2013
Hyundai
Elantra GT

Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5rating 4.65
4.7
(598 Reviews)
Latest review almost 4 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


JC
JAMES C.
2013 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/25/2015
2013 Hyundai Elantrat
ok

Pros
OVER ALL OK

Cons
VERY POOR GAS MILEAGE.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PC
PAUL C.
2013 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/01/2016
2-1-16ElantraGT
Great car, reliable, easy maintain, good fuel economy, and nice style!

Pros
Looks good, feels good, great on gas,

Cons
Backup lights do not light up driveway.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
DAVID W.
2013 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/08/2016
Worst car ever
Stated already, Hyundai got my money once, I will never buy another one or recommend Hyundai of Kirkland

Pros
There aren't any.

Cons
Not anywhere close to the promised gas mileage, and dealership could care less and then lied through their teeth about it.
And it will not allow me to select the rating of 1 here. What a joke

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Liesl M.
2013 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/03/2018
Solid pass.
This car isn't worth the money and lacks basic amenities that make any modern car functional and efficient. It's fine on gas but overall, it's a subpar designed car. I'd suggest looking for other compact cars if that's what you prefer. I do like smaller cars but this one just isn't designed as well as it should be.

Pros
Decent on gas

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TS
Tressa S.
2013 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/07/2018
Craftmanship.
Have had to have the rear axle replaced 3 times. Hyundai said they were not going to cover it. Service manager got them to cover it. They need to get this problem fixed. The problem is going to get someone injured or killed.

Cons
Faulty rear axle. Poor coverage from Hyundai.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Allison M.
2013 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/09/2019
Horrible Car
Everything is falling apart on my car. I’ve only owned foreign cars and I will never buy another Hyundai again.

I service my car as the manual recommendeds. My other cars have had over 200k and I never had so many issues before
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MJ
Mary J.
2013 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/25/2019
Faded paint on the roof of my car!!!
Colonial Hyundai needs to paint for the paint job where the paint is fading on the roof of my brand new car I purchased from your dealership. I was informed by the service representative that the paint on my vehicle, "Should never fade at any time on the vehicle, especially since I've only had the car for three years !!!" I feel the dealership should be responsible for the paint job of my brand new car I purchased from your dealership.

Pros
Love everything about the vehicle otherwise. Other than the paint fading on the roof of my brand new car I purchased from your dealership

Cons
Paint has faded on the roof of my brand new car I purchased from your dealership. Colonial Hyuandai needs to pay for the paint job of the paint job of my brand new car I purchased from your dealership....

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
MARGARET A.
2013 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/05/2015
Broken promises
Poor fuel economy, poor acceleration, uncomfortable seats for long rides, rough ride.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
SANDRA M.
2013 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
02/29/2016
great mileage
terrible paint job and leather interior is lacking in quality tears...and wheel covers scatch terribly

Pros
drives well ..good mileage... great sun roof

Cons
terrible paint quality... interior leather quality sorely lacking...and wheel covers cheap

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Julie B.
2013 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/07/2016
Not loving this car!
Never really had any major problems until after going over 100,000 miles. The car hit 127,000 miles and I had to get a new motor in the car. Cost me just under $5,000 and I am I single Mom raising two little girls. This really killed my budget. I will say that Stoltz Hyundai of DuBois did a great job of finding a motor and getting it in my car ASAP. They gave me a loaner car and in about one week they had my car done. I am a sales rep. on the road five days a week. I do get my car serviced regularly so I don't really under stand what happened to the motor. I don't think I would ever buy another one or promote anyone to buy one!!! A lot of people ask me about my car and I tell them exactly what happened to it. And being a sales rep. for Coca-Cola I see and talk to a lot of people each and every day.

Pros
Nice looking sporty car decent about of room inside.

Cons
The motor died at 127,000 miles-- BIG con!!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Julie B.
2013 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/07/2016
Not loving this car!
Every time something needs replaced it is expensive. I had to get a new motor at 127,000 miles, NOT COOL! Will never buy another Hyundai at all!!!!

Pros
Cute sporty and zippy car.

Cons
Not worth the money I paid for it. I feel like it is a money pit. Every time something goes wrong it is a couple hundred dollars. I am a single Mom and the expense is killing my budget.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TP
Thomas P.
2013 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/09/2017
Terrible vehicle
Vehicle has always got terrible gas mileage. The vehicle has always shaken when stopped ,and i have been told that is normal. The vehicle has a ticking noise in the motor since it had about 30,000 miles. The car is very under power. Not really impressed with the performance of the vehicle. I like the look and style of the vehicle but everything else is terrible. Just being honest.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
Paul B.
2013 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
12/19/2017
Looks better than it performs or rides.
Amenities are nice. Roof rack is a handy accessory. Seats are comfortable. I like how the rear seats fold flat for cargo or a big muddy dog.

