C.
2014 Ford Explorer
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/01/2018
Ford Explorer
We shopped many SUV’s before deciding on the Explorer. It’s stout, roomy, sporty and plows though snow like a champ. It was important to me to find a vehicle that didn’t break us like our Acura did with its $800.00, single head lamp replacement. We were assured by our local, Nationally recognized mechanic that we were making a good decision.

Pros
Overall style pleasing on the eye.

Cons
Interior door panels could be higher grade.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HC
HUNSDON C.
2014 Ford Explorer
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/10/2018
Super!
Excellent comfort and performance. Snow is no problem with the four wheel drive and grandchildren love the DVD screens in front seat head rests. Very reliable, only oil and filter changes and tire rotation
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BT
BRUCE and KATHY T.
2014 Ford Explorer
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/19/2018
2014 Ford Explorer Sport
I own two of these cars and they still drive like new. I never tire of feeling the power of the EcoBoost engine. The steering is very responsive and the ride is smooth. The electronics have functioned flawlessly and the interior still looks new. I love the keyless entry system and I hope Ford always keeps this as a standard feature.

Pros
Fun to drive!

Cons
Limited foot room for the left foot of the driver. Door arm rests are a little low.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NW
NORMAN F W.
2014 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/05/2016
Explorer
Comfurtable to drive impresed with big engine speed and gas milage on all types of roads and weather

Pros
Big engine ga milage

Cons
None at this time

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
MIKE M.
2014 Ford Explorer
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/27/2016
Great ride
I love my Ford Explorer. The ride is a luxury sedan feel. I like being elevated and able to see. My only complaint is it is a very wide vehicle. Parking is often a challenge. I do like all the bells and whistles with back up camera, warnings for motion behind and passing vehicles. And the 20 mpg is significantly better that my 2001 GMC Yukon at 14 mpg.

Pros
Great extras Smooth ride. Love the original 3 rd row seating. So easy to use.

Cons
Rear window glass doesn't open. Too wide for many parking spaces. Back seat leg room is not as generous as I would like

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Andy M.
2014 Ford Explorer
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/16/2017
Comfortable
We are pleased with most aspects of this vehicle. Two things that are less than appreciable:
1) Not an economical vehicle.
2) Not a truly comfortable long distance vehicle for a family of 4.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CT
Cynthia T.
2014 Ford Explorer
Check 20x19 Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/25/2018
Lower end model
I purchased this vehicle for the 3rd row seating and towing capacity. I wished I could have afforded the XLT with a bit more conveniences. I have had transmission/shifting issues since I purchased the vehicle. Checked may times but I am told it "meets factory requirements". I will go back to purchasing Jeeps!

Pros
3rd row seating
fabric seats

Cons
transmission

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying all 17 Review