2019
Hyundai
Elantra GT

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(55 Reviews)
Latest review 4 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


DM
DONNA M.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
06/01/2020
Terrible hesitation problem
Not the 1st turbo hyundai I've owned but this one with the 1.6 never knew what gear to be in or how much turbo boost to give in around town driving. Braking/handling/appearance in n out/comfort/viability all top notch. Power to weight ratio wasn't good. Desperately needs the 2.0T engine and all will be well.
Trades it in after 6 months because of the hesitation, pulling out in traffic making a LEFT was always a problem...SAFETY 1ST!!!

Cons
GT-N, 1.6 turbo, needs to be replaced with the 2.0T from the Genesis (had one, righteous).
Even with the traction control "off', when you hit the loud peddle to make a left, you never knew how long it was gonna take to get throttle response. That's a HUGE Safety issue!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America - Service responded on 06/01/2020
Thank you. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch soon. ^cc

GT
GREGORY T.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/04/2019
Hyundai Elantra GT N Line,
I love driving this car. It is so much fun hitting the back roads and using the paddle shifters to get the most out of it. It could use more power but it's adequate. The transmission is wonderful. There's quite a bit of turbo lag taking off but the good thing is that there is no torque steer.

Pros
Very fun to drive and a lot of features and tech for the money.

Cons
There is a lot of turbo lag and the arm rest needs more padding.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
MART C.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/06/2019
Reflective interior
Top of steering wheel buttons reflect the sun, same on top of tablet display. Needs to be a non reflective surface. On the steering wheel buttons leather would look good, same on tablet display, if was cased in leather.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KH
Keith H.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/27/2019
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
For the base model GT, the features are well equipped. A little tight for the back row, but for meI am the primary and only driver so not a big deal..........................................................
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GL
GEORGE L.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/02/2019
Great Value for Driving Enthusiasts
I previously owned a 2013 VW GLI which I really enjoyed driving. When I had to replace that car I was looking for something inexpensive with a relatively high interior quality, looks I could live with, road trip worthy capacity, and performance that wouldn't leave me bored. My 2019 Hyundai Elantra GT N-Line exceeded all of those expectations and so far has been a real joy to own.

Pros
Fun for spirited driving. Planted and relatively quiet at highway speeds. Great ratio of usable space to exterior size.

Cons
Chassis is stiffer than desired during city driving or on sub-par road surfaces.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
MARK W.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/30/2019
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Vehicle meets my needs. Would have preferred a higher style. Lease was just too expensive. Could not put enough down payment too afford. Possibly after this lease has expired, I can afford a upgraded model.

Pros
None.

Cons
None.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
KIMLAY S.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/07/2020
good vehicle - a little under expectation
good vehicle - a little under expectation. need more rebust, lights, and sound
good vehicle - a little under expectation. need more rebust, lights, and sound
good vehicle - a little under expectation. need more rebust, lights, and sound
good vehicle - a little under expectation. need more rebust, lights, and sound
good vehicle - a little under expectation. need more rebust, lights, and sound

Pros
all mostly great

Cons
i paid for performance - i need performance - need more robust engine with great european like lightings and exhaust/engine sound need to be more like sports car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BT
BYRON T.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/07/2020
Mostly Satisfied
Hyundai in recent years have “upped” their game. I love the quality and value that goes in to every car they make. I also love their innovation in the new styles. I’m more than satisfied with the quality of paint.

Pros
Fun to drive
Well built
Great gas mileage

Cons
Unable to lift windshield wiper blades to to hood rear edge placement
Wheels are ugly (in my opinion) and pattern difficult to clean
Tire aspect ratio (225/40R18) to narrow and leads to harsher ride.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MQ
MOHSIN Q.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/12/2020
Great car, reliable, fun to drive
Love the look of the car, love it's a manual transmission, love how it drives, obviously wish Hyundai would realease the Elantra N in the United States, but overall very happy with my decision. Will definitely recommend others to Hyundai.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
KEVIN S.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/23/2020
Korea's GTI
I have the Elantra GT NLine model. Except for a laggy, non-linear power delivery from the 1.6t engine, this car is every bit the equal of VW's GTI. It is a worthy hot hatch competitor. If you are considering a sport compact, such as a GTI or a Civic Si, you should give it a look.

Pros
Brakes, clutch and shifter, steering, suspension are all topflight.