MPG estimates were off...way off. It has soured my interest in the car and truthfulness of the brand. The headlights and rear lamps need frequent changing. Electronic Steering Control and rack has been problemmatic. Sound insulation is insufficient to quiet road noise. Suspension with factory low profile tires and light vehicle weight do not work together for nimble steering responsiveness expected from a GT branded car. No repeat buying of this model for me.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
Jeffery R.
2013 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
01/27/2018
2013 Elantra GT
Owned 4 years with 12k miles. Was informed of 1 recall which really wasn't a big issue but they took care of it. I drive approximately 12.5k a year.
DRIVING- Cons-The cabin is so loud you could have a conversation with someone in the back seat and not hear a word if there's a lot of debris on the road. Even if there isn't a lot of debris, still loud. This car will SHRED through tires quickly. I get my tires rotated 3+ times a year and new tires 2+ times a year. Pros- quick acceleration if that's your thing. The eco system limits that acceleration so you use a little less gas, responsive braking and abs system, optional but probably barely used Sports mode steering and shifting. Heated seats are a plus too. The headlight lamps are weak. Terrible.
INTERIOR DESIGN - Cons- I'm a tall(6ft, 179lbs) guy so sometimes its uncomfortable driving longer than 45 mins. You can only slide the seat back so far and there isn't a lot of room width wise in the driver seat. The a/c will turn on automatically if you change from torso and foot heat setting to windshield, or to another setting. That is very annoying(first world problems)
Pros- All fabric seats/floors, vinyl dashboard so it's easy to clean but the floors and material in the trunk and rear of the back seats is easily damaged.
Four years and I think the battery is just now starting to die, no major issues. Goes about 5-6k on one oil change. Air cabin filter and air filter replaced min 1x a year. Key fob batteries just died so lasted about 3-4 years before having to get replaced (the batteries)
and reprogrammed(keyfob). The spare tire kit is trash do yourself a favor and throw it out get a real jack and get a back up rim and tire for same price from the junk yard or get the roadside assistance if you're a patient person. Broke it the first time I needed it and a new one frim the dealership is unreasonably priced. I choose to get an actual rim and tire with real jack saved a ton of money.
The car is Korean so big hit to your wallet when making repairs. These parts don't come easy or cheap. A Mirror is $300....Just the mirror.
The WORSE parts of the car is the terrible gas milage, 21-35mpg with a median of 25mpg over four years and cost which was 20k+ when I bought it, which was not worth it at the time nor in the long run considering my lifestyle. The car is less than 3k lbs and has about 150hp(horsepower) but gets TERRIBLE gas mileage. And the cost of parts are too expensive, I could've bought a BMW and got my moneys worth. There was a top class lawsuit about the gas mileage.

Would be decent for a college student but the gas destroys that option. It handles wonderfully and hardly has performance issues.
The BEST thing about the car is that it has held its value still being worth 7-12k four years later. With anywhere from 20k-70k miles.
UNFORTUNATELY, I would never recommend this car to someone. It is still behind its competitors despite having little to no mechanical issues. A car this light should have better gas milage hands down. The tire issue is insane and could really cost someone. $90 per tire, 2 for the front, 3x a year easily. Thats $2,160 on tires in just 4 years. At $540 a year. No to mention labor. Holding its value is okay but it comes short of being something I'd want to hold onto as a 10year+ car. I'd give it a 5/10 mainly because of the MSRP and gas issue.

Pros
Little to no mechanical issues.

Cons
Gas mileage is terrible at 22-35mpg.
Parts are unreasonable. Ex: $300 for a mirror. Not including labor.
Loud cabin.
MSRP.
Headlamp.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
Karen C.
2013 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
05/17/2018
Nice summer car
This car is great for the summer but not the best for our northern Michigan winters. I was very disappointed with its performance in the wintertime. Otherwise it's a great car. Great on gas!! Easy to maintain.

Pros
Great gas milage, great handling in the summer, comfortable interior,heated seats,bluetooth compatible, onstar.

Cons
Handles lousy in the winter, poor traction, low ground clearance, hard for me to get in and out of with a disability. Small Trunk space, limited leg room in backseat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PO
Pat O.
2013 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
02/18/2019
Engine Issues
Great car until the dreaded piston slap at 108000 miles. Even after multiple claims of owners in the US and Canada dealers offer no assistance only a $5900.00 replacement cost. Avoid 2013 models at all costs.

Pros
Great performance and value for the price

Cons
Engine issue that requires new motor between 60,000 and 100,000 miles. This company is well aware of issue and offers no assistance to owners.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Michele B.
2013 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/21/2015
Cute Hyundai GT
Good car, but excessive road noise and gas mileage much less that the mpg stated for this car! Both noise and gas mileage make my car a overall disappointment.

Pros
sporty design

Cons
gas mileage and road noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EL
ELAINE L.
2013 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/04/2015
Elantra GT
I love the design of this car. It is visually very appealing and cute. We travel heavily and the storage space is terrific and parking this size car is very easy. The big disappointment is the gas mileage is not what it was advertised to be. The other disappointment is the navigation system that has been replaced twice so far because directions somehow get scrambled and do not reset.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CA
CAROLYN A.
2013 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/11/2015
Great car, lousy gas milage!
How can the most perfect vehicle get the same gas milage as my '97 BMW? 23 mpg overall, on eco, just doesn't cut it! Hyundai... you need to work on this issue. Virtually none of your models get even adequate gas milage. No electric vehicle even in sight....

Pros
great style and comfort

Cons
poor gas milage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HB
HAROLD B.
2013 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/14/2016
Na
Na

Pros
Na

Cons
Na

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 598 in total