Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

FW
Faye W.
2014 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/18/2020
Best car I have owned.
My Accent meets all of my needs. Excellent quality, performance and value for the money. What more could you ask for. The Accent has it all. I have owned many different types of cars but my Accent is the very best.

Pros
Great gas mileage and fun to drive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HR
Holly R.
2014 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/15/2020
6 years with our Hyundai Accent sdan
WE purchased the Accent soon after the model/styling change in 2014..to replace our 2009 Accent. It was to be our driver 'around town' since we had a 2012 Sonata we preferred on the road. Soon thereafter we sold the Sonata to our daughter and bought a pickup truck, with which we planned to haul our new camper. The Accent took on more work, and was up to the task fully...including trips to E TN and a couple even to FL, since 2017. It runs fine and gets great mileage, ..even up to 45 mpg if I am careful!. We had to take it into & leave it the Hyundai shop for repair of the AC compressor in 2016, which was fully covered under warrantee. [WE did purchase the 100% bumper-to-bumper warrantee when we bought the vehicle]. AS it turned out Hyundai had trouble finding the apparently odd parts, so we were driving a new 'loaner' Ram 4x4 pickup free ...for 3 weeks! WE really appreciated the 'loaner'. That problem with the AC BTW is the only problem we've had in 6 years..and ~ 53000 miles, and we plan to keep the Accent another 2-3 years, or so.. It is as dependable as we expected. If I had it to do over, I would have ordered the vehicle with Cruise Control, though I really do not recall IF CC was even available in 2014! .I didn't give it 5 stars only bks it does not have cruise control, tho that is not the fault of the car!!

Pros
Great mileage, decent seating comfort, easy to park, big trunk, affordable, fold-down rear seats, Full, molded trunk liner,

Cons
No cruise control Came w/o a spare wheel/tire, but we bought one...simple addition.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LT
Lynda T.
2014 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/01/2020
Hyundai Accent Hatchback
I absolutely love my Accent hatchback, and am so glad I purchased the car when I did in 2014. The design is so cute and the car is amazing! Very sadly, the Accents - sedan and hatchback - have since been redesigned (a bigger grill same as the Sonata, to give it a mean face, not the cute "tiger" looking face; the hatchbacks look squatter; I've heard that the tires are bigger), and I understand that the hatchbacks are or will no longer be sold in the US, giving way to the bigger SUVs such as the Kona. The hatchbacks are a perfect size, who needs the big SUV? Please bring back the 2014 design and hatchbacks to the US!!!

Pros
Everything about it is great!

Cons
Have since been redesigned and apparently the new hatchbacks are no longer available in the US.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
Jed R.
2014 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/17/2020
Suits my needs perfectly. Smaller hatchback is great.
*As of last review, my last remarks 1 year ago still stands as written below. Updates as time passes with an asterisk (*).

Seats
- Drop down backseats to allow for some greater cargo transport
- Bucket seats that hug your body
- Back seats ride rather high; passengers and I do get fatigued over long drive times

Interior: paneling, dashboard, or main console does not feel cheap and made with some pretty decent material

Bells & Whistles:
- Bluetooth connection feature for your phone and phone calls is a pleasure and a must to have. Sound quality on the other end of phone calls have been said to be superb.
- When using Bluetooth, you have to watch out for the volume levels of the speakers because the voice coming out the speakers can be heard from the outside.
- Steering wheel controls for the main console and Bluetooth phone feature works great and makes the ride pleasant.
- USB connection of MP3 devices is a god-send for my car rides.
- Would have preferred to have the center console USB to be hidden away in my center armrest compartment. (Or, have another USB hidden away). I don't mind (un)plugging my device whenever I get in-and-out, but the seamless design of a USB device hidden away would have gave the car some elegance.
- Was fortunate to take advantage of the Sirius radio for the first 3-months of having the car. It was a great add-on but I had to cut costs. Satellite radio is a great addition if you can afford it in the long-run.

Styling:
- Lines, headlights, shape of scoop and hood, placement and shape of backlights and reflectors have a nice look to them.

