2016
Hyundai
Elantra GT

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(588 Reviews)
Latest review 9 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RF
Richard F.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/17/2019
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
I find this vehicle to have really good mileage on the highway and good for the many short trips I make. The car rides really well and it feels pretty solid. My only irk is the lack of storage space. There is almost nowhere to place any big items.

Pros
Solid Ride, great hwy mileage

Cons
Not enough storage space.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WK
William K.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/02/2019
Love it
I have had this car for two years and it still feels new! Very fun to drive and looks great! I love taking road trips in this car and it even handled all my camping gear. You cant beat the warranty! I love my awesome little car it is my batmobile?

Pros
Stylish sporty and roomy

Cons
I didnt get it for free

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
Daniel G.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/27/2019
Great car for the money....
I bought it over two years ago....enjoyed every minute of owning it except when the factory tires stop gripping in the snow. My one pet peeve about this car is the tires they put on it from the factory. They are truly VERY dangerous in cold climate conditions!!! Barely can go on the flat with a couple of inches of snow. Once they were even half worn out I quickly switched to set of General Excella's and was QUITE amazed how much better the car performed. Nothing basically could stop it with the Generals on it. So I am asking Hyundai to PLEASE think long and hard about what they put on their cars from the manufacturing plant. YOU NEED TO PUT A TIRE THAT CAN ACTUALLY GO IN THE SNOW!!! But for other than that the car has been great! Could do a bit better gas mileage wise in the winter. But the dash on the car sold me. I hate the new stupid trend of the "tablet" stuck on the dash look. One more thing I love that it has a actual old fashioned automatic transmission not a dual clutch, or CVT. One of the main reason I bought it. But simply a good solid car for the money.

Pros
Stylish, value and design

Cons
Gas mileage suffers in the winter. Needs better lights for nightime.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
John B.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
03/22/2019
Good
The only thing i have to say is. The trim around my
Windows
The pant is fading. For being a new.
Plus ac has never work right
. That upsets. Me a lot. The guy sold the car to me said it was surpose to be like that. I dont know qhy lied to me.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IK
Isabelle K.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/20/2019
LOVE
The 2016 Elantra GT is my very first car purchase. I bought it as Certified Pre-Owned with only 10,000 miles, and made the purchase in summer of 2018, so I've had it for less than a year. I spent a good 4-5 months searching for a used car. My biggest criteria were price, mileage, and cleanliness. This car perfectly met all three. Bluetooth and Front Seat Heaters were the only two features I wanted specifically. Everything else listed in the Pros section were bonuses (which I love).

My daily commute is about 62 miles, and I've no major issues (yet). I did bring my car in last week to have it checked over because I felt that something was off, possibly due to having hit 2-3 large pot holes. The dealership found a small bubble in my front right tire, so I needed to replace it and have the tires aligned. Other than regular suggested maintenance and oil changes, that is all the work that's been done.

I love this car so much that I would without hesitation buy the same one for my next car. HOWEVER, I am super bummed that the Elantra GT was completely redesigned in 2018. Instead of the cute and sleek hatchback I currently have, the new design seems a little longer and reminiscent of a family wagon. Even though I've only had this car for less than a year, I'm already stressing over what to get next because it won't be the re-designed Elantra GT.

Pros
Bluetooth
Front Seat Heaters
Floor mats (for front and back seats)
Trunk Accessories (mat, cargo net, and cover - connected to trunk door)
Splash Guards - all tires
Spacious interior!
Hatchback design!
Overall cute and sleek exterior design!

Cons
Acceleration sometimes takes a little effort to kick in, but totally works for highway driving

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Christine B.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/15/2019
Elantra GT
I love my Elantra GT!! It is comfortable, sporty and fun to drive! I love having the seat warmers and coolers, they are amazing!! Being able to start my car from my phone is awesome, I can get it warmed up in the morning before I head out to work.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RT
Richard T.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/11/2019
Love, Love This Car
There is really nothing bad I can say about this car, it was love at first sight. The way a car handles and drives is very important to me and this car performs well. I drive highways, winding and hilly backroads. There's no problem getting on the interstate and it can handle the curves. I love the sporty looking interior and exterior. There isn't enough room to tell you how much I like this car. If I were to design and build a car just for me, this would be it. I wouldn't change a single thing. This is well built, fun to drive, performs like a champ, and has features I love. If I could keep this car forever I would, so why did they ruin this car when they redesigned them. You had a real winner here.
I highly recommend the Hyundai brand and have convinced three more of my family members to switch to Hyundai.

Pros
great performance, great styling, lovely interior and exterior design, very reliable, well built, nice features, reasonable comfort, a real joy to drive, and a quality product

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CT
Celenia T.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/02/2019
It's not you, it's me
When I bought this car I was unaware of some points that are really important and have to be taken into account. In my car, the plate cannot be put in place by using 4 screws. This can only be done using 2 screws at the top of it. It means that half of the plate remains hanging with no support. On my first visit to a car wash and due to the pressure of the water in this type of car wash, my plate ended up being folded and hanging down, keeping its number out of sight. I "solved" this problem by using a strong double face tape, and no taking it to a car wash whit those big brushes. I cannot wash my car at home, so now I go to a "touch-less" car wash which doesn't do a really good cleaning job, but is OK. I can say that I'm happy with my little car.
Believe me, I had never imagine a car that doesn't have a secure place to fix the plate. Hope this helps in the improvement of Hyundai cars.

