2018
Hyundai
ELANTRA GT

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(353 Reviews)
Latest review 2 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

ES
EDWARD S.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/16/2020
Very nice
Elantra GT is a nice little car that can handle it's own in any condition. Traffic, rural, rain, sunshine. It drives very nice and has great power when you need it. Handling is pretty good, acceleration is very good especially at highway speeds. Features are nice and it's just overall a really well designed car and I feel safe driving it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
Carmela P.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/12/2020
A fan of Hyundai
Disappointed with my last visit at the service department. Service department do not have a clue on how to fix my windshield wiper and lied about checking my breaks. My problem is that it grind and make noise and they said there is nothing wrong with it and sure enough it was not fix.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
ADAM B.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/11/2020
Sporty, affordable and family oriented
The Elantra gt 2.0 of 2018 is a bargain for sure. The cargo room is more than adequate for getting groceries, even for those special coupon clipper types, if it doesn't have enough room for what you have then only a pickup or van will handle your hoarding issues. The performance of this hatchback is phenomenal, just ask that guy in the v6 muscle car
... if you have time to wait for him to catch up. The passenger compartment will comfortably accommodate 5 adults or very comfortably accommodate 4 adults with plenty of beverage holders for you each to have two drinks with you. The infotainment system works with android as well as I phone, and if your Google maps application is up to date then so is your tablet sized GPS display. This car is subtle and refined if that is what you wish it to be, but it is also a force to be reckoned with when the situation demands. If you want reliability and leading warranty along with a car that can do it all well, then this is a peach!

Pros
Very sporty.

Cons
Was not offered with factory roof rails.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
Rodger P.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/09/2020
Blue Blessing
Simplistic with special features I adore. Sports edition gives it extra zoom. Travels on the road well even with its small size. Great lumbar adjustment seating for driver. I have bad knees yet it has not hampered my driving.

Cons
Significant weight loss would help me enter and exit my car with ease.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
John T.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/09/2020
Enhances the driving experience
I use my Elantra GT SPORT primarily to cover distances within 60 miles of my residence due to its low fuel consumption, quick acceleration and driving comfort. However, its highway handling and breaking system is excellent on the few occasions that I traveled to Mobile.

Pros
Excellent fuel consumption. Excellent shifting clutch and manual transmission.
Excellent visibility.
Excellent climate control.

Cons
I have yet to discover any cons.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
SUSAN S.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/28/2019
Love my GT
I am impressed with the handling as well as the fuel economy. The rear cargo space is Adequate for my use. With the seats down I have plenty of room.
My GT handles well on highway as well as back roads. You can’t go wrong with this beauty!

Pros
Great styling and fuel economy. Seats are comfortable.

Cons
Lower to the ground than I like.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Douglas S.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/28/2019
Better than expected!
The Elantra GT is my first Hyundai and my first foreign car. I bought it BRAND NEW and I feel like it’s a luxury car. The inside feels like a sports car, and it has some speed on it! I LOVE the shimmer in the paint job and the look of the car. I am 6’2” and I can drive without bumping my head. I have enough room! Really impressed and it’s the only hatchback that was catching my eye.

Pros
Speed, acceleration, style, back up cam, 9 inch screen.

Cons
No CD player, and cup holders and not big enough.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
DENIS S.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/24/2019
Lease
Well I traded in my Veloster last year for a little bigger car. I really liked the Veloster to run around in , May partner didn’t like the ride in it as it got older. She has a bigger car in Fla. so the Veloster didn’t give her that soft ride . The streets in Massachusetts are not so smooth as Florida. Durning the Months when were up here now I have my car and she sends her car from Fla to mass for the summer . So my car now is your car that I run around in the summer and a week in Christmas . The only thing I Don’t like is the fuel economy a little bit more that my other cars that I drive. But other that that it does what I want it to do and a little bit bigger than my Veloster.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
KENNETH S.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/21/2019
Fun Fun car
This car is a blast to drive. It gets great gas milage but not at the expense of performance. This car has many feature of higher end vehicles at a very reasonable price. The car sounds great as well!

Pros
I really love everything on this car

Cons
Blue Link remote start is beyond awful . If you like a remote start that takes a 1-2 min to work on a good day or not work at all on many others this system is for you. A keychain remote is far superior

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GV
GEORGE V.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/19/2019
Super fun car
Great design fun to drive super comfortable with really great split seats and rear storage. Highway driving a real pleasure with safety features helpful when changing lanes. Passenger comfort very good for person in front and dog in back.