Cons
Engine's power delivery is not up to current standards. It is too laggy and non-linear. This car would benefit from a 2.0 liter turbo, such as a mildly-tuned version of the Veloster N's engine. Or it needs a sport-tuned version of Hyundai's 2.5 liter normally-aspirated engine.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Mark M.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/21/2020
19 Elantra GT N-Line
With the 2019 model Elantra GT Hyundai abandoned the somewhat baroque styling of the first-gen Elantras for something more mainstream. It works; the car retains an aggressive, sporting appearance and has the power and handling to back up it up. The interior is exceptionally well laid out ergonomically, with all controls falling readily to hand; the only possible exception is the sport mode actuator, which is located on the center console to the left of the shifter. It would have been nice if the designers could have found a space on the steering wheel controls, but that's a minor quibble. In sport mode, the vehicle accelerates smartly; it also accelerates at a reasonable rate while in "normal" mode, although the transmission tends to search a bit between 1st, 2nd and 3rd gear. Best solution is to leave the trans in sport around town and use the normal setting for freeway cruising and long distance driving. When the turbo kicks in, sport or normal mode, the punch is such that you half expect a view out the windshield something similar to that seen in the various "Star Wars" movies, ie, the stars all rush together, completely with an appropriate wooshing sound, great fun. The handling is exemplary, making the twisty roads southwest of StL or in and around the Mississippi bluffs on the Illinois side of the river an absolute delight; there is little or no discernible torque steer. The seats are supportive if not overly grippy (you want Recaros, buy Recaros) and completely comfortable for long-distance drives. This is truly the Korean GTI; my only regret is I didn't shop around a bit longer and find a six-speed but then again, with my 40+ mile commute through a major urban area with major urban area traffic, I can live with the automatic. My other regret is the average mpg usually runs around 30 BUT, then again, I spend a lot of time with my right foot down, so the blame's on me, eh?

Pros
As mentioned above

Cons
Ditto

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
David M.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/08/2019
Question this requirement
This portion is not needed xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BL
BOB L.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/26/2019
The tell tale sign
I could have purchased just about any car on the market but I chose the Elantra GT, N line. It had everything I was looking for including the fact that it is not boastful, "Hey people, look at me!" It offers the amenities of a sport car plus enough cargo space to fit my drumset and more. The tell tale sign that I love the car is that I'm actually using my garage again, something I haven't done in years.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
DONNA M.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/27/2019
Perfect ride for two people
1.6 lite with turbo cuts the mustard and delivers decent mileage too. Great ride/handling/breaking and comfortable whether you're short or tall. Everything is within reach and visible too. Back seats drop down providing allot of storage room. Styling is choice and it turns heads.

Pros
Everything about this car is spot on, as it should be.

Cons
dual clutch tranny, in conjunction with computer controlled injection, there's a minor stumbling/hesitation when coming off a dead stop. However, the engine never conks out.
Takes some getting used to.
You'll wanna do some pin-striping too.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
STEVEN B.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/03/2019
2019 Elantra GT N-Line
We've put 2,200 miles on our 2019 Elantra GT N-Line in the 5 weeks that we've owned. It handled like a champ over the mountains and down the coast of northern California on a 1,000 mile road trip we took the other week. The manual transmission is fantastic and we love the overall fit and finish of the car inside and out. Definitely spring for the N-line as you will want those 40 or so extra horses.

Pros
Excellent manual transmission.
Great styling - well balanced between sporty but not overdone.
Nice leather seats and steering wheel.
Good multimedia interface overall.
Plenty of physical buttons just where you need them.

We researched and test drove the Mazda3, GTI and Civic Hatchback before settling on the GT N-Line. GTI was are runner up but the GT bested it in price and projected overall cost of ownership/reliability.
Very well balanced in terms of handling and ride. Summer tires on manual transmission were welcome bonus.

Cons
Screen navigation gets a little squirrely switching between Android Audio and the main Hyundai interface but not a huge issue.
Could you se a little more lumbar support or the option to adjust.
Engine and especially exhaust noise are too quite! 20 more horses and I would be completely satisfied but it is still a lot of fun to drive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LL
Linda L.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/04/2019
Our new "big" car
We recently had to give up our van, but needed something to transport some furniture we bought. Who knew that our daughter's Elantra GT would be our "Big" car now. It easily fit the tv stand we bought by folding the back row. Even though it is the smallest care in the driveway, it is the biggest....

Pros
Super cute car that totally matches my 18 year old. Fun to drive.

Cons
wish it was keyless entry and hybrid

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Richard S.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/08/2019
Bigger Veloster
This car is absolutely what I was looking for. It is very sporty and quick. I personally for the manual version, which is hard to find nowadays. This car is an amazing value. Can't get a car like at this price anywhere else. Will definitely look at Hyundai for another car.

Pros
Manual, quick, interior quality.

Cons
No options on the manual version of the Elantra GT N-line. Options only available on the automatic version.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KE
KEVIN E.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/13/2019
A Practical Alternative and Super Fun Driver
The Elantra GT N Line is a study in sleek styling and quick performance at an affordable price. It exceeds the Veloster N in cargo capacity, mpg, and functionality as a transporter. Both are great cars but for the money and practicality, I'm glad I bought the Elantra.

Pros
Quick...PADDLE SHIFTERS...Fun.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JAIME M.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/24/2019
Elantra GT N-Line
Hyundai has provided the best features for a cheaper price. All the features a luxury car has but at a lower price point, it doesn't get any better. The performance is not too over the top and the gas mileage is still great.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
STEVEN S.
2019 Hyundai Elantra GT
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/28/2019
Awesome Elantra GT n line
I love the styling, performance and tech features of my new 2019 Elantra GT n line. It is an extremely fun car to drive and looks great on the road. I couldn’t be happier with my decision to buy another Hyundai product. Hoping that an n version will be available when it’s time for my next purchase. Great job Hyundai!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 55 in total