2018
Hyundai
ELANTRA GT

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(359 Reviews)
Latest review 2 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JW
Jessica W.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/25/2020
Very sporty
Handles like a much more expensive sports car. Fun to drive. Plenty of cargo room with hatchback. Easy to park. Lack of back up alarm. Would like folding side mirrors. Safety features good. Would recommend to others.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
PHILIP M.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/24/2020
Elantra GT Sport purchase experience
After i decided on this particular model, I visited 5 Hyundai dealers in my area--not one had the exact color and options that I wanted. But one dealer used their vehicle locator system and found one 500 miles away. It was delivered within 2 days! One observation is that the seat backs seem to be wider than other cars that I have owned--perhaps they feel that Americans are wider than Koreans? They are comfortable, but not as 'body-shaped' as others. Also, there is no CD player, so one needs to buy Sirius or similar or have a connectable player.

Pros
Styling, acceleration, fuel economy, with the GT package there were really no additional options--making the purchase a simple process.

Cons
No CD player, seat back seems too wide for a 'normal' person, high beams don't seem to project far enough.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KF
Khristian F.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/23/2020
2018 Elantra GT Turbo
Excellent vehicle, amazing quality, will continue to buy Hyundai vehicles and products.

This is our 6th Hyundai and we were just discussing purchasing a another one yet this month to replace our current model that us two years old with 155,000 miles on it.....we drive alot, thus Hyundai is our auto of choice.

Never an issue and still runs like new with 155,000 miles on it.

Pros
Everything

Cons
None for me

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HB
Hermann B.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/21/2020
Fun car
It’s the Mrs.’s car for the most part and she is real happy with the way it handles incl. power available when needed. Good on gas and fits into smaller parking spaces. Also plenty room for passengers. Has plenty features too.
One dislike....the manual hood struts, I.e. it needs to be held up by a metal bar. This has caused me to wanting to just close the hood like with most other cars incl. a Sonata, which bends that rod...! Had to straighten it out. Have to really pay attention to this and unhook and stow the rod first.

Pros
See note above

Cons
See note above

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
MICHAEL G.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/20/2020
2018 elantra gt sport
Overall this is a great car. Exterior has class for a hot hatch. Mpg is around 35mpg combined(for me at least). Performance is perfect and surprising for a little 1.6l. Interior is beautiful with the hint of red accents. The dry DCT has its quirks but performed quite well both daily driving and having fun. Only wish hyundai offered the 2.0T and wet DCT.

Pros
Great Gas mileage, fun to drive, sounds great, interior is practically perfect.

Cons
Transmission slips at low speeds. Tires are very loud. Wind noise is also loud.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GH
Gerald H.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/18/2020
Great car
It is a mystery to me why I don't see more of these on the road. I'm a hatch back person, I guess I'm in the minority. The Elantra GT Sport with the 1.6L turbo and 7 speed dual clutch tranny is a ball to drive! Plenty of power in "normal" drive mode, but if I'm merging on a busy expressway I punch the "sport" mode and it becomes a rocket. The low height is so much better than any of the SUV's or cute Utes for roof mounting a bicycle rack or kayak racks (which I do). I've got all the tech stuff and if you can do it, go for it -- love the blind spot detection, lane keeping, forward collision braking. The forward collision kicked in for me entering an intersection that traffic had stopped (unexpectantly) beyond, I was about to hit the brakes, but the car beat me to it. Nice to have! I love this car.

Pros
Love the power seat with lumbar support, heating, and cooling. Even in the summer I put the heater on after kayaking or biking to give my butt a treat and keep muscles loose.

Cons
I would have considered the longer European i30W version if it were sold here, but so far the shorter U.S. version has had enough cargo area. The only "fault" I've found on the car is that the digital display on the fuel gauge points to the wrong side for the filler door. (The non-digital gauge has it correctly to the left side.)
Also, you cannot raise the wiper arms off the windshield to a standing position without hitting the hood.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ES
EDWARD S.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/16/2020
Very nice
Elantra GT is a nice little car that can handle it's own in any condition. Traffic, rural, rain, sunshine. It drives very nice and has great power when you need it. Handling is pretty good, acceleration is very good especially at highway speeds. Features are nice and it's just overall a really well designed car and I feel safe driving it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
Carmela P.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/12/2020
A fan of Hyundai
Disappointed with my last visit at the service department. Service department do not have a clue on how to fix my windshield wiper and lied about checking my breaks. My problem is that it grind and make noise and they said there is nothing wrong with it and sure enough it was not fix.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
ADAM B.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/11/2020
Sporty, affordable and family oriented
The Elantra gt 2.0 of 2018 is a bargain for sure. The cargo room is more than adequate for getting groceries, even for those special coupon clipper types, if it doesn't have enough room for what you have then only a pickup or van will handle your hoarding issues. The performance of this hatchback is phenomenal, just ask that guy in the v6 muscle car
... if you have time to wait for him to catch up. The passenger compartment will comfortably accommodate 5 adults or very comfortably accommodate 4 adults with plenty of beverage holders for you each to have two drinks with you. The infotainment system works with android as well as I phone, and if your Google maps application is up to date then so is your tablet sized GPS display. This car is subtle and refined if that is what you wish it to be, but it is also a force to be reckoned with when the situation demands. If you want reliability and leading warranty along with a car that can do it all well, then this is a peach!