Performance:
- 4-disc caliper brakes provide some pretty decisive and smooth stopping power when needed. *Saved my life once or twice.
- The engine (1.6 L) is not the heart of a speed demon, but with some aggressive handling the car is pretty responsive. *Feeling the moan and groan of the engine when taxed. I hear it more because moved to a mountainous area. Understand that I am trading off between fuel efficiency and acceleration. I must have at least 31mpg CITY/41mpg HWY.
- Shocks/struts really feel the potholes and sudden road impediments; you can feel the road -smooth feel for most driving. At the same time, the suspension is stiff enough that the car doesn't really yaw, shimmy, bounce, or fishtail.
- On highway drives at steady speeds, I can average 37-49 mpg. On the stop-and-go, I can average 23-32 mpg. Improvement of gas mileage would make the car pretty darn near perfect.

Misc Features:
- I know that the Hyundai Accent (and more cars on the market) provide air pressure tire sensors, run flat-tires, and a compressor with fix-a-flat in a can as an alternative to providing a spare tire. But, I admit some anxiety with not having a doughnut just-in-case. *Bought the doughnut. Feel much better.
- Installing/removing or using baby/child seats is not bad. Anchors are easily accessible and doesn't disappear into the cushions. For a 3-5 year old, the child may be able to touch the front chair by extending their legs.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
Michael T.
2014 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/09/2020
Paint flakes
The green paint flakes off. Not covered under warranty apparently. Other than that, the car drives nicely. It handles well. The shifter (mine's a manual) is positive and engaging. The clutch has a nice take up. There's a good amount of room The radio controls are not entirely intuitive. The front wheel bearings went south at 80,000 miles. It got loud and expensive.

I probably will be going back to Japanese manufacturers because the quality is a bit higher.

Pros
Handling.
Looks.
It's a fun to drive car.

Cons
Paint peeled off the plastic parts.
Wheel bearings went south at 80k.
Build quality is not as good as Japanese manufacturers.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HW
HANNAH W.
2014 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/22/2020
The best car ever!
I love this vehicle so much! I’ve had the car for 4 years now and it has never let me down. I’ve never had any problems that weren’t either my fault or general maintenance. My only complaint is that it’s very low to the ground, but if you replace the 12 inch tires for 14 it’s perfect!

Pros
Very reliable and safe.

Cons
Low to the ground

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Linda S.
2014 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/15/2020
My Hyundai
My 2014 Hyundai has a little over 30,000 miles on it. Getting it maintenance regularly and taking care of it I will have it for more years to come. This is my third Hyundai from red McCombs and I don’t think I would go anywhere else !

Pros
Runs great awesome gas mileage

Cons
Wished it had leather seats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Dennis M.
2014 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/17/2020
Love it
I've owned many different cars through my 50yrs of driving. This Hyundai Accent is the nicest regardless of it's size. Rain, shine, sleet and snow it gets up and goes. Great gas mileage, comfortable for its size

Pros
All pros

Cons
No cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PJ
Pamela J.
2014 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/19/2020
Driving my 2014 Hyundai Accent SE
The car is easy to handel whether I driving on the interstate or in busy city traffic. I also am impressed with the low cost maintenance. It is not so much fun to drive on old country gravel roads. But, I live in the city. So, no problems there. Also like all the safety features and all the wifi options. Great little car!

Pros
Great little car to get around in the city and interstate highways.

Cons
No fun to drive on country roads.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
Dan R.
2014 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/23/2020
Great Commuter Car!
Great purchase 4 years ago. Has taken me to work and to school back faithfully for the last four years with no heavy maintenance necessary. Never met a parking spot that I couldn't fit in and don't think I ever will. Would recommend to anyone as a first car or a car needed for high mileage.

Pros
Good on Gas
Comfortable for long road trips
Easy parking
Hatchback very versatile

Cons
Does not accelerate exceptionally fast
Plastics in front grill finicky
Stick shift mode pointless
No Bluetooth in base model

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WS
Warren S.
2014 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/09/2020
Excellent Car
I own a 2014 Hyundai Accent and it is primarily used as my work vehicle. I do a lot short and some long driving trips throughout the day for work. This car is great on gas mileage. The ride is very comfortable. This vehicle was engineered by very smart and practical people. Even down to turning signals and steering wheel. I look forward to driving it everyday and I'm never disappointed in its performance. Overall I would recommend this vehicle and Hyundai as a great car company to shop for. I told my brother about Hyundai and he test drove and brought a Hyundai Tuscan. My wife also brought a 2015 Hyundai Elantra and absolutely loves it. So overall myself and my family are Hyundai cars lovers for life.