Cons
For cars like mine that doesn't have rear camera, I think the back window should allow to a wider view for exiting a parking place, or changing lanes.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
MARGARET M.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/23/2019
Sporty fun car
Enjoy driving - has great “get up and go”. Steering and acceleration is great. Handles well in snow and rain. Comfortable seating. Lots of room in the hatchback with or without back seats down. Would buy again.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VK
Veronica K.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/16/2019
Nice little car
Cute car. Nice ride. Good on gas. Decent space inside for 4 people comfortably, plus some storage. I like a hatchback...and the luggage rack comes in handy. Didn't get a lot of extras. Would get this car again.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jason S.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/12/2019
This Model Year Is A Good Start
I leased this car brand new in 2016 mainly to help rebuild my credit. My first few drives i was not really impressed with the lack of power it has.

Also, this model, 2016 Elantra GT 6speed automatic, does not have any upgraded packages. Ex. Sport package.

So, its a simple basic car. After driving it for some time I am truly impressed with the gas mileage. I'm getting approx 25 city 32 highway. The maintenance on this vehicle is also a plus, very inexpensive to maintain.
As of this post I have less than a year left on the lease. Will i keep it, most likely because I dont want payments anymore...lol...but also, I can upgrade it as I see fit.
Overall, a great car that will save you some money on gas and maintenance. Very reliable and spacious cargo room.

Pros
Gas saver, lots of cargo space, low maintenance.

Cons
Lacks power, headlights not really that bright, inside material feels a little cheap, for a "GT" it's too basic.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HD
Honora D.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/16/2019
LOVE MY ELANTRA GT!!
My Elantra GT is a great car. I take care of it and it takes care of me. I can transport 3 children safely, or stuff needed for parades, soccer games, tables and chairs for pot lucks, etc. I get great mileage.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VL
Vivian L.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/10/2019
Love My Elantra
I love my 2016 Elantra! From the time I leased it about three years ago - as soon as I sat in the car, I knew this was the vehicle for me. It just felt right. I am a short woman who needs the seat up all-the-way in order to reach the pedals. It responds to my commands smoothly. Has pickup when I hit the gas pedal. The total size is great for me. I am 5' 2" and my boss is over 6' and both of us have enjoyed driving it. I am proud to be able to drive in this vehicle.

Pros
Overall the car is great!

Cons
I cannot open the rear door from inside the vehicle. When car is operating and I put it in Park, the door locks click open automatically. This is not a safe thing!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HP
Heather P.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/04/2019
I love it
I love my car I've been driving it for about 3 years now I drive over 50 miles everyday So this car is very dependable it's very good on gas mileage so I maintain my services and I think it's a cute little car I would definitely recommend it for a single person are a small family The only reason I'm not giving it a 10 on everything is I didn't go XL on everything
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MN
Mary N.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/02/2019
Safety First
I love to drive my Hyundai Elantra-GT! I have had 3 Hyundai's in the past and all were SUV's due to having younger children and needing to feel safe. Now kids are grown and I switched to a smaller, less expensive and better gas mileage car. It was a good decision and I haven't sacrificed the most important thing which is safety. I feel totally safe driving my Elantra-GT and its fun too!

Pros
Reliable and sturdy vehicle. I feel safe driving my kids around in this vehicle. Love heated back and seats. Compared to other vehicles of similar look, this one far exceeds styling and looks like a more expensive model. Lastly, gas mileage is great and it has great pick up on highway.

Cons
Not too many cons. Inside styling could be a tad better?

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CV
Charles V.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/01/2019
We love this car!!
This car is perfect for us!! It has good gas mileage. Accelerates and corners beautifully. Has had no mechanical problems.Looks really good after almost three years. It is comfortable to ride in and just the right size vehicle for our needs.

Pros
We love almost everything about this car!! We love the warranty and bought the extended warranty.

Cons
We do not drive a lot of miles and before we reached 16000 miles we bought new tires. The tires did not last that long and were never driven on rough roads.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Susan M.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/26/2018
We like our hyundai elantra
We like our Hyundai Elantra. I am short and my husband is tall. I can see over the hood of the car and all around. My husband has lots of leg room. This cars is easy to park. Also the hatch back has lots of room.

Pros
Very good on gas.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Melissa B.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/13/2018
Great vehicle
My GT Sport is almost 3 years old! It is a great car! Handles well, comfortable and great on gas! I put winter tires on during the snowy months which ensures in addition to the front wheel drive I have no issues getting around in any conditions -

Pros
Stated above

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KG
Kay G.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/04/2018
Long time Hyundai owner
I am a long-term Hyundai owner and my Elantra GT is the fourth Hyundai that I've had over the years. It's stylist, sleek, gets a reasonable miles per gallon on a tank. I have the salad and Tech package on my vehicle and I get many compliments that people don't even think it's a Hyundai.

Pros
Leather seating, bluelink, panoramic roof,

Cons
Tires, wish there was an option to have a similar engine to the Veloster.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CJ
Carol J.
2016 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/04/2018
Hyudai 2016
Check the Blue Link updates......something is not working there.
The car itself is great but it is small and hard to see if backing out of parking when tall vehicles are next to it. It has a great package that came with it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 41 - 60 of 588 in total