Pros
Very sporty.

Cons
Was not offered with factory roof rails.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
Rodger P.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/09/2020
Blue Blessing
Simplistic with special features I adore. Sports edition gives it extra zoom. Travels on the road well even with its small size. Great lumbar adjustment seating for driver. I have bad knees yet it has not hampered my driving.

Cons
Significant weight loss would help me enter and exit my car with ease.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
John T.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/09/2020
Enhances the driving experience
I use my Elantra GT SPORT primarily to cover distances within 60 miles of my residence due to its low fuel consumption, quick acceleration and driving comfort. However, its highway handling and breaking system is excellent on the few occasions that I traveled to Mobile.

Pros
Excellent fuel consumption. Excellent shifting clutch and manual transmission.
Excellent visibility.
Excellent climate control.

Cons
I have yet to discover any cons.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
SUSAN S.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/28/2019
Love my GT
I am impressed with the handling as well as the fuel economy. The rear cargo space is Adequate for my use. With the seats down I have plenty of room.
My GT handles well on highway as well as back roads. You can’t go wrong with this beauty!

Pros
Great styling and fuel economy. Seats are comfortable.

Cons
Lower to the ground than I like.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Douglas S.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/28/2019
Better than expected!
The Elantra GT is my first Hyundai and my first foreign car. I bought it BRAND NEW and I feel like it’s a luxury car. The inside feels like a sports car, and it has some speed on it! I LOVE the shimmer in the paint job and the look of the car. I am 6’2” and I can drive without bumping my head. I have enough room! Really impressed and it’s the only hatchback that was catching my eye.

Pros
Speed, acceleration, style, back up cam, 9 inch screen.

Cons
No CD player, and cup holders and not big enough.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
DENIS S.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/24/2019
Lease
Well I traded in my Veloster last year for a little bigger car. I really liked the Veloster to run around in , May partner didn’t like the ride in it as it got older. She has a bigger car in Fla. so the Veloster didn’t give her that soft ride . The streets in Massachusetts are not so smooth as Florida. Durning the Months when were up here now I have my car and she sends her car from Fla to mass for the summer . So my car now is your car that I run around in the summer and a week in Christmas . The only thing I Don’t like is the fuel economy a little bit more that my other cars that I drive. But other that that it does what I want it to do and a little bit bigger than my Veloster.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
KENNETH S.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/21/2019
Fun Fun car
This car is a blast to drive. It gets great gas milage but not at the expense of performance. This car has many feature of higher end vehicles at a very reasonable price. The car sounds great as well!

Pros
I really love everything on this car

Cons
Blue Link remote start is beyond awful . If you like a remote start that takes a 1-2 min to work on a good day or not work at all on many others this system is for you. A keychain remote is far superior

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GV
GEORGE V.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/19/2019
Super fun car
Great design fun to drive super comfortable with really great split seats and rear storage. Highway driving a real pleasure with safety features helpful when changing lanes. Passenger comfort very good for person in front and dog in back.

Pros
Perfect

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Joseph H.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/16/2019
Best car I have ever driven
I haven’t seen another Hyundai Elantra GT Sport like the one I drive in my area. I really like that. Everyone seemed to drive the last car I owned. Most fun car I have ever driven. Excellent power and performance.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Joann B.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/11/2019
my Elantra
I love it. I love the features of the back up camera and the no hands on Phone. The back seats are easy to lay down to carry many things. It's large enough for my dogs and I to sleep in when we travel.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
SCOTTY H.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/09/2019
First Hundi
Not,,...................................................,,,.............................................................................................................................................
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WE
Wayne E.
2018 Hyundai ELANTRA GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/05/2019
2018 Elantra GT
The car handles well. I enjoy driving the car. Everything works as expected any are easy to figure out. The power is enough for me. I would really like the mirror to be replaced. I do not have 500.00 dollars to fix it especially when feel the dealership should have taken care of it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 359 in total