Pros
great gas mileage
looks great
lots of cargo space
fun to drive

Cons
no backup camera in 2014 model i own
little more powerful engine

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PJ
Pamela J.
2014 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/23/2020
Driving my 2014 Hyundai Accent SE
Best little car on the road. Gets great gas mileage. Handles the roads very well especially during the winter months. Has all of the safety features that come standard with this little car that you would not expect to get except on higher priced cars.

Pros
Best little car on the road.

Cons
Not fun to drive down gravel roads. But, don't have to deal with that problem much since only have to deal with that when I go back to visit family and friends in Southwest Missouri.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JU
Jr. U.
2014 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/13/2020
Joseph Urbanial
This is my second Accent in 7-8 years. I purchased my first one after reading an article in the Sunday Edition of The New York Times, which article ranked the Hyundai Accent the highest in its category of 8-10 cars, including Honda and Toyota; the article gave the Accent rave reviews. My experience over 7-8 years has been excellent; the reviews in the article were justified.

Pros
Generally, outstanding.

Cons
I can think of none.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PJ
Pamela J.
2014 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/17/2019
Driving my 2014 Hyundai Accent SE
Well it is winter. And, my 2014 Accent powers through it! Have some wonderful options on this little car that make that possible. And, that makes me feel secure to drive in this winter weather. This car has a powerful little engine that helps me climb those snow and ice covered embankments. Not a big fan of winter. But, I feel confident driving in winter weather in my 2014 Accent SE.

Pros
Overall, just a great little car to drive. Has an excellent MPG.

Cons
No fun to drive on country roads.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Catherine C.
2014 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/11/2019
HYUNDA
a good running car no problems with it. you take care of your car it takes care of you . I just love driving it. Good on gas, keep me riding.I love my Hyunda. a little low to the ground. But a good car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
John B.
2014 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/29/2019
Efficient spacious little vehicle
The Accent is fuel efficient, spacious and comfortable.
It is a little under powered but that is what makes it fuel efficient.
The cloth seats stain easily and the drivers side foot well mat will not stay put.

Pros
Efficient,
Comfortable
Spacious

Cons
Cloth seats stain easily

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RT
Raymond T.
2014 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/16/2019
I'm sorry to hear that Hyundai has quit making the Accent hatchback.
An all around great car for the money, although at this time it is burning way too much oil. I'm in the process of having the car evaluated at this time with it being checked four times at 500 mile intervals. I was told that, if this test shows that the oil consumption is excessive that the motor will be replaced since it is still under warranty. I had previously leased a 2012 model and I LIKED IT SO Well I decided to get the 2014, same color and everything. It'seems been great also until this oil consumption problem came up.

Pros
All around great.

Cons
No bluetooth

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
Mildred P.
2014 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/15/2019
Great little car
This Accent is my mother's third one. The primary reason for this and previous purchases is because of the brand of car which has a great reputation. For years I had told my mom how much I personally loved my own purchases

Pros
Love Hyundai cars.

Cons
Not the best suspension, but that is to be expected

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
Michele L.
2014 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/28/2019
Great little car
I love my Hyundai Accent Hatchback. It's great on fuel, and zippy driving an hour to and from work each day! The hatchback makes it super handy too! My son helped me connect my smart phone and now I can receive and make calls hands free!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Sandra M.
2014 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/06/2019
Very Satisfied !
I’ve had my 2014 Hyundai for 5 yrs, replaced battery after 4 yrs, so far that’s been my biggest repair. It’s very good on gas, a/c is great, has a blue tooth- great for my music!
It came with tinted windows, I’m going to have to redo the hatch back window, bubbles are all over window, not sure if it’s because of the defrost on during the winter months. Other than that, this is a great vehicle to own!

Pros
Great on gas, great mileage, very roomy for moving or shopping, small compact car.

Cons
Car is a little low in the front, Gets scratches from bumps or driveways.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 500 in total