Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MR
Michael R.
2002 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/01/2019
Best Car I Ever Owned!
I bought my Accent in 2002. I have driven it and down California. The mileage is terrific and it runs even better after a long road trip. I have a hatchback and you cannot imagine all the goodies I have purchased and been able to take home. Thank-you, Accent!

Pros
Good gas mileage. Low maintenance.

Cons
Wish I had bought a 4 door.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TC
Thomas C.
2002 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/25/2019
2002 Hyundai Accent
This is a very basic vehicle...I bought it because it's a
hatch-back. With the back seat 'down' there is plenty
of space for carrying 'stuff'....I've carted 10 bags of mulch,
my lawnmower...etc...easily.
The 2-door has extra large doors...very useful if your
passenger has mobility issues. Lots of legroom in the front.
The overall quality of the car is most impressive.
I regularly get 40 mpg (summer gas...37 mpg winter gas).

Pros
Very Good basic car

Cons
The 2-door Accent is no longer offered

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Rhonda B.
2002 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/09/2019
Rhonda
I bought this car brand new off the lot when there was a huge craze for them! I had to make a fast decision because people were literally standing in line for this car! I bought it in 2002 and I have over 225,000 miles on it and have done very little repair work. It is a work horse! It's traveled long distance for work for 10 years, sometimes going 85 mpg for long stretches (it did shake and shimmy a bit!). Overall, for just a commuter car with no extras, it has far exceeded my expectations and I wouldn't trade it in for anything! I've never had a car payment and it's practically paid for itself over the last 17 years. Hyundais are amazing!

Pros
It was a very inexpensive vehicle that has given me many years of reliability. Love this little car!

Cons
No comfort features, just a basic car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HG
Hugh G.
2002 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/03/2018
Hyundai "Accent" 2002
I have been very pleased with my Hyundai "Accent" 2002 ! This car was previously owned by a cousin, and I purchased it from the dealership where she had bought it originally, and was turning it in to purchase a later model Hyundai. It had about 20,000 miles on it at my time of purchase, and I now have almost 90,000 miles of good service on it. I look forward to probably purchasing my cousin's present car whenever he turns it in. I feel that the Accent is a rugged car, and it has given me good service on both rural and urban roads and streets. Thank you for this opportunity to put in a good word!

Pros
Rugged and workmanlike, like myself. Handles easily.

Cons
As with any smaller vehicle, I recognize that I don't have the same degree of protection is a crash as I would have probably in a considerably larger one.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Michael R.
2002 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/01/2018
Accent
I have my Accent GS for 16 plus years. It is best vehicle I have ever purchased. The maintenance has been very minimal all these years and the gas mileage has been fantastic. I recommend the Accent to everyone!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
KEVIN C.
2002 Hyundai Accent
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/31/2017
Old Faithful
This car keeps running. It's the second one I've owned. The first car I named "Ole Faithful" because she never quit. It's a great A --> B car with excellent MPG. It's not flashy but I bought it for the quality, not flash

Pros
It keeps running
Excellent MPG

Cons
Large doors tend to swing wide in a parking lot
Bad blind spot

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
Carol M.
2002 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/07/2017
Keeps on ticking
My 14-year old Hyundai is the best car I've ever owned. Fun to drive (manual), doesn't nickel and dime you with minor repairs, and is very reliable. rated at 27-37, I get 31/40.

Pros
Back support you can change with one hand. Excellent AC, speakers and fabric seats. A hatchback that looks like a sedan.

Cons
None.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
Brent B.
2002 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/07/2017
243,000 miles and still going...
It has been an economical and reliable vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jeffrey M.
2002 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/26/2016
It got the job done.
It got the job done, for a cheaper vehicle. The tranny went out at 90,000. It has been good with the exception of the exhaust.

Pros
cheap

Cons
exhaust system has needed several repairs.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PL
Pete L.
2002 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/15/2016
Right Sized Car
Our Accent is a four door sedan with the 1.6 liter gas engine with direct fuel injection and double overhead cam. It is a nimble but efficient vehicle, great for city driving but still reasonable for long trips as long as back seat is occupied by children. Still, It holds four adults and still has plenty of power to move about. Rear seats fold down for oversized cargo hauling. Parking is easy with this semi-compact vehicle and driver visibility is GREAT out in all directions. Parts are readily available and inexpensive through after-market outlets.

Pros
Driver's seat is multiple adjustable; visibility outward is superb in all 360 degrees directions; fuel efficiency is high; engine is spunky; trunk is ample; four doors make entry access easy; luxury items are mechanical so repair/replacement is quick and inexpensive; body is solid and gives a sure ride; maintenance is clear and accessible (oil, spark plugs, etc.)

Cons
Transmission. We are on our fourth: two bought by Hyundai and two bought by us. They only last about 50,000 miles. Good thing there is a 100,000 power train warranty on these cars!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GG
Guillermo G.
2002 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/01/2016
Don"t speak inof Englesh
Don"t speak inof Englesh

Pros
No want to change for new one

Cons
Nothing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
David C.
2002 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/22/2016
RMHN
I have had this vehicle for 14 years and have had excellent service out it and would recommend it to anyone.

Pros
Value and maintenance

Cons
Small

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
Karen C.
2002 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/19/2016
Love my Accent!
I have been driving my Hyundai Accent since 2002 and I hope it never wears out! I drive windy, back roads to work 30 minutes each day and I love how my little car handles on the curves. I have had few maintenance problems with it. It is a very dependable car.10

Pros
Great handling, perfect arm rest that fits my body.

Cons
Has always used a little too much oil.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
MARK T.
2002 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/08/2015
Better than the Reviews
Critics underrated the 2002 Accent, which after 13 years and carrying hundreds of pounds of building materials, still gets 50 miles to the gallon if driven 50-55 miles per hour. The only problem I always had was that the manual transmission shifting was always rough until the third, the latest, clutch repair. Yet, I attribute this to my driving more than the transmission. My child has no problem shifting. Except for my new 2013 Accent Hatchback, the 2002 Hyundai Accent is one of the best cars, and the most durable, that I have owned.

Pros
Price, durability, performance, strength, gas mileage 50-55 mpg at 50 mph, ease of repair, dependability.

Cons
Hard shifting

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying all 14 reviews