Pros
Perfect

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Joseph H.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/16/2019
Best car I have ever driven
I haven’t seen another Hyundai Elantra GT Sport like the one I drive in my area. I really like that. Everyone seemed to drive the last car I owned. Most fun car I have ever driven. Excellent power and performance.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Joann B.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/11/2019
my Elantra
I love it. I love the features of the back up camera and the no hands on Phone. The back seats are easy to lay down to carry many things. It's large enough for my dogs and I to sleep in when we travel.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
SCOTTY H.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/09/2019
First Hundi
Not,,...................................................,,,.............................................................................................................................................
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WE
Wayne E.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/05/2019
2018 Elantra GT
The car handles well. I enjoy driving the car. Everything works as expected any are easy to figure out. The power is enough for me. I would really like the mirror to be replaced. I do not have 500.00 dollars to fix it especially when feel the dealership should have taken care of it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KE
KEITH E.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
12/03/2019
Great exterior design, poor drive train that ruins the driving experience
Interesting that the test drive was done in sport mode and not in regular as this vehicle definitely is performance based and not a very good everyday driver for Commuting or going for a leisurely drive. My overall total experience has been poor from the dealership to the lack of resolution for poor quality paint to a the service tech telling me that a significant number of people have complained about the DCT transmission. My next vehicle will definitely have this type of tranny omitted.

Pros
Styling, interior quality material, vista style moon roof is a pleasure to have and promotes a open air feel.

Cons
Terrible DCT transmission experience, 1st to 2nd gear change is very harsh and abrupt. Makes the overall driving experience feel unstable as you are dreading the next gear change.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 12/04/2019
We’d like the opportunity to look into this. A representative will be in touch with you shortly to investigate further. ^cc

RH
RONALD H.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/29/2019
Great car, exceptional value!
So far I have 36 thousand essentially trouble free miles on my Elantra GT.

If you're looking for a reliable vehicle at an affordable price, consider an Elantra. I am quite satisfied with my Elantra GT.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Martha M.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/29/2019
Great car
This is a great car, save on gas, even good with short trips and town driving. Comfortable, easy to handle on open road, specially on wet roads. Stabilizer is a great feature.
Never thought I would own a vehicle with heated seats. With back problems, the seats are AWESOME!

Pros
Everything

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NM
NATHAN M.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/25/2019
Hyundai Elantra GT
Overall has been a great car. I would and have recommended this vehicle to many of my family and friends as well as the dealership whom I bought it from. If given the chance again I wouldnt change it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Michael R.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/25/2019
Great car
This is a nice little car for the money. Once you replace the really bad OE tires with Michelin tires, it handles well and is comfortable. It has more cargo space than many, much larger cars. I really like the styling and the fact that you do not see many of them running around. It has been perfectly reliable thus far.

Pros
Better fuel economy than its ratings
Nice European styling
Large storage, especially with the rear seats down
Reasonable handling and power

Cons
OE tires are really bad

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CY
CINDY Y.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/19/2019
Best in Class Value
If I could I would have actually given this car 4.5 but I'm not mad that I have to round up. Generally, my uses fall under two categories. The first is short utilitarian transport for things like work and errands. It's pretty rare that I'll travel more than 15 miles one way for any daily use. It's great in the city and highway. I have the base 2 liter naturally aspirated engine and it has plenty of power in sport mode. The second use is a monthly trip which is usually around 100 miles one way. Hours on a highway is pretty comfortable. It's easy to find a position that works for you. It's not Mercedes or Audi comfortable but for the price, it's definitely one of the most comfortable in class. I would recommend not getting the 1.6 liter turbo even though it's a no brainer add on specifically because of the dual-clutch transmission. There are a lot of issues with it and it's not fun to live with. Even Hyundai mechanics told me that it's not a very good transmission. Go with the naturally aspirated engine and you'll be more than happy. The styling is also a huge positive. The other car I was strongly considering was the Honda Civic Hatchback. The styling of the Civic was just too aggressive and it probably won't age very well. The Elantra GT, on the other hand, might be a big more conservative in comparison but it looks good and will continue to look good for years to come. The other strength is in its infotainment. It's easy to use and while it might not have all the bells and whistles of other systems it does everything well. I've had no complaints with it and ultimately when it comes to really polarizing technology, that's all you can ask for. The biggest downside is the MPG. With mostly highway driving or long-distance driving, it does all right. I usually average at about 26-28 MPG but when you do mixed driving with the city then it drops like a rock. On the days where I do a lot of city driving the MPG can drop down to 22 or 23 MPG which is abysmal for the class. The Civic Hatch does almost 40 MPG highway and low to mid 30s with mixed driving even with a more powerful engine. It's really unfortunate that it is that much worse. But as long as you're not racking up huge milage, it shouldn't affect your wallet too much. It got about as much MPG with more power than my old car that was from 2007. So while they didn't do amazingly, at least they didn't undo all the progress they did in the last decade.

Pros
- Tech isn't frustrating like other cars
- Lots of additional add ons which are worth the extra couple grand. Ventilated front seats, panoramic sun roof for goodness sake!
- Another additional add on is an app that lets you remote control your car. For instance you can remote start it anywhere in the world as long as you've got internet.
- Compact while still having more cargo room than a crossover.

Cons
- MPG is pretty bad. It's below average at best and abysmal at worst.
- Ride isn't as good as crossovers but it's slightly above average for the class.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 353